CTNF 18/493,972 CTNF 95703 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: 2. A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 3. Claim s 1-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murase et al. ( Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2006-241224 A), hereinafter Murase . 4. Regarding Claims 1-9 and 12-14 , Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0031, 0037-0038 and 0040]) a polymer formed by a reaction of phenolic epoxy resin or bisphenol epoxy resin and carboxylic acid. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0031, 0037-0038 and 0040]) the phenolic epoxy resin has a chemical structure of one of the chemical structures of Claim 1 of the present application. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0031, 0037-0038 and 0040]) the polymer having a chemical structure of the phenolic epoxy resin has a chemical structure of one of the chemical structures of Claim 2 of the present application. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0031, 0037-0038 and 0040]) the polymer having a chemical structure of the phenolic epoxy resin has a chemical structure of one of the chemical structures of Claim 3 of the present application. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0031, 0037-0038 and 0040]) the modified polymer has an acid value of 0 to 100 mg KOH/g. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0031, 0037-0038 and 0040]) the modified polymer has a chemical structure of one of the chemical structures of Claim 4 of the present application. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0059, 0082, and 0102]) 100 parts by weight of the polymer and 15 to 90 parts by weight of a photosensitive compound, therein a quinone diazide compound. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0059, 0082, and 0102]) wherein the photosensitive compound comprises a diazonaphthoquinone-based compound. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0059, 0082, and 0102]) 200 to 1000 parts by weight of a solvent. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0059, 0082, and 0102]) the solvent comprises propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate, n-butyl acetate, ethyl acetate, γ-butyrolactone, cyclohexanone, or a combination thereof. Murase teaches (Paragraph [0093]) 40 to 50 parts by weight of phenolic resin. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0106-0109]) providing a material layer, therein a substrate. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0106-0109]) forming a photoresist layer, therein a coating layer, on the material layer and wherein the photoresist layer comprises the photosensitive composition. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0106-0109]) exposing the photoresist layer to make the photoresist layer have an exposed part and an unexposed part. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0106-0109]) developing the photoresist layer using an alkaline solution to remove the exposed part of the photoresist layer while keeping the unexposed part of the photoresist layer, thereby exposing a part of the material layer. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0106-0109]) the alkaline solution is a sodium carbonate solution, sodium hydroxide solution, potassium hydroxide solution, or a combination thereof. Murase teaches (Paragraphs [0004-0005 and 0113]) etching the exposed part of the material layer. 5. However, Murase fails to explicitly teach all components of the composition limited by the present application with a single experimental example. That said, all components of the composition are described with sufficient detail by the prior art. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of Murase would have found it obvious to try the combinations of components herein limited with a reasonable expectation of success . 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim s 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Murase et al. ( Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2006-241224 A), hereinafter Murase , in view of Bong et al. ( Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2013-505484 A), hereinafter Bong . 7. Regarding Claims 10-11 , Murase teaches all limitations of Claim 5 above. However, Murase fails to explicitly teach a photosensitive film interposed between a support film and a protection film in a dry film. Furthermore, Murase fails to explicitly teach wherein the protection film has a release force of 1 g to 100 g. Furthermore, Murase fails to explicitly teach wherein the support film has a release force of 150 g to 500 g. 8. Bong teaches (Claim 1) a photosensitive film interposed between a support film and a protection film in a dry film. Bong teaches (Claim 8) wherein the protection film has a release force of 1 g to 100 g. Bong teaches (Claim 13) the support film has a release force of 150 g to 500 g. Bong teaches (Paragraphs [0030-0031]) said limitations result in the need for less wetting agent and thus reduced haze and higher resolution . 9. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murase to incorporate the teachings of Bong wherein the photosensitive film is interposed between a support film and a protection film in a dry film; the protection film has a release force of 1 g to 100 g; and the support film has a release force of 150 g to 500 g . Doing so would result in the need for less wetting agent and thus reduced haze and higher resolution, as recognized by Bong . Conclusion 07-100 AIA 10. Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to RICHARD D CHAMPION at telephone number (571) 272-0750. The examiner can normally be reached on 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Mon-Fri EST . 11. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MARK F HUFF can be reached at (571) 272-1385. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. 12. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). 13. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. /R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737 /MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/493,972 Page 2 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/493,972 Page 3 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/493,972 Page 4 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/493,972 Page 5 Art Unit: 1737