DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a flange must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is an open parenthesis with no close parenthesis in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is rejected as it is unclear if the text in the open parenthesis is meant to be part of the claim limitation or an example of meeting the claim limitation, rendering the claims vague and indefinite.
Claim 4 is rejected because the claim unclearly recites “between screws of a flange.” It is unclear if Applicant is intending screws to be screw threads or how the screws are structurally related to a flange rendering the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Karlan et al. (U.S. 2,786,359) [359].
Regarding Claim 1, Reference [359] discloses a nut guide (10) comprising a geometry that transitions from a conical shape (26) at a first end to a hexagonal shape (shape of 10, shown on Fig. 1) at a second end.
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, Reference [359] discloses wherein the nut guide is configured to couple to a nut (using an adhesive material (adherent).
Regarding Claim 3, Reference [359] discloses wherein the nut guide comprises a polymeric material (silicone rubber).
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, Reference [359] discloses wherein the nut guide, coupled to the nut, is configured to move as a single element between screws of a flange (integral).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Clements (U.S. 6,238,158) [158].
Regarding Claim 1, Reference [158] discloses a nut guide (10) comprising a geometry that transitions from a conical shape (shape of 20,21) at a first end to a hexagonal shape (shape of projections 32) at a second end.
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, Reference [158] discloses wherein the nut guide is configured to couple to a nut (using an adhesive material (tightened over nut).
Regarding Claim 3, Reference [158] discloses wherein the nut guide comprises a polymeric material (polymeric).
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, Reference [158] discloses wherein the nut guide, coupled to the nut, is configured to move as a single element between screws of a flange (tightened over nut).
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Morse (U.S. 2,795,144) [144].
Regarding Claim 1, Reference [144] discloses a nut guide (510) comprising a geometry that transitions from a conical shape (upper of 514) at a first end to a hexagonal shape (outside shape of 513) at a second end.
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, Reference [144] discloses wherein the nut guide is configured to couple to a nut (using an adhesive material (connected on 512).
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, Reference [144] discloses wherein the nut guide, coupled to the nut, is configured to move as a single element between screws of a flange (connected as a crank).
Conclusion
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677