DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 12/29/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 1/24/25 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 11/30/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ong et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0209798).
Referring to figures 4-10, Ong et al. teaches a gate all around (GAA) field effect transistor (GAA FET) (130), comprising: a substrate (101); a nanosheet structure (260) on the substrate; a source/drain (SD) region (275) in the substrate and coupled to a first end of the nanosheet structure; a drain/source (DS) region (275) in the substrate and coupled to a second end opposite the first end of the nanosheet structure; a metal gate (285) on the nanosheet structure to define a plurality of channels between the source/drain region and the drain/source region; and a trench oxide (605) blocking a bottom channel of the plurality of channels (see figure 7).
Regarding to claim 2, the metal gate (285) horizontally surrounds the nanosheet structure (260) on four sides (see figures 4-7).
Regarding to claim 3, in which the trench oxide (301/605) is coupled to a portion of the metal gate (285, see figure 7).
Regarding to claim 4, the trench oxide (301/605) extends through the substrate (101, see figure (7a)3.
Regarding to claim 5, the trench oxide comprises silicon nitride (SiN) (see paragraph# 68).
Regarding to claim 6, the trench oxide comprises silicon oxide (SiO2) (see paragraph# 68).
Regarding to claim 8, the nanosheet structure comprises silicon (see paragraph# 48).
Regarding to claim 9, gate spacers (411) between the metal gate (285) and the SD region and the DS region (275, see figure 7a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ong et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0209798) applied in claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 above in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0045052).
Referring to figures 4-10, Ong et al. teaches a gate all around (GAA) field effect transistor (GAA FET) (130), comprising: a substrate (101); a nanosheet structure (260) on the substrate; a source/drain (SD) region (275) in the substrate and coupled to a first end of the nanosheet structure; a drain/source (DS) region (275) in the substrate and coupled to a second end opposite the first end of the nanosheet structure; a metal gate (285) on the nanosheet structure to define a plurality of channels between the source/drain region and the drain/source region; and a trench oxide (605) blocking a bottom channel of the plurality of channels (see figure 7).
However, the reference does not clearly teach a backside power rail coupled to the substrate (in claim 7).
Huang et al. teaches a semiconductor device having a backside power rail (130) coupled to the substrate (102, see figure, paragraph# 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a backside power rail coupled to the substrate in Ong et al. as taught by Huang et al. because it is known in the semiconductor to to deliver power
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ong et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0209798) applied in claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 above in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0282751).
Referring to figures 4-10, Ong et al. teaches a gate all around (GAA) field effect transistor (GAA FET) (130), comprising: a substrate (101); a nanosheet structure (260) on the substrate; a source/drain (SD) region (275) in the substrate and coupled to a first end of the nanosheet structure; a drain/source (DS) region (275) in the substrate and coupled to a second end opposite the first end of the nanosheet structure; a metal gate (285) on the nanosheet structure to define a plurality of channels between the source/drain region and the drain/source region; and a trench oxide (605) blocking a bottom channel of the plurality of channels (see figure 7).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the SD region and the DS region comprise boron-doped silicon germanium (SiGe:B) for P-type FET (PFET) devices, and phosphorus doped silicon (Si:P) for N-type FET (NFET) devices (in claim 10).
Chen et al. teaches the SD region and the DS region (250/252) comprise boron-doped silicon germanium (SiGe:B) for P-type FET (PFET) devices, and phosphorus doped silicon (Si:P) for N-type FET (NFET) devices (see paragraph# 54, figures 13-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the SD region and the DS region comprise boron-doped silicon germanium (SiGe:B) for P-type FET (PFET) devices, and phosphorus doped silicon (Si:P) for N-type FET (NFET) devices in Ong et al. as taught by Chen et al. because choosing an optimum material for a layer is known in the semiconductor art to form a device with desired conductivity.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893