CTFR 18/492,279 CTFR 99874 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This office action is in response to remarks filed 02/02/2026. Claims 1-21 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1 and 21 are amended. Response to Amendment Objections to drawings are withdrawn. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim s 2, 3, 5, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2, 3, 5, 9, and 13 recites the limitation " the determined radio conditions by the apparatus comprises at least one or more unsuccessful transmissions for uplink Random Access Channel (UL RACH) ". Determining ‘unsuccessful transmissions’ for RACH, as recited in the claim, is indefinite. Claim 2, as written, recites “ wherein the determined radio conditions by the apparatus comprises at least one or more unsuccessful transmissions for uplink Random Access Channel (UL RACH) in one or more cells managed by the apparatus. ” The apparatus is interpreted as a gNB per the instant application at [0064], ‘The apparatus 510 may be an NG-RAN node’. An UL RACH is a messaging procedure for a user equipment, UE, initiating communication to a gNB. The first message of the procedure is from the UE to the gNB referred to as Msg1. For an UL RACH to be successful, the first message must at least be transmitted by the UE and received by the gNB. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand if the gNB fails to receive Msg1 or fails to decode a received Msg1 then the UL RACH transmission is unsuccessful. The apparatus, gNB, determines radio conditions comprising one or more unsuccessful transmissions per Claim 2. Examiner interpretation is the determination depends on a count of UL RACHs that pass or fail. If the gNB failed to receive Msg1 then gNB cannot count a pass or a fail for an UL RACH transmission from a UE because the gNB was unable to determine that the transmission was a RACH message. Therefore, the determination of radio conditions cannot be made for an unsuccessful transmission. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 20230232367 A1, hereinafter “Abedini”) , in view of Sivavakeesar et al. (S 20200015196 A1, hereinafter “Sivavakeesar”), in view of Belleschi et al (US 20230171810 A1, hereinafter “Belleschi”) . RE Claim 1, Abedini discloses: An apparatus (¶0147, Fig. 13) comprising: at least one processor (¶0148, Fig. 13:1340) ; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (¶0150, Fig. 13) , cause the apparatus at least to: identify at least one of multiple peer nodes from which paging messages were received for paging actions to user equipment (AMF, peer node, initiates paging request for UE to send to a RAN node, the apparatus. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 924) ;. Abedini does not explicitly disclose: based on determined radio conditions by the apparatus, trigger sending of a notification message comprising paging recommendation information to the at least one of identified peer nodes . However, Sivavakeesar discloses: based on determined radio conditions by the apparatus, trigger sending of a notification message comprising paging recommendation information to the at least one of identified peer nodes (RAN based paging for a UE within its paging area involves transmitting paging signaling via the air, Uu, interface, a radio for transmitting and receiving signals between UE and RAN. ¶¶0098, 0071-0073; UE does not respond to a paging signaling and the RAN based paging signaling was unsuccessful. ¶0132; Based on failure of RAN based paging, associated gNB proceeds to request assistance, a notification, from AMF, a peer node. Request message information identifies the UE to be paged and information identifying one or more cells in which paging is recommended. ¶¶0133, 0138, 0140, 0075) . Abedini and Sivavakeesar do not explicitly disclose: wherein the paging recommendation includes information about cells being affected by remote interference, and wherein the determined radio conditions include determined cells affected by the remote interference. However, Belleschi discloses: wherein the paging recommendation includes information about cells being affected by remote interference (Embodiments performed at the concerned gNB-DU. ¶0137, Fig. 7; The interferences measured over the RACH resources as low, medium, high. ¶1039, Fig. 7: Step 700; Information related to RACH performance, e.g. success/unsuccessful RACH attempts for a UE in a given cell for RACH success/failed attempts. Information associated to the detection of RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶¶0143-0146; Step 704: Information related to RACH performance gNB-DU determines, on the basis of the collected information at the gNB-DU, a RACH resources adjustment for RACH procedures. ¶0148, Fig. 7; Step 706: gNB-DU signals to the gNB-CU any adjustment in RACH resources. ¶¶0153-0154, Fig. 7; Step 710: gNB transmits information about RACH performance in terms of statistical distribution of access and delay probability. ¶¶0155-0156) , and wherein the determined radio conditions include determined cells affected by the remote interference (Interference indication for Uplink on RACH resources, e.g. SINR on received msg1 or msgA per time slot and frequency range. ¶¶0076-0081, Fig. 6; gNB-DU collects statistics about 2-step and 4-step random access and stored in gNB-DU. The number of UEs and how many performed random access are recorded in a time period. Interference measured over the PRACH resources as high, medium, low. RACH performance, e.g. success/fail RACH attempts, for the UE in a given cell. Information associated to detection of 2-step and 4-step RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶¶0137-0142, Fig. 7; RACH performances containing RACH failures information computed location by the gNB-DU. ¶0210) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, active monitoring of paging procedure over a radio link to the UE in order to update AMF with paging assistance information on paging failure, with the teachings of Belleschi, assistance information for the number of unsuccess UL RACH attempts in a cell of the RAN node. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7) RE Claim 6, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the sender network node is identified as one of the at least one of peer nodes from which the paging messages were received (AMF, peer node, initiates paging request for UE to send to a RAN node, the apparatus. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 924) ,. Abedini does not explicitly disclose: and to which the notification message is sent through the triggering ) However, Sivavakeesar discloses: and to which the notification message is sent through the triggering (RAN based paging for a UE within its paging area involves transmitting paging signaling via the air, Uu, interface, a radio for transmitting and receiving signals between UE and RAN. ¶¶0098, 0071-0073; UE does not respond to a paging signaling and the RAN based paging signaling was unsuccessful. ¶0132; Based on failure of RAN based paging, associated gNB proceeds to request assistance, a notification, from AMF, a peer node. Request message information identifies the UE to be paged and information identifying one or more cells in which paging is recommended. ¶¶0133, 0138, 0140, 0075) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, active monitoring of paging procedure over a radio link to the UE in order to trigger an update AMF with paging assistance information on paging failure. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process, i.e. triggered on failure, to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9 ) RE Claim 7, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the sender network node is one of: an access management function (AMF) in a core network or a radio access node in a radio access network (AMF, peer node, initiates paging request for UE to send to a RAN node, the apparatus. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 924) . RE Claim 8, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the at least one peer node from which paging messages were received comprises at least one access management function (AMF) in a core network (AMF, peer node, initiates paging request for UE to send to a RAN node, the apparatus. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 924) . RE Claim 11, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the apparatus is an NG-RAN node (5G wireless communication system. ¶0046, Fig. 2) . RE Claim 12, Abedini discloses: An apparatus (Core network node may be an AMF. ¶¶0169-0170, Fig. 16: 1600) comprising: at least one processor (¶¶0169-0170, Fig. 16: 1604, 1640) ; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (¶0178, Fig. 16: 1604) , cause the apparatus at least to: update a paging strategy using the received paging recommendation information for subsequent paging actions involving the radio access node (AMF uses paging assistance information received from RAN to determine a paging strategy. ¶¶0114-0115, Fig. 9: 916; AMF provides paging assistance information, subsequent paging action, to the RAN based on the paging strategy when the AMF initiates a paging request. ¶¶0114-0115, Fig. 9: 920) . Abedini does not explicitly disclose: receive a notification message from a radio access node comprising paging recommendation information concerning the radio access node; However, Sivavakeesar discloses: receive a notification message from a radio access node comprising paging recommendation information concerning the radio access node (RAN based paging for a UE within its paging area involves transmitting paging signaling via the air, Uu, interface, a radio for transmitting and receiving signals between UE and RAN. ¶¶0098, 0071-0073; UE does not respond to a paging signaling and the RAN based paging signaling was unsuccessful. ¶0132; Based on failure of RAN based paging, associated gNB proceeds to request assistance, a notification, from AMF, a peer node. Request message information identifies the UE to be paged and information identifying one or more cells in which paging is recommended. ¶¶0133, 0138, 0140, 0075) , Abedini and Sivavakeesar do not explicitly disclose: wherein the paging recommendation includes information about cells being affected by remote interference, and wherein the determined radio conditions include determined cells affected by the remote interference. However, Belleschi discloses: wherein the paging recommendation includes information about cells being affected by remote interference (Embodiments performed at the concerned gNB-DU. ¶0137, Fig. 7; The interferences measured over the RACH resources as low, medium, high. ¶1039, Fig. 7: Step 700; Information related to RACH performance, e.g. success/unsuccessful RACH attempts for a UE in a given cell for RACH success/failed attempts. Information associated to the detection of RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶¶0143-0146; Step 704: Information related to RACH performance gNB-DU determines, on the basis of the collected information at the gNB-DU, a RACH resources adjustment for RACH procedures. ¶0148, Fig. 7; Step 706: gNB-DU signals to the gNB-CU any adjustment in RACH resources. ¶¶0153-0154, Fig. 7; Step 710: gNB transmits information about RACH performance in terms of statistical distribution of access and delay probability. ¶¶0155-0156) , and wherein the determined radio conditions include determined cells affected by the remote interference (Interference indication for Uplink on RACH resources, e.g. SINR on received msg1 or msgA per time slot and frequency range. ¶¶0076-0081, Fig. 6; gNB-DU collects statistics about 2-step and 4-step random access and stored in gNB-DU. The number of UEs and how many performed random access are recorded in a time period. Interference measured over the PRACH resources as high, medium, low. RACH performance, e.g. success/fail RACH attempts, for the UE in a given cell. Information associated to detection of 2-step and 4-step RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶¶0137-0142, Fig. 7; RACH performances containing RACH failures information computed location by the gNB-DU. ¶0210) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a AMF receiving a paging assistance from a RAN node, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, active monitoring of paging procedure by a RAN node over a radio link to the UE in order to trigger an update to the AMF with paging assistance information, recommendation, on paging failure, with the teachings of Belleschi, assistance information for the number of unsuccess UL RACH attempts in a cell of the RAN node. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process, i.e. triggered on failure, to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7) RE Claim 14, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the paging recommendation information comprises at least one of a list of cells and a recommendation for paging strategy (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926) . RE Claim 15, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the recommendation for paging strategy comprises at least one of: a recommendation to send a repetition of paging with the same paging area (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926) , a recommendation on a number of paging repetitions to perform keeping the same paging area (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926; AMF sends paging request to at least one base station to sending paging message to the UE. Paging request sent to a plurality of base stations covering a tracking area, TA, where the UE is expected to be located. ¶0107) , a recommendation on a paging area to be used in a subsequent paging message (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926; AMF sends paging request to at least one base station to sending paging message to the UE. Paging request sent to a plurality of base stations covering a tracking area, TA, where the UE is expected to be located. ¶0107) , a recommendation on a list of cells to be paged in a subsequent paging message (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926) , a recommendation to increase a paging repetition timer due to delay in paging response (element is optional) , or a recommendation to update or increase a total number of paging attempts (element is optional) . RE Claim 16, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the updating the paging strategy for subsequent paging actions involving the radio access node (AMF uses paging assistance information received from RAN to determine a paging strategy. ¶¶0114-0115, Fig. 9: 916; AMF provides paging assistance information, subsequent paging action, to the RAN based on the paging strategy when the AMF initiates a paging request, a first paging message. ¶¶0114-0115, Fig. 9: 920) comprises at least one of: determine to send a repetition of paging with the same paging area (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926; AMF sends paging request to at least one base station to sending paging message to the UE. Paging request sent to a plurality of base stations covering a tracking area, TA, where the UE is expected to be located. ¶0107) , determine a number of paging repetitions to perform keeping the same paging area (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926; AMF sends paging request to at least one base station to sending paging message to the UE. Paging request sent to a plurality of base stations covering a tracking area, TA, where the UE is expected to be located. ¶0107) , determine a paging area to be paged in a subsequent paging message (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926; AMF sends paging request to at least one base station to sending paging message to the UE. Paging request sent to a plurality of base stations covering a tracking area, TA, where the UE is expected to be located. ¶0107) , determine a list of cells to be paged in a subsequent paging message (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926) , determine to increase a paging repetition timer due to delay in paging response (element is optional) , or determine to update or increase a total number of paging attempts (element is optional) . RE Claim 17, Abedini does not explicitly disclose: The apparatus, wherein the notification message from the radio access node comprising paging recommendation information concerning the radio access node is received in relation to sending of a first paging message for a user equipment which paging area is served by the radio access node. However, Sivavakeesar discloses: The apparatus, wherein the notification message from the radio access node comprising paging recommendation information concerning the radio access node is received in relation to sending of a first paging message for a user equipment which paging area is served by the radio access node (RAN based paging for a UE within its paging area involves transmitting paging signaling via the air, Uu, interface, a radio for transmitting and receiving signals between UE and RAN. ¶¶0098, 0071-0073; UE does not respond to a paging signaling and the RAN based paging signaling was unsuccessful. ¶0132; Based on failure of RAN based paging, associated gNB proceeds to request assistance, a notification, from AMF, a peer node. Request message information identifies the UE to be paged and information identifying one or more cells in which paging is recommended. ¶¶0133, 0138, 0140, 0075) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a AMF receiving a paging assistance from a RAN node, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, active monitoring of paging procedure by a RAN node over a radio link to the UE in order to trigger an update to the AMF with paging assistance information, recommendation, on paging failure and location of the UE. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information, paging failure and associated paging area of UE, between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process, i.e. triggered on failure, to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9 ) RE Claim 18, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the apparatus is caused to at least use the paging recommendation information in the received notification message from the radio access node to adjust paging parameters for a repetition paging message of the first paging message to the user equipment (AMF uses paging assistance information received from RAN to determine a paging strategy. ¶¶0114-0115, Fig. 9: 916; AMF provides paging assistance information, subsequent paging action, to the RAN based on the paging strategy when the AMF initiates a paging request, a first paging message. ¶¶0114-0115, Fig. 9: 920; AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926) . RE Claim 19, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the adjusting the paging parameters for the repetition paging message of the first paging message comprises the apparatus performing at least one of: determine the paging area of the repetition paging message to be same as the paging area of the first paging message (AMF provides paging assistance information, subsequent paging action, to the RAN based on the paging strategy when the AMF initiates a paging request, a first paging message. ¶¶0114-0115, Fig. 9: 920; AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE (paging area), paging attempt count (repetition). ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926 , determine a number of paging repetitions to be performed towards the user equipment for keeping the same paging area (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926; AMF sends paging request to at least one base station to sending paging message to the UE. Paging request sent to a plurality of base stations covering a tracking area, TA, where the UE is expected to be located. ¶0107) , determine an updated paging area for the repetition paging message based on the paging recommendation information having been received in the notification message (AMF uses paging assistance information and beam-related information to determine paging strategy. Paging strategy based on a sub-area, an area covered by one or more TRPs or beams. Paging strategy also includes paging attempt count, repetition. ¶0114, Fig. 9: 926) , determine a waiting time before sending the repetition paging message of the first paging message (element is optional) , or determine a total number of paging attempts to be performed in relation to the paging of the user equipment (AMF provide paging assistance information, recommendation, recommended cells for paging UE, paging attempt count, a repetition count. ¶0115, Fig. 9: 926;) . RE Claim 20, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the apparatus is an access management function (Core network node may be an AMF. ¶0169, Fig. 16) . RE Claim 21, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the radio access node is an NG-RAN node (5G wireless communication system. ¶0046, Fig. 2) . RE Claim 2, Abedini and Sivavakeesar do not explicitly disclose: The apparatus, wherein the determined radio conditions by the apparatus comprises at least one or more unsuccessful transmissions for uplink Random Access Channel (UL RACH) in one or more cells managed by the apparatus However, Belleschi discloses: The apparatus, wherein the determined radio conditions by the apparatus comprises at least one or more unsuccessful transmissions for uplink Random Access Channel (UL RACH) in one or more cells managed by the apparatus (Interference indication for Uplink on RACH resources, e.g. SINR on received msg1 or msgA per time slot and frequency range. ¶¶0076-0081, Fig. 6; gNB-DU collects statistics about 2-step and 4-step random access and stored in gNB-DU. The number of UEs and how many performed random access are recorded in a time period. Interference measured over the PRACH resources as high, medium, low. RACH performance, e.g. success/fail RACH attempts, for the UE in a given cell. Information associated to detection of 2-step and 4-step RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶0137, Fig. 7; RACH performances containing RACH failures information computed location by the gNB-DU. ¶0210) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, active monitoring of paging procedure over a radio link to the UE in order to update AMF with paging assistance information on paging failure, with the teachings of Belleschi, assistance information for the number of unsuccess UL RACH attempts in a cell of the RAN node. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7 ) RE Claim 3, Abedini and Sivavakeesar do not explicitly disclose: The apparatus, wherein the determining of the unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions in the one or more cells comprises an interference by an interferer However, Belleschi discloses: The apparatus, wherein the determining of the unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions in the one or more cells comprises an interference by an interferer (Interference indication for Uplink on RACH resources, e.g. SINR on received msg1 or msgA per time slot and frequency range. ¶¶0076-0081, Fig. 6; gNB-DU collects statistics about 2-step and 4-step random access and stored in gNB-DU. The number of UEs and how many performed random access are recorded in a time period. Interference measured over the PRACH resources as high, medium, low. RACH performance, e.g. success/fail RACH attempts, for the UE in a given cell. Information associated to detection of 2-step and 4-step RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶0137, Fig. 7; RACH performances containing RACH failures information computed location by the gNB-DU. ¶0210) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, active monitoring of paging procedure over a radio link to the UE in order to update AMF with paging assistance information on paging failure, with the teachings of Belleschi, assistance information for the number of unsuccess UL RACH attempts in a cell due to interference of the RAN node. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7 ) RE Claim 4, Abedini and Sivavakeesar do not explicitly disclose: The apparatus, wherein the interferer is a remote radio access node transmitting on a same frequency. However, Belleschi discloses: The apparatus, wherein the interferer is a remote radio access node transmitting on a same frequency (Information to compare indications of interference in a neighbor cell with activities in the corresponding time-frequency resources, same frequency, in a cell controlled by the local gNB-DU control. ¶¶0076-0081) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, active monitoring of paging procedure over a radio link to the UE in order to update AMF with paging assistance information on paging failure, with the teachings of Belleschi, assistance information for the number of unsuccess UL RACH attempts in a cell due to interference of the RAN node. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7 ) RE Claim 5, Abedini discloses: wherein the received paging message includes a paging area comprising at least one of the at least one or more cells managed by the apparatus (AMF sends paging request to at least one base station to sending paging message to the UE. Paging request sent to a plurality of base stations covering a tracking area, TA, where the UE is expected to be located. ¶0107) . Abedini and Sivavakeesar do not explicitly disclose: The apparatus, wherein the determining of the radio conditions for the one or more unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions in the one or more cells comprises determining that the one or more unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions are in one or more cells which are managed by the apparatus upon receiving a paging message for the user equipment from a sender network node, However, Belleschi discloses: The apparatus, wherein the determining of the radio conditions for the one or more unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions in the one or more cells comprises determining that the one or more unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions are in one or more cells which are managed by the apparatus upon receiving a paging message for the user equipment from a sender network node (gNB-CU determines preference for 2-step or 4-step RACH for random access attempted in response to RAN paging or 5GC Paging, AMF. ¶¶0062, 0170-0171; The number of UEs and how many performed random access are recorded in a time period. Interference measured over the PRACH resources as high, medium, low. RACH performance, e.g. success/fail RACH attempts, for the UE in a given cell. Information associated to detection of 2-step and 4-step RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶0137, Fig. 7; RACH performances containing RACH failures information computed location by the gNB-DU. ¶0210) , It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, active monitoring of paging procedure over a radio link to the UE in order to update AMF with paging assistance information on paging failure, with the teachings of Belleschi, 5G core signals paging message to RAN and RAN determines the number of unsuccess UL RACH attempts in a cell due to interference of the RAN node. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7 ) RE Claim 9, Abedini does not explicitly disclose: The apparatus, wherein the paging recommendation information comprises at least one of: (a) a list of cells, (b) an indication of the radio conditions for the one or more unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions or an indication of a level of severity characterizing the radio conditions, or (c) a recommendation for paging strategy. However Sivavakeesar discloses: The apparatus, wherein the paging recommendation information comprises at least one of: (a) a list of cells Based on failure of RAN based paging, associated gNB proceeds to request assistance, a notification, from AMF, a peer node. Request message information identifies the UE to be paged and information identifying one or more cells in which paging is recommended. ¶¶0133, 0138, 0140, 0075) , , or (c) a recommendation for paging strategy Based on failure of RAN based paging, associated gNB proceeds to request assistance, a notification, from AMF, a peer node. Request message information identifies the UE to be paged and information identifying one or more cells in which paging is recommended. ¶¶0133, 0138, 0140, 0075) . Sivavakeesar does not explicitly disclose: (b) an indication of the radio conditions for the one or more unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions or an indication of a level of severity characterizing the radio conditions. However, Belleschi discloses: (b) an indication of the radio conditions for the one or more unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions or an indication of a level of severity characterizing the radio conditions (Interference indication for Uplink on RACH resources, e.g. SINR on received msg1 or msgA per time slot and frequency range. ¶¶0076-0081, Fig. 6; gNB-DU collects statistics about 2-step and 4-step random access and stored in gNB-DU. The number of UEs and how many performed random access are recorded in a time period. Interference measured over the PRACH resources as high, medium, low. RACH performance, e.g. success/fail RACH attempts, for the UE in a given cell. Information associated to detection of 2-step and 4-step RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶0137, Fig. 7; RACH performances containing RACH failures information computed location by the gNB-DU. ¶0210) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, assistance information for a list of recommended cells, with the teachings of Belleschi, assistance information for the amount of interference and correspond RACH success rate. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7 ) RE Claim 13, Abedini and Sivavakeesar do not explicitly disclose: The apparatus, wherein the paging recommendation information comprises at least one of a list of cells and an indication of radio conditions for one or more unsuccessful uplink Random Access Channel (UL RACH) transmissions , or an indication of a level of severity characterizing the radio conditions. However, Belleschi discloses: The apparatus, wherein the paging recommendation information comprises at least one of a list of cells and an indication of radio conditions for one or more unsuccessful uplink Random Access Channel (UL RACH) transmissions , or an indication of a level of severity characterizing the radio conditions (gNB-CU determines preference for 2-step or 4-step RACH for random access attempted in response to RAN paging or 5GC Paging, AMF. ¶¶0062, 0170-0171; The number of UEs and how many performed random access are recorded in a time period. Interference measured over the PRACH resources as high, medium, low. RACH performance, e.g. success/fail RACH attempts, for the UE in a given cell. Information associated to detection of 2-step and 4-step RACH configuration conflicts with neighboring cells. ¶0137, Fig. 7; RACH performances containing RACH failures information computed location by the gNB-DU. ¶0210) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, assistance information for a list of recommended cells, with the teachings of Belleschi, assistance information for the amount of interference and correspond RACH success rate. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7 ) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini, in view of Sivavakeesar, in view of Belleschi, in view of Zee et al (US 20190239191 A1, hereinafter “Zee”); RE Claim 10, Abedini discloses: The apparatus, wherein the recommendation for paging strategy comprises at least one of: a recommendation on a list of cells to be paged in a next paging attempt (RAN sends paging assistance information to AM including recommended tracking areas and cells. ¶0112, Fig. 9: 918) , a recommendation to increase a paging repetition timer due to delay in paging response (element is optional) , Abedini, Sivavakeesar, and Belleschi do not explicitly disclose: The apparatus, wherein the recommendation for paging strategy comprises at least one of: a recommendation to send a repetition of paging with the same paging area, a recommendation on the number of paging repetitions to perform keeping the same paging area. However, Zee discloses: The apparatus, wherein the recommendation for paging strategy comprises at least one of: a recommendation to send a repetition of paging with the same paging area (RAN maintains responsibility for paging strategy. RAN performs ‘paging assistance request’ to the core network providing information on paging interval, how long time, and the area which RAN will still page, same paging area, at next attempt. RAN also provides information on how many attempts, repetitions, the RAN has spent on paging. Core network performs single paging attempt while using information from the requesting RAN node on the paging scope of this very paging attempt. ¶¶0139, 0084) , a recommendation on the number of paging repetitions to perform keeping the same paging area (RAN maintains responsibility for paging strategy. RAN performs ‘paging assistance request’ to the core network providing information on paging interval, how long time, and the area which RAN will still page, same paging area, at next attempt. RAN also provides information on how many attempts, repetitions, the RAN has spent on paging. Core network performs single paging attempt while using information from the requesting RAN node on the paging scope of this very paging attempt ¶¶0139, 0084) , or a recommendation to update or increase a total number of paging attempts (; RAN also provides information on how many attempts, repetitions, the RAN has spent on paging. ¶¶0319, 0084; RAN node and CN node may exchange the paging strategy information so that both are up-to-date with the most current version in case it may have changed. ¶0076; RAN and MME exchange paging strategies in case they change dynamically. ¶0106. ) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abedini, a RAN node receiving a paging request from an AMF, with the teachings of Sivavakeesar, assistance information for a list of recommended cells, with the teachings of Belleschi, assistance information for the amount of interference and correspond RACH success rate, with the teachings of Zee, RAN provides paging assistance recommendations for paging attempts, repetitions and areas based on RAN paging methods to the core network node. The motivation in doing so would be to support exchange of paging assistance information between core network and radio access network to enable more efficient paging operations at base station. Efficiency is improved by determining paging failures early in the paging process to update a paging strategy so as to reduce overhead and latency in paging between UE and network. (Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0060, 0110, 0140; Sivavakeesar: Abstract, ¶¶0016-0021, 0024, 0027-0029, 0061, 0131-0135, Fig. 9; Belleschi: Abstract, ¶¶0211, 0137-0144, 0154-0156, Fig. 7; Zee: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0023-0028, 0047, 0057 ) Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s first argument is directed to 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claims 2, 3, 5, 9, and 13 as being indefinite. Applicant submits that the rejection in reference to “unsuccess transmissions” for UL RACH is improper due to Examiner’s technical assertions. Applicant further submits that the assertions for the rejection do provide any reason, justification or support. Additionally, Applicant refers to paragraphs [0065]-[0067] of the specification for support determination of unsuccessful operations. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 2, as written, recites “ wherein the determined radio conditions by the apparatus comprises at least one or more unsuccessful transmissions for uplink Random Access Channel (UL RACH) in one or more cells managed by the apparatus. ” The apparatus is interpreted as a gNB per the instant application at [0064], ‘The apparatus 510 may be an NG-RAN node’. An UL RACH is a messaging procedure for a user equipment, UE, initiating communication to a gNB. The first message of the procedure is from the UE to the gNB referred to as Msg1. For an UL RACH to be successful, the first message must at least be transmitted by the UE and received by the gNB. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would understand if the gNB fails to receive Msg1 or fails to decode a received Msg1 then the UL RACH transmission is unsuccessful. The apparatus, gNB, determines radio conditions comprising one or more unsuccessful transmissions per Claim 2. Examiner interpretation is the determination depends on a count of UL RACHs that pass or fail. If the gNB failed to receive Msg1 then gNB cannot count a pass or a fail for an UL RACH transmission from a UE because the gNB was unable to determine that the transmission was a RACH message. Therefore, the determination of radio conditions cannot be made for an unsuccessful transmission. Examiner has reviewed the referenced paragraphs, [0065]-[0067], for support by the applicant. Neither of these paragraphs disclose the method that gNB may count unsuccessful UL RACH transmissions per the claims as written. Applicant’s second argument is directed to the amended features of claims 1 and 12 and the rejected claims 1, 6-8, 11, 12, 14-21 under 35 U.S.C. §103. Applicant submits that the amended features are not ‘fairly taught by either Abedini or Sivavakeesar’ nor ‘any suggested combination’. Examiner agrees that the amended features of claims 1 and 12 are not disclosed by Abedini or Sivavakeesar. However, the amended features are disclosed by Belleschi. Belleschi is cited for UL RACH transmissions in support of the rejections of claims 2-5, 9 and 13. Examiner refers to the rejections in view of Belleschi for the amended features of claims 1 and 12 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. US-20220095309-A1 MolavianJazi et al The present disclosure addresses the above concepts and provides additional design aspects for supporting inter-cell interference protection and coordination and discloses novel solutions and embodiments for inter-gNB message exchange as well as UE operations to reduce inter-cell interference. US 20210105633 A1 Vaidya et al. Apparatus and methods for operating wireless devices using unlicensed frequency ranges with minimal transmission interruptions. In one embodiment, the apparatus and methods provide a mechanism for redirecting idle or inactive wireless devices to different frequencies in response to interference detection such as by 5 GHz-band radar. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAUL A. LANGER whose telephone number is (703)756-1780. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Eastern. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nishant B. Divecha can be reached at 1 (571) 270-3125. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419 /Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 2 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 3 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 4 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 5 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 6 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 7 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 8 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 9 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 10 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 11 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 12 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 13 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 14 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 15 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 16 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 17 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 18 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 19 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 20 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 21 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 22 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 23 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 24 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 25 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 26 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 27 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 28 Art Unit: 2419 Application/Control Number: 18/492,279 Page 29 Art Unit: 2419