DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Double Hoist Crane (Overhead double hoist crane cranesdq.com, June 18,2018)
Double Hoist Crane teaches a “pipeline” hoisting structure, comprising two vertical beams joined together with a horizontal beam in a U-shape, and two hoisting systems, each being coupled to one of the two vertical beams (this is the case because the hoisting systems are coupled to the horizontal beam and the horizontal beam is coupled to the vertical beams) of the pipeline hoisting structure,
wherein each hoisting system of the two hoisting systems comprises a cable and a set of cable steering pulleys; wherein each hoisting system of the two hoisting systems acts independently in relation to each other; and wherein a first hoisting system of the two hoisting systems acts as a main hoisting system and a second hoisting system of the two hoisting systems acts as a secondary hoisting system (see marked up Double Hoist Crane below).
Re claim 2, wherein the horizontal beam is arranged in an upper portion of the structure and connects with the two vertical beams (see marked up Double Hoist Crane below).
Re claim 3, wherein each of the two vertical beams is connected, at its lower end, to a fixing shoe that provides support and stability to the pipeline hoisting structure on a seabed (see marked up Double Hoist Crane below.
Re claim 14, further comprising an additional containment system to support the pipeline hoisting structure (the 2nd double hoist crane depicted in tandem).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Single Girder Double Hoist … Control (Double Hook & Double Trolley Overhead Cranes eotcranekit.com April 22,2021) in view of The Examiner Taking Official Notice (electric crane hoist).
Single Girder Double Hoist discloses a pipeline hoisting structure, comprising two vertical beams joined together with a horizontal beam in a U-shape (see Single Girder Double Hoist marked up Figure below) with an independent hoisting system affixed to an outward plane of each vertical beam (see Single Girder Double Hoist marked up Figure below where the power cord meets the outward plane), each independent hoisting system is configured to hoist a pipeline entirely independent of each other. Singler Girder Double Hoist discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Single Girder Double Hoist is silent about the “electric crane hoist” includes a cable and a set of cable steering pulleys and having one end of the cable connected to a winch. The Examiner Takes Official Notice that it is well known and old in the art for Electric crane hoist to include a cable and a set of cable steering pulleys and having one end of the cable connected to a winch. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Single Girder Double Hoist to include well know electric crane hoist since such a modification allows for the lifting of long, heavy and large loads with separate control
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13,15,19,20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16,17 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Double Hoist Crane fails to disclose “each hoisting system of the two hoisting systems being coupled to one of the two vertical beams” . The examiner disagrees. See marked up Figure above. The hoisting systems are coupled to the horizontal beam and the horizontal beam is coupled to the vertical beams. Applicant argues that Double Hoist Crane fails to teach “fixing shoe”. The examiner disagrees. See marked up Figure above.
Applicant argues Single Girder Double Hoist fails to teach “hoisting system affixed to an outward plane of each vertical beam”. The examiner disagrees. See marked up Figure above. The outward plane of each vertical beam is illustrated above and the hoisting system (e.g. power cord) is affixed to the outward plane of the vertical beam.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNIL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SS
9/5/2026