DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election, without traverse, of claims 1-9 in the “Response to Restriction Requirement” filed on 01/21/2026 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner.
This office action consider claims 1-20 pending for prosecution, wherein claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1-9 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1, 3, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20220173143 A1; hereinafter Kim)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a backside illuminated image senso (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0004+], and as cited below; see alternative rejection for claim 1 below), comprising:
a substrate (1; Fig. 4A; [0053]) having a top side (1a; Fig. 4A; [0053]) and a bottom side (1b; Fig. 4A; [0053]);
a photoelectric conversion element (PD; Fig. 4A; [0055]) in the substrate (1; Fig. 4A; [0053]) within a pixel area (APS; Fig. 4A; [0053]);
a wiring region (15; Fig. 4A; [0060]) disposed on the top side (1a; Fig. 4A; [0053]) of the substrate (1; Fig. 4A; [0053]);
a color filter part (CF1, CF2; Fig. 4A; [0069]) disposed on the bottom side (1b; Fig. 4A; [0053]) of the substrate (1; Fig. 4A; [0053]) within the pixel area (APS; Fig. 4A; [0053]); a
planarization layer (56; Fig. 4A; [0070]) disposed on the color filter part (CF1, CF2; Fig. 4A; [0069]);
a lens part (ML; Fig. 4A; [0071]) disposed on the planarization layer (56; Fig. 4A; [0070]); and
an align key (20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0062]; where element 20 comprises of insulating pattern 14 and conductive pattern 16 on the insulating pattern 14; see Claim 9 of the instant invention where it states that the align key comprises of an insulating film; and a metal film on the insulating film; thus, it is construed that 20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0053] is an align key) extending from the top side (1a; Fig. 4A; [0053]) to a side adjacent to the bottom side (1b; Fig. 4A; [0053]) of the substrate (1; Fig. 4A; [0053]) within a peripheral area (EG; Fig. 4A; [0053, 0071]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein as the align key (20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0062]; where element 20 comprises of insulating pattern 14 and conductive pattern 16 on the insulating pattern 14; see Claim 9 of the instant invention where it states that the align key comprises of an insulating film; and a metal film on the insulating film; thus, it is construed that 20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0053] is an align key) extends from the top side (1a; Fig. 4A; [0053]) to the bottom side (1b; Fig. 4A; [0053]) of the substrate (1; Fig. 4A; [0053]), a width of an inner wall of the align key (20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0062]; where element 20 comprises of insulating pattern 14 and conductive pattern 16 on the insulating pattern 14; see Claim 9 of the instant invention where it states that the align key comprises of an insulating film; and a metal film on the insulating film; thus, it is construed that 20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0053] is an align key) becomes narrower.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the align key (20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0062]; where element 20 comprises of insulating pattern 14 and conductive pattern 16 on the insulating pattern 14; see Claim 9 of the instant invention where it states that the align key comprises of an insulating film; and a metal film on the insulating film; thus, it is construed that 20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0053] is an align key) comprises an insulating film ({14}; Fig. 4A; [0062, 0077]) gap-filled within a via hole (10; Fig. 4A; [0061, 0077]) formed from the top side (1a; Fig. 4A; [0053]) to the bottom side (1b; Fig. 4A; [0053]) of the substrate (1; Fig. 4A; [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the align key (20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0062]; where element 20 comprises of insulating pattern 14 and conductive pattern 16 on the insulating pattern 14; see Claim 9 of the instant invention where it states that the align key comprises of an insulating film; and a metal film on the insulating film; thus, it is construed that 20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0053] is an align key) comprises: an insulating film ({14}; Fig. 4A; [0062]); and a metal film ({16}; Fig. 4A; [0062]) on the insulating film ({14}; Fig. 4A; [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
3. Claims 1-2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20220310675 A1; hereinafter Kim ‘675) (see alternative rejection for various claims above)
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘675 teaches a backside illuminated image senso (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0005+], and as cited below; see alternative rejection for claim 1 above), comprising:
a substrate (101; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0026]) having a top side (100a; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0027]) and a bottom side (100b; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0027]);
a photoelectric conversion element (PD; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0026]) in the substrate (100) within a pixel area (PR; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0028]);
a wiring region ({221, 223}; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0071]) disposed on the top side (100a; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0027]) of the substrate (100; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0027]);
a color filter part (330; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0072]) disposed on the bottom side (100b; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0027]) of the substrate (100; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0027]) within the pixel area (PR; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0028]); a
planarization layer (320; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0072, 0075, 0076]) disposed on the color filter part (330; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0072]);
a lens part (340; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0072, 0075, 0076]) disposed on the planarization layer (320; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0072, 0075, 0076]); and
an align key (PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]; where element PIS1 comprises of insulating pattern 111 and conductive pattern 113 on the insulating pattern 111; see Claim 9 of the instant invention where it states that the align key comprises of an insulating film; and a metal film on the insulating film; thus, it is construed that PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044] is an align key) extending from the top side (100a) to a side adjacent to the bottom side (100b) of the substrate (100) within a peripheral area (ER; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0028, 0031-0032, 0046-0047, 0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim ‘675 teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim ‘675 further teaches wherein the align key (PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]; where element PIS1 comprises of insulating pattern 111 and conductive pattern 113 on the insulating pattern 111; see Claim 9 of the instant invention where it states that the align key comprises of an insulating film; and a metal film on the insulating film; thus, it is construed that PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044] is an align key) extends from the top side (100a; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0027]) of the substrate (100; Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 2; [0027]) to a depth of approximately 60% to 90% of a total depth of the substrate (100; see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘675 teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim ‘675 further teaches wherein the align key (PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]; where element PIS1 comprises of insulating pattern 111 and conductive pattern 113 on the insulating pattern 111; see Claim 9 of the instant invention where it states that the align key comprises of an insulating film; and a metal film on the insulating film; thus, it is construed that PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044] is an align key) comprises: a first region (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]) extending in a lateral direction; and a second region (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]) extending in a longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘675 teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kim ‘675 further teaches wherein the align key (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]) comprises: a first align key (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]) having a laterally extending region and a longitudinally extending region; and a second align key (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]) having a laterally extending region and a longitudinally extending region to surround the first align key (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
4. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220310675 A1; hereinafter Kim ‘675), in view of the following statement.
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘675 teaches all of the features of claim 4.
Kim ‘675 further teaches wherein the first region (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]) is provided in a set of two, with the two first regions (see Fig. 4A; see 20: {14, 16}; Fig. 4A; [0062, 0077]) being spaced apart from each other longitudinally, and the second region (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]) (see below for “is provided in a set of two, with the two second regions”) being spaced apart from each other laterally (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]).
Although Kim ‘675 does not expressly disclose wherein the first region is provided in a set of two, with the two first regions being spaced apart from each other longitudinally, and the second region is provided in a set of two, with the two second regions being spaced apart from each other laterally, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) See MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.
Regarding claim 6, Kim ‘675 teaches all of the features of claim 5.
Kim ‘675 further teaches wherein the align key regions (see Fig. 2; see PIS1: {111, 113}; Fig. 2; [0028, 0035, 0037, 0044]) has a substantially rectangular planar shape.
Conclusion
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898