Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 11/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 17, the use of the term “PVA” renders the scope of the claim indefinite. While it appears that PVA is intended to represent polyvinyl alcohol, it is noted that PVA is also commonly used to represent polyvinyl acetate and potentially other compounds. Therefore, the abbreviation should be spelled out.
Claim(s) 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0016103.
Song discloses a composite radius filler material. The radius filler includes a first bundle of fibers having a first length and a second bundle of fibers having a second length that is shorter than the first length. See paragraph 0004. The use of fibers having different lengths helps achieve balanced characteristics or properties in different directions. See paragraph 0019. The structure may further include third fibers which are shorter than the first or second fibers. See paragraph 0062. The radius filler can have a paste like structure which is equated with having a variable geometry. See paragraph 0075.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0016103.
Song discloses a composite radius filler material. The radius filler includes a first bundle of fibers having a first length and a second bundle of fibers having a second length that is shorter than the first length. See paragraph 0004. The use of fibers having different lengths helps achieve balanced characteristics or properties in different directions. See paragraph 0019. The structure may further include third fibers which are shorter than the first or second fibers. See paragraph 0062. The radius filler can have a paste like structure which is equated with having a variable geometry. See paragraph 0075.
The radius filler can further include ceramic or carbon particles. See paragraph 0022. Note that silicon carbide is a well-known and conventional type of ceramic. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed silicon carbide as the ceramic particle in Song.
Claim(s) 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0016103 in view of Konopaske et al, WO 2023/122009.
Song discloses a composite radius filler material. The radius filler includes a first bundle of fibers having a first length and a second bundle of fibers having a second length that is shorter than the first length. See paragraph 0004. The use of fibers having different lengths helps achieve balanced characteristics or properties in different directions. See paragraph 0019. The structure may further include third fibers which are shorter than the first or second fibers. See paragraph 0062. The radius filler can have a paste like structure which is equated with having a variable geometry. See paragraph 0075.
Song differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose employing silicon carbide tows or incorporating polyvinyl alcohol fibers into the structure.
However, Konopaske discloses incorporating sacrificial yarns such as polyvinyl alcohol into preforms such as radius fillers. See paragraphs 0035, 0054 and 0064-0065. The fibers making up the structures can further include silicon carbide tows. See paragraph 0008. The use of polyvinyl alcohol sacrificial yarns provides spaces for infiltration between the tows for a matrix material. See paragraph 0043.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a silicon carbide tow in view of their art recognized suitability for this purpose as taught by Konopaske. It further would have been obvious to have employed polyvinyl alcohol yarns in order to provide spaces for infiltration between the tows.
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0016103 in view of Rossi et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0217508
Song discloses a composite radius filler material. The radius filler includes a first bundle of fibers having a first length and a second bundle of fibers having a second length that is shorter than the first length. See paragraph 0004. The use of fibers having different lengths helps achieve balanced characteristics or properties in different directions. See paragraph 0019. The structure may further include third fibers which are shorter than the first or second fibers. See paragraph 0062. The radius filler can have a paste like structure which is equated with having a variable geometry. See paragraph 0075.
Song differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose employing braided tows.
However, Rossi discloses radius filler materials. Rossi discloses that the fibers can be braided and encompassed by woven fabric sleeves in order to further stabilize the structure and reduce cracking. See paragraphs 0008, 0010 and 0074. Rossi discloses cutting the braided structures to desired length depending on the structure into which the radius filler will be disposed. See paragraph 0085.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have braided the fiber tows and to have provided sleeves in order to improve the stability of the structure and reduce crack propagation.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789