DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/23/23 and 8/18/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12-14, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 11, 12, and 15 of copending Application No. 19/287,081 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as detailed below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant claims
‘081 claims
reasoning
1
4
Substantially similar except that the instant claim recites pull-up (PU) and pull-down (PD) transistors while the ‘081 claim recites generic transistors. However, both applications are directed to an SRAM device, so PU and PD transistors are obvious. Also the instant claim states the contact via is coupled to the source/drain whereas the ‘081 claim states the contact via is coupled to the source/drain contact, which is coupled to the source/drain. Thus, the ’081 claim is narrower in scope and this limitation is anticipated.
12
11
Substantially similar. The instant claim has the limitation that the first or second via is larger than the third or fourth via, whereas the ‘081 claim states the first or second via has a length that is larger than the length of the third or fourth via. Thus, the ’081 claim is narrower in scope and this limitation is anticipated.
13
12
Substantially similar
14
11
anticipated
17
15
Substantially similar
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Liaw (US 2023/0052883).
As to claim 1, Liaw teaches a memory cell (see annotated fig. 4A below), comprising:
first and second active regions (106 and 108), wherein each of the first and second active regions (106 and 108) extends lengthwise in a first direction (Y-axis, [0025]);
first and second gate structures (130B), wherein each of the first and second gate structures (130B) extends lengthwise in a second direction (X-axis) that is perpendicular to the first direction, the first gate structure (130B) engages the first and second active regions (106 and 108) in forming a first pull-down transistor (PD-1) and a first pull-up transistor (PU-1), respectively, and the second gate structure (130B) engages the first and second active regions (106 and 108) in forming a second pull-down transistor (PD-2) and a second pull-up transistor (PU-2), respectively ([0030], see annotated fig. 4A below);
a first source/drain contact via (126A) electrically coupled to a first common source/drain of the first and second pull-down transistors ([0036]);
a second source/drain contact via (126D) electrically coupled to a second common source/drain of the first and second pull-up transistors ([0036]);
a first gate contact (122) electrically coupled to the first gate structure (130B, not shown in fig. 2A, [0033]); and
a second gate contact (122) electrically coupled to the second gate structure (130B, not shown in fig. 2A, [0033]),
wherein one of the first and second source/drain contact vias has an area larger than either of the first and second gate contacts in a top view of the memory cell ([0036] – [0037], the S/D contact via 126A has a greater area than other S/D contact vias 126b-126D, which corresponds to the width W1 of the active region 106. As can be seen in fig. 2A below, the S/D contact via 126A is larger than a different gate contact 122, but obvious if not inherent that the gate contacts would be the same size.).
As to claim 2, Liaw further teaches the first source/drain contact via (126A) electrically couples to an electrical ground (CVSS) of the memory cell, and the second source/drain contact via electrically couples to a power supply (CVDD) of the memory cell ([0031], one is high and the other is low).
As to claim 5, Liaw further teaches the first (126A) and second (126D) source/drain contact vias have different areas ([0036]).
As to claim 6, Liaw does not explicitly teach the first source/drain contact via includes a material composition different from the second source/drain contact via. However, using different materials would have been obvious so as to adjust resistance values.
As to claim 9, Liaw further teaches the one of the first and second source/drain contact (126A) vias extends beyond opposing edges of the memory cell along the first direction (beyond the dotted line in the X direction, fig. 2A).
As to claim 10, Liaw further teaches the one of the first and second source/drain contact vias (126A) includes a jog portion with a width larger than other portions of the one of the first and second source/drain contact vias (Fig. 2A, 126A is larger than 126D).
As to claim 11, Liaw further teaches the first gate contact electrically couples to a storage node of the memory cell, and the second gate contact electrically couples to a complimentary storage node of the memory cell ([0031]).
As to claim 12, Liaw teaches a memory cell (see annotated fig. 2A below), comprising:
first and second active regions (106 and 108), wherein each of the first and second active regions (106 and 108) extends lengthwise in a first direction (Y-axis, [0025]);
first and second gate structures (130B), wherein each of the first and second gate structures (130B) extends lengthwise in a second direction (X-axis) that is different from the first direction ([0030], see annotated fig. 4A below);
a first contact (120A) disposed on the first active region and between the first and second gate structures ([0035]);
a first contact via (126A) disposed on the first contact and electrically connected to the first contact ([0036]);
a second contact (120D) disposed on the second active region and between the first and second gate structures ([0035]);
a second contact via (126D) disposed on the second contact and electrically connected to the second contact ([0036]);
a third contact (120C) disposed on both of the first and second active regions (see fig. below, ([0035]);
a fourth contact (120C) disposed on both of the first and second active regions, wherein the first and second gate structures are between the third and fourth contacts along the first direction (see fig. below, [0035]);
a third contact via (126B, not shown but described) disposed on the third contact and electrically connected to the third contact ([0036]); and
a fourth contact via (126C, not shown but described) disposed on the fourth contact and electrically connected to the fourth contact ([0036]),
wherein one of the first and second contact vias is larger than one of the third and fourth contact vias in a top view of the semiconductor device ([0036], 126A is larger than 126B-D).
As to claim 13, Liaw further teaches the first contact via (126A) electrically couples to an electrical ground (CVSS) of the memory cell, and the second contact via electrically couples to a power supply (CVDD) of the memory cell ([0031], one is high and the other is low).
As to claim 14, Liaw further teaches a length of the one of the first and second contact vias measured in the first direction is larger than a width of a corresponding one of the first and second contacts measured in the first direction (126A is an ellipse, thus the major axis is larger than the minor axis).
As to claim 17, Liaw further teaches a metal line extending in the first direction and electrically connected to the one of the first and second contact vias, wherein the metal line and the one of the first and second contact vias substantially have a same width measured in the second direction (Obvious the metal line would have the same width so as to properly contact the vias while minimizing space used).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed and claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 15, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the DP rejection is overcome. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims listed above in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all of the features in the claims. As to claim 3, Liaw fails to teach the first and second source/drain contact vias have a same area, and the first and second gate contacts have a same area. Liaw very specifically teaches only the first S/D contact 126A is larger than the other contacts (i.e. second S/D contact 126D).
As to claim 7, Liaw fails to teach the first and second gate structures have a gate pitch and a gate width, and a length of the one of the first and second source/drain contact vias measured in the first direction is larger than a sum of the gate pitch and the gate width.
As to claim 8, Liaw fails to teach a portion of the first and second gate structures is directly under the one of the first and second source/drain contact vias.
As to claim 15, Liaw fails to teach the length of the one of the first and second contact vias measured in the first direction is larger than a distance between two outward facing sidewalls of the first and second gate structures measured in the first direction.
As to claim 18, Liaw teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a device layer including a plurality of first transistors (PG-1 and (PG-2) in a write-port of a static random-access memory (SRAM) cell ([0032]) and at least a second transistor in a read-port of the SRAM cell;
a metal line layer (ML1) disposed on the device layer and electrically coupled to the first and second transistors in the device layer, wherein the metal line layer includes a power supply line, an electrical ground line, and a plurality of signal lines ([0033]);
a first contact via (126A) disposed between the device layer and the metal line layer, wherein the first contact via is electrically coupled to the power supply line (CVSS, [0031]);
a second contact via (126B) disposed between the device layer and the metal line layer, wherein the second contact via is electrically coupled to the electrical ground line (CVDD, [0031]); and
a plurality of third contact vias (126D) disposed between the device layer and the metal line layer ([0033]), wherein the third contact vias (126D) are electrically coupled to the signal lines ([0031]),
Liaw fails to teach each of the first and second contact vias (126A and 126B) has an area larger than any of the third contact vias (126D) in a top view of the semiconductor device. Only the first contact 126A has a larger area. Liaw specifically teaches the area of 126A is larger than those of 126B-126D ([0036]).
The remaining claims are allowable or allowed at least because they depend from allowable claims.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
4/7/26