DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “determining if…string to select a travel time…”. The Examiner believes this should read “determining if…string, select…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “determining if…string to select a travel time…”. The Examiner believes this should read “determining if…string, select…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite “further computing travel times for leaked and reflected waves for a range of annular thicknesses and compressional wave velocities”. It is unclear if this is intended to be the same or an additional computing of the travel times previously computed in the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 21-25, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (2020/0341163) in view of Kiiadiiraoui (WO 2020/072404).
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches transmitting an acoustic signal into at least part of a conduit string ([0036], lines 11-12; [0043], lines 5-6); measuring a return signal from at least part of the conduit string ([0036], lines 15-16; [0043], lines 7-8); analyzing the return signal ([0036], lines 19-21); computing travel times for selected wave modes for a range of annular thicknesses and compressional wave slownesses ([0061], lines 2-3; Fig 4: 416; [0095]); comparing the computed travel times with the analyzed return signal ([0064]-[0070]; Fig 4, steps 420 and 422); and plotting a semblance map of annular thicknesses as a function of compressional wave velocities ([0075], lines 15-16; Fig 4: 426). However, it does not teach the travel times specifically calculated for leaked and reflected waves and that slowness calculations are mathematically equivalent to velocity.
It is well known in the art that slowness and velocity have a reciprocal relationship; for example as defined in the Energy Glossary (https://glossary.slb.com/terms/s/slowness).
Kiiadiiraoui teaches calculating travel times for leaked and reflected waves ([0066], lines 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Wang with the leaded and reflected wave travel time calculations of Kiiadiiraoui since such a modification would have helped to identify the different onset arrivals.
With respect to claim 22, Wang teaches a transmitter configured to transmit an acoustic signal into at least part of a conduit string ([0036], lines 10-12; [0043], lines 3-6); a receiver configured to measure a return signal from at least part of the conduit string ([0036], lines 15-16; [0043], lines 7-9); an information handling system configured to analyze the return signal ([0036], lines 19-21; [0041], lines 3-6); compute travel times for selected wave modes for a range of annular thicknesses and compressional wave slownesses ([0061], lines 2-3; Fig 4: 416; [0095]); compare the computed travel times with the analyzed return signal ([0064]-[0070]; Fig 4, steps 420 and 422); and plot a semblance map of annular thicknesses as a function of compressional wave velocities ([0075], lines 15-16; Fig 4: 426). However, it does not teach the travel times specifically calculated for leaked and reflected waves and that slowness calculations are mathematically equivalent to velocity.
It is well known in the art that slowness and velocity have a reciprocal relationship; for example as defined in the Energy Glossary (https://glossary.slb.com/terms/s/slowness).
Kiiadiiraoui teaches calculating travel times for leaked and reflected waves ([0066], lines 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Wang with the leaded and reflected wave travel time calculations of Kiiadiiraoui since such a modification would have helped to identify the different onset arrivals.
With respect to claims 2 and 23, Wang teaches the acoustic signals are obtained from an acoustic logging tool in a pitch-catch (P-C) configuration ([0045], lines 2-5; Fig 2).
With respect to claims 3, 4, 21, 24, 25, and 31, Wang as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the distance between a P-C transmitter and a P-C receiver is from about 6 inches to about 20 inches, from about 8.5 inches to about 15 inches, or from about 4 inches to about 30 inches. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have the P-C transmitter and receivers separated by the required distance since it suggests distances “ranging from several inches to several feet” and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to claims 9 and 30, Wang as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach repeating the creation for every depth and azimuth to create a velocity profile as a function of depth and azimuth in a logging operation.
Kiiadiiraoui teaches repeating the creation for every depth and azimuth to create a velocity profile as a function of depth and azimuth in a logging operation ([00102]; Fig 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Wang to be performed for every depth and amplitude since such a modification would have allowed for an operator to more accurately assess the formations surrounding the borehole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 28, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645