Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 18-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “forming an isolation mask covering an active region of the semiconductor heterostructure having a linear edge extending in a straight line such than an entirety of the gate layer is covered by the isolation mask and a portion of a drain region is exposed by the isolation mask; and performing an ion bombardment process on an inactive region of the semiconductor heterostructure exposed by the isolation mask” The specification and the drawings of the instant application describe drain region (a metallic region) to be formed only after the steps of forming the isolation mask and performing the ion bombardment process (Page 11; Figs. 1E-1I). In other words, when the isolation mask is formed, and the step of ion bombardment process is being carried out there is no existence of drain region yet and hence it could not be said that a portion of a drain region is exposed by the isolation mask. After the isolation mask is formed and the step of ion bombardment performed, a portion of the isolation mask is then removed to form a trench, and a metal is then deposited in that trench to form the drain region. Because the amended claim has introduced completely new matters which are not supported by either the specification or the drawings, claim 1 and its dependent claims will not be examined against any prior arts. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Amended independent claim 18 recites, inter alia, “defining an inactive region of the semiconductor heterostructure laterally outside the isolation mask by performing an ion bombardment process in a present of the isolation mask, wherein the isolation region has a linear edge extending in a straight line such than an entirety of the gate layer is covered by the isolation mask and a portion of a drain region is exposed by the isolation mask”. The specification and the drawings of the instant application describe drain region (a metallic region) to be formed only after the steps of forming the isolation mask and performing the ion bombardment process (Page 11; Figs. 1E-1I). In other words, when the isolation mask is formed, and the step of ion bombardment process is being carried out there is no existence of drain region yet and hence it could not be said that a portion of a drain region is exposed by the isolation mask. After the isolation mask is formed and the step of ion bombardment performed, a portion of the isolation mask is then removed to form a trench, and a metal is then deposited in that trench to form the drain region. Because the amended claim has introduced completely new matters which are not supported by either the specification or the drawings, claim 18 and its dependent claims will not be examined against any prior arts Appropriate correction/clarification is requested. Claims 2-11 & 19-20 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st paragraph (pre-AIA ) rejections based on their dependencies on claims 1 and 18, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 14-15 and 18-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Amended independent claim 1 recites, inter alia, “forming an isolation mask covering an active region of the semiconductor heterostructure having a linear edge extending in a straight line such than an entirety of the gate layer is covered by the isolation mask and a portion of a drain region is exposed by the isolation mask; and performing an ion bombardment process on an inactive region of the semiconductor heterostructure exposed by the isolation mask” The specification and the drawings of the instant application describe drain region (a metallic region) to be formed only after the steps of forming the isolation mask and performing the ion bombardment process (Page 11; Figs. 1E-1I). In other words, when the isolation mask is formed, and the step of ion bombardment process is being carried out there is no existence of drain region yet and hence it could not be said that a portion of a drain region is exposed by the isolation mask. After the isolation mask is formed and the step of ion bombardment performed, a portion of the isolation mask is then removed to form a trench, and a metal is then deposited in that trench to form the drain region. Because the amended claim has introduced completely new matters which are not supported by either the specification or the drawings, claim 1 and its dependent claims will not be examined against any prior arts. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Amended independent claim 18 recites, inter alia, “defining an inactive region of the semiconductor heterostructure laterally outside the isolation mask by performing an ion bombardment process in a present of the isolation mask, wherein the isolation region has a linear edge extending in a straight line such than an entirety of the gate layer is covered by the isolation mask and a portion of a drain region is exposed by the isolation mask”. The specification and the drawings of the instant application describe drain region (a metallic region) to be formed only after the steps of forming the isolation mask and performing the ion bombardment process (Page 11; Figs. 1E-1I). In other words, when the isolation mask is formed, and the step of ion bombardment process is being carried out there is no existence of drain region yet and hence it could not be said that a portion of a drain region is exposed by the isolation mask. After the isolation mask is formed and the step of ion bombardment performed, a portion of the isolation mask is then removed to form a trench, and a metal is then deposited in that trench to form the drain region. Because the amended claim has introduced completely new matters which are not supported by either the specification or the drawings, claim 18 and its dependent claims will not be examined against any prior arts Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “… wherein the first and second gate fingers extend in a first direction, wherein a boundary between the active region and the inactive region has a first portion that is arced in a shape of an outer edge of the gate arc adjacent to the gate arc” This is in direct contradiction to a limitation of independent claim 12 which recites “the isolation region has a linear edge extending in a straight line such than an entirety of the gate layer is outside the isolation region and a portion of a drain region is within the isolation region”. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claims 2-11, 15 & 19-20 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph (pre-AIA ) rejections based on their dependencies on claims 1, 12 & 18, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Brun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0273065 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Brun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0273065 A1) in view of Brun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0223699 A1), hereinafter, Brun et al. (‘699).
Regarding Claim 12, Brun et al. discloses a device, comprising: a semiconductor heterostructure including an active region and an inactive region and having a channel layer of a high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (Par. 0032-0034, 0040-0043; Fig. 7A in light of Fig. 2B - semiconductor heterostructure 1002 comprising channel layer 212 (active layer; GaN) and barrier layer 214 (AlGaN); active region 102, inactive region 104); a gate layer of GaN on the channel layer and including a first gate finger, a second gate finger, and a gate arc connecting the first gate finger and the second gate finger (Par. 0032-0034, 0040-0043; Fig. 7A in light of Fig. 2B - gate layer 216; the inner side of the portion of gate that connects the two fingers has an arch shape);
an isolation region including an isolation dopant species (Par. 0032-0034, 0040-0043; Fig. 7A in light of Fig. 2B - isolation region 104); a drain region of the HEMT in contact with the channel region in the inactive region and in the active region (Par. 0032-0034, 0040-0043; Fig. 7A in light of Fig. 2B - drain region 110);
a source region between the first gate finger and the second gate finger and in contact with the channel layer between, wherein the channel layer has a higher concentration of an isolation dopant species in the inactive region than in the active region, wherein an entirety of the gate arc is directly above the active region (Par. 0032-0034, 0040-0043; Fig. 7A in light of Fig. 2B - source region 106A; Fig. 7A presents an embodiment wherein an entirety of the gate arc is directly above the active region 102), wherein the isolation region has a linear edge extending in a straight line such than an entirety of the gate layer is outside the isolation region and a portion of a drain region is within the isolation region (Par. 0047; Fig. 7A in light of Fig. 2B - drain region 110; this prior art teaches “ …active area 102 is surrounded by an isolation region 104. In some embodiments, the isolation region 104 may be completely outside of the plurality of gate structures 108a-108c”. Fig. 7A shows that the top boundary of the isolation region has a linear edge extending in a straight line such than an entirety of the gate layer is outside the isolation region and a portion of a drain region 110a/110b is within the isolation region 104).
In the alternative, assuming arguendo that Brun et al. is not emphatic enough regarding a gate layer including a gate arc connecting the first gate finger and the second gate finger, Brun et al. (‘699) teaches a gate layer including a gate arc connecting the first gate finger and the second gate finger (Par.
0074-0076; Figs. 12A-13B – this prior art explicitly teaches a gate arc connecting the first gate finger and the second gate finger). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Brun et al. (‘699) to adapt a device, comprising: the gate layer of Brun et al. including a gate arc connecting the first gate finger and the second gate finger in order to deliver lower leakage, sharper switching and higher reliability.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Brun et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the method, wherein the first and second gate fingers extend in a first direction, wherein a boundary between the active region and the inactive region has a substantially straight edge extending in a second direction transverse to the first direction past the first gate finger, the second gate finger, and the gate arc (Brun et al. - Fig. 7A – a boundary between the active region 102 and the inactive region 104 has a substantially straight edge extending in a second direction transverse to the first direction past the first gate finger, the second gate finger, and the gate arc; also see Brun et al. (‘699) – Figs. 16A-17B in light of Fig. 8B).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Brun et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the device, wherein the first and second gate fingers extend in a first direction, wherein a boundary between the active region and the inactive region has a first portion that is arced in a shape of an outer edge of the gate arc adjacent to the gate arc (Brun et al. – Fig. 4A; modified Brun et al. already teaches a gate arc connecting the first gate finger and the second gate finger (see rejection of claim 12); furthermore Brun et al. teaches the contour of a portion of the inactive region follows the contour of the outer edge of the gate portion that connects that first gate finger to the second gate finger (Fig. 4A); so when the contour of the outer edge of the gate portion connecting that first gate finger to the second gate finger is arched, the first portion of a boundary between the active region and the inactive region will be arched too).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Brun et al., as applied to claim 14, discloses the device, wherein the boundary between the active region and the inactive region has a second portion that is straight and extends in a second direction transverse to the first direction and connects to the first portion (Brun et al. - Fig. 4A).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Brun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0273065 A1) and Brun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0223699 A1), hereinafter, Brun et al. (‘699), claim 12, further in view of Boles et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0301780 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Brun et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the device, wherein the drain region has a substantially straight edge, wherein the source region also has a straight edge (Brun et al. – Fig. 7A).
Brun et al. does not explicitly disclose the device, wherein the source region has a semicircular edge.
However, Boles et al., at least implicitly teaches the device, wherein the source region has a semicircular edge (Par. 0026; Fig. 8B – source region 104). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Boles et al. to adapt the device, wherein the source region of Brun et al. has a semicircular edge in order to improve electrical field distribution around the edges.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments made to the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
07/21/2026
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893