DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 subject matter “wherein one or more of (1), (2), or (3) are satisfied” is indefinite. Because it is not clear type of the apparatus structure is claimed, as structure of the apparatus is indefinite due to multiple structural options.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, because they depend on claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, 8 and 9 do not specify further limitation of the subject matter claimed in claim, as it claims similar structure in dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaeyong JUNG (Wu) US 9,569,024 B2, in view of CHUEN-SHU Hou (Hou) US 2010/0071879 A1 and further in view of CHENG-TIEN LAI (LAI) US 2009/0166005 A1.
As per claim 1 Wu disclose;
A display device (Fig. 1 item 1) comprising: a display panel (12); a driving board disposed on a side of the display panel (12); and a vapor chamber (14) disposed between the display panel and the driving board (211),
wherein the vapor chamber includes: an external member (141); a first wick (142 capillary structure functions same as wick on display side top wall), and a refrigerant (item 144) which is contained in the external member (141); and a second wick (141 on bottom wall facing circuit board) which are disposed on at least parts of inner surfaces of the external member (141) and face each other (Fig. 3A wick on top and bottom wall), a refrigerant dense part (in liquid state) in which the refrigerant densely resides, (at bottom wall)
Wu do not teach; an area occupied by the first wick on the inner surfaces of the external member is greater than an area occupied by the second wick on the inner surfaces of the external member. And a width of the second wick is less than a width of the driving board.
However in analogues art of vapor chamber Hou teaches, a vapor chamber having, an area occupied by the first wick (Fig. 5 wick on wall item 11) on the inner surfaces of the external member is greater than an area occupied by the second wick (Fig. 5 wick on wall item 12) on the inner surfaces of the external member (item 50).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Hou to the device of Wu would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for varying wick area as per cooling requirement and to improve efficiency.
Wu and Hou do not teach a width of the second wick is less than a width of the driving board.
However in analogues art of vapor chamber LAI teaches, a width of the second wick (item 110 examiner interprets as a second wick) is less than a width of the driving board (As per para 0018 wick structure “110 has a size identical to that of the heat-generating component but smaller than that of the cavity 102 of base 100, therefor size of the wick structure 110 is less than size of the circuit board attached to the heat generating component (not shown) for evidence Wu disclose item 221 heat generating component smaller than circuit board 21).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by LAI to the device of Wu and Hou would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows to reduce the thickness of the vapor chamber without increase of the resistance to the vapor. (Para 110)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 and 17-20 are allowed, as none of the prior art disclose subject matter of claim 11 and 15.
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding applicant’s comment “As it is believed that all of the rejections set forth in the Official Action have been fully met, favorable reconsideration and allowance are earnestly solicited.”
Examiner respectfully disagree, because amended subject matter of claim 1 is indefinite as per 112 rejections made in this office action, and further changes scope of the application, because Claim 9 was objected previously because of dependency on objected claim 8. As per amended claim 1 includes subject matter of claim 9 as one of the option, independent of claim 8 subject matter, therefor claim 1 is rejected, as prior art LAI disclose one of the required optional condition e.g. condition (3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art JUNG US 2021/0337700 A1 1-3 disclose display (10), vapor chamber (30) and driving circuit board (50) arranged respectively to dissipate heat from display and the circuit boards, further disclose details of vapor chamber (fig. 10) having mesh as wick.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUKUNDBHAI G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835