Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “visible light”, and the claim also recites blue light which is a subset of visible light. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 14 is indefinite because it is improper for a process claim to depend from a product claim. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that the claim is a product claim. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bedell et al., US 2018/0277705.
Bedell et al. shows the invention as claimed including a light emitting and light receiving device comprising:
A light-emitting diode 15 comprising a first active layer 12, a first electrode 21 in contact with the lower face of the first active layer, and a second electrode 22 in contact with the upper face of the first active layer (see fig. 2 and paragraphs 0050-0052); and
Opposite the light-emitting diode, on an emission face of the light-emitting diode, a light conversion and detection element comprising a second active layer (10,10a,10b), a third electrode 31 in contact with the lower face of the second active layer, and a fourth electrode 32 in contact with the upper face of the second active layer (see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 0021-0077).
With respect to dependent claim 3, note that Bedell et al. discloses wherein the second active layer is made of a photoluminescent material adapted to absorb photons in the emission wavelength range of the light emitting diode, and, in response, to re-emit photons in another wavelength range.
With respect to dependent claim 4, note that Bedell et al. discloses wherein the light emitting diode is adapted to emit visible light and wherein the second active layer is adapted to emit infrared radiation.
Regarding dependent claim 8, note that Bedell et al. discloses wherein the second and third electrodes are transparent in the emission wavelength range of the light-emitting diode, and wherein the fourth electrode is transparent in the emission wavelength range of the second active layer (see, for example, figs. 1-4).
Concerning independent claims 11-12, note that Bedell et al. discloses a light emitting and light receiving device and an emissive cell comprising a LED.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al., US 2018/0277705 in view of Irwin et al., US 2021/0159022.
Bedell et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose where the second active layer is made of an inorganic perovskite material such as CsSnI3. Irwin et al. discloses an active layer for an LED comprised of the inorganic perovskite CsSnI3 (see claim 3, for example). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Bedell et al. so as to form the second active layer of CsSnI3 because Irwin et al. shows the suitability of this particular perovskite material in an LED.
Concerning dependent claim 14, note that as stated above and for purposes of examination, it is assumed the claim is a product claim. Therefore, the method in which the perovskite material is made is not given patentable weight since there it does not appear that the claimed process materially affects the product.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al., US 2018/0277705 in view of Kurosawa et al., US 2017/0244003.
Bedell et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose wherein the second and third electrodes are electrically insulated from each other by a passivation layer transparent in the emission wavelength range of the light-emitting diode. Kurosawa et al. discloses forming electrodes that are electrically insulated from each other by a passivation layer transparent in the emission wavelength range of the light-emitting diode (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0015-0077). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Bedell et al. so as to comprise the passivation layer configuration of Kurosawa et al. because in such a way light will be able to freely pass through this layer while at the same time providing adequate protection.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al., US 2018/0277705 in view of Zhao et al., US 2019/0288686.
Bedell et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose on the upper face of the light conversion and detection element, an optical filter adapted to pass light radiation in the emission wavelength range of the second active layer and to block light radiation in the emission wavelength range of the light-emitting diode. Zhao et al. discloses an optical filter adapted to pass light radiation in the emission wavelength range of the second active layer and to block light radiation in the emission wavelength range of the light-emitting diode (see fig. 8D and paragraphs 0057-0071). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Bedell et al. so as to comprise an optical filter as suggested by Zhao et al. because in such a way the light conversion and detection element can be functioning appropriately.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al., US 2018/0277705.
Bedell et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose the optoelectronic device comprising a plurality of elementary chips fixed and electrically connected to a single interconnection tile. However, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the claimed configuration is prima facie obvious since fixing elementary chips to a single interconnection tile is a common light emitting/receiving configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, in combination with the claimed limitations, the limitations of: further comprising an electronic circuit configured to, during an emission phase, apply a current in the first active layer via the first and second electrodes, and keep the third or fourth electrodes open-circuited, or, during a reception phase, keep the first and second electrodes open-circuited or short-circuited and measure, via the third and fourth electrodes, an electrical signal representative of light radiation absorbed by the second active layer, as required by dependent claim 2.
Conclusion
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
March 21, 2026