DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 4/24/2026, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0180506 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
As to claim 8, Lee discloses a display device ([0017]) comprising:
a substrate (fig 1B, 102) having a plurality of sub-pixel areas (fig 1E, sub-pixel areas 118);
a plurality of power connection lines (lines of 112) on the substrate (102);
a plurality of structures (122), each of the plurality of structures included in each of the plurality of sub-pixel areas (fig 1E, 118 on left and right side) and is on a power connection line (112) from the plurality of power connection lines (lines of 112), and includes an undercut exposing a portion of the power connection line (142 exposing 112);
a bank layer (110) on the power connection line (112), the bank layer including a first opening that exposes the undercut (fig 1B, opening in 110 exposing undercut 142); and
an organic light-emissive layer (120), a cathode electrode layer (124) on the organic light-emissive layer (120), and a passivation layer (126) on the cathode electrode layer (124) that cover a respective one of the bank layer (110) and a respective one of the plurality of structures (122),
wherein the power connection line (112) is electrically connected to the cathode electrode layer (124) at the undercut (142),
wherein organic light-emissive layers of sub-pixel areas from the plurality of sub-pixel areas that are adjacent to each other are disconnected from each other (120 is disconnected between the left and right sub-pixels at 148),
wherein cathode electrode layers of the sub-pixel areas adjacent to each other are disconnected from each other (124 is disconnected between the left and right sub-pixels at 148),
wherein passivation layers of the sub-pixel areas adjacent to each other are disconnected from each other (126 is disconnected between the left and right sub-pixels at 148).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Im et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0198806 A1), hereafter referred to as Im.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a display device ([0017]) comprising:
a plurality of sub-pixels (fig 1E, 118); and
a plurality of power connection lines electrically connecting the plurality of sub-pixels to a circuit (fig 1B, power connection line 112 in each sub-pixel 118; [0021]),
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels (118) includes an organic light-emissive layer (120; [0023]), a cathode electrode layer (124; [0024]) on the organic light-emissive layer (120), and a passivation layer (126; [0026]) on the cathode electrode layer (124),
wherein organic light-emissive layers of sub-pixels from the plurality of sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other are disconnected from each other (fig 1E, sub-pixels 118 on left and right side of 148 show organic light-emissive layers 120 are disconnected as shown in cross section shown in fig 1B),
wherein cathode electrode layers of the sub-pixels adjacent to each other are disconnected from each other (cathodes 124 are disconnected between adjacent sub-pixels at structure 148),
wherein passivation layers of the sub-pixels adjacent to each other are disconnected from each other (passivation layers 126 are disconnected between adjacent sub-pixels at structure 148),
wherein each of the sub-pixels includes a structure including an undercut (contact overhang 122 includes an undercut),
wherein each of the plurality of power connection lines (112) overlaps the structure (122) such that the power connection line is electrically connected to a cathode electrode layer from the cathode electrode layers at the undercut (cathode electrode 124 electrically connected to 112).
Lee does not disclose a power line that applies a voltage to the plurality of sub-pixels.
Nonetheless, Im discloses a similar display device (fig 1, 10; [0033]) comprising a power line (EVL) that applied voltage ([0056]) to a plurality of sub-pixels ([0034]) through a power connection line (AE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a power line in Lee as taught by Im since this will allow for the improved connection of a low potential power voltage from a power generating part to the sub-pixels.
As to claim 4, Lee in view of Im disclose the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of sub-pixels are arranged in a matrix form along a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (sub-pixels 118),
wherein each of the plurality of power connection lines (112) extends in the first direction so as to electrically connect the plurality of sub-pixels arranged in the first direction to the power line (112 connected to EVL of Im as presented above).
As to claim 5, Lee in view of Im disclose the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes an outermost boundary of the organic light-emissive layer, an outermost boundary of the cathode electrode layer, and an outermost boundary of the passivation layer (fig 1B, outermost boundary of 120, 124 and 126),
wherein the outermost boundary of the organic light-emissive layer is positioned inwardly of the outermost boundary of the passivation layer (120 is inward of 126),
wherein the outermost boundary of the cathode electrode layer (124) is disposed between the outermost boundary of the organic light-emissive layer (120) and the outermost boundary of the passivation layer (126).
As to claim 6, Lee in view of Im disclose the display device of claim 5 (paragraphs above).
Lee further discloses wherein the structure included in each of the plurality of sub-pixels is positioned inwardly of the outermost boundary of the organic light-emissive layer, the outermost boundary of the cathode electrode layer, and the outermost boundary of the passivation layer (122 is positioned inward of outermost boundary of 120, 124, 126).
As to claim 7, Lee in view of Im disclose the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Im further discloses wherein the power line is a low-potential voltage (VSS) line, and a low-potential voltage is applied to the cathode electrode layer included in each of the plurality of sub-pixels via the power connection line ([0056]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0208902 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
As to claim 9, Lee discloses the display device of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
Lee does not disclose wherein the display device further comprises:
a plurality of thin-film transistors on the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of thin-film transistors is included in each of the plurality of sub-pixel areas, and includes source and drain electrodes; and
a plurality of data lines on the substrate,
wherein the plurality of power connection lines, the source and drain electrodes, and the plurality of data lines are in a same layer, and are made of a same material.
Nonetheless, Kim discloses a plurality of thin-film transistors (fig 4A, DT) on a substrate (SUB), wherein each of the plurality of thin-film transistors (DT( is included in each of the plurality of sub-pixel areas (pixel), and includes source (DS) and drain electrodes (DD); and
a plurality of data lines (DL) on the substrate (SUB),
wherein the plurality of power connection lines, the source and drain electrodes, and the plurality of data lines are in a same layer, and are made of a same material ([0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the thin-film transistors and data lines of Kim in the display of Lee since this will improve the active control of the sub-pixels of the display.
As to claim 10, Lee in view of Kim disclose the display device of claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein the bank layer (fig 4A, BA2) is on a data line (DL) from the plurality of data lines and overlaps the data line (DL),
wherein the data line is non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer ([0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include data lines non-overlapping with cathode electrode of Lee in view of Im as taught by Kim since this will prevent parasitic capacitance between the cathode electrode and the data line (Kim, [0099]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim and further in view of Im.
As to claim 16, Lee discloses the display device of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
Lee does not disclose wherein the display device further comprises a power line as a low-potential voltage (VSS) line, and a low-potential voltage is applied to the cathode electrode layer included in each of the plurality of sub-pixel areas via the power connection line electrically connected to the power line.
Nonetheless, Im discloses wherein the display device further comprises a power line as a low-potential voltage (VSS) line, and a low-potential voltage is applied to the cathode electrode layer included in each of the plurality of sub-pixel areas via the power connection line electrically connected to the power line ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a power line in Lee as taught by Im since this will allow for the improved connection of a low potential power voltage from a power generating part to the sub-pixels.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Im and further in view of Kim.
As to claim 2, Lee in view of Im disclose the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Lee in view of Im do not disclose wherein the display device further comprises a plurality of data lines, each of the plurality of data lines between the sub-pixels adjacent to each other,
wherein each of the plurality of data lines is non-overlapping with the cathode electrode layer.
Nonetheless, Kim discloses wherein a display device comprises a plurality of data lines (fig 5A, DL), each of the plurality of data lines (DL) between sub-pixels adjacent to each other ([0055]),
wherein each of the plurality of data lines is non-overlapping with a cathode electrode layer ([0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include data lines non-overlapping with cathode electrode of Lee in view of Im as taught by Kim since this will prevent parasitic capacitance between the cathode electrode and the data line (Kim, [0099]).
As to claim 3, Lee in view of Im and Kim disclose the display device of claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein the plurality of data lines (DL) and a plurality of power connection lines (VDD) are alternately arranged with each other and extend in a first direction (y-direction),
wherein the plurality of data lines (DL) and the plurality of power connection lines (VDD) are arranged so as to be non-overlapping with each other (DL and VDD do not overlap).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest an overcoat layer on the source and drain electrodes; and an anode electrode layer between the overcoat layer and the bank layer, the anode electrode layer electrically connected to the source and drain electrodes, wherein at least one of the plurality of structures includes a first structure layer, a second structure layer, and a third structure layer stacked sequentially, wherein the first structure layer and the overcoat layer are in a same layer and are made of a same material, wherein the second structure layer and the anode electrode layer are in a same layer and are made of a same material, wherein the third structure layer and the bank layer are in a same layer, and are made of a same material, as recited in claim 11 and including the limitations of claims 8 and 9 from which claim 11 depends. Claims 12-15 are allowable because of their dependence from claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the amendments to claims 8 and 10 overcome the 112(b) rejections.
Examiner agrees that the amendments to the claims overcome the previous 112(b) rejections.
Applicant argued that the rejection of claim 8 was based on an improper statutory basis.
Examiner disagrees because the rejection of claim 8 was not based on an improper statutory basis.
Applicant argued that neither Lee nor Im or Kim disclose the disconnected passivation layers as recited in independent claims 1 or 8.
Examiner disagrees because the figures of Lee clearly show the disconnection. Applicant points to Lee’s paragraph [0026] to show that the passivation is not disconnected, however, paragraph [0026] only describes the contact overhang region 130 and does not describe anything related to the disconnected region. Furthermore, Lee’s figure 1B shows the disconnected end surface of passivation layer 126 that faces an adjacent sub-pixel.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2021/0376283 A1 and KR20220056592A (provided on IDS received 4/8/2026).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 5/12/2026