DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Appropriate punctuation mark missed at lines 3, before the limitation of term “and”, and line 4, before the limitation of term “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14, 18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/ (a)(2) as being anticipated by Popovici et al. (U.S. 2022/0254795 A1, hereinafter refer to Popovici).
Regarding Claim 11: Popovici discloses a structural element (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown below and ¶ [0002]), comprising:
a ferroelectric or antiferroelectric layer (11 and/or 21) formed on a substrate (12) (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]),
wherein the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric layer (11 and/or 21) is doped with a first dopant and at least one second dopant (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]).
Regarding Claim 12: Popovici discloses a structural element as set forth in claim 11 as above. Popovici further teaches wherein the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric layer (11 and/or 21) is made of HfO2 or ZrO2 (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]).
Regarding Claim 13: Popovici discloses a structural element as set forth in claim 12 as above. Popovici further teaches wherein the first dopant in a ferroelectric or antiferroelectric ZrO2-layer comprises Hf (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]).
Regarding Claim 14: Popovici discloses a structural element as set forth in claim 12 as above. Popovici further teaches wherein the first dopant in a ferroelectric or antiferroelectric HfO2-layer comprises Zr (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]).
Regarding Claim 18: Popovici discloses a structural element as set forth in claim 11 as above. Popovici further teaches wherein the second dopant is Al, Si, La, Y, Gd or Sr (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]).
Regarding Claim 21: Popovici discloses a structural element as set forth in claim 11 as above. Popovici further teaches wherein the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric layer (11 and/or 21) has a layer thickness of 1 nm to 20 nm (between 5 and 13 nm) (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0021], and ¶ [0059]).
Regarding Claim 22: Popovici discloses a structural element as set forth in claim 21 as above. Popovici further teaches wherein the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric layer has a layer thickness of 5 nm to 15 nm (between 5 and 13 nm) (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0021], and ¶ [0059]).
Regarding Claim 23: Popovici discloses a structural element as set forth in claim 11 as above. Popovici further teaches wherein the substrate (12 or 13) is in the form of an electrode (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0059]).
Regarding Claim 24: Popovici discloses a method for producing a structural element according to claim 11, wherein the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric layer (11 and/or 21) is deposited onto the substrate (12 or 13) (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, Fig.8, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]) and
the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric layer (11 and/or 21) is doped with the first dopant (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, Fig.8, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]) and
the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric layer (11 and/or 21) doped with the first dopant is doped with the second dopant (see Popovici, Fig.2 as shown above, Fig.8, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovici et al. (U.S. 2022/0254795 A1, hereinafter refer to Popovici).
Regarding Claims 15-17 and 19-20: Popovici discloses a structural element as applied to claim 11 above. Popovici is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the dopant concentration of the first dopant is in a range of 0.1 - 50 at (as claim in claim 15);
wherein the dopant concentration of the first dopant is in a range of 25 - 50 at. % (as claim in claim 16);
wherein the dopant concentration of the first dopant is in a range of 40 - 50 at.% (as claim in claim 17);
wherein the dopant concentration of the second dopant is in a range of 0.1 - 10 at.% (as claim in claim 19);
wherein the dopant concentration of the second dopant is in a range of 1 - 5 at.% (as claim in claim 20).
However, Popovici teaches a method of determining the first dopant and the second dopant concentration in order to obtain the desired phase ratios of the different HZO layers.
For support see, Popovici teaches the dopant concentration of the first dopant less than the dopant concentration of the second dopant and/or the dopant concentration of the first dopant greater than the dopant concentration of the second dopant (Y> La and/or La >Y) (see Popovici, Fig.6B as shown below and ¶ [0079]- ¶ [0082]).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the dopant concentration of the first dopant and the second dopant through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired phase ratios of the different HZO layers because the dopant concentration of the first dopant and the second dopant is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812