DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajiyama (JP 2004356357).
Regarding claim 1, Kajiyama discloses a holding jig (33) that has a plate shape (Figure 3) and is interposed between a workpiece (such as a semiconductor wafer) and a chuck table (31) when the workpiece is held by the chuck table, the holding jig comprising: a first surface (33a); a second surface (33b) on an opposite side of the first surface; and an outer circumferential surface (see Figure 3, outer circumferential surface of plate shape) that connects the first surface and the second surface, wherein an altered layer that reaches a central region of the second surface from a central region of the first surface is formed (the grooves and holes formed by 331, 332, 333 are considered to be “altering” the layer that is between the respective surfaces, and thereby the altered layer reaches a central layer of each surface).
Regarding claim 3, Kajiyama discloses the holding jig according to claim 1 above. Kajiyama further discloses the altered layer has a part formed into a straight line shape along the first surface (Figure 3, see straight lines).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama (JP 2004356357) in view of Yamashita (JP 2019111634).
Regarding claims 2 and 4;
Kajiyama discloses a holding jig (33) that has a plate shape (Figure 3) and is interposed between a workpiece (such as a semiconductor wafer) and a chuck table (31) when the workpiece is held by the chuck table, the holding jig comprising: a first surface (33a); a second surface (33b) on an opposite side of the first surface; and an outer circumferential surface (see Figure 3, outer circumferential surface of plate shape) that connects the first surface and the second surface, wherein an altered layer that reaches a central region of the second surface from a central region of the first surface is formed (the grooves and holes formed by 331, 332, 333 are considered to be “altering” the layer that is between the respective surfaces, and thereby the altered layer reaches a central layer of each surface). Additionally, the material of the holding jig is constructed of similar materials (“a semiconductor wafer formed of silicon or a compound semiconductor wafer, a silicon carbide substrate, a lithium tantalate substrate, a quartz substrate, etc.” and “the workpiece holding plate 33 is formed of a circular silicon plate”). Kajiyama further discloses the altered layer has a part formed into a straight line shape along the first surface (Figure 3, see straight lines).
Although Kajiyama discloses similar materials for the workpiece and the holding jig, Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose that they are the same material in the embodiment; additionally, Kajiyama fails to teach the grinding unit including a grinding wheel with a circular plate shape and a grinding feed unit that causes the chuck table and grinding unit to relatively approach or separate from each other.
Yamashita teaches a grinding/polishing apparatus for semiconductor wafers including a chuck table (Figure 1), a grinding unit including a grinding wheel (313) with a circular plate/annular shape (see Figure 1), a grinding feed unit (35, 36) that causes the chuck table and the grinding unit to relatively approach or separate from each other (Figures 2 and 4 showing how the grinding unit and table separate/approach). Yamashita further teaches a holding jig (B) that it interposed between the workpiece (W) and the chuck table, the holding jig and the workpiece formed of the same materials (see abstract).
Because Kajiyama is directed to a workpiece and holding jig arrangement for semiconductors, and because Yamashita teaches a workpiece and holding jig arrangement for semiconductors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holding jig such that it is formed of the same material as the main component of the workpiece and the grinding unit including a griding wheel with a circular plate shape and a grinding feed unit that causes the chuck table and grinding unit to relatively approach or separate from each other as taught by Yamashita for the purposes of reducing defects in the workpiece.
Regarding claim 6;
Kajiyama discloses a method for constructing a workpiece with a holding jig that has a plate shape (Figure 3) and is interposed between a workpiece (11) with a circular plate shape (Figure 5) and a chuck table (3) when the workpiece is held by the chuck table. The apparatus comprises the chuck table, a cutting unit (4) including a spindle (41). Additionally, workpieces must be “fed” (see “feed direction”). Kajiyama further discloses the holding jig (33) that has a plate shape (Figure 3) and is interposed between a workpiece (such as a semiconductor wafer) and a chuck table (31) when the workpiece is held by the chuck table, the holding jig comprising: a first surface (33a); a second surface (33b) on an opposite side of the first surface; and an outer circumferential surface (see Figure 3, outer circumferential surface of plate shape) that connects the first surface and the second surface, wherein an altered layer that reaches a central region of the second surface from a central region of the first surface is formed (the grooves and holes formed by 331, 332, 333 are considered to be “altering” the layer that is between the respective surfaces, and thereby the altered layer reaches a central layer of each surface). Additionally, the material of the holding jig is constructed of similar materials (“a semiconductor wafer formed of silicon or a compound semiconductor wafer, a silicon carbide substrate, a lithium tantalate substrate, a quartz substrate, etc.” and “the workpiece holding plate 33 is formed of a circular silicon plate”). Kajiyama further discloses the altered layer has a part formed into a straight line shape along the first surface (Figure 3, see straight lines).
Although Kajiyama discloses similar materials for the workpiece and the holding jig, Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose that they are the same material in the embodiment; additionally, Kajiyama fails to teach the grinding unit including a griding wheel with a circular plate shape and a grinding feed unit that causes the chuck table and grinding unit to relatively approach or separate from each other. As such, Kajiyama fails to teach a jig support step of supporting the holding jig by the chuck table by bringing a side of the second surface of the holding jig into contact with the chuck table; a workpiece holding step of sucking and holding the workpiece by the chuck table by placing the workpiece on the first surface of the holding jig and sucking the workpiece by the chuck table through the holding jig; and a workpiece grinding step of grinding the workpiece held by the chuck table with interposition of the holding jig by the grinding wheel through starting rotation of the chuck table around a table rotation axis and rotation of the grinding wheel around a wheel rotation axis and starting grinding feed in which the chuck table and the grinding unit move to relatively approach each other by actuation of the grinding feed unit.
Yamashita teaches a grinding/polishing apparatus for semiconductor wafers including a chuck table (Figure 1), a grinding unit including a grinding wheel (313) with a circular plate/annular shape (see Figure 1), a grinding feed unit (35, 36) that causes the chuck table and the grinding unit to relatively approach or separate from each other (Figures 2 and 4 showing how the grinding unit and table separate/approach). Yamashita further teaches a holding jig (B) that it interposed between the workpiece (W) and the chuck table, the holding jig and the workpiece formed of the same materials (see abstract). Yamashita then teaches a jig support step of supporting the holding jig by the chuck table by bringing a side of the second surface of the holding jig into contact with the chuck table (see Figure 2 which has B in contact with the chuck table); a workpiece holding step of sucking and holding the workpiece by the chuck table by placing the workpiece on the first surface of the holding jig and sucking the workpiece by the chuck table through the holding jig (“the workpiece W sucked and held”); and a workpiece grinding step of grinding the workpiece held by the chuck table with interposition of the holding jig by the grinding wheel through starting rotation of the chuck table around a table rotation axis and rotation of the grinding wheel around a wheel rotation axis and starting grinding feed in which the chuck table and the grinding unit move to relatively approach each other by actuation of the grinding feed unit (see the movement mechanisms 370, 371 which rotate the table and 310 which rotates the grinding wheel with grinding feed unit 35).
Because Kajiyama is directed to a workpiece and holding jig arrangement for semiconductors, and because Yamashita teaches a workpiece and holding jig arrangement for semiconductors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holding jig such that it is formed of the same material as the main component of the workpiece and the grinding unit including a grinding wheel with a circular plate shape and a grinding feed unit that causes the chuck table and grinding unit to relatively approach or separate from each other, such that a jig support step of supporting the holding jig by the chuck table by bringing a side of the second surface of the holding jig into contact with the chuck table; a workpiece holding step of sucking and holding the workpiece by the chuck table by placing the workpiece on the first surface of the holding jig and sucking the workpiece by the chuck table through the holding jig; and a workpiece grinding step of grinding the workpiece held by the chuck table with interposition of the holding jig by the grinding wheel through starting rotation of the chuck table around a table rotation axis and rotation of the grinding wheel around a wheel rotation axis and starting grinding feed in which the chuck table and the grinding unit move to relatively approach each other by actuation of the grinding feed unit as taught by Yamashita for the purposes of reducing defects in the workpiece.
Regarding claim 7;
Kajiyama in view of Yamashita teaches the grinding method according to claim 6 above.
Kajiyama fails to teach a jig grinding step of grinding the holding jig by the grinding wheel after the jig support step but before the workpiece holding step.
Yamashita further teaches a jig grinding step of grinding the holding jig by the grinding wheel (Figure 2), and this step occurs after the jig support step (as the holding jig is arranged on the chuck table) and before the workpiece holding step (Figure 4 occurs later).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kajiyama such that a jig grinding step of grinding the holding jig by the grinding wheel after the jig support step but before the workpiece holding step as taught by Yamashita for the purposes of reducing damage/defects through enhanced adhesion (smooth surface) and prevention of contamination.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama (JP 2004356357) in view of Hata (JP 2017028157).
Kajiyama discloses a manufacturing method for a holding jig (33) that has a plate shape (Figure 3) and is interposed between a workpiece (such as a semiconductor wafer) and a chuck table (31) when the workpiece is held by the chuck table, the holding jig comprising: a first surface (33a); a second surface (33b) on an opposite side of the first surface; and an outer circumferential surface (see Figure 3, outer circumferential surface of plate shape) that connects the first surface and the second surface, wherein an altered layer that reaches a central region of the second surface from a central region of the first surface is formed (the grooves and holes formed by 331, 332, 333 are considered to be “altering” the layer that is between the respective surfaces, and thereby the altered layer reaches a central layer of each surface). Additionally, the material of the holding jig is constructed of similar materials (“a semiconductor wafer formed of silicon or a compound semiconductor wafer, a silicon carbide substrate, a lithium tantalate substrate, a quartz substrate, etc.” and “the workpiece holding plate 33 is formed of a circular silicon plate”). Kajiyama further discloses the altered layer has a part formed into a straight line shape along the first surface (Figure 3, see straight lines).
Kajiyama fails to teach a preparation step of preparing a substrate and a laser processing step of manufacturing the holding jig by focusing a laser beam having a wavelength component transmitted through the substrate on the substrate and forming the altered layer in the substrate.
Hata teaches a method of manufacturing a holding jig (1, 4) formed of a substrate (1) that includes a preparation step (Figure 2A) and a laser processing step of manufacturing the holding jig by focusing a laser beam having a wavelength component transmitted through the substrate forming the altered layer (formations 11 within the substrate are cut with a cutting device; Hata then teaches “FIG. 5 is a perspective view schematically showing a configuration example of a cutting device (processing device) using the chuck table 23 according to the present embodiment. Note that the chuck table 23 according to the present embodiment can also be used in other processing apparatuses such as a laser processing apparatus”. It is then known from the prior art that the preparation and processing of a substrate for a holding device of a chuck table can be processed through a laser step instead of a cutting device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kajiyama such that the holding jig altered layer is formed by a laser and a preparation step of preparing a substrate and a laser processing step of manufacturing the holding jig by focusing a laser beam having a wavelength component transmitted through the substrate on the substrate and forming the altered layer in the substrate as taught by Hata for the purposes of greater precision and minimal damage (less chipping/cracking).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sekiya (JP 2015229206) teaches a holding jig (10) formed with alterations (14) with a wafer (11) placed overtop.
Nakamura (US 8167687) teaches a holding plate (1) which is formed with a two surfaces (3, 4) and the holding plate includes alterations (10).
Nakamura (US 11583962) teaches a holding plate (1) formed with alterations (3, 5) by laser.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN D SEABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745