DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-12, 15-16, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US 2020/0119230 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, a light-emitting diode, comprising: an epitaxial structure (7) having a first surface/(upper surface of 7) and a second surface/(lower surface of 7) opposite to said first surface, said epitaxial structure (7) including, along a direction from said first surface/(upper surface of 7) to said second surface/(lower surface of 7), a first-type/(n-type) semiconductor layer (18-20), a light-emitting layer (12) and a second-type/(p-type) semiconductor layer (17) in such order, said first-type semiconductor layer (18-20) including an ohmic contact layer (interface between 19-20) which at least partially defines said first surface/(upper surface 7) of said epitaxial structure (7); and a first metal electrode (11) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (7), and including a main electrode (24) and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes (25), said auxiliary electrodes (25) being formed on said ohmic contact layer (19) opposite to said light-emitting layer (12) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (19), wherein said ohmic contact layer (19) is made of an indium phosphide-based material of AlxGayInP, where 0≤x≤1 or 0≤y≤1, and wherein in a top view of said light-emitting diode, a projection of each of said auxiliary electrodes (25) on said first surface is smaller than or equal to a projection of said ohmic contact layer (19) on said first surface (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
With respect to claim 2, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said ohmic contact layer (19) has a surrounding surface that is not covered by said auxiliary electrodes (25) (see Figs.1-2, wherein there are areas of layer 19 around ohmic electrode 11).
With respect to claim 3, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said first surface of said epitaxial structure (7) has a first portion defined by said ohmic contact layer (19) and a second portion not covered by said ohmic contact layer, said main electrode being formed on said first portion of said first surface or on said second portion of said first surface (see Figs.1-2, wherein there are areas of layer 19 around ohmic electrode 11).
With respect to claim 4, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said first metal electrode includes at least three metals selected from the group consisting of gold, germanium, nickel, and alloys thereof, said first metal electrode having a nickel content that first increases and then decreases along a direction from a bottom surface of said first metal electrode adjacent to said first surface of said epitaxial structure to a top surface of said first metal electrode opposite to said bottom surface (see Par.[0138] wherein it was verified how the increase rate of the forward voltage (VF) of the semiconductor light emitting device 1 is changed depending on the thickness of the Ni layer 55, the thickness of the AuGe layer 54 and the Ni content ratio with respect to the entire cathode electrode layer 11 (AuGe/Ni). FIG. 18 is a view showing the relationship between the thickness of the Ni layer 55 and the VF increase rate. FIG. 19 is a view showing the relationship between the thickness of the AuGe layer 54 and the VF increase rate. FIG. 20 is a view showing the relationship between the Ni content ratio with respect to AuGe/Ni and the VF increase rate; see Fig.20 wherein the Ni content decreased (from 20wt% to 42wt%) then increased (from 42wt% to 80wt%) with respect to AuGe within thickness of the electrode).
With respect to claim 7, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said ohmic contact layer includes nickel/(ohmic contact interface includes Ni) (see Par.[0138] wherein it was verified how the increase rate of the forward voltage (VF) of the semiconductor light emitting device 1 is changed depending on the thickness of the Ni layer 55, the thickness of the AuGe layer 54 and the Ni content ratio with respect to the entire cathode electrode layer 11 (AuGe/Ni). FIG. 18 is a view showing the relationship between the thickness of the Ni layer 55 and the VF increase rate. FIG. 19 is a view showing the relationship between the thickness of the AuGe layer 54 and the VF increase rate. FIG. 20 is a view showing the relationship between the Ni content ratio with respect to AuGe/Ni and the VF increase rate; see Fig.20 wherein the Ni content decreased (from 20wt% to 42wt%) then increased (from 42wt% to 80wt%) with respect to AuGe within thickness of the electrode).
With respect to claim 8, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said first-type semiconductor layer further includes at least one window layer (19) which is disposed on said ohmic contact layer opposite to said first metal electrode, and which is made of an indium phosphide-based material of AlmGanInP, where 0≤m≤1 or 0≤n≤1, said ohmic contact layer having an Al content that is less than an Al content of said window layer (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
With respect to claim 11, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein a light emitted by said light-emitting diode has a wavelength ranging from 550 nm to 750 nm (see Par.[0082] wherein the band gap decreases and the light emission wavelength increases. In the present embodiment, the light emission wavelength is set to 610 nm to 680 nm (e.g., 625 nm) by adjusting the IN composition in the quantum well layer (InGaP layer)).
With respect to claim 12, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, a light-emitting diode, comprising: an epitaxial structure (7) having a first surface/(upper surface of 7) and a second surface/(lower surface of 7) opposite to said first surface, said epitaxial structure (7) including, along a direction from said first surface to said second surface, a first-type semiconductor layer (18), a light-emitting layer (12) and a second-type semiconductor layer (17) in such order, said first-type semiconductor layer including an ohmic contact layer/(interface 20-19) which at least partially defines said first surface of said epitaxial structure (7); and a first metal electrode (11) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (7), and including a main electrode (24) and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes (250, said auxiliary electrodes being disposed on said ohmic contact layer (19/20) opposite to said light-emitting layer and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer, wherein said ohmic contact layer is made of an indium phosphide-based of AlxGayInP, where 0≤x≤1 or 0≤y≤1 (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer), and wherein said first metal electrode (11) includes at least three metals selected from the group consisting of gold, germanium, nickel, and alloys thereof, said first metal electrode having a nickel content that first increases and then decreases along a direction from a bottom surface of said first metal electrode adjacent to said first surface of said epitaxial structure to a top surface of said first metal electrode opposite to said bottom surface (see Par.[0138] wherein it was verified how the increase rate of the forward voltage (VF) of the semiconductor light emitting device 1 is changed depending on the thickness of the Ni layer 55, the thickness of the AuGe layer 54 and the Ni content ratio with respect to the entire cathode electrode layer 11 (AuGe/Ni). FIG. 18 is a view showing the relationship between the thickness of the Ni layer 55 and the VF increase rate. FIG. 19 is a view showing the relationship between the thickness of the AuGe layer 54 and the VF increase rate. FIG. 20 is a view showing the relationship between the Ni content ratio with respect to AuGe/Ni and the VF increase rate; see Fig.20 wherein the Ni content decreased (from 20wt% to 42wt%) then increased (from 42wt% to 80wt%) with respect to AuGe within thickness of the electrode).
With respect to claim 15, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said ohmic contact layer includes nickel/(ohmic contact interface includes Ni) (see Par.[0138] wherein it was verified how the increase rate of the forward voltage (VF) of the semiconductor light emitting device 1 is changed depending on the thickness of the Ni layer 55, the thickness of the AuGe layer 54 and the Ni content ratio with respect to the entire cathode electrode layer 11 (AuGe/Ni). FIG. 18 is a view showing the relationship between the thickness of the Ni layer 55 and the VF increase rate. FIG. 19 is a view showing the relationship between the thickness of the AuGe layer 54 and the VF increase rate. FIG. 20 is a view showing the relationship between the Ni content ratio with respect to AuGe/Ni and the VF increase rate; see Fig.20 wherein the Ni content decreased (from 20wt% to 42wt%) then increased (from 42wt% to 80wt%) with respect to AuGe within thickness of the electrode).
With respect to claim 16, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said first-type semiconductor layer further includes at least one window layer which is disposed on said ohmic contact layer opposite to said first metal electrode, and which is made of an indium phosphide-based material of AlmGanInP, where 0≤m≤1 or 0≤n≤1, said ohmic contact layer having an Al content that is less than an Al content of said window layer (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
With respect to claim 19, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, a light-emitting device, comprising a light-emitting diode (see Par.[0073] wherein LED 1 is shown).
With respect to claim 20, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, a method for manufacturing a light-emitting diode, comprising: sequentially forming a light-emitting layer (18) and a second-type semiconductor layer (17) on a first-type semiconductor layer, so as to obtain an epitaxial structure (7) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the first-type semiconductor layer including an ohmic contact layer/(interface 19-20) which at least partially defines the first surface of the epitaxial structure; forming a main electrode (24) on the first surface of the epitaxial structure; and forming a plurality of auxiliary electrodes (25) on the ohmic contact layer, wherein the ohmic contact layer is made of an indium phosphide-based material of AlxGayInP, where 0≤x≤1 or 0≤y≤1, and wherein in a top view of the light-emitting diode, a projection of each of the auxiliary electrodes on the first surface is smaller than or equal to a projection of the ohmic contact layer on the first surface (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
With respect to claim 21, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the method, wherein the main electrode is formed on one of a first portion of the first surface which is defined by the ohmic contact layer and a second portion of the first surface of the epitaxial structure which is not covered by the ohmic contact layer (see Figs.1-2).
Claims 1-3, 7, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US 2020/0381589 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Yamamoto”).
With respect to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, a light-emitting diode, comprising: an epitaxial structure (30) having a first surface/(upper surface of 30) and a second surface/(lower surface of 30) opposite to said first surface, said epitaxial structure (30) including, along a direction from said first surface to said second surface, a first-type semiconductor layer (31), a light-emitting layer (35) and a second-type semiconductor layer (37) in such order, said first-type semiconductor layer including an ohmic contact layer (10, 20) which at least partially defines said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and a first metal electrode (93) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and including a main electrode (93b) and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes/(branches electrodes) (93a), said auxiliary electrodes being formed on said ohmic contact layer (20A) opposite to said light-emitting layer (35) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (20A), wherein said ohmic contact layer (20A) is made of an indium phosphide-based material of AlxGayInP, where 0≤x≤1 or 0≤y≤1, and wherein in a top view of said light-emitting diode, a projection of each of said auxiliary electrodes on said first surface is smaller than or equal to a projection of said ohmic contact layer on said first surface (see Par.[0055]-[0058] wherein an n-type InGaAs contact layer 20 is formed on an n-type InP growth substrate 10 resulting of InGaAsP or InP-As based material (i.e.; AlxGayInP when x=0; y=1) compound 20A; see Par.[0061]-[0066] wherein the n-type InGaAs and IP contact layers 20, 10 formed in the first step and the layers in the semiconductor laminate 30 formed in the second step can be formed by epitaxial growth, for example by a well-known thin film deposition technique such as metal organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD), molecular beam epitaxy (MBE), or sputtering; the semiconductor laminate 30 may include an n-type cladding layer 31, active layers 35, and a p-type cladding layer 37 in this order, and each of these layers is formed as a layer made of InGaAsP-based III-V group compound semiconductor containing at least In and P; see Par.[0077] wherein the n-side electrode 93, particularly the wiring portion 93a preferably contains Au and Ge, or preferably contains Ti, Pt, and Au; the n-side electrode 93 containing these metallic elements ensures an ohmic contact with the n-type InGaAs contact layer 20A); and a first metal electrode (93) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and including a main electrode and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes/(branches electrodes), said auxiliary electrodes being formed on said ohmic contact layer (20A) opposite to said light-emitting layer (35) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (20A; see Par.[0112] wherein electrode (Au (thickness: 10 nm)/Ge (thickness: 33 nm)/Au (thickness: 57 nm)/Ni (thickness: 34 nm)/Au (thickness: 800 nm); a pad portion 93b (Ti (thickness: 150 nm)/Pt (thickness: 100 nm)/Au (thickness: 2500 nm)) was formed at the center portion of the n-side electrode to obtain the n-side electrode having a pattern as illustrated in FIG. 10B) was formed as a wiring portion 93a; see Figs.4, 10B, wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
With respect to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, the light-emitting diode, wherein said ohmic contact layer (20A) has a surrounding surface that is not covered by said auxiliary electrodes (see Figs.4, 10B wherein layer 20A auxiliaries’ branches surround main electrode below which layer 20A is disposed).
With respect to claim 3, Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, the light-emitting diode, wherein said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30) has a first portion defined by said ohmic contact layer (20A) and a second portion not covered by said ohmic contact layer (20A), said main electrode (93b) being formed on said first portion of said first surface or on said second portion of said first surface (see Figs.4, 10B).
With respect to claim 7, Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, the light-emitting diode, wherein said ohmic contact layer includes nickel/(interface ohmic contact includes Ni material) (see Par.[0077] wherein the n-side electrode 93, particularly the wiring portion 93a preferably contains Au and Ge, or preferably contains Ti, Pt, and Au; the n-side electrode 93 containing these metallic elements ensures an ohmic contact with the n-type InGaAs contact layer 20A); and a first metal electrode (93) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and including a main electrode and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes/(branches electrodes), said auxiliary electrodes being formed on said ohmic contact layer (20A) opposite to said light-emitting layer (35) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (20A; see Par.[0112] wherein electrode (Au (thickness: 10 nm)/Ge (thickness: 33 nm)/Au (thickness: 57 nm)/Ni (thickness: 34 nm)/Au (thickness: 800 nm); a pad portion 93b (Ti (thickness: 150 nm)/Pt (thickness: 100 nm)/Au (thickness: 2500 nm)) was formed at the center portion of the n-side electrode to obtain the n-side electrode having a pattern as illustrated in FIG. 10B) was formed as a wiring portion 93a).
With respect to claim 20, Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, a method for manufacturing a light-emitting diode, comprising: sequentially forming a light-emitting layer (31) and a second-type semiconductor layer (37) on a first-type semiconductor layer, so as to obtain an epitaxial structure (30) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the first-type semiconductor layer including an ohmic contact layer (20A) which at least partially defines the first surface of the epitaxial structure; forming a main electrode (93b) on the first surface of the epitaxial structure; and forming a plurality of auxiliary electrodes (93a) on the ohmic contact layer, wherein the ohmic contact layer is made of an indium phosphide-based material of AlxGayInP, where 0≤x≤1 or 0≤y≤1, and wherein in a top view of the light-emitting diode, a projection of each of the auxiliary electrodes on the first surface is smaller than or equal to a projection of the ohmic contact layer on the first surface (see Par.[0055]-[0058] wherein an n-type InGaAs contact layer 20 is formed on an n-type InP growth substrate 10 resulting of InGaAsP or InP-As based material (i.e.; AlxGayInP when x=0; y=1) compound 20A; see Par.[0061]-[0066] wherein the n-type InGaAs and IP contact layers 20, 10 formed in the first step and the layers in the semiconductor laminate 30 formed in the second step can be formed by epitaxial growth, for example by a well-known thin film deposition technique such as metal organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD), molecular beam epitaxy (MBE), or sputtering; the semiconductor laminate 30 may include an n-type cladding layer 31, active layers 35, and a p-type cladding layer 37 in this order, and each of these layers is formed as a layer made of InGaAsP-based III-V group compound semiconductor containing at least In and P; see Par.[0077] wherein the n-side electrode 93, particularly the wiring portion 93a preferably contains Au and Ge, or preferably contains Ti, Pt, and Au; the n-side electrode 93 containing these metallic elements ensures an ohmic contact with the n-type InGaAs contact layer 20A); and a first metal electrode (93) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and including a main electrode and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes/(branches electrodes), said auxiliary electrodes being formed on said ohmic contact layer (20A) opposite to said light-emitting layer (35) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (20A; see Par.[0112] wherein electrode (Au (thickness: 10 nm)/Ge (thickness: 33 nm)/Au (thickness: 57 nm)/Ni (thickness: 34 nm)/Au (thickness: 800 nm); a pad portion 93b (Ti (thickness: 150 nm)/Pt (thickness: 100 nm)/Au (thickness: 2500 nm)) was formed at the center portion of the n-side electrode to obtain the n-side electrode having a pattern as illustrated in FIG. 10B) was formed as a wiring portion 93a; see Figs.4, 10B, wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
With respect to claim 21, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the method, wherein the main electrode is formed on one of a first portion of the first surface which is defined by the ohmic contact layer and a second portion of the first surface of the epitaxial structure which is not covered by the ohmic contact layer (see Figs.4, 10B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Yamamoto.
With respect to claim 5, Ito discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 4. However, Ito does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 5.
Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, the light-emitting diode, wherein said first metal electrode further includes titanium and platinum, the titanium being distributed closer to said ohmic contact layer than the platinum, the platinum being distributed immediately adjacent to the titanium (see Par.[0077] wherein the n-side electrode 93, particularly the wiring portion 93a preferably contains Au and Ge, or preferably contains Ti, Pt, and Au; the n-side electrode 93 containing these metallic elements ensures an ohmic contact with the n-type InGaAs contact layer 20A); and a first metal electrode (93) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and including a main electrode and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes/(branches electrodes), said auxiliary electrodes being formed on said ohmic contact layer (20A) opposite to said light-emitting layer (35) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (20A; see Par.[0112] wherein electrode (Au (thickness: 10 nm)/Ge (thickness: 33 nm)/Au (thickness: 57 nm)/Ni (thickness: 34 nm)/Au (thickness: 800 nm); a pad portion 93b (Ti (thickness: 150 nm)/Pt (thickness: 100 nm)/Au (thickness: 2500 nm)) was formed at the center portion of the n-side electrode to obtain the n-side electrode having a pattern as illustrated in FIG. 10B) was formed as a wiring portion 93a).
Ito and Yamamoto are analogous art because they are all directed to a LED, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Ito to include Yamamoto because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the electrode material in Ito by including Ti/Pt/Au/Ge/Ni as taught by Yamamoto in order to utilize the additional Ti/Pt properties such as excellent chemical stability, high current efficiency, low hydrogen evolution potential, and a long operational lifespan thereby providing electrode with corrosion resistance, high catalytic activities, excellent electrical conductivity, structure integrity for enhance overall device performance.
With respect to claim 6, Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, the light-emitting diode, wherein the titanium in said first metal electrode forms a titanium-containing layer having a thickness of greater than 800 angstroms (Å) (see Par.[0077] wherein the n-side electrode 93, particularly the wiring portion 93a preferably contains Au and Ge, or preferably contains Ti, Pt, and Au; the n-side electrode 93 containing these metallic elements ensures an ohmic contact with the n-type InGaAs contact layer 20A); and a first metal electrode (93) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and including a main electrode and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes/(branches electrodes), said auxiliary electrodes being formed on said ohmic contact layer (20A) opposite to said light-emitting layer (35) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (20A; see Par.[0112] wherein electrode (Au (thickness: 10 nm)/Ge (thickness: 33 nm)/Au (thickness: 57 nm)/Ni (thickness: 34 nm)/Au (thickness: 800 nm); a pad portion 93b (Ti (thickness: 150 nm=1500Å)/Pt (thickness: 100 nm)/Au (thickness: 2500 nm)) was formed at the center portion of the n-side electrode to obtain the n-side electrode having a pattern as illustrated in FIG. 10B) was formed as a wiring portion 93a).
With respect to claim 13, Ito discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 12. However, Ito does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 13.
Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, the light-emitting diode, wherein said first metal electrode further includes titanium and platinum, the titanium being distributed closer to said ohmic contact layer than the platinum, the platinum being distributed immediately adjacent to the titanium (see Par.[0077] wherein the n-side electrode 93, particularly the wiring portion 93a preferably contains Au and Ge, or preferably contains Ti, Pt, and Au; the n-side electrode 93 containing these metallic elements ensures an ohmic contact with the n-type InGaAs contact layer 20A); and a first metal electrode (93) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and including a main electrode and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes/(branches electrodes), said auxiliary electrodes being formed on said ohmic contact layer (20A) opposite to said light-emitting layer (35) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (20A; see Par.[0112] wherein electrode (Au (thickness: 10 nm)/Ge (thickness: 33 nm)/Au (thickness: 57 nm)/Ni (thickness: 34 nm)/Au (thickness: 800 nm); a pad portion 93b (Ti (thickness: 150 nm)/Pt (thickness: 100 nm)/Au (thickness: 2500 nm)) was formed at the center portion of the n-side electrode to obtain the n-side electrode having a pattern as illustrated in FIG. 10B) was formed as a wiring portion 93a).
Ito and Yamamoto are analogous art because they are all directed to a LED, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Ito to include Yamamoto because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the electrode material in Ito by including Ti/Pt/Au/Ge/Ni as taught by Yamamoto in order to utilize the additional Ti/Pt properties such as excellent chemical stability, high current efficiency, low hydrogen evolution potential, and a long operational lifespan thereby providing electrode with corrosion resistance, high catalytic activities, excellent electrical conductivity, structure integrity for enhance overall device performance.
With respect to claim 14, Yamamoto discloses, in Figs.1-10B, the light-emitting diode, wherein the titanium in said first metal electrode forms a titanium-containing layer having a thickness of greater than 800 angstroms (Å) (see Par.[0077] wherein the n-side electrode 93, particularly the wiring portion 93a preferably contains Au and Ge, or preferably contains Ti, Pt, and Au; the n-side electrode 93 containing these metallic elements ensures an ohmic contact with the n-type InGaAs contact layer 20A); and a first metal electrode (93) formed on said first surface of said epitaxial structure (30), and including a main electrode and a plurality of auxiliary electrodes/(branches electrodes), said auxiliary electrodes being formed on said ohmic contact layer (20A) opposite to said light-emitting layer (35) and being electrically connected to said ohmic contact layer (20A; see Par.[0112] wherein electrode (Au (thickness: 10 nm)/Ge (thickness: 33 nm)/Au (thickness: 57 nm)/Ni (thickness: 34 nm)/Au (thickness: 800 nm); a pad portion 93b (Ti (thickness: 150 nm=1500Å)/Pt (thickness: 100 nm)/Au (thickness: 2500 nm)) was formed at the center portion of the n-side electrode to obtain the n-side electrode having a pattern as illustrated in FIG. 10B) was formed as a wiring portion 93a).
Claims 9-10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito.
With respect to claim 9, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said ohmic contact layer is n-type doped and has a doping concentration, said window layer being n-type doped and having a doping concentration (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
Even though Ito does not disclose n-type doped and has a doping concentration of greater than 4E+18/cm3, said window layer being n-type doped and having a doping concentration of ranging from 4E+17/cm3 to 4E+18/cm3, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, band gap optimization for efficient light extraction. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 10, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein a relation between AlxGayInP and AlmGanInP is m–x≥0.2, where m ranges from 0.2 to 1.0, x ranging from 0 to 0.8 (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
With respect to claim 17, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein said ohmic contact layer is n-type doped and has a doping concentration, said window layer being n-type doped and having a doping concentration (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
Even though Ito does not disclose n-type doped and has a doping concentration of greater than 4E+18/cm3, said window layer being n-type doped and having a doping concentration of ranging from 4E+17/cm3 to 4E+18/cm3, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, band gap optimization for efficient light extraction. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 18, Ito discloses, in Figs.1-28, the light-emitting diode, wherein a relation between AlxGayInP and AlmGanInP is m–x≥0.2, where m ranges from 0.2 to 1.0, x ranging from 0 to 0.8 (see Par.[0078] wherein the compound semiconductor layer 7 is an epitaxial layer formed by an epitaxial growth method; see Par.[0079]-[0081] wherein a p-type cladding layer 17 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) sequentially from the side of the substrate 2; on the other hand, the n-type semiconductor layer 14 is formed by stacking an n-type cladding layer 18 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm), an n-type window layer 19 (having a thickness of, e.g., 2.0 μm to 5.0 μm) as an example of the second layer of the present disclosure and an n-type contact layer 20 (having a thickness of, e.g., 0.1 μm to 2.5 μm) as an example of the first layer of the present disclosure sequentially on the light-emitting layer 12; the n-type window layer 19 may be formed as an n-type semiconductor layer by doping AlInGaP with, for example, Si as an n-type dopant; the p-type contact layer 15 and the n-type contact layer 20 are low resistance layers for making ohmic contact with the light-transmitting conductive layer 6 and the cathode electrode layer 11, respectively; as such the interface contact between 19 and 20 is of ohmic contact; see Figs.2 wherein projections of electrode portions on first surface is smaller than or equal to that of ohmic contact layer).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818