Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US20230352346A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an integrated circuit device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 14 dielectric layer 151);
an insulating structure on a frontside surface of the substrate (Fig. 14 isolation portions 58);
a contact structure, which comprises a first plug portion extending through the substrate (Figs 1, 14 second metallic layer 119. Par. 43 “[s]tep 214 may include…filling a second metallic material in the trench 152…thereby obtaining the second metallic layer 119” which examiner notes would be deposited in trench 152 over hydrophobic polymer layer 120’ in fig. 14); and
a self-assembled organic material insulating liner between the first plug portion and the substrate (Fig. 14 amphiphilic polymer layer 130 is between hydrophobic polymer layer 120’, and therefore second metallic layer 119, and dielectric layer 151 and par. 29 teaches that “[t]he amphiphilic polymer layer 130 may be present as a self-assembled monolayer (SAM)”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the integrated circuit device of claim 1,
wherein the self-assembled organic material insulating liner comprises a monolayer comprising a silicon atom (Par. 29 “the amphiphilic polymer material for forming the amphiphilic polymer layer 130 includes a polymer backbone 1301” and “[t]he amphiphilic polymer layer 130 may be present as a self-assembled monolayer (SAM).” Examiner notes that common polymer backbones such as siloxane comprise silicon atoms).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the integrated circuit device of claim 1,
wherein the self-assembled organic material insulating liner has a thickness of about 1 Å to about 40 Å at the smallest dimension between the substrate and the first plug portion (Par. 29 “[t]he amphiphilic polymer layer 130 may be present as a self-assembled monolayer” and since it’s a monolayer it falls within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the integrated circuit device of claim 1,
wherein the self-assembled organic material insulating liner comprises a plurality of organic material chains, which each comprise a C1 to C30 alkyl group (Fig. 13 plurality of hydrophobic groups 1303 on polymer backbone 1301 and par. 30 teaches that “the hydrophobic groups 1302 each independently is a saturated alkyl”).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US20190123051A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses
a substrate (Fig. 22B substrate 110);
an insulating structure on a frontside surface of the substrate (Fig 22B insulating film 120);
a contact structure, which comprises a first plug portion extending through the substrate (Fig. 22B direct contact DC comprises a first plug portion and extends through substrate 110); and
a self-assembled organic material insulating liner between the first plug portion and the substrate (Fig. 22B vertical domains 443B of self-assembled layer SM is located between direct contact DC and substrate 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US20190123051A1).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 1, further comprising
an oxide film between the substrate and the self-assembled organic material insulating liner (Fig. 22B, 107 spacer film 444 “may include, for example, a silicon oxide film”),
wherein the self-assembled organic material insulating liner is bonded to a surface of the oxide film (Fig. 22B vertical domains 443B of self-assembled layer SM is bonded to spacer film 444), and
the oxide film has a thickness of 10 Å or less (While Park does not explicitly disclose the oxide film having a thickness of 10 Å or less, the primary function of Park’s spacer film 444 is to provide electrical insulation. A change in size of insulating spacer film 444 such that the thickness is 10 Å or less would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical insulation is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore change the size of insulating spacer film 444 such that the thickness is 10 Å or less, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A)).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 1,
wherein the contact structure further comprises a second plug portion, which extends through the insulating structure in a vertical direction and is connected to the first plug portion, and the second plug portion comprises a metal plug, which is in contact with the insulating structure (While Park does not explicitly disclose a contact structure further comprising a second plug portion which extends through the insulating structure in a vertical direction and is connected to the first plug portion, the primary function of direct contact DC is to provide electrical connection. A duplication of a direct contact DC to form a second plug portion on the first would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function providing electrical contact is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore duplicate direct contact DC to form , see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Cho et al. (US20220399251A1, hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 1,
wherein the contact structure further comprises a second plug portion, which extends through the insulating structure in a vertical direction and is connected to the first plug portion (While Park does not explicitly disclose a contact structure further comprising a second plug portion which extends through the insulating structure in a vertical direction and is connected to the first plug portion, the primary function of direct contact DC is to provide electrical connection. A duplication of a direct contact DC to form a second plug portion on the first would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function providing electrical contact is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore duplicate direct contact DC to form , see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Park does not appear to teach
the second plug portion comprises a conductive barrier film, which is in contact with the insulating structure, and a metal plug that comprises a portion on which the conductive barrier film extends on and is spaced apart from the insulating structure with the conductive barrier film therebetween.
Cho teaches
the second plug portion comprises a conductive barrier film, which is in contact with the insulating structure (Fig. 3A conductive liner 79a in contact with insulating layer 60a), and a metal plug that comprises a portion on which the conductive barrier film extends on and is spaced apart from the insulating structure with the conductive barrier film therebetween (Fig. 3a conductive pattern 79b has conductive liner 79a extending upon it and insulating layer 60a is spaced apart from conductive pattern 79b).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park with the teachings of Cho because as both Park and Cho teach suitable contacts for use in a semiconductor device, it would have been obvious to substitute Park’s contact with Cho’s contact with a conductive liner to achieve the predictable result of forming a contact with a conductive liner.”
Claims 8 and 11-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20230352346A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the integrated circuit device of claim 1, further comprising:
a fin-type active region protruding in a vertical direction from the frontside surface of the substrate (Fig. 14 fin portions 521);
a source/drain region, which is on the fin-type active region and is spaced apart from the substrate in the vertical direction with the fin-type active region therebetween (Fig. 14 source/drain regions 13 on fin portions 521 and lower portion of dielectric layer 151 is between source/drain regions 13 and fin portions 521); and
a source/drain contact, which is spaced apart from the substrate in the vertical direction with the fin-type active region and the source/drain region therebetween and is connected to the source/drain region,
wherein the contact structure further comprises a second plug portion extending through the insulating structure in the vertical direction (Fig. 14 silicide layer 220 has second portion 222. While Lee does not explicitly disclose a second plug portion extending through the insulating structure in the vertical direction, the primary function of silicide layer 220 is to provide electrical contact. A rearrangement of a silicide layer to extend through an insulating layer would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical contact is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore rearrange silicide layer 220 to extend through the insulating structure in the vertical direction, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)), and the second plug portion comprises a first end contacting the first plug portion, a second end contacting the source/drain contact, and a sidewall facing the fin-type active region and the source/drain region in a horizontal direction (Fig. 14 second portion of silicide layer 222 has a first end electrically contacting second metallic layer 119, a second end contacting second portion of first metallic layer 112, and a sidewall facing fin portions 521).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 1, further comprising:
a fin-type active region comprising a first fin portion and a second fin portion, which are spaced apart from each other in a first horizontal direction with the contact structure therebetween and extends longitudinally along a straight line extending in the first horizontal direction, each of the first fin portion and the second fin portion comprising a sidewall on which the insulating structure extends on (Fig. 14 two fin portions 521 that are spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction with second metallic layer 119 therebetween and second metallic layer 119 lies within trench 152 and so it also extends horizontally. Isolation portions 58 are disposed on both sidewalls of both left and right fin portions 521);
a gate line traversing the first fin portion and extending longitudinally in a second horizontal direction that is perpendicular to the first horizontal direction (Fig. 2 dummy gate 53 traverses both fin portions 521 in a second direction perpendicular to the first horizontal); and
a source/drain region on the fin-type active region and adjacent to the gate line, the source/drain region being connected to the contact structure (Fig. 14 source/drain portions 13 on fin portions 521 and adjacent to dummy gate 53, see fig. 2, and in contact with second metallic layer 119),
wherein the contact structure further comprises a second plug portion, which extends longitudinally in a vertical direction between the first fin portion and the second fin portion (While Lee does not explicitly disclose the contact structure further comprises a second plug portion, the primary function of second metallic layer 119 is to provide electrical contact. A duplication of a second metallic layer 119 to form a second plug portion would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical contact is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore duplicate second metallic layer 119 to form a second plug portion, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). As second metallic layer 119 extends longitudinally in a vertical direction between fin portions 521 then so too would a duplicated layer), and
the second plug portion comprises a first end connected to the first plug portion, a second end connected to the source/drain region, first sidewalls facing the first fin portion and the second fin portion in the first horizontal direction, and second sidewalls facing the insulating structure in the second horizontal direction (See above duplication of parts argument. A duplication would result in two stacked plugs where a first end of the second plug would be connected to the first plug and a second end would be electrically connected to the source/drain regions 13 disposed below).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches an integrated circuit device comprising:
a substrate comprising a frontside surface and a backside surface opposite to the frontside surface (Fig. 14 dielectric layer 151 has frontside and backside);
a plurality of fin-type active regions protruding in a vertical direction from the substrate and extending longitudinally in a first horizontal direction (Fig. 14 fin regions 521 protruding through dielectric layer 151 and extends longitudinally as can be seen in fig. 2);
an insulating structure comprising a device isolation film, which extends on a sidewall of each of the plurality of fin-type active regions (Fig. 14 device isolation regions 58 extends on sidewalls of both fin portions 521);
a plurality of gate lines traversing the plurality of fin-type active regions (Fig. 2 dummy gate line 53 traversing plurality of fin regions 521);
a plurality of source/drain regions on the plurality of fin-type active regions, respectively (Fig. 4 source/drain portions 13A on fin portions 521);
a contact structure extending through the substrate and the insulating structure in the vertical direction (Figs 1, 14 second metallic layer 119. Par. 43 “[s]tep 214 may include…filling a second metallic material in the trench 152…thereby obtaining the second metallic layer 119” which examiner notes would be deposited in trench 152 over hydrophobic polymer layer 120’ in fig. 14. Silicide layer 220 has second portion 222. While Lee does not explicitly disclose a second plug portion extending through the insulating structure in the vertical direction, the primary function of silicide layer 220 is to provide electrical contact. A rearrangement of a silicide layer to extend through an insulating layer would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical contact is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore rearrange silicide layer 220 to extend through the insulating structure in the vertical direction, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))); and
a self-assembled organic material insulating liner between the contact structure and the substrate (Fig. 14 amphiphilic polymer layer 130 is between hydrophobic polymer layer 120’, and therefore second metallic layer 119, and dielectric layer 151 and par. 29 teaches that “[t]he amphiphilic polymer layer 130 may be present as a self-assembled monolayer (SAM)”),
wherein the contact structure comprises a first plug portion, which extends through the substrate and is in contact with the self-assembled organic material insulating liner, and a second plug portion, which extends through the insulating structure and is connected to the first plug portion (Figs 1, 14 second metallic layer 119. Par. 43 “[s]tep 214 may include…filling a second metallic material in the trench 152…thereby obtaining the second metallic layer 119” which examiner notes would be deposited in trench 152 over hydrophobic polymer layer 120’ in fig. 14. Silicide layer 220 has second portion 222, see above rearrangement of parts)).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 12,
wherein the self-assembled organic material insulating liner comprises a monolayer comprising a silicon atom (Par. 29 “the amphiphilic polymer material for forming the amphiphilic polymer layer 130 includes a polymer backbone 1301” and “[t]he amphiphilic polymer layer 130 may be present as a self-assembled monolayer (SAM).” Examiner notes that common polymer backbones such as siloxane comprise silicon atoms).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 12,
wherein the self-assembled organic material insulating liner comprises a plurality of organic material chains, which each comprise a C1 to C30 alkyl group (Fig. 13 plurality of hydrophobic groups 1303 on polymer backbone 1301 and par. 30 teaches that “the hydrophobic groups 1302 each independently is a saturated alkyl”).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 12, further comprising
an oxide film between the substrate and the self-assembled organic material insulating liner, wherein the self-assembled organic material insulating liner is bonded to a surface of the oxide film (Fig. 14 second portion of first metallic layer 112 “includes…aluminum oxide,” par. 27 and is bonded to a surface of with amphiphilic polymer layer 130).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 12,
wherein a first fin-type active region selected from the plurality of fin-type active regions comprises a first fin portion and a second fin portion, which are spaced apart from each other in the first horizontal direction with the contact structure therebetween and extend longitudinally along a straight line extending in the first horizontal direction (Fig. 14 left and right fin portions 521 are spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction with second metallic layer 119 between), each of the first fin portion and the second fin portion comprising a sidewall on which the insulating structure extends on (Fig. 14 device isolation portions 58 extend off sidewalls of both fin portions 521),
a first source/drain region selected from the plurality of source/drain regions is connected to the second plug portion of the contact structure (Fig. 14 source/drain region 13 connected to second portion of silicide layer 222), and
the self-assembled organic material insulating liner is between the first plug portion and the substrate, between the second plug portion and the first fin portion, and between the second plug portion and the second fin portion (Fig. 14 amphiphilic polymer layer 130 is between second metallic layer 119 and dielectric layer 151, between second portion of first metallic layer 112 and left fin portion 521, and between second portion of first metallic layer 112 and right fin portion 521).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches an integrated circuit device comprising:
a substrate comprising a frontside surface and a backside surface opposite to the frontside surface (Fig. 14 dielectric layer 151 has frontside and backside);
a fin-type active region protruding in a vertical direction from the substrate and extending longitudinally in a first horizontal direction (Fig. 14 fin regions 521 protruding through dielectric layer 151 and extends longitudinally as can be seen in fig. 2);
a gate line traversing the fin-type active region and extending longitudinally in a second horizontal direction that intersects with the first horizontal direction (Fig. 2 dummy gate line 53 traversing plurality of fin regions 521);
at least one nanosheet that is between the fin-type active region and the gate line and comprises a portion in the gate line (Fig. 20 plurality of nanosheets 311 between fin regions 521 and dummy gate 53);
a source/drain region on the fin-type active region and contacting the at least one nanosheet (Figs. 14, 20 source/drain region 13 contacts plurality of nanosheets 311);
an insulating structure comprising a device isolation film that is on both sidewalls of the fin-type active region (Fig. 14 isolation portions 58 on either side of fin regions 521);
a contact structure extending through the substrate and the insulating structure in the vertical direction (Figs 1, 14 second metallic layer 119. Par. 43 “[s]tep 214 may include…filling a second metallic material in the trench 152…thereby obtaining the second metallic layer 119” which examiner notes would be deposited in trench 152 over hydrophobic polymer layer 120’ in fig. 14. Silicide layer 220 has second portion 222. While Lee does not explicitly disclose a second plug portion extending through the insulating structure in the vertical direction, the primary function of silicide layer 220 is to provide electrical contact. A rearrangement of a silicide layer to extend through an insulating layer would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical contact is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore rearrange silicide layer 220 to extend through the insulating structure in the vertical direction, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))); and
a self-assembled organic material insulating liner between the contact structure and the substrate (Fig. 14 amphiphilic polymer layer 130 is between hydrophobic polymer layer 120’, and therefore second metallic layer 119, and dielectric layer 151 and par. 29 teaches that “[t]he amphiphilic polymer layer 130 may be present as a self-assembled monolayer (SAM)”),
wherein the self-assembled organic material insulating liner comprises a plurality of organic material chains, each comprising a silicon atom and a C1 to C30 alkyl group (Fig. 13 plurality of hydrophobic groups 1303 on polymer backbone 1301 and par. 30 teaches that “the hydrophobic groups 1302 each independently is a saturated alkyl”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 16-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9 and its dependent claims, the closest prior art (US20230352346A1, US20190123051A1, US20180102285A1) teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 1,
wherein the substrate comprises a pair of cell regions, which are spaced apart from each other in a first horizontal direction, and an inter-cell isolation region, which is between the pair of cell regions and extends longitudinally in a second horizontal direction intersecting with the first horizontal direction (Lee fig. 3 the two regions to either side of dummy gate 53 and gate spacers 54 are spaced apart from each other in a first direction. Dummy gate extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction), the inter-cell isolation region comprising the insulating structure (Lee fig. 3 isolation portions 58 part of insulating structure surrounding dummy gates 53), and
the contact structure further comprises a second plug portion which extends through the insulating structure in a vertical direction and is in contact with the first plug portion, (Lee fig. 14 silicide layer 220 has second portion 222. While Lee does not explicitly disclose a second plug portion extending through the insulating structure in the vertical direction, the primary function of silicide layer 220 is to provide electrical contact. A rearrangement of a silicide layer to extend through an insulating layer would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical contact is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore rearrange silicide layer 220 to extend through the insulating structure in the vertical direction, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
However, the closest prior art does not teach in combination with the other claimed elements
the contact structure further comprises a second plug portion which extends through the insulating structure in a vertical direction and is in contact with the first plug portion, in the inter-cell isolation region.
Additionally, the closest prior art does not teach the above in combination with the further limitations of dependent claims.
Examiner notes that while there are embodiments within the prior art, see Lee figs. 2 and 14, that teach a contact structure comprising a self-assembling monolayer in a source/drain region, examiner's search of the prior art did not find an embodiment nor any motivation to combine embodiments such that the contact structure further comprises a second plug portion which extends through the insulating structure in a vertical direction and is in contact with the first plug portion, in the inter-cell isolation region in addition with the other limitations of the independent claim.
Regarding claim 16, the closest prior art (US20230352346A1, US20190123051A1, US20180102285A1) teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 12,
wherein the first plug portion of the contact structure comprises a frontside plug , which has a first width in a second horizontal direction intersecting with the first horizontal direction, and a backside plug (Lee fig. 14 second metallic layer 119 has first width of the trench in which it is disposed and second portion of first metallic layer 112), and
the self-assembled organic material insulating liner comprises a first self-assembled organic material insulating liner, which is between the frontside plug and the substrate (Lee fig. 14 amphiphilic polymer layer 130 comprises a self-assembled monolayer, see above rejection of claim 12).
However, the closest prior art does not teach in combination with the other claimed elements
a backside plug, which has a second width that is greater than the first width of the frontside plug in the second horizontal direction; and
the self-assembled organic material insulating liner comprises a first self-assembled organic material insulating liner, which is between the frontside plug and the substrate, and a second self-assembled organic material insulating liner, which is between the backside plug and the substrate.
Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art (US20230352346A1, US20190123051A1, US20180102285A1) teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 12, further comprising
a source/drain contact connected to a pair of source/drain regions, which are selected from the plurality of source/drain regions and are adjacent to each other (Lee fig. 14 source/drain region 13 connected to second portion of silicide layer 222) ,
wherein the source/drain contact is spaced apart from the frontside surface of the substrate with the pair of source/drain regions therebetween (Lee fig. 14 source/drain region 13 spaced apart from frontside of dielectric layer 151).
However, the closest prior art does not teach in combination with the other claimed elements
the second plug portion of the contact structure extends longitudinally in the vertical direction and extends between a pair of fin-type active regions, which are selected from the plurality of fin-type active regions and are adjacent to each other, and between the pair of source/drain regions, the second plug portion being in contact with the source/drain contact.
Regarding claim 18, the closest prior art (US20230352346A1, US20190123051A1, US20180102285A1) teaches the integrated circuit device of claim 12, further comprising:
a pair of cell regions that are spaced apart from each other in the first horizontal direction in the substrate (Lee fig. 3 the two regions to either side of dummy gate 53 and gate spacers 54 are spaced apart from each other in a first direction. Dummy gate extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction);
an inter-cell isolation region between the pair of cell regions in the substrate (Lee fig. 3 isolation portions 58 part of insulating structure surrounding dummy gates 53);
a plurality of dummy gate insulating lines in the inter-cell isolation region (Lee fig. 3 dummy gate spacers 54);
an upper wiring layer, which is spaced apart from the frontside surface of the substrate in the vertical direction with the insulating structure therebetween in the inter-cell isolation region (Park. fig. 23A word lines 118).
However, the closest prior art does not teach in combination with the other claimed elements
a power line, which extends longitudinally in the first horizontal direction on the backside surface of the substrate and comprises portions respectively overlapping the pair of cell regions and the inter-cell isolation region in the vertical direction,
wherein the first plug portion of the contact structure is connected to the power line in the inter-cell isolation region, and the second plug portion of the contact structure extends through the insulating structure in the vertical direction in the inter-cell isolation region to be connected to the upper wiring layer.
Conclusion
/COLE LEON LINDSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812