DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishino et al. (2014/0159216).
Re claim 1,Ishino et al. disclose (Figs. 1-3) a first conductive plate (9) including a first obverse surface facing in a first sense of a thickness direction and a first reverse surface facing in a second sense of the thickness direction; a second conductive plate (11) including a second obverse surface facing in the first sense of the thickness direction and a second reverse surface facing in the second sense of the thickness direction, the second conductive plate being spaced apart from the first conductive plate in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction; a third conductive plate (10) including a third obverse surface and a third reverse surface, the third obverse surface facing in the second sense of the thickness direction and facing the first obverse surface and the second obverse surface, the third reverse surface facing in the first sense of the thickness direction, the third conductive plate being spaced apart from the first conductive plate and the second conductive plate in the first sense of the thickness direction; a first semiconductor element (7a/8a) arranged between the first obverse surface and the third obverse surface in the thickness direction, and having a switching function; a second semiconductor element (7b/8b) arranged between the second obverse surface and the third obverse surface in the thickness direction, and having a switching function; a first input terminal (P) that is a positive electrode and is electrically connected to the first conductive plate; a second input terminal (N) that is a negative electrode and is electrically connected to the second conductive plate; an output terminal (O) electrically connected to the third conductive plate; and a sealing resin (16) that covers at least a portion of each of the first conductive plate, the second conductive plate, and the third conductive plate, that covers a portion of each of the first input terminal, the second input terminal, and the output terminal, and that covers the first semiconductor element and the second semiconductor element ([0049-0075]).
Re claim 3, Ishino et al. wherein the first reverse surface, the second reverse surface, and the third reverse surface are exposed from the sealing resin (16) (Fig. 2).
Re claim 8, Ishino et al. wherein the first input terminal (P) has a first extending portion that is exposed from the sealing resin (16), and that extends in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction, the second input terminal (N) has a second extending portion that is exposed from the sealing resin (16), and that extends in the second direction, and the output terminal (O) has a third extending portion that is exposed from the sealing resin (16), and that extends in the second direction (Fig. 2a).
Re claim 9, Ishino et al. disclose wherein the first extending portion is positioned in a first sense of the second direction relative to the first conductive plate, and extends in the first sense of the second direction, the second extending portion is positioned in the first sense of the second direction relative to the second conductive plate, and extends in the first sense of the second direction, and the third extending portion is positioned in the first sense of the second direction relative to the third conductive plate, and extends in the first sense of the second direction (Fig. 2a).
Re claim 10, Ishino et al. disclose wherein the first extending portion, the second extending portion, and the third extending portion overlap with each other as viewed in the first direction (Fig. 2).
Re claim 11, Ishino et al. disclose further comprising a first control terminal (S1) and a second control terminal (S2) for controlling the first semiconductor element and the second semiconductor element, respectively, wherein the sealing resin (16) covers a portion of each of the first control terminal and the second control terminal (Fig. 2a).
Re claim 12, Ishino et al. disclose wherein the first control terminal (S1) is spaced apart from the first conductive plate (9) in the second direction, and extends in the second direction, and the second control terminal (S2) is spaced apart from the third conductive plate (10) in the second direction, and extends in the second direction (Fig. 2a).
Re claim 13, Ishino et al. disclose further comprising a first conductive bonding member (20/21) and a second conductive bonding member (25/26), wherein the first semiconductor element (7a/8a) has a first source electrode facing in the first sense of the thickness direction, and a first drain electrode facing in the second sense of the thickness direction, the second semiconductor element (7b/8b) has a second source electrode facing in the second sense of the thickness direction, and a second drain electrode facing in the first sense of the thickness direction, the first conductive bonding member (20/21) electrically connects and bonds the first obverse surface and the first drain electrode, and the second conductive bonding member (25/26) electrically connects and bonds the third obverse surface and the second drain electrode.
Re claim 17, Ishino et al. disclose wherein each of the first conductive plate ([0058]), the second conductive plate ([0067]), and the third conductive plate ([0059]) contains copper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino et al. as applied to claims (2014/0159216) above, and further in view of Daisuke et al. (JP2011181879A).
Ishino et al. does not disclose further comprising an insulating layer covering each of the first reverse surface, the second reverse surface, and the third reverse surface.
Daisuke et al. disclose comprising an insulating layer (31a/32a) covering each of the first reverse surface, the second reverse surface, and the third reverse surface (Fig. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ishino et al. and Daisuke et al to enable to insulating layer of Daisauke et al. to be added to Ishino et al. to ensure electrical insulation between the device elements.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino et al. as applied to claims (2014/0159216) above, and further in view of Hiroki (JP2020170825A).
Ishino et al. does not disclose wherein the first reverse surface, the second reverse surface, and the third reverse surface are covered with the sealing resin, and the sealing resin has a thermal conductivity of at least 5 W/mk; and
wherein the sealing resin has a resin obverse surface facing in the first sense of the thickness direction and a resin reverse surface facing in the second sense of the thickness direction, a first dimension between the first reverse surface and the resin reverse surface in the thickness direction is smaller than a thickness of the first conductive plate, a second dimension between the second reverse surface and the resin reverse surface in the thickness direction is smaller than a thickness of the second conductive plate, and a third dimension between the third reverse surface and the resin obverse surface in the thickness direction is smaller than a thickness of the third conductive plate.
Hiroki discloses (Fig. 5 & [0033-0035] & [0108]) comprising the sealing resin body (30) (corresponding to the "sealing resin" of the present invention). The heat radiation member (40) (a part corresponding to each "rear surface" of the present invention is included). It is indicated that the whole is covered. in this case, it is normal that the heat conductivity of the sealing resin is preferably high, and no special effect is found in quantitatively setting the lower limit value. It is common that the thickness of the sealing resin body (30) covering the whole of the heat radiation member (40) is preferably thin. Therefore, a person skilled in the art could, as appropriate, set the distance between each "rear surface" and the rear surface of the resin so as to be specified by the present invention in relation to the thickness of each "conductive plate".
Also, the thermal conductivity would depend on the preferred material for the sealing resin. Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thermal conductivity or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen thermal conductivity or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen thermal conductivity is critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino et al. as applied to claims (2014/0159216) above, and further in view of Takeshi et al. (JP2018207044A).
Re claim 7, Ishino et al. does not disclose further comprising: a first insulating layer that is arranged in the second sense of the thickness direction relative to the first reverse surface, and that overlaps with the first reverse surface and the second reverse surface as viewed in the thickness direction; and a second insulating layer that is arranged in the first sense of the thickness direction relative to the third reverse surface, and that overlaps with the third reverse surface as viewed in the thickness direction.
Takeshi et al. disclose (Fig. 4 & [032-0035]) further comprising: a first insulating layer 13a that is arranged in the second sense of the thickness direction relative to the first reverse surface, and that overlaps with the first reverse surface and the second reverse surface as viewed in the thickness direction; and a second insulating layer (13) that is arranged in the first sense of the thickness direction relative to the third reverse surface, and that overlaps with the third reverse surface as viewed in the thickness direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ishino et al. and Takeshi et al to enable to insulating layers of Takeshi et al. to be added to Ishino et al. to ensure electrical insulation between the device elements.
Re claim 14, Takeshi et al. disclose further comprising: a first metal portion (9a) provided between the first source electrode and the third obverse surface, and electrically connects the first source electrode and the third obverse surface; and a second metal portion (9b) provided between the second source electrode and the second obverse surface, and electrically connects the second source electrode and the second obverse surface (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino et al. as applied to claims (2014/0159216) above, and further in view of Xiaopeng et al. (WO2020241346A1).
Re claim 15, Ishino et al. does not disclose wherein the first conductive bonding member includes a first base layer made of metal, a first layer, and a second layer, the first layer being provided between the first base layer and the first drain electrode and bonded in direct contact with the first drain electrode at a bonding interface between the first layer and the first drain electrode, the second layer being provided between the first base layer and the first conductive plate and bonded in direct contact with the first conductive plate at a bonding interface between the second layer and the first conductive plate, and the second conductive bonding member includes a second base layer made of metal, a third layer, and a fourth layer, the third layer being provided between the second base layer and the second drain electrode and bonded in direct contact with the second drain electrode at a bonding interface between the third layer and the second drain electrode, the fourth layer being provided between the second base layer and the third conductive plate and bonded in direct contact with the third conductive plate at a bonding interface between the fourth layer and the third conductive plate; and
wherein each of the first base layer and the second base layer contains aluminum, and each of the first layer, the second layer, the third layer, and the fourth layer contain silver.
Xiaopeng et al. disclose (Fig. 5) wherein the first conductive bonding member (491) includes a first base layer (490) made of metal, a first layer, and a second layer, the first layer being provided between the first base layer and the first drain electrode and bonded in direct contact with the first drain electrode at a bonding interface between the first layer and the first drain electrode, the second layer being provided between the first base layer and the first conductive plate and bonded in direct contact with the first conductive plate at a bonding interface between the second layer and the first conductive plate, and the second conductive bonding member (492) includes a second base (490) layer made of metal, a third layer, and a fourth layer, the third layer being provided between the second base layer and the second drain electrode and bonded in direct contact with the second drain electrode at a bonding interface between the third layer and the second drain electrode, the fourth layer being provided between the second base layer and the third conductive plate and bonded in direct contact with the third conductive plate at a bonding interface between the fourth layer and the third conductive plate; and
wherein each of the first base layer and the second base layer contains aluminum, and each of the first layer, the second layer, the third layer, and the fourth layer contain silver ([0030-0036]).
It would have been within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Ishino et al. and Xiaopeng et al. to enable the first and second bonding layers material of Ishino et al. to be the same according to the teachings of Xiaopeng et al. because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to alternative suitable materials for the disclosed the first and second bonding layers material of Ishino et al. and art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. See MPEP 2144.07.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 8,569,111 B2, US 11,450,647 B2 disclose a similar configuration with semiconductor elements and sealing resin.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 December 20, 2025