DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 8/6/2026 have been entered. Claim 18 has been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-17, 19-21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Amendment, with respect to rejections under prior art have been fully considered and are moot upon a new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, as outlined below.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Jann et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0344218), referred to as Jann ‘218 herein [previously presented].
Jann et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0391825), referred to as Jann ‘825 herein [previously presented].
Redenbach et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0234840), referred to as Redenbach herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jann ‘218 in view of Jann ‘825 in further view of Redenbach.
Regarding claim 1, Jann ‘218 discloses a computer system for providing data elements in customizable containers and generating a customizable user interface, the computer system including at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, the at least one processor programmed to (Jann ‘218, Abstract – customizable web interface. ¶0103, ¶0222-¶0224 – processor and hardware memory. ¶0036 – personalization of containers):
receive an indication to activate a customization mode for a user interface from an end user (Jann ‘218, ¶0146, ¶0149, ¶0165, ¶0187 – edit mode enables tile customization);
populate a container with a plurality of data elements based upon one or more permissions for the end user based upon a role of the end user (Jann ‘218, ¶0036-¶0037 – personalized launchpad contents organized in containers, including tiles are determined based on user role, authorization level, and interests);
display the customization mode for the user interface at an end user device associated with the end user, the customization mode including the container in a first portion of the user interface and a preview of a live mode of the user interface in a second portion of the user interface
display the live mode of the user interface including display of the data element at a second position on the end user device and
However, Jann ‘218 appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jann ‘825 discloses a customized user interface (Jann ‘825, Abstract with ¶0049), including
receive one or more changes to the user interface from the end user; and update a profile for the end user based on the one or more changes, including saving a relative position of the data element in the preview based upon the first position (Jann ‘825, ¶0103-¶0107, ¶0143-¶0146 – user specific customization is stored as personalization data in response to user selections),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the personalized configuration of Jann ‘218 to include storing personalization profile data in response to changes based on the teachings of Jann ‘825. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to provide personalization inputs without having to save operations separately (Jann ‘825), saving the user time and effort.
However, Jann ‘218 as modified appears not to expressly disclose outside of the one or more containers and excluding display of the container. However, in the same field of endeavor Redenbach drag and drop customization of a web interface (Redenbach, Abstract), including
display the customization mode for the user interface at an end user device associated with the end user, the customization mode including the container in a first portion of the user interface and a preview of a live mode of the user interface in a second portion of the user interface outside of the one or more containers (Redenbach, Figs. 5-7 with ¶0032-¶0038, ¶0046, ¶0049-¶0050 – selectable tiles displayed in a tile bar (elements 119-120) can be dragged into a location on the preview canvas),
display the live mode of the user interface including display of the data element at a second position on the end user device and excluding display of the container, the data element at a second position in the live mode being a same data element as the data element displayed at the first position in the preview (Redenbach, ¶0032, ¶0035-¶0040, ¶0058, ¶0061-¶0064 – bars are an element of the design view. The end user view is outside of the design view. When the user exits the design view, the user can see how the look of the live page and can change the size of the display to see how the live display configuration changes tile positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the drag and drop interface of Jann ‘218 as modified to include selecting available tiles from a tile bar based on the teachings of Redenbach. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to select from available templates in an intuitive interface for non-technical users that reduces time and effort for configuration (Redenbach, ¶0005, ¶0011).
Regarding claim 2, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the indication to activate the customization mode is based on an input from the end user (Jann ‘218 with ¶0142, ¶0145, ¶0148 – user selects to edit the interface).
Regarding claim 3, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein to determine the role and the one or more permissions for the end user, the at least one processor is further programmed to: retrieve the profile for the end user from a database; and retrieve the role and the one or more permissions from the profile (Jann ‘218, ¶0037, ¶0042, ¶0053-¶0054 – customization based on user role, authorization level. Figs. 2 and 12 with ¶0102-¶0104, ¶0110-¶0111, ¶0177, ¶0206-¶0209 – user roles and authorization are stored in the central SAP database system, and retrieved for generation of the interface at the client).
Regarding claim 4, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 3 above, and further discloses wherein the profile for the user interface is a first profile, wherein the profile for the role and the one or more permissions is a second profile, and wherein the first profile and the second profile are different (Jann ‘218, Figs. 2 and 12 with ¶0102-¶0104, ¶0110-¶0111, ¶0177, ¶0206-¶0209 – user roles and authorization are stored in the central SAP database system. Jann ‘825, ¶0103-¶0107, ¶0143-¶0146 – user specific customization is stored as personalization data in response to user selections).
Regarding claim 5, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to: store a plurality of profiles for a plurality of end users; retrieve a first profile for a first end user; and generate a first user interface for the first end user based on the first profile (Jann ‘218, ¶0037-¶0038, ¶0042, ¶0053-¶0054 – customization based on user role, authorization level for multiple users. Figs. 2 and 12 with ¶0102-¶0104, ¶0110-¶0111, ¶0177, ¶0206-¶0209 – user roles and authorization are stored in the central SAP database system, and retrieved for generation of the interface at the client).
Regarding claim 6, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 5 above, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to retrieve the first profile for the first end user in response to receiving an indication that the first end user of the plurality of end users is logging in (Jann ‘218, Fig. 1B with ¶0070, ¶0177 – login screen for initiating display of the personalized and customized UX).
Regarding claim 7, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 5 above, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to transmit the first user interface to the end user device associated with the first end user to display the first user interface to the first end user (Jann ‘218, Fig. 2 with ¶0034, ¶0101-¶0104, ¶0111, ¶0120-¶0122 – client interface is delivered from and hosted on server platforms).
Regarding claim 8, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the profile includes a selected plurality of data elements to display and a plurality of locations on the user interface to display the selected plurality of data elements (Jann ‘218, ¶0146 – user tile location arrangements. Jann ‘825, ¶0103-¶0107, ¶0143-¶0146 – user specific customization is stored as personalization data in response to user selections).
Regarding claim 9, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the profile includes at least one of a size of one or more of the plurality of data elements, a color of one or more of the plurality of data elements, a font of one or more of the plurality of data elements, or a color of a font of one or more of the plurality of data elements (Jann ‘218, ¶0054-¶0055, ¶0074, ¶0201 – tiles are color-coded according to role. Users can customize tiles. Users can resize cards).
Regarding claim 10, Jann ‘218 discloses a computer-based method for providing data elements in customizable containers and generating a customizable user interface implemented on a customizable user interface (“CUI”) server that includes at least one processor and/or associated transceiver in communication with at least one memory device, wherein the method comprises (Jann ‘218, Abstract – customizable web interface. ¶0103, ¶0222-¶0224 – processor and hardware memory. Fig. 2 with ¶0034, ¶0101-¶0104, ¶0111, ¶0120-¶0122 – client interface is delivered from and hosted on server platforms. ¶0036 – personalization of containers):
receiving an indication to activate a customization mode for a user interface from an end user (Jann ‘218, ¶0146, ¶0149, ¶0165, ¶0187 – edit mode enables tile customization);
populating a container with a plurality of data elements based upon one or more permissions for the end user based upon a role of the end user (Jann ‘218, ¶0036-¶0037 – personalized launchpad contents organized in containers, including tiles are determined based on user role, authorization level, and interests);
displaying the customization mode for the user interface at an end user device associated with the end user, the customization mode including the container in a first portion of the user interface and a preview of a live mode of the user interface in a second portion of the user interface
displaying the live mode of the user interface including display of the data element at a second position on the end user device and
However, Jann ‘218 appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jann ‘825 discloses a customized user interface (Jann ‘825, Abstract with ¶0049), including
receive one or more changes to the user interface from the end user; and update a profile for the end user based on the one or more changes (Jann ‘825, ¶0103-¶0107, ¶0143-¶0146 – user specific customization is stored as personalization data in response to user selections),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the personalized configuration of Jann ‘218 to include storing personalization profile data in response to changes based on the teachings of Jann ‘825. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to provide personalization inputs without having to save operations separately (Jann ‘825), saving the user time and effort.
However, Jann ‘218 as modified appears not to expressly disclose outside of the one or more containers and excluding display of the container. However, in the same field of endeavor Redenbach drag and drop customization of a web interface (Redenbach, Abstract), including
display the customization mode for the user interface at an end user device associated with the end user, the customization mode including the container in a first portion of the user interface and a preview of a live mode of the user interface in a second portion of the user interface outside of the one or more containers (Redenbach, Figs. 5-7 with ¶0032-¶0038, ¶0046, ¶0049-¶0050 – selectable tiles displayed in a tile bar (elements 119-120) can be dragged into a location on the preview canvas),
display the live mode of the user interface including display of the data element at a second position on the end user device and excluding display of the container, the data element at a second position in the live mode being a same data element as the data element displayed at the first position in the preview (Redenbach, ¶0032, ¶0035-¶0040, ¶0058, ¶0061-¶0064 – bars are an element of the design view. The end user view is outside of the design view. When the user exits the design view, the user can see how the look of the live page and can change the size of the display to see how the live display configuration changes tile positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the drag and drop interface of Jann ‘218 as modified to include selecting available tiles from a tile bar based on the teachings of Redenbach. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to select from available templates in an intuitive interface for non-technical users that reduces time and effort for configuration (Redenbach, ¶0005, ¶0011).
Regarding claim 11, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein the indication to activate the customization mode is based on an input from the end user (Jann ‘218 with ¶0142, ¶0145, ¶0148 – user selects to edit the interface).
Regarding claim 12, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein to determine the role and the one or more permissions for the end user, the method further comprises: retrieving the profile for the end user from a database; and retrieving the role and the one or more permissions from the profile (Jann ‘218, ¶0037, ¶0042, ¶0053-¶0054 – customization based on user role, authorization level. Figs. 2 and 12 with ¶0102-¶0104, ¶0110-¶0111, ¶0177, ¶0206-¶0209 – user roles and authorization are stored in the central SAP database system, and retrieved for generation of the interface at the client).
Regarding claim 13, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein the profile for the user interface is a first profile, wherein the profile for the role and the one or more permissions is a second profile, and wherein the first profile and the second profile are different (Jann ‘218, Figs. 2 and 12 with ¶0102-¶0104, ¶0110-¶0111, ¶0177, ¶0206-¶0209 – user roles and authorization are stored in the central SAP database system. Jann ‘825, ¶0103-¶0107, ¶0143-¶0146 – user specific customization is stored as personalization data in response to user selections).
Regarding claim 14, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses storing a plurality of profiles for a plurality of end users; retrieving a first profile for a first end user; and generating a first user interface for the first end user based on the first profile (Jann ‘218, ¶0037-¶0038, ¶0042, ¶0053-¶0054 – customization based on user role, authorization level for multiple users. Figs. 2 and 12 with ¶0102-¶0104, ¶0110-¶0111, ¶0177, ¶0206-¶0209 – user roles and authorization are stored in the central SAP database system, and retrieved for generation of the interface at the client).
Regarding claim 15, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 14 above, and further discloses retrieving the first profile for the first end user in response to receiving an indication that the first end user of the plurality of end users is logging in (Jann ‘218, Fig. 1B with ¶0070, ¶0177 – login screen for initiating display of the personalized and customized UX).
Regarding claim 16, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 14 above, and further discloses transmitting the first user interface to the end user device associated with the first end user to display the first user interface to the first end user (Jann ‘218, Fig. 2 with ¶0034, ¶0101-¶0104, ¶0111, ¶0120-¶0122 – client interface is delivered from and hosted on server platforms).
Regarding claim 17, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein the profile includes a selected plurality of data elements to display and a plurality of locations on the user interface to display the selected plurality of data elements (Jann ‘218, ¶0146 – user tile location arrangements. Jann ‘825, ¶0103-¶0107, ¶0143-¶0146 – user specific customization is stored as personalization data in response to user selections).
Regarding claim 19, Jann ‘218 discloses at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon for providing data elements in customizable containers and generating a customizable user interface, wherein when executed by at least one processor, the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to (Jann ‘218, Abstract – customizable web interface. ¶0103, ¶0222-¶0224 – processor and hardware memory. ¶0036 – personalization of containers):
receive an indication to activate a customization mode for a user interface from an end user (Jann ‘218, ¶0146, ¶0149, ¶0165, ¶0187 – edit mode enables tile customization);
populate a container with a plurality of data elements based upon one or more permissions for the end user based upon a role of the end user (Jann ‘218, ¶0036-¶0037 – personalized launchpad contents organized in containers, including tiles are determined based on user role, authorization level, and interests);
display the customization mode for the user interface at an end user device associated with the end user, the customization mode including the container in a first of the user interface portion and a preview of a live mode of the user interface in a second portion of the user interface including saving a relative position of the data element in the preview based upon the first position (Jann ‘218, ¶0040, ¶0047, ¶0054-¶0055, ¶0146-¶0149, ¶0165, ¶0187-¶0188 – edit mode enables tile customization via dragging or interacting with displayed tiles or accessing edit commands. Changes made in edit mode represent a preview of what the interface will look like outside of edit mode. Tiles can be added to a container. ¶0146-¶0147 – tiles can be dragged between groups); and
display the live mode of the user interface including display of the data element at a second position on the end user device and
However, Jann ‘218 appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jann ‘825 discloses a customized user interface (Jann ‘825, Abstract with ¶0049), including
receive one or more changes to the user interface from the end user; and update a profile for the end user based on the one or more changes (Jann ‘825, ¶0103-¶0107, ¶0143-¶0146 – user specific customization is stored as personalization data in response to user selections),
display a live mode of the user interface including display of the data element at a second position on the end user device, the second position different from the first position and determined based upon the relative position of the data element in the preview (Jann, ‘825, ¶0117 – vertically scrolling the page to reveal additional cards. Fig. 4 with ¶0125 – selecting the “useful apps” tab bar item results in moving the “useful apps” tile arrangement shown in Elements 442 and 443 to the top of the page while preserving the same relative layout arrangement. See also Fig. 2C-2J with ¶0085-¶0091 – the same arrangement is shown at reduced size, but increased and shifted in position according to the parallax transition. At least a portion of the relative arrangement is preserved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the personalized configuration of Jann ‘218 to include storing personalization profile data in response to changes based on the teachings of Jann ‘825. The motivation for doing so would have been enable the user to provide personalization inputs without having to save operations separately (Jann ‘825), saving the user time and effort.
However, Jann ‘218 as modified appears not to expressly disclose outside of the one or more containers and excluding display of the container. However, in the same field of endeavor Redenbach drag and drop customization of a web interface (Redenbach, Abstract), including
display the customization mode for the user interface at an end user device associated with the end user, the customization mode including the container in a first portion of the user interface and a preview of a live mode of the user interface in a second portion of the user interface outside of the one or more containers (Redenbach, Figs. 5-7 with ¶0032-¶0038, ¶0046, ¶0049-¶0050 – selectable tiles displayed in a tile bar (elements 119-120) can be dragged into a location on the preview canvas),
display the live mode of the user interface including display of the data element at a second position on the end user device and excluding display of the container, the data element at a second position in the live mode being a same data element as the data element displayed at the first position in the preview (Redenbach, ¶0032, ¶0035-¶0040, ¶0058, ¶0061-¶0064 – bars are an element of the design view. The end user view is outside of the design view. When the user exits the design view, the user can see how the look of the live page and can change the size of the display to see how the live display configuration changes tile positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the drag and drop interface of Jann ‘218 as modified to include selecting available tiles from a tile bar based on the teachings of Redenbach. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to select from available templates in an intuitive interface for non-technical users that reduces time and effort for configuration (Redenbach, ¶0005, ¶0011).
Regarding claim 20, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the limitations of claim 19 above and further discloses: store a plurality of profiles for a plurality of end users (Jann ‘218, ¶0037-¶0038, ¶0042, ¶0053-¶0054 – customization based on user role, authorization level for multiple users. Figs. 2 and 12 with ¶0102-¶0104, ¶0110-¶0111, ¶0177, ¶0206-¶0209 – user roles and authorization are stored in the central SAP database system, and retrieved for generation of the interface at the client);
retrieve a first profile for a first end user in response to receiving an indication that the first end user of the plurality of end users is logging in (Jann ‘218, Fig. 1B with ¶0070, ¶0177 – login screen for initiating display of the personalized and customized UX);
generate a first user interface for the first end user based on the first profile; and transmit the first user interface to the end user device associated with the first end user to display the first user interface to the first end user (Jann ‘218, Figs. 2 and 12 with ¶0101-¶0104, ¶0110-¶0111, ¶0120-¶0122, ¶0177, ¶0206-¶0209 – user roles and authorization are stored in the central SAP database system, and retrieved for generation of the interface at the client).
Regarding claim 21, Jann ‘218 as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 above and further wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to display an entirety of the data element in the preview and display the entirety of the data element in the live mode (Jann ‘218, ¶0040, ¶0047, ¶0054-¶0055, ¶0145-¶0149, ¶0165, ¶0187-¶0188 – edit mode enables tile customization via dragging or interacting with displayed tiles or accessing edit commands. Changes made in edit mode represent a preview of what the interface will look like outside of edit mode. Tiles can be added to a container. Redenbach, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0050-¶0051 – tile is shown in the selected area).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174