DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on March 9, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a second filter" in line 1. The limitation second filter implies a first filter; however, a first filter has not been recited. This limitation introduces ambiguity for the implied interpretation of a first filter. Additionally, the specification does not identify a second filter. Applicant should consider amending the limitation as follows: "a secondary filter." See par [0013], [0014], [0042] for rationale for such amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Camille (US 2081772 A).
For claim 1, Camille discloses an air precleaner (Figs. 1, 2) for precleaning air used for an internal combustion engine, the air precleaner comprising:
an intake section for receiving air from an environment around the air precleaner, wherein the air includes particles (p. 2, ll. 8-13; Figs. 1, 2);
an electrostatic section comprising:
a positive plate having a positive voltage potential (tubes g electrode charged with positive electricity; p. 2, ll. 1-5; Figs. 1, 2), wherein the positive plate is disposed proximate to an inner wall of the air precleaner (Fig. 1), the positive plate configured to create a positive charge field proximate to the inner wall of the air precleaner, wherein the positive charge field is configured to ionize at least a first portion of the particles moving through the air precleaner with a positive charge (p. 2, ll. 1-18; Figs. 1, 2); and
a negative plate having a negative voltage potential relative to the positive voltage potential of the positive plate (tubes h electrode charged with negative electricity; p. 2, ll. 1-5; Figs. 1, 2), wherein the negative plate is disposed proximate to the inner wall of the air precleaner (Figs. 1, 2) and electrically separated from the positive plate and configured create a negative charge field proximate to the inner wall of the air precleaner (p. 2, ll. 1-18),wherein the negative charge field is configured to ionize at least a second portion of the particles moving through the air precleaner with a negative charge (p. 2, ll. 1-18; Figs. 1, 2), wherein the first portion of the particles are electrostatically attracted to the negative plate and the second portion of the particles are electrostatically attracted to the positive plate to electrostatically force at least a portion of the first portion and at least a portion of the second portion towards the inner wall of the air precleaner (p. 2, ll. 1-18; Figs. 1, 2);
an air exhaust for allowing the air to exit the air precleaner (p. 2, ll. 18-20; Fig. 1); and
a particle exhaust for allowing a portion of the particles ionized by the positive charge field or the negative charge field to exit the air precleaner (p. 2, ll. 37-44; Fig. 1). Also see p.1, ll. 8-35.
For claim 2, Camille discloses the air precleaner of claim 1, further comprising a cyclonic section (Figs. 1, 2) configured to cause the air entering the air precleaner to rotate about a central axis of the air precleaner, imparting a centripetal force on at least a portion of the particles to force the at least a portion of the particles to inner wall of the air precleaner (Figs. 1, 2; p.1, ll. 8-35; 36-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camille (US 2081772 A) in view of Jung (US 20090151308 A1).
For claim 3, the prior art to Camille is relied upon as set forth above and discloses the cyclonic section of said air precleaner. Camille does not appear to teach a plurality of blades that cause the air to rotate. Jung does teach a cyclone module 200 and a plurality of cyclone blades 220. The cyclone blades 220 provide torque causing the air to rotate while passing through the cyclone duct 150 resulting in the foreign particles being forced toward the interior wall (pars [0038], [0045], [0047]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to include the plurality of blade taught in Jung in the cyclonic section of Camille to improve the collection of particles.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camille (US 2081772 A) in view of Naik (US 20210039112 A1)
For claim 4, the prior art to Camille is relied upon as set forth above but does not appear to further comprise a second filter configured to filter a third portion of the particles exiting the air precleaner through the air exhaust. Naik does teach a second[ary] filter configured to filter a third portion of the particles exiting the air precleaner through the air exhaust (par [0103]; ”active carbon mesh filters for removal of gases and odor from the purified air”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to have a secondary filter in the air precleaner of Camille as taught in Naik to remove gases and odor from the purified air.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camille (US 2081772 A) in view of Penney (US 3026964 A).
For claim 5, the prior art to Camille is relied upon as set forth above and discloses the precleaner comprising the positive plate and the negative plate. Camille does not appear to disclose wherein the positive plate or the negative plate comprises a rounded edge configured to reduce a probability of creating a local charge density at portions of the positive plate or the negative plate. Penney teaches it is well understood in the electrical art that, if a pointed electrode is near, or surrounded by, large surfaces with a sufficiently high potential difference so as to produce a critical gradient at the point. Ions of the same sign as the potential of the point will be repelled from the point and travel toward the large or passive electrode (col. 4, 61-75; also see col. 2, ll. 49-60). It has not been generally recognized that a similar phenomenon can occur when a point or other projection of small radius of curvature is surrounded by surfaces at the same potential as the point but with a cloud of charged dust in the intervening space. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to have the positive plate or the negative plate of Camille to comprise a rounded edge configured to reduce a probability of creating a local charge density at portions of the positive plate or the negative plate since Penney teaches a motivation to prevent a “space-charged induced” corona.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camille (US 2081772 A) in view of Gonzales (US 20100252007 A1).
For claim 6, the prior art is relied upon as indicated above but is silent regarding a controller, wherein the controller is configured to issue a voltage command to a voltage controller to change the positive voltage potential or the negative voltage potential. Gonzales is analogous art and teaches an electrostatic charging assembly further includes an electric voltage source control module that is operatively connected to the secondary electro-forming exciter and adapted to direct current from an electric source to the electrode bundle to electrostatically charge the particles within a positive crankcase ventilation system. The control module includes at least one high voltage generator that provides high voltage current and at least one switch that is adapted to control the amplitude, duration, polarity and duty cycle and cycle time of the high voltage current (pars [0009], [0033]-[0037]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to include control module of Gonzales with the positive and negative electrode plates of Camille to include at least one high voltage generator that provides high voltage current and at least one switch that is adapted to control the amplitude, duration, polarity and duty cycle and cycle time of the high voltage current.
For claim 7, the teaching of Camille and Gonzales are set forth above. Gonzales teaches the controller is further configured to receive a signal to indicate a change in a flowrate of the air (pars [0029]-[0034]); determine if the positive voltage potential or the negative voltage potential needs to be changed based on the change in the flowrate (pars [0032], [0038]-[0041]) and upon determining that the positive voltage potential or the negative voltage potential needs to be changed, issue a second voltage command to the voltage controller to change the positive voltage potential or the negative voltage potential (pars [0032], 0038]-[0041]). Also see pars [0054]-[0057]
For claim 8, the teaching of Camille and Gonzales are set forth above. Gonzales discloses the signal to indicate a change in the flowrate comprises an engine power signal indicating a power level of the engine (pars [0053]-[0056]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camille (US 2081772 A) and Gonzales (US 20100252007 A1) taken with Zhang (CN 110227607 A).
For claim 9, the prior art is relied upon as indicated above and teaches a sensor. The sensor is silent regarding being configured to receive an input from a sensor configured to detect an amount of the particles exiting the air precleaner through the air exhaust; determine if the positive voltage potential or the negative voltage potential needs to be changed based on the input from the sensor; and upon determining that the potential needs to be changed, issue a second voltage command to the voltage controller to change the positive voltage potential or the negative voltage potential. Zhang discloses a gas purification system and control method as follows that teaches a particle sensor (see translation):
Zhang discloses an intelligent gas purifying system further comprises a controller 12, a controllable high voltage power supply 7 and power supply relay set 8, collection controller 12 main particle concentration sensor 4, front particle concentration sensor set 5 and rear particle concentration signal of sensor group 6, and executes corresponding process and control; controller 12. The sensor signal control rotating guide plate 3 between the diffusion mode and flow mode switching, the controllable high voltage power supply 7 through the power relay group 8 to the electrode supply each discharge group and collecting group deflection negative electrode A-1, deflecting the positive electrode A-2 and the particle collecting region B; the controller 12 by controlling the power source relay 8 the on-off switching can realize the control deflection negative electrode A-1, deflection positive electrode A-2 of the power supply and power-down. can realize the particle collecting region B in each discharge group and each electrode is electrified in the number collection and the electrifying polarity switching (e.g., can realize the positively charged particle collecting region B-1 discharge a group in B-1-1 of the corona wire 9 is electrified and the number of columns of electrifying and is through the positive high voltage or negative high voltage); Controller 12 also can control the controllable output voltage value of the high voltage power supply 7, a controllable high voltage power supply 7 has a plurality of independent voltage output channel, for different electrode can be separately conveying the voltage with different values to the corresponding electrode according to the control instruction of the controller 12, so as to realize the intelligent control.
The judging condition, when the particle concentration is not greater than the preset next program does not start, the main concentration sensor 4 continues detecting the particle concentration of stream 1-1 at the outlet of the air inlet channel. when the concentration is more than the preset value (e.g., pm2.5 > 75μ g/m3) when the controller 12 the rotary guide plate deformation is trumpet-shaped diffusion mode, the contaminant particles are distributed in the whole particles in a gas stream deflection zone A, and entering the deflection electrode energizing step, i.e., the controller 12 controls the power supply relay group 8 and a controllable high voltage power supply 7 to the deflection negative electrode A-1 and deflection positive electrode A-2 into the high voltage direct current (voltage between the two is 1kV-10kV). this time located at front particle concentration sensor set at the front part of the particle deflection zone A back the particle collecting region B 5 starts to work. Also see p. 2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to include the controller of Zhang with the combined teaching of the prior art of Camille and Gonzales configured as claimed since Zhang discloses a control method to improve dust removing efficiency and reduces power consumption.
For claim 10, Zhang further teaches an increase in the positive voltage potential or the negative voltage potential is configured to increase an amount of the particles that are ionized by the positive charge field or the negative charge field (2, charged and collected for itself with a lot of aerosol particle can realize positive and negative charge partitioning and with pertinence, improves the charge efficiency of the aerosol particles, so as to improve the dust removing efficiency and reduces power consumption of the static dust-removing device.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and should considered with the response to this Office Action. For example:
US 5755333 A: Electrostatic separators of varying types are well known in the art; method further includes the step of subjecting the two species of particles to both centrifugal and electrostatic forces so as to provide an additive effect and achieve enhanced separation; variable voltage source is connected to the is first and second electrodes and utilized to apply an electrical potential to those electrodes; Figs. 1, 2; col. 5, ll. 19-52.
SE 530917 C2: Fig. 3 shows a cyclone and an electrostatic separation device 70 comprising two plate electrodes E1 minus pole and E2 plus pole.
DE 102018218918 A1: A particle sensor 100; Control device is designed to change a polarity of the changeable electrical potential and / or the changeable electrical voltage. This results in further degrees of freedom for the operation of the particle sensor. Control device is designed to receive first data from at least one external unit and to change the electrical potential or the electrical voltage, in particular corona voltage, as a function of the first data. For example, the external unit can be a control unit of an internal combustion engine, in whose exhaust system the particle sensor is used.
US 8252096 B2: apparatus and a method for separating solid particles from fluids and particularly gas flows. The apparatus is particularly for use in conjunction with an internal combustion engine or vacuum cleaner. The apparatus includes a cyclone separator which has at least two axial common cyclone separator elements, an inner and outer element, in conjunction with a two-stage electrostatic precipitator. The apparatus allows the filtration of fluid effectively, even if the flow varies over time.
/SONJI TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 May 29, 2026
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776