Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/02/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9, 26-40 in the reply filed on 02/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9, 26-40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the extended fins supporting use of facility-grade cooling liquid and providing heat transfer directly to the cooling liquid without requiring a secondary coolant loop and without causing corrosion or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates or chemical contaminants;”, to avoid antecedent issue and for clarity and consistency, the limitations should be changed to read “the array of extended fins supporting use of a facility-grade cooling liquid and providing heat transfer directly to the facility-grade cooling liquid without requiring a secondary coolant loop and without causing corrosion or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates or chemical contaminants;”.
Claim 26 recites “the extended fins supporting use of facility-grade cooling liquid and providing heat transfer directly to the cooling liquid without requiring a secondary coolant loop and… an open-loop liquid distribution system sealably connected to and in fluid communication between the intake port of the cold plate and a cooling liquid source to receive unheated facility liquid”, to avoid antecedent issue and for clarity and consistency, the limitations should be changed to read “the array of extended fins supporting use of a facility-grade cooling liquid and providing heat transfer directly to the facility-grade cooling liquid without requiring a secondary coolant loop and… an open-loop liquid distribution system sealably connected to and in fluid communication between the intake port of the cold plate and a cooling liquid supply to receive unheated facility liquid”.
Claim 32 recites “wherein a geometry of each fin within the array of NCAC extended fins”, Claim 32 is dependent to Claim 26, non-conductive, anti-corrosive (NCAC) is not required in Claim 26, Claim 27 claims “wherein the array of extended fins are non-conductive, anti-corrosive (NCAC) extended fins”, Claim 32 could be changed to be dependent of Claim 27 to properly claim “the array of extended fins” to be coated with “non-conductive, anti-corrosive (NCAC)” treatment, the limitations should be changed to read “wherein a geometry of each fin within the array of extended fins” and Examiner will review claim as such.
Claim 37 recites “the extended fins supporting use of facility- grade cooling liquid and providing heat transfer directly to the cooling liquid without requiring a secondary coolant loop”, to avoid antecedent issue and for clarity and consistency, the limitations should be changed to read “the array of extended fins supporting use of a facility-grade cooling liquid and providing heat transfer directly to the facility-grade cooling liquid without requiring a secondary coolant loop”.
Claim 2-9 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 1 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Claim 27-36 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 26 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Claim 38-40 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 37 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 26-28, 33-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmunds et al. (US 2022/0110225 - hereinafter, "Edmunds") in view of TANG et al. (US 2024/0384951 - hereinafter, "Tang").
With respect to Claim 1, Edmunds teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
A cold plate assembly (see Figure 12A-12C) comprising:
a cold plate (1200) comprising a thermally conductive material (in paragraph [0009], “In a preferred example, the second cooling circulatory arrangement can comprise cold plates, which can be thermally coupled to specific electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices” and in paragraph [0044]-[0049]), having a first surface (bottom surface of the cold plate (1200), in paragraph [0228], “Preferably, the surface arranged to provide a thermal interface to an electronic device (such as the second electronic device) to which the cold plate is coupled is a bottom surface of the cold plate housing (for instance the underside, not shown, of the cold plate housing 1210 in FIG. 12A)”) attachable to a heat generating electronic component (electronic device, in paragraph [0228], “Preferably, the surface arranged to provide a thermal interface to an electronic device (such as the second electronic device)) of a data processing system (in paragraph [0014]), and having a second surface (see Figure 12C, top surface of base plate (1245) of cold plate (1200) where the array of extended fins (1245) are located) opposed to the first surface (bottom surface of the cold plate (1200)) and configured with an array of extended fins (1240), the array of extended fins (1240) supporting use of facility-grade cooling liquid (mains water supply, in paragraph [0207], “In the example of FIG. 4B, the second cooling circulatory arrangement can be provided with lower temperature second liquid coolant by a facility level provision. In particular, the second liquid coolant is water, and fed from the mains water supply 490 at a facility level. The higher temperature second liquid coolant received from the electronic module can be passed to the mains drainage 495 at the facility level”) and providing heat transfer directly to the facility-grade cooling liquid (mains water supply) without requiring a secondary coolant loop (see Figure 4B, in paragraph [0058]); and
an encapsulating lid (1250, see Figure 12C) attachable to the second surface (see Figure 12C, top surface of base plate (1245) of cold plate (1200) where the array of extended fins (1245) are located) encompassing at least the array of extended fins (1240) to form a liquid cooling cavity (1235) and comprising an intake port (1225a) and an exhaust port (1225b) for coupling to a cooling liquid supply (in paragraph [0058]).
Edmunds fails to specifically teach or suggest an array of extended fins having exterior surfaces that are coated with at least one of a hydrophobic, a non-conductive, and an anti- corrosive surface treatment and without causing corrosion or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates.
Tang, however, teaches (in paragraph [0008]-[0011], [0013], [0017]-[0018] and [0064])
an array of fins (13) having exterior surfaces (surface of array of fins (13)) that are coated (14) with at least one of a hydrophobic (in paragraph [0064], “The heat exchanger 100 includes a matrix 100-1 and a hydrophobic coating layer 14 coated at least part of the surface of the matrix 100-1, the matrix 100-1 is a matrix of at least one of the collecting pipe 11, the heat exchanger tube 12 and the fin 13”), a non-conductive (low surface energy silane material, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”), and an anti- corrosive (corrosion inhibiting particles, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material” and in paragraph [0037]) surface treatment (in paragraph [0031], “In the related art of anticorrosion treatment for a metal surface, a anticorrosion coating layer on the metal surface may be a chemical conversion film formed by a reaction of a chemical reagent with a metal, a coating layer formed by depositing ions on the metal surface by means of electroplating, physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc., or a coating layer formed by applying a coating material to a surface of the metal by dip-coating, spray-coating or other means”) and without causing corrosion (in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”) or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates or chemical contaminants.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tang with Edmunds, such that an array of fins having exterior surfaces that are coated with at least one of a hydrophobic, a non-conductive, and an anti- corrosive surface treatment and without causing corrosion or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates as taught by Tang since doing so would improve the corrosion resistance of Edmunds’ array of extended fins. (in paragraph [0035]-[0036])
with respect to Claim 2, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the coating (14 as taught in Claim 1 as per above by Tang) on the array of extended fins (1240) is both non-conductive and anti-corrosive (as taught in Claim 1 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”, the coating is hydrophobic and non-conductive and anti-corrosive).
with respect to Claim 3, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the array of extended fins (1240) are further coated by a hydrophobic layer (14 as taught in Claim 1 as per above by Tang) to prevent scaling and sedimentation due to dissolved calcium carbonate in the cooling liquid (water).
with respect to Claim 8, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the array of extended fins (1240) are coated using physical vapor deposition (PVD) (as taught in Claim 1 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0031], “In the related art of anticorrosion treatment for a metal surface, a anticorrosion coating layer on the metal surface may be a chemical conversion film formed by a reaction of a chemical reagent with a metal, a coating layer formed by depositing ions on the metal surface by means of electroplating, physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc., or a coating layer formed by applying a coating material to a surface of the metal by dip-coating, spray-coating or other means”) to provide the non-conductive treatment and the anti-corrosive surface treatment (as taught in Claim 1 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”, the coating is hydrophobic and non-conductive and anti-corrosive).
with respect to Claim 9, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the array of extended fins (1240) are coated, via PVD (as taught in Claim 1 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0031], “In the related art of anticorrosion treatment for a metal surface, a anticorrosion coating layer on the metal surface may be a chemical conversion film formed by a reaction of a chemical reagent with a metal, a coating layer formed by depositing ions on the metal surface by means of electroplating, physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc., or a coating layer formed by applying a coating material to a surface of the metal by dip-coating, spray-coating or other means”), with one or more ceramics from among a group comprising Zirconium Nitride (as taught in Claim 1 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0013]) and Titanium Nitride.
With respect to Claim 26, Edmunds teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
A liquid cooling system (see Figure 4B) comprising:
a cold plate assembly (see Figure 12A-12C) comprising:
a cold plate (1200) comprising a thermally conductive material (in paragraph [0009], “In a preferred example, the second cooling circulatory arrangement can comprise cold plates, which can be thermally coupled to specific electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices” and in paragraph [0044]-[0049]), having a first surface (bottom surface of the cold plate (1200), in paragraph [0228], “Preferably, the surface arranged to provide a thermal interface to an electronic device (such as the second electronic device) attachable to a heat generating electronic component (electronic device, in paragraph [0228], “Preferably, the surface arranged to provide a thermal interface to an electronic device (such as the second electronic device)) of an information processing system (in paragraph [0014]), and having a second surface (see Figure 12C, top surface of base plate (1245) of cold plate (1200) where the array of extended fins (1245) are located) opposed to the first surface (bottom surface of the cold plate (1200)) and configured with an array of extended fins (1240), the array of extended fins (1240) supporting use of a facility-grade cooling liquid (mains water supply, in paragraph [0207], “In the example of FIG. 4B, the second cooling circulatory arrangement can be provided with lower temperature second liquid coolant by a facility level provision. In particular, the second liquid coolant is water, and fed from the mains water supply 490 at a facility level. The higher temperature second liquid coolant received from the electronic module can be passed to the mains drainage 495 at the facility level”) and providing heat transfer directly to the facility-grade cooling liquid (mains water supply) without requiring a secondary coolant loop (see Figure 4B, in paragraph [0058]); and
an encapsulating lid (1250) attachable to a perimeter of the second surface (see Figure 12C, top surface of base plate (1245) of cold plate (1200) where the array of extended fins (1245) are located) encompassing at least the array of extended fins (1240) to form a liquid cooling cavity (1235) and comprising an intake port (1225a) and an exhaust port (1225b) for coupling to a cooling liquid supply (in paragraph [0058]); and
an open-loop liquid distribution system (in paragraph [0019], “In alternative cases, the second cooling circulatory arrangement can describe an open loop, in which liquid coolant is received, flowed around the described pathway, and then passed to a drain. For instance, after passing through the heat exchanger the second liquid coolant in the second cooling circulatory arrangement is then either cooled (by passing through a cooling system before passing back to the electronic module), or is replenished (for example, where the second liquid coolant is part of a facility wide coolant supply, such as a facility water supply)”) sealably connected to and in fluid communication between the intake port (1225a) of the cold plate (1200) and a cooling liquid source (facility level supply, in paragraph [0023], “In other words, the second cooling circulatory arrangement is an open loop, and the second liquid coolant is fed from a facility level supply, and constantly replenished. For instance, the second liquid coolant supply may be a water supply, from which water is received (as the second liquid coolant), circulated through the second cooling circulatory arrangement, and then allowed to exit the second cooling circulatory arrangement to facility drainage.”) to receive unheated facility liquid (cool water) and between the exhaust port (1225b) of the cold plate (1200) and a cooling liquid (water) return to exhaust heated facility liquid (heated water) to the cooling liquid return (facility drainage, in paragraph [0023], “In other words, the second cooling circulatory arrangement is an open loop, and the second liquid coolant is fed from a facility level supply, and constantly replenished. For instance, the second liquid coolant supply may be a water supply, from which water is received (as the second liquid coolant), circulated through the second cooling circulatory arrangement, and then allowed to exit the second cooling circulatory arrangement to facility drainage.”).
Edmunds fails to specifically teach or suggest an array of extended fins having exterior surfaces that are coated with at least one of a hydrophobic, a non-conductive, and an anti- corrosive surface treatment and without causing corrosion or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates.
Tang, however, teaches (in paragraph [0008]-[0011] , [0013], [0017]-[0018] and [0064])
an array of fins (13) having exterior surfaces (surface of array of fins (13)) that are coated (14) with at least one of a hydrophobic (in paragraph [0064], “The heat exchanger 100 includes a matrix 100-1 and a hydrophobic coating layer 14 coated at least part of the surface of the matrix 100-1, the matrix 100-1 is a matrix of at least one of the collecting pipe 11, the heat exchanger tube 12 and the fin 13”), a non-conductive (low surface energy silane material, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”), and an anti- corrosive (corrosion inhibiting particles, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material” and in paragraph [0037]) surface treatment (in paragraph [0031], “In the related art of anticorrosion treatment for a metal surface, a anticorrosion coating layer on the metal surface may be a chemical conversion film formed by a reaction of a chemical reagent with a metal, a coating layer formed by depositing ions on the metal surface by means of electroplating, physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc., or a coating layer formed by applying a coating material to a surface of the metal by dip-coating, spray-coating or other means”) and without causing corrosion (in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”) or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates or chemical contaminants.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tang with Edmunds, such that an array of fins having exterior surfaces that are coated with at least one of a hydrophobic, a non-conductive, and an anti- corrosive surface treatment and without causing corrosion or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates as taught by Tang since doing so would improve the corrosion resistance of Edmunds’ array of extended fins. (in paragraph [0035]-[0036])
with respect to Claim 27, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 26 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the array of extended fins (1240) are non-conductive, anti-corrosive (NCAC) extended fins (as taught in Claim 26 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”) having exterior surfaces (surface of array of fins (13), as taught in Claim 26 as per above by Tang) that are coated with a surface treatment that is both non-conductive and anti-corrosive (as taught in Claim 26 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”, the coating is hydrophobic and non-conductive and anti-corrosive).
with respect to Claim 28, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 26 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the array of extended fins (1240) are further coated by a hydrophobic layer (14 as taught in Claim 26 as per above by Tang) to prevent scaling and sedimentation due to dissolved calcium carbonate in the facility liquid (water).
with respect to Claim 33, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 26 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the array of extended fins (1240) are coated using physical vapor deposition (PVD) (as taught in Claim 26 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0031], “In the related art of anticorrosion treatment for a metal surface, a anticorrosion coating layer on the metal surface may be a chemical conversion film formed by a reaction of a chemical reagent with a metal, a coating layer formed by depositing ions on the metal surface by means of electroplating, physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc., or a coating layer formed by applying a coating material to a surface of the metal by dip-coating, spray-coating or other means”) to provide the non-conductive treatment and the anti-corrosive surface treatment (as taught in Claim 26 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”, the coating is hydrophobic and non-conductive and anti-corrosive).
with respect to Claim 34, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 33 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the array of extended fins (1240) are coated, via PVD (as taught in Claim 26 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0031], “In the related art of anticorrosion treatment for a metal surface, a anticorrosion coating layer on the metal surface may be a chemical conversion film formed by a reaction of a chemical reagent with a metal, a coating layer formed by depositing ions on the metal surface by means of electroplating, physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc., or a coating layer formed by applying a coating material to a surface of the metal by dip-coating, spray-coating or other means”), with one or more ceramics from among a group comprising Zirconium Nitride (as taught in Claim 26 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0013]) and Titanium Nitride.
with respect to Claim 35, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 26 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
further comprising at least one electrically actuated valve (valves, in paragraph [0249], “As will be understood by the person skilled in the art, various other components may be included within the cooling loop (such as switches, valves, manifolds, or additional pumps). Additional cold plate assemblies may also be comprised within the cooling loop, as described below. The described cooling loop is provided for illustrative purposes, and is not considered to be limiting”) in fluid communication between the open-loop distribution system (in paragraph [0019], “In alternative cases, the second cooling circulatory arrangement can describe an open loop, in which liquid coolant is received, flowed around the described pathway, and then passed to a drain. For instance, after passing through the heat exchanger the second liquid coolant in the second cooling circulatory arrangement is then either cooled (by passing through a cooling system before passing back to the electronic module), or is replenished (for example, where the second liquid coolant is part of a facility wide coolant supply, such as a facility water supply)”) and the cold plate assembly (see Figure 12A-12C) to regulate fluid flow through the liquid cooling cavity.
with respect to Claim 36, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 26 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the heat generating electronic component (electronic device, in paragraph [0014]) comprises an integrated circuit module.
With respect to Claim 37, Edmunds teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
An information processing system (in paragraph [0014]) comprising:
a heat generating electronic component (electronic device, in paragraph [0228], “Preferably, the surface arranged to provide a thermal interface to an electronic device (such as the second electronic device)); and
a cold plate assembly (see Figure 12A-12C) attached to the heat generating electronic component (electronic device) via a first surface (bottom surface of the cold plate (1200), in paragraph [0228], “Preferably, the surface arranged to provide a thermal interface to an electronic device (such as the second electronic device) of a cold plate (1200) comprising an opposed second surface (see Figure 12C, top surface of base plate (1245) of cold plate (1200) where the array of extended fins (1245) are located) configured with an array of extended fins (1240), the array of extended fins (1240) supporting use of a facility-grade cooling liquid (mains water supply, in paragraph [0207], “In the example of FIG. 4B, the second cooling circulatory arrangement can be provided with lower temperature second liquid coolant by a facility level provision. In particular, the second liquid coolant is water, and fed from the mains water supply 490 at a facility level. The higher temperature second liquid coolant received from the electronic module can be passed to the mains drainage 495 at the facility level”) and providing heat transfer directly to the facility-grade cooling liquid (mains water supply) without requiring a secondary coolant loop (see Figure 4B, in paragraph [0058]).
Edmunds fails to specifically teach or suggest an array of extended fins having exterior surfaces that are coated with at least one of a hydrophobic, a non-conductive, and an anti- corrosive surface treatment and without causing corrosion or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates or chemical contaminants.
Tang, however, teaches (in paragraph [0008]-[0011] , [0013], [0017]-[0018] and [0064])
an array of fins (13) having exterior surfaces (surface of array of fins (13)) that are coated (14) with at least one of a hydrophobic (in paragraph [0064], “The heat exchanger 100 includes a matrix 100-1 and a hydrophobic coating layer 14 coated at least part of the surface of the matrix 100-1, the matrix 100-1 is a matrix of at least one of the collecting pipe 11, the heat exchanger tube 12 and the fin 13”), a non-conductive (low surface energy silane material, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”), and an anti- corrosive (corrosion inhibiting particles, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material” and in paragraph [0037]) surface treatment (in paragraph [0031], “In the related art of anticorrosion treatment for a metal surface, a anticorrosion coating layer on the metal surface may be a chemical conversion film formed by a reaction of a chemical reagent with a metal, a coating layer formed by depositing ions on the metal surface by means of electroplating, physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc., or a coating layer formed by applying a coating material to a surface of the metal by dip-coating, spray-coating or other means”) and without causing corrosion (in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”) or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates or chemical contaminants.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tang with Edmunds, such that an array of fins having exterior surfaces that are coated with at least one of a hydrophobic, a non-conductive, and an anti- corrosive surface treatment and without causing corrosion or clogging due to cooling liquid particulates or chemical contaminants as taught by Tang since doing so would improve the corrosion resistance of Edmunds’ array of extended fins. (in paragraph [0035]-[0036])
with respect to Claim 38, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 37 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the cold plate assembly (see Figure 12A-12C) further comprises: an encapsulating lid (1250) attachable to the second surface (see Figure 12C, top surface of base plate (1245) of cold plate (1200) where the array of extended fins (1245) are located) encompassing at least the array of extended fins (1240) to form a liquid cooling cavity (1235) and comprising an intake port (1225a) and an exhaust port (1225b) for coupling to a cooling liquid supply (mains water supply).
with respect to Claim 39, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 37 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the cold plate (1200) comprises a thermally conductive material (in paragraph [0009], “In a preferred example, the second cooling circulatory arrangement can comprise cold plates, which can be thermally coupled to specific electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices” and in paragraph [0044]-[0049]) and the coating on the array of extended fins (1240) is both non-conductive and anti-corrosive (as taught in Claim 37 as per above by Tang, in paragraph [0035], “the hydrophobic coating layer includes a low surface energy silane material and corrosion inhibiting particles dispersed in the low surface energy silane material”, the coating is hydrophobic and non-conductive and anti-corrosive).
with respect to Claim 40, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches the limitations of Claim 39 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the array of extended fins (1240) is further coated by a hydrophobic layer (14 as taught in Claim 37 as per above by Tang) to prevent scaling and sedimentation due to dissolved calcium carbonate in the cooling liquid (water).
Claims 4 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmunds in view of Tang in view of Nie et al. (US 2024/0130077 - hereinafter, "Nie").
With respect to Claim 4 and Claim 29, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 26 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
the first surface (bottom surface of the cold plate (1200), in paragraph [0228], “Preferably, the surface arranged to provide a thermal interface to an electronic device (such as the second electronic device) is a heat receiving surface, and the second surface (see Figure 12C, top surface of base plate (1245) of cold plate (1200) where the array of extended fins (1245) are located) is a heat transfer surface.
Edmunds fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the thermally conductive material of the cold plate comprises copper.
Nie, however, teaches (in paragraph [0031]) wherein a thermally conductive material of a cold plate comprises copper (in paragraph [0031], “The cold plate can be composed of, for example, copper or other metals having a high thermal conductivity”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Nie with Edmunds, such that a thermally conductive material of a cold plate comprises copper as taught by Nie since doing so would ensure Edmunds’ cold plate have high thermal conductivity. (in paragraph [0031])
Claims 5, 7 and 30, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmunds in view of Tang in view of CAMPBELL et al. (US 2015/0359139 - hereinafter, "Campbell").
With respect to Claim 5 and Claim 30, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 26 as per above, but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 5 and 30.
Campbell, however, teaches (in paragraph [0040]) wherein an array of fins (a finned or pinned array structure, in paragraph [0040]) are spaced apart at least 800-microns (in paragraph [0040], “To date, liquid-cooled cold plates with fin channel gaps, for instance, 1.5 mm or greater have been used”) to facilitate passage of the cooling liquid particulates.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Campbell with Edmunds, such that an array of fins are spaced apart at least 800-microns to facilitate passage of the cooling liquid particulates as taught by Campbell since doing so would avoid risk of channel clogging due to particulate contamination, with the related issues of lower thermal performance due to ineffective channels, and a lower liquid flow rate due to a higher cold plate pressure drop. (in paragraph [0040])
With respect to Claim 7 and Claim 32, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 26 as per above, but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 7 and 32.
Campbell, however, teaches (in paragraph [0040]) wherein a geometry of each fin (a finned or pinned array structure) within the array of extended fins (fin, in paragraph [0040], “To date, liquid-cooled cold plates with fin channel gaps, for instance, 1.5 mm or greater have been used”) is designed to maintain large hydraulic diameters with greater than 800- micron flow spaces (fin channel gaps, in paragraph [0040], “To date, liquid-cooled cold plates with fin channel gaps, for instance, 1.5 mm or greater have been used”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Campbell with Edmunds, such that a geometry of each fin within an array of fins is designed to maintain large hydraulic diameters with greater than 800- micron flow spaces as taught by Campbell since doing so would avoid risk of channel clogging due to particulate contamination, with the related issues of lower thermal performance due to ineffective channels, and a lower liquid flow rate due to a higher cold plate pressure drop. (in paragraph [0040])
Claims 6 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmunds in view of Tang in view of Gohara (US 2014/0376184 - hereinafter, "Gohara").
With respect to Claim 6 and Claim 31, Edmunds as modified by Tang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 26 as per above, Edmunds further teaches (in Figure 4B and 12A-12C)
wherein the intake port (1225a), exhaust port (1225b), and volumetric space of the liquid cooling cavity (1235).
Edmunds fails to specifically teach or suggest a flow velocity of at least 0.7 m/s of liquid impinging the array of extended fins to prevent sedimentation.
Gohara, however, teaches (in paragraph [0080]-[0081] and in Figure 8a-8b)
a flow velocity of at least 0.7 m/s of liquid (in paragraph [0080], “The numerical values (0.000 to 1.000) shown in these diagrams indicate the flow velocities (unit: m/s) of the coolants. For comparison, the maximum flow velocity is set at 1.000 m/s for the both coolants”) impinging the array of extended fins to prevent sedimentation
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Gohara with Edmunds, such that a flow velocity of at least 0.7 m/s of liquid impinging the array of extended fins to prevent sedimentation as taught by Gohara since doing so would ensure Edmunds’ cold plate’s cooling performance is substantially uniform between the coolant inlet and the coolant outlet, leading to a reduction in pressure loss. (in paragraph [0081])
The Examiner notes such a modification would have involved a mere
change in the size of a component or in this situation a change in flow velocity. A
change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the
art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0275101 to Wilson et al., which teaches a server rack assembly includes: a housing in which a rack is enclosed; a first server disposed on the rack and configured to support a heat-generating electronic device, the first server having a cold plate disposed on the heat-generating electronic device and a pump fluidically communicating with the cold plate via a liquid distribution loop; and a first coolant distribution unit (CDU) configured to be assembled to the first server.
US 2023/0284421 to MALOUIN et al., which teaches an actively cooled heat-dissipation lid comprising a first plate configured to be placed in thermal communication with a heat-generating device, a raised sidewall to facilitate fastening the actively cooled heat-dissipation lid to the printed circuit board or processor assembly, and thereby defining a device chamber for the heat-generating devices on the printed circuit board to reside. A second raised sidewall extends from the opposite surface of the first plate to join with a second plate in a spaced relation to the first plate, wherein the opposite surface of the first plate, the second raised sidewall and the second plate together define a fluid chamber that is adjacent to the device chamber, the fluid chamber being configured to prevent any cooling fluid flowing therethrough to enter the adjacent device chamber.
US 2021/0410328 to YANG et al., which teaches an apparatus includes a cold plate having fluidic channels within the cold plate. The fluidic channels have protective material thereon such that when liquid coolant flows through the fluidic channels the protective material is between the liquid coolant and the cold plate's material, wherein, the protective material is to prevent reaction between the liquid coolant and the cold plate's material.
US 2009/0238235 to CAMPBELL et al., which teaches a cold plate, configured for cooling an electronics component, a first fluid flow through the cold plate, the first fluid flow being at a first temperature; impinging a second fluid flow onto the interface surface, the second fluid flow being at a second temperature, the first temperature and the second temperature being different temperatures; obtaining an isotherm mapping of the interface surface of the cold plate while the first fluid flow passes through the cold plate and the second fluid flow impinges onto the interface surface.
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835