DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, species 1b, 2d, 3b and 4d directed to a device shown in Fig. 2, Fig. 6, Fig. 9, Fig. 10B in the reply filed on 04/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 04/21/2026, in which claim 15 was amended, claims 8-12 were cancelled, claims 21-25 were added, has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of “a second magnetic element disposed on the insulating layer, wherein the second magnetic element is vertically separated from the second conductive feature by the insulating layer” of claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the limitation “a second magnetic element disposed on the insulating layer, wherein the second magnetic element is vertically separated from the second conductive feature by the insulating layer.” It is unclear how the second magnetic element is vertically separated from the second conductive feature by the insulating layer when the second conductive feature is above the second magnetic element and the insulating layer is below the second magnetic element.
For the purpose of this Action, the above limitation of claim 15 will be interpreted and examined as -- a second magnetic element disposed on the insulating layer, wherein the second magnetic element is vertically separated from the second conductive feature by the molding material--.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 recites the limitation “the first magnetic element”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of this Action, the above limitation of claim 22 will be interpreted and examined as – the magnetic element --.
Claims depending from the rejected claims noted above are rejected at least on the same basis as the claim(s) from which the dependent claims depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US Pub. 20210249366).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu et al. discloses in Fig. 1R, a package structure, comprising:
a first conductive feature [120 left] formed over a substrate [112][paragraph [0017]];
an insulating layer [114] covering the first conductive feature [120 left][paragraph [0019]];
a first magnetic element [800 left] disposed on the insulating layer [114][paragraph [0030]]; and
first conductive vias [200 left] formed over and electrically connected to the first conductive feature [120 left][paragraph [0026]];
a second conductive feature [520 left] over and electrically connected to the first conductive vias [200 left][paragraph [0030]]; and
a molding material [400] formed around the first magnetic element [800 left], wherein the first magnetic element [800 left] is laterally separated from the first conductive vias [200 left] by the molding material [400][paragraph [0038]].
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Hsu et al. discloses in Fig. 1R
a second magnetic element [800 right] disposed on the insulating layer [114], wherein the second magnetic element [800 right] is vertically separated from the second conductive feature [520 left] by the molding material [400][paragraph [0030]];
a first attach film [700 left] bonding the first magnetic element [800 left] to the insulating layer [114]; and
a second attach film [700 right] bonding the second magnetic element [800right] to the insulating layer [114], wherein a sum of heights of the first attach film [700 left] and the first magnetic element [800 left] is substantially equal to a sum of heights of the second attach film [700 right] and the second magnetic element [800 right][paragraph [0031].
Regarding claim 16, Hsu et al. discloses in Fig. 8
wherein a width of the first magnetic element [801] is different from a width of the second magnetic element [802] in a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lao et al. (US Pub. 20180315706) in view of Eissa et al. (US Pub. 20180087161).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, Liao et al. discloses in Fig. 3Z a package structure, comprising:
a first insulating layer [308] formed on a substrate [306];
a first conductive feature [310] is formed in the first insulating layer [308];
a second insulating layer [318] formed on the first insulating layer [308];
a magnetic element [334] disposed on the second insulating layer [318];
a molding material [328] covering the magnetic element [334] and the first conductive feature [310];
a plurality of conductive vias [316] penetrate the second insulating layer [318] and the molding material [328];
a third insulating layer 342] formed on the molding material [328]; and
a second conductive feature [338] is formed in the third insulating layer [342], wherein the first conductive feature [310], the conductive vias [316], and the second conductive feature [338] are electrically connected to form a coil surrounding the magnetic element [334].
Liao et al. fails to disclose
wherein the magnetic element comprises a plurality of dielectric layers and a plurality of magnetic permeable layers, and the dielectric layers and the magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked;
wherein a thickness of the magnetic permeable layers is greater than a thickness of the dielectric layers;
wherein a number of the magnetic permeable layers is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 40.
Eissa et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0004], [0021]
wherein the magnetic element [120] comprises a plurality of dielectric layers [AlN] and a plurality of magnetic permeable layers [NiFe], and the dielectric layers and the magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked;
wherein a thickness [225 nm to 425 nm] of the magnetic permeable layers [NiFe] is greater than a thickness [5 nm to 15 nm] of the dielectric layers [AlN];
wherein a number of the magnetic permeable layers [NiFe] is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 40 [3 to 10 layers].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Eissa et al. into the method of Liao et al. to include wherein the magnetic element comprises a plurality of dielectric layers and a plurality of magnetic permeable layers, and the dielectric layers and the magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked; wherein a thickness of the magnetic permeable layers is greater than a thickness of the dielectric layers; wherein a number of the magnetic permeable layers is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 40. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Liao et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improving electrical properties of the magnetic core [paragraph [0004], [0021] of Eissa et al.].
Regarding claims 2-3, Liao et al. discloses in Fig. 3Z
a package component [320] disposed on the second insulating layer [318], wherein the package component [320] is electrically isolated from the magnetic element [334];
wherein a top surface of the second conductive feature [338] is higher than a top surface of the package component [320], and a bottom surface of the first conductive feature [310] is lower than a bottom surface of the package component [320].
Regarding claim 5, Liao et al. discloses in paragraph [0072] and Eissa et al. discloses in paragraph [0021]
wherein the magnetic permeable layers comprise Fe, Co, Ni, Nb, Si, B, or an alloy thereof.
Regarding claim 7, Liao et al. discloses in Fig. 3Z
wherein a height of the conductive vias [316] is greater that a height of the magnetic element [334].
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US Pub. 20210249366) as applied to claim 13 and claim 15 above and in view of Eissa et al. (US Pub. 20180087161).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first magnetic element comprises first dielectric layers and first magnetic permeable layers, and the first dielectric layers and the first magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked.
Eissa et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0004], [0021]
wherein a magnetic element [120] comprises dielectric layers [AlN] and magnetic permeable layers [NiFe], and the dielectric layers and the magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Eissa et al. into the method of Hsu et al. to include wherein the first magnetic element comprises first dielectric layers and first magnetic permeable layers, and the first dielectric layers and the first magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hsu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing magnetic element with improved electrical properties [paragraph [0004], [0021] of Eissa et al.].
Regarding claim 17, Hsu et al. fails to disclose
wherein the second magnetic element comprises second dielectric layers and second magnetic permeable layers, the second dielectric layers and the second magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked, and a number of the first magnetic permeable layers is different from a number of the second magnetic permeable layers.
Eissa et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0004], [0021]
wherein a magnetic element [120] comprises dielectric layers [AlN] and magnetic permeable layers [NiFe], and the dielectric layers and the magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked, and a number of the first magnetic permeable layers is different from a number of the second magnetic permeable layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Eissa et al. into the method of Hsu et al. to include wherein the second magnetic element comprises second dielectric layers and second magnetic permeable layers, the second dielectric layers and the second magnetic permeable layers are alternatively stacked, and a number of the first magnetic permeable layers is different from a number of the second magnetic permeable layers. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hsu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing magnetic element with improved electrical properties [paragraph [0004], [0021] of Eissa et al.].
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US Pub. 20210249366) as applied to claim 13 above and in view of Abe et al. (US Pub. 20010030594).
Regarding claim 19, Hsu et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first magnetic element has a first width and a second width in a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate, and the first width is different from the second width.
Abe discloses in Fig. 4F, paragraph [0026]
wherein the first magnetic element has a first width and a second width in a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate, and the first width is different from the second width.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Abe into the method of Hsu et al. to include wherein the first magnetic element has a first width and a second width in a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate, and the first width is different from the second width. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hsu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable shape of the magnetic element.
Regarding claim 20, Hsu et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first magnetic element comprises a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other.
Abe discloses in Fig. 8B, Fig. 8C
wherein the first magnetic element [1] comprises a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Abe into the method of Hsu et al. to include wherein the first magnetic element comprises a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hsu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of preventing the reduction in inductance at higher current, thus realizing a superior direct current convolutional characteristic of inductance [paragraph [0067] of Abe et al.].
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US Pub. 20180315706) in view of Stephanou et al. (US Pub. 20150035638).
Regarding claims 21-23, and 25, Liao et al. discloses in Fig. 3Z a package structure, comprising:
a first conductive feature [310] is formed in a first insulating layer [308];
a second insulating layer [318] formed over the first insulating layer [308] and covering the first conductive feature [310];
a magnetic element [334] disposed on the second insulating layer [318];
a molding material [328] covering the magnetic element [334] and the second insulating layer [318];
a plurality of conductive vias [316] penetrate the second insulating layer [318] and the molding material [328], wherein the conductive vias [316] are located on opposite sides of the magnetic element [334]; and
a second conductive feature [338] formed in a third insulating layer [342] on the molding material [328], wherein the first conductive feature [310], the conductive vias [316], and the second conductive feature [338] are electrically connected to form a coil surrounding the magnetic element [334].
Liao et al. fails to disclose
a line connecting centers of the conductive vias on one side of the magnetic element is not parallel to a center axis of the coil;
wherein the magnetic element comprises a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other, and widths of the portions are different from each other;
wherein shapes of the portions are different from each other;
wherein the magnetic element is curved and form an open loop.
Stephanou et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0005]
a line connecting centers of the conductive vias [214] on one side of the magnetic element [200] is not parallel to a center axis of the coil;
wherein the magnetic element [200] comprises a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other, and widths of the portions are different from each other;
wherein shapes of the portions are different from each other;
wherein the magnetic element [200] is curved and form an open loop.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Stephanou et al. into the method of Liao et al. to include a line connecting centers of the conductive vias on one side of the magnetic element is not parallel to a center axis of the coil; wherein the magnetic element comprises a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other, and widths of the portions are different from each other; wherein shapes of the portions are different from each other; wherein the magnetic element is curved and form an open loop. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Liao et al. in the above manner for the purpose of producing a higher effective inductance when the coil conducts an alternating current having a frequency higher than an easy axis roll-off frequency associated with the magnetic core [paragraph [0005], [0018] of Stephanou et al.].
Regarding claim 24, Liao et al. discloses in Fig. 1C, Fig. 4
wherein an angle between the adjacent first conductive feature and second conductive feature is ranged from about 2o to about 88o.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art discloses similar materials, devices and methods.
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893