DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (38; Fig 4; [0038]) = (element 38; Figure No. 4; Paragraph No. [0038]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The primary references (Morrison for claims 13-21 and Choi for claims 1-13) citation may not be preceded by the inventor tag, wherein the other reference citation will carry inventor tag. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Choi; Jaein et al. (US 20210391513 A1) hereinafter Choi
Regarding claim 14. Choi teaches a display device (14; Fig 2; [0023]), comprising (see the entire document, Figures 4,6, 1-3 along with subject matter of other figures that are relevant, specifically, as cited below):
Choi Figure 2 Choi Figure 4
a first emission area (delimited by light emitting diode 38 within layer 64; labelled of pixel array 22; Fig 2; [0024]) on a substrate (26; Fig 4; [0034} first cited in Fig 2; [0023]) ;
a first light emitting diode (38; Fig 4; [0034]) disposed to overlap the first emission area;
an optical gap layer (comprising {58,62}; Fig 4; [0037,0039]) on the first light emitting diode (38), the optical gap layer including:
a plurality of sub-lenses (54) that overlaps the first light emitting diode (38);
a lens layer (66) on the optical gap layer, the lens layer including a first lens (56) that overlaps the plurality of sub-lenses (54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 15-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi; Jaein et al. (US 20210391513 A1) hereinafter Choi; in view of Morrison; Rick et al. (US 20220291507 A1) hereinafter Morrison
Regarding claim 15. Choi as applied to the display device of claim 14, does not expressly disclose, wherein the optical gap layer includes:
a plurality of light guiding structures between the lens layer (56/66) and the plurality of sub-lenses (54), and
wherein the plurality of light guiding structures overlaps with the first lens (56).
However, in the analogous art, Morrison teaches a “Systems and apparatus for managing stray light in augmented reality, mixed reality, enhanced reality, and similar applications” (abstract) wherein (Fig 15B flipped view; [0067]) a plurality of light guiding structures (1504 with cylindrical shape) between the lens layer (1502) and the plurality of sub-lenses (1503), and wherein the plurality of light guiding structures (1504) overlaps with the first lens (1501); and an overcoating layer (1501) on the sub-lens layer (1503) and the cylindrical structure layer (1604).
Morrison Fig 15B and flipped view of 15B
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi’s optical gap layer accommodating the teaching of Morrison and thereafter, the combination of (Choi and Morrison) optical layer includes a plurality of light guiding structures (1504 with cylindrical shape) between the lens layer (1502) and the plurality of sub-lenses (1503), and wherein the plurality of light guiding structures (1504) overlaps with the first lens (1501); and an overcoating layer (1501) on the sub-lens layer (1503) and the cylindrical structure layer (1604) as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chois Optical gap layer in the manner set forth above because this modification, at least, provides improved through the choice of display patch size and lenslet size to influence obscuration, and can be balanced for optimal relative throughput of RW and NED light (Morrison [0021).
Regarding claim 16. The combination of (Choi and Morrison) as applied to the display device of claim 15, further teaches, wherein respective light guiding structure (Morrison 1504) includes a cylindrical structure (Morrison [0067]) and respective sub-lens (54) includes a half-spherical shape ( Choi Fig 4) .
Regarding claim 18. The combination of (Choi and Morrison) as applied to the display device of claim 15, further teaches, comprising (Figs 2-4 discloses all the features of another element of 22 from the array thereof) :
a second emission area (delimited by light emitting diode 38 within layer 64; labelled of pixel array 22; Fig 2; [0024]) on a substrate (26; Fig 4; [0034} first cited in Fig 2; [0023]) adjacent (Fig 2 depicts many instances of 22 as adjacent )o the first emission area (of another 22 of Fig 2); and
a second light emitting diode (another 38; Fig 4; [0034]) overlapping the second emission area;
wherein the optical gap layer (comprising {58,62}; Fig 4; [0037,0039]) includes:
a plurality of second sub-lenses (54) that overlaps the second light emitting diode; and
a plurality of second light guiding structures (in view of another instances of Morrison 1504) on the plurality of second sub-lenses (54),
wherein the lens layer (66) includes a second lens (56) that overlaps the plurality of second sub-lenses and the plurality of second light guiding structures, and
wherein the second lens (56) includes a half-cylindrical lens (56; Fig 4) that has a different viewing angle from the first lens including a half-spherical lens.
Regarding claim 19. The combination of (Choi and Morrison) as applied to the display device of claim 18, further teaches, wherein respective second light guiding structure (in view of another instances of Morrison 1504) includes a cylindrical structure (Morrison [0067]) and respective second sub-lens includes a half-spherical shape (Choi Fig 4).
Regarding claim 20. The combination of (Choi and Morrison) as applied to the display device of claim 15, further teaches (Figs 2-4 discloses all the features of another element of 22 from the array thereof,)
wherein the optical gap layer includes:
a plurality of second light guiding structures (in view of another instances of Morrison 1504) on the plurality of light guiding structures (in view of first Morrison 1504);
wherein a number of the plurality of second light guiding structures is different from a number of the plurality of light guiding structures (construed from fig 7).
Regarding claim 21. The combination of (Choi and Morrison) as applied to the display device of claim 15, further teaches (Figs 2-4 discloses all the features of another element of 22 from the array thereof,)Choi as applied to the display device of claim 15, further teaches, wherein each of the plurality of light guiding structures (Morrison 1504) is respectively on the sub-lenses (54).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi; Jaein et al. (US 20210391513 A1) hereinafter Choi; in view of Morrison; Rick et al. (US 20220291507 A1) hereinafter Morrison, in view of Morrison; Son; Youngran et al. (US 20220190295 A1), hereinafter Son.
Regarding claim 17. The combination of (Choi and Morrison) as applied to the display device of claim 15, while Choi further teaches a touch electrode ([0021]) and suggests touch sensor arrangements with display 14 may be formed from electrodes formed on a common display substrate with the display pixels of display 14 or may be formed from a separate touch sensor panel that overlaps the pixels of display 1). But Choi is silent on the arrangement, comprising:
a touch electrode on the optical gap layer,
wherein the touch electrode exposes a top surface of the optical gap layer 17771,
wherein the top surface of the optical gap layer that is exposed by the touch electrode overlaps the first lens of the lens layer,
wherein the optical gap layer includes an overcoating layer that covers the plurality of sub-lenses and the plurality of light guiding structures, and
wherein a top surface of the overcoating layer contacts the touch electrode.
However in the analogous, Son teaches a display device ( Fig 6; [0002]) , comprising: a substrate (100; Fig 6), a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (222a-222c of OLED; [0068.0089]) on the substrate, an encapsulation layer (300 comprising {310, 320, 330}) on the plurality of LEDs,
wherein (input sensing layer 40, comprising {410, 420, 430, 440, 450, 460}; Fig 6; [0138]) a touch sensor unit on the encapsulation layer, a lens layer (50; [0077]) on the touch sensor unit, the touch sensor unit further includes: a plurality of bridge electrodes (430; directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440 depicting the function of a bridge) on the encapsulation layer; an optical gap layer ({440, 460}) on the bridge electrodes (430) to expose (via a contact hole in insulating layer 440) at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes (430); and a touch electrode (450; [0138]: conductive layer 450 may include touch electrodes for sensing a touch input and trace lines connected to the touch electrodes) in contact with each of the plurality of exposed bridge electrodes (430)
Son Figure 6 (laterally truncated)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contemplate Son’s touch sensor arrangement for the combination of (Choi and Morrison) and thereby, the combination of (Choi, Morrison and Son) includes as claimed with:
a touch electrode (Choi in view of Son) on the optical gap layer (Choi comprising {58,62}; Fig 4; [0037,0039] in view of Morrison) ,
wherein the touch electrode (Choi in view of Son) exposes a top surface of the optical gap layer,
wherein the top surface of the optical gap layer that is exposed by the touch electrode overlaps the first lens (56) of the lens layer (66),
wherein the optical gap layer includes an overcoating layer (in view of Morrison 1501) that covers the plurality of sub-lenses (54) and the plurality of light guiding structures (in view of Morrison 1504), and
wherein a top surface of the overcoating layer (in view of Morrison 1501) contacts the touch electrode (Choi in view of Son).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to further modify (Choi, Morrison) device in the manner set forth above because the arrangement of touch structure was suggested by (Choi [0021]) and that arrangement is disclosed by Son, at least, integrating Son touch structure into Choi display, that at least, have the advantage of manufacturing process of the panel is being simplified, thus realizing optimization of the manufacturing process, reduces costs and faster production with higher yields.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son; Youngran et al. (US 20220190295 A1), hereinafter Son; in view of Choi; Jaein et al. (US 20210391513 A1) hereinafter Choi; and in further view of Morrison; Rick et al. (US 20220291507 A1) hereinafter Morrison
Regarding claim 1. Son teaches a display device (labelled as display apparatus; Fig 1; [0061]), comprising (see the entire document, Figures 6, 1-4 along with subject matter of other figures that are relevant, specifically, as cited below) :
Son Figure 6 (laterally truncated)
a substrate (100; Fig 6; [0105]) ;
a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (222a-222c of OLED; Fig 6 [0129]) on the substrate;
an encapsulation layer (300 comprising {310, 320, 330}; Fig 6; [0136]) on the plurality of LEDs;
a touch sensor unit (input sensing layer 40, comprising {410, 420, 430, 440, 450, 460}; Fig 6; [0138]) on the encapsulation layer; and
a lens layer (50; Fig 6; [0105]; cited 50 as lens in [0077]) on the touch sensor unit,
wherein the touch sensor unit includes (Fig 6; [00137-00138]):
a plurality of bridge electrodes (430; directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440 depicting the function of a bridge) on the encapsulation layer;
an optical gap layer ({440, 460}) on the bridge electrodes (430) to expose (via a contact hole in insulating layer 440) at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes (430); and
a touch electrode (450; [0138]: conductive layer 450 may include touch electrodes for sensing a touch input and trace lines connected to the touch electrodes) in contact with each of the plurality of exposed bridge electrodes (430), and
But, Son does not expressly disclose the optical gap layer ({440, 460}) includes:
a sub-lens layer disposed corresponding to the plurality of LEDs (OLED);
a cylindrical structure layer on the sub-lens layer to correspond to the plurality of LEDs; and
an overcoating layer on the sub-lens layer and the cylindrical structure layer.
However, in the analogous art, Choi teaches a display device (14; Fig 2,4; [0023]), comprising: inter alia, an optical gap layer (comprising {58,62}; Fig 4; [0037,0039]) on the first light emitting diode (38),
wherein the optical gap layer including:
a plurality of sub-lenses (54) that overlaps the light emitting diode (38);
a lens layer (66) on the optical gap layer, the lens layer including a first lens (56) that overlaps the plurality of sub-lenses (54).
Choi Figure 2 Choi Figure 4
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Son’s optical gap layer ({440, 460}) accommodating the features of choi and thereafter, the combination of (Son and Choi) optical layer ({440, 460}) includes a plurality of sub-lenses (54) that overlaps the light emitting diode (OLED), since this modification, at least, resulting in light from LED being better collimated (Choi [0045]).
But, the combination of (Son and Choi) not yet discloses the optical gap layer ({440, 460}) includes:
a cylindrical structure layer on the sub-lens layer (Choi 54) to correspond to the plurality of LEDs (OLED); and
an overcoating layer on the sub-lens layer (Choi 54) and the cylindrical structure layer.
However, in the analogous art, Morrison teaches a “Systems and apparatus for managing stray light in augmented reality, mixed reality, enhanced reality, and similar applications” (abstract) wherein (Fig 15B flipped view; [0067]) a plurality of light guiding structures (1504 with cylindrical shape) between the lens layer (1502) and the plurality of sub-lenses (1503), and wherein the plurality of light guiding structures (1504) overlaps with the first lens (1501); and an overcoating layer (1501) on the sub-lens layer (1503) and the cylindrical structure layer (1604).
Morrison Fig 15B and flipped view of 15B
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify modified Son’s optical gap layer ({440, 460}) accommodating the teaching of Morrison and thereafter, the combination of (Son, Choi and Morrison) optical layer ({440, 460}) includes
a cylindrical structure layer (Morrison 1504) on the sub-lens layer (Choi 54) to correspond to the plurality of LEDs (OLED); and
an overcoating layer (Morrison 1501) on the sub-lens layer (Choi 54) and the cylindrical structure layer (Morrison 1504).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chois Optical gap layer in the manner set forth above because this modification, at least, provides improved through the choice of display patch size and lenslet size to influence obscuration, and can be balanced for optimal relative throughput of RW and NED light (Morrison [0021).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son; Youngran et al. (US 20220190295 A1), hereinafter Son; in view of Choi; Jaein et al. (US 20210391513 A1) hereinafter Choi; and in further view of Morrison; Rick et al. (US 20220291507 A1) hereinafter Morrison and LEE; Changmin et al. (US 20240280904 A1) hereinafter Lee, Kubota Yuichi et al. (US 20020113241), hereinafter Kubota, and Zhao Jinyanget al. (US 20240034852), herein Zhao.
Regarding Claim 10. The combination of (Son, Choi and Morrison) as applied to the display device according to claim 1, does not expressly disclose, wherein the sub-lens layer contains a transparent resin and nanoparticles, wherein the plurality of cylindrical structures is configured as a vertical alignment filler, and wherein the vertical alignment filler is selected from carbon nanotubes, silicon-based nanotubes, and acrylic nanotubes.
However in the analogous art, Lee discloses includes a first transparent resin and nano particles dispersed in the first transparent resin [0203] describes to improve insulating performance via silica particles included in resin. [0240] describes the silica particulars on a nano scale.[0161] describes the form film (resin) is transparent.), and the second layer includes a second transparent resin, a multifunctional crosslinking agen ([0099]-[0104] describes wherein the composition of the resin may include an additional resin (second layer) comprised of an acryl-based resin including 2 to 10 types of acrylates (functional groups) that can be crosslinked in an exposure step via an agent (examples include glycol diacrylate etc.). Paragraph [0161] describes the form film (resin) is transparent.), and,
wherein the first transparent resin of the first layer and the second transparent resin of the second layer are independently one or more selected from a group consisting of acrylic resins ([0284] describes the binder/resin for the silica is acrylic to reduce the thickness.), siloxane-based resins ( [0150]-[0151] describes siloxane based.), polyimide-based resins, polyamide-based resins, cycloolefin-based resins, and fluorine-based resins, wherein the nano particles are one or more selected from fullerene particles or silica nano particles (Paragraph [0203] describes to improve insulating performance via silica particles included in resin.), and
wherein the molecular sieve comprises mesoporous silica, and the multifunctional crosslinking agent comprises an acrylate-based compound having 3 to 9 functional groups [0099]-[0104] describes wherein the composition of the resin may include an additional resin (second layer) comprised of an acryl-based resin including 2 to 10 types of acrylates (functional groups).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art,before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s first and second insulating layers with the known technique of a first transparent resin and nano particles dispersed in the first transparent resin, and the second layer includes a second transparent resin, a multifunctional crosslinking agent, and wherein the first transparent resin of the first layer and the second transparent resin of the second layer are independently one or more selected from a group consisting of acrylic resins and siloxane-based resins, wherein the nano particles are one or more selected from fullerene particles or silica nano particles, and the multifunctional crosslinking agent comprises an acrylate-based compound having 3 to 9 functional groups yielding the predictable results of increasing the stability of the photo-patterning layers during manufacturing of OLED displays as disclosed by Lee ([0002]-[0006]).
Lee does not specifically disclose the second layer including a multifunctional crosslinking agent to also include a molecular sieve.
Kubota discloses an insulating layer may be formed through a molecular sieve cured process and that the cured product is mixed with a crosslinkable acrylate derivative (Paragraphs [0216] and [0236]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang-Lee’s second insulator made of a multifunctional crosslinking agent with the known technique of further comprising molecular sieve yielding the predictable results of fully dehydrating the insulator during the curing process as disclosed by Kubota (paragraph [0216]).Kubota does not specifically disclose wherein the molecular sieve comprises mesoporous silica.
Zhao discloses a composite material film of a molecular sieve may be made of mesoporous silica (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang-Lee-Kubota’s second insulator including a molecular sieve with the known technique of comprising mesoporous silica yielding the predictable results of manufacturing nanoscale composite material to a targeted electrical conductivity in the display industry as disclosed by Zhao [0002]-[0005])
Regarding claim 11. The combination of references in claim 10 as applied to the display device according to claim 10, further teaches wherein the transparent resin is one or more selected from acrylic resin, siloxane-based resin, polyimide-based resin, polyamide-based resin, cycloolefine-based resin, and fluorine-based resin.
Regarding claims 12. The combination of references in claim 10 as applied to the display device according to claim 10, further teaches , wherein the nanoparticles are one or more selected from fullerene, silica, zirconium oxide (ZrO2) and titanium dioxide (TiO2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the subject matter of claim 2.
Regarding claims {3-9. 13} depend on claim 2 , and thus contain the same allowable subject matters .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
March 19, 2026