Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues “Notably missing from the cited portions of either of these references is any teaching or suggestion of "a radio-wave suppression portion that is integrated with the cover portion" that "includes a conductive portion that has conductivity and a non-conductive portion that does not have conductivity" where "the conductive portion is a portion in which a material property of the cover portion is changed.' Indeed, Iwai teaches the wave absorbing material 114 d in connection with the embodiment illustrated in Figure 18 thereof as follows: In this embodiment, Iwai teaches in paragraph [0139] that "a separator 114 is disposed to partition the space between lamp unit 120 and radar unit 1 10 to shield the transmission of radiant heat and electromagnetic waves between lamp unit 120 and radar unit 110." Iwai further teaches here that separator 114 is mounted on the lower surface of lamp housing 130 by using a fixing member (for example, a screw) in a state in which circuit board I I I is housed." Paragraph [0164] of Iwai further describes that in the embodiment of Figure 18, the separator 1 14 has electromagnetic wave absorbing material 1 14 d. In view of this description, it is clear the wave absorbing material 114 d is coupled to the separator 114 which is in turn mounted to the lamp housing 130, not the cover 130a. Further, in view of these teachings, it is clear the wave absorbing material 114 d does not correspond to a conductive portion where "the conductive portion is a portion in which a material property of the cover portion is changed" as specified in independent claim l . Beyond being mounted to the lamp housing 130 via the separator 114, the wave absorbing material 114 d is not a portion of the housing 130 or the cover 130a, so it cannot be a portion in which a material property of the cover 130a is changed. Accordingly, even if Okonogi was modified in view of Iwai (which Applicant does not concede), the subject matter of independent claim 1 would not be provided. In view of the above, independent claim I is patentable over the Okonogi/lwai combination, so withdrawal of the rejection of claim I is respectfully requested. Each of claims 2-10 depends from base claim I or an intervening claim and is patentable for at least the reasons supporting patentability of base claim 1”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Radio wave absorber is attached to the cover and they work together in that Paragraph 0031, "In this way, the radome 31 and the radio wave absorber 51 are configured so that, of the radio waves that form side lobes, radio waves 6 (first radio waves) that are incident on the surface of the radio wave absorber 51 and reflected therefrom and radio waves 7 (second radio waves) that pass through the radio wave absorber 51 and reflect off the surface of the radome cancel each other out (the reflected composite radio waves 8 disappear” where this would not be possible if there were gaps between the cover and the absorbing material. The Examiner interprets this connection and the combined functionality as them being integrated together.
Okonogi does not specify what its materials are made out of, which is why it is combined with Iwai which specifies that the cover/radome is made from resin and the absorbing material can be made from conductive absorbing material and a dielectric wave absorbing material which is nonconductive. These materials are materially distinct from the cover/radome. More specifically, the radome of Okonogi would incorporate the resin material and the absorption layer would take on the conductive/nonconductive material. Using both the conductive and nonconductive can be advantageous in that it facilitates a wide range of wavelengths that the absorbing material can affect and it facilitates impedance matching which will reduce reflections. In regards to the arguments above the claims of the instant application are not deemed allowable at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okonogi (JP2007057483A) [cited from attached pdf] in view of Iwai (US 20200101889 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Okonogi discloses
A radar apparatus comprising: an antenna unit that includes an antenna surface in which one or more antennas that radiate radio waves are provided and is configured to emit a target radio wave of a predetermined frequency band (Paragraph 0004, "This millimeter-wave radar device 70 has an antenna 10 for transmitting radio waves, as shown in FIG. 7 . This transmitting antenna 10 has a dielectric substrate 19 laminated on the surface of a ground conductor 15. On the surface (antenna surface 10 a) of the dielectric substrate 19, there are arranged a plurality of patch elements 17, a microstrip feed line 16 connected to the patch elements 17, and a feed point 18 connected to the feed line 16."); a cover portion that is configured to be provided in a position through which the target radio wave passes (Figure 6 element 70 and mb; Paragraph 0025, "the antenna 10 is arranged on a convex mount 20a of the radar main body 20 with the antenna surface 10a facing outward from the radar main body 20 so that it can transmit radio waves to a target based on a signal from the control circuit and receive radio waves that are reflected by the target. Furthermore, a housing-like radome 31 with a uniform thickness is provided on the antenna surface 10 a side to cover the antenna 10”; Paragraph 0026, “By arranging the radio wave absorber 51 in this manner, as shown in Figure 6, radio waves transmitted from the antenna 10 pass through the radio wave passing end 31e of the radome 31 where the radio wave absorber 51 is not arranged, and reach the target (e.g., a vehicle ahead) as a main lobe mb, and the antenna 10 can receive the reflected wave of the radio wave that becomes this main lobe mb”); and a radio-wave suppression portion that is integrated with the cover portion in an out-of-detection-range area of an outer surface of the cover portion, the out-of-detection-range area being an area that is outside a range of a detection angle of the antenna unit (Figure 1 elements 51 and 31; Paragraph 0025, “In this assembled state, the radome 31 and the antenna 10 form an internal space 31a, and furthermore, a radio wave absorber 51 is arranged on the inner surface 31b of the radome 31 that forms this internal space 31a (specifically, on the inner wall of the body of the radome 31 adjacent to the antenna surface 10a)"). Okonogi does not disclose that the absorber includes a conductive portion that has conductivity and a non-conductive portion that does not have conductivity, wherein: the conductive portion is a portion in which a material property of the cover portion is changed.
Iwai discloses
The absorber includes a conductive portion that has conductivity and a non-conductive portion that does not have conductivity, wherein: the conductive portion is a portion in which a material property of the cover portion is changed (Paragraph 0062, "Housing 30 forms a storage space in the front end region of the vehicle, and stores radar unit 10 and lamp units 20a, 20b, and 20c in the storage space…Housing 30 is made of, for example, a resin material (for example, polycarbonate and the like). Front cover 30a is made of, for example, a resin material having transparency to light (for example, polycarbonate and the like)"; Paragraph 0167, "Examples of the material of the electromagnetic wave absorbing material 114d include a conductive absorbing material configured to absorb a current generated by the electromagnetic wave due to a resistance loss in the interior of the material, a dielectric wave absorbing material (for example, carbon) configured to use a dielectric loss caused by a polarizing response of molecules, a magnetic wave absorbing material (for example, iron, nickel, ferrite)" where a resin radome is materially distinct from a conductive material).
Okonogi and Iwai are considered analogous art as they both concern a radar apparatus. Okonogi’s absorbing layer is integrated with the cover as a part of its reflection-reducing function. Okonogi also discloses a radome/cover and absorbing material along the side that is a distinct component from the cover, but it does not specify the type of absorbing material. A resin radome would be useful because one of ordinary skill in the art can tune its dielectric constant so that the cover is invisible to radar, allowing the device to operate. Conductive and non-conductive absorbing materials are useful for absorbing light at wide ranging or specific frequencies and for being lightweight. Additionally, the combination of conducting and nonconducting materials can facilitate impedance matching which can reduce the unwanted reflections. Additionally, as Okonogi does not specify the type of absorber, adding in the different types of absorbers from Iwai helps the reader to recreate a working device. Iwai’s radome/cover material differing from the absorbing materials specifies that the absorbing materials creates a change in the material property of the cover. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okonogi with Iwai by using a dielectric material in the radome and conductive and nonconductive material in the absorbing layer to absorb unwanted waves from wide ranging and specific frequencies, to use relatively lightweight materials for the radar device, and to reduce reflections with impedance matching.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Okonogi and Iwai discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: in the radio-wave suppression portion, has a predetermined shape and is arrayed at a predetermined interval along at least one predetermined specific direction (Figure 4 element 54 where the protrusions are perpendicular (x axis direction according to Figure 1) from the plane of the antennas (y axis according to Figure 1); Paragraph 0019, "Furthermore, in another aspect, the millimeter-wave radar device according to the present invention is a millimeter-wave radar device comprising an antenna for transmitting and receiving radio waves and a radome covering the antenna, wherein the radome has a periodic structure on its surface on which a number of protrusions are periodically formed, and the periodic structure is configured to reduce reflected radio waves transmitted from the antenna that become side lobes"; Paragraph 0040, "As shown in FIG. 4, in the millimeter wave radar device 4 of this embodiment, a periodic structure 54 is disposed at the location where the radio wave absorber is disposed in FIG. The periodic structure 54 of this radome 31 has a number of rectangular prism-shaped protrusions 54a, 54b, 54c, 54d, etc. periodically formed on its surface, and is configured to reduce reflected radio waves that are transmitted from the antenna 10 and become side lobes"). Okonogi does not disclose that the absorbing material is conductive.
Iwai discloses
The absorbing material is conductive (Paragraph 0167, "Examples of the material of the electromagnetic wave absorbing material 114d include a conductive absorbing material configured to absorb a current generated by the electromagnetic wave due to a resistance loss in the interior of the material, a dielectric wave absorbing material (for example, carbon) configured to use a dielectric loss caused by a polarizing response of molecules, a magnetic wave absorbing material (for example, iron, nickel, ferrite)").
Okonogi and Iwai are considered analogous art as they both concern a radar apparatus. Okonogi discloses absorbing material along the side of the radome, but it does not specify the type of absorbing material. Conductive absorbing materials are useful for absorbing light at wide ranging frequencies which can mitigate unwanted sidelobes from the radar itself and unwanted signals from other sources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okonogi with Iwai by using a conductive material in the absorbers to absorb unwanted waves from wide ranging frequencies.
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Okonogi and Iwai discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 2, wherein: the radio-wave suppression portion has a plurality of protruding portions that have a shape that protrudes from the outer surface and a non-protruding portion that is a remaining portion of the outer surface excluding the protruding portions (Figure 4 element 54 and the cutout; Paragraph 0040, "As shown in FIG. 4, in the millimeter wave radar device 4 of this embodiment, a periodic structure 54 is disposed at the location where the radio wave absorber is disposed in FIG. The periodic structure 54 of this radome 31 has a number of rectangular prism-shaped protrusions 54a, 54b, 54c, 54d, etc. periodically formed on its surface, and is configured to reduce reflected radio waves that are transmitted from the antenna 10 and become side lobes"); the protruding portions are arrayed at a predetermined interval along the specific direction (Figure 4 element 54 and the cutout where the protrusions are perpendicular (x axis direction according to Figure 1) from the plane of the antennas (y axis according to Figure 1; Paragraph 0040, "As shown in FIG. 4, in the millimeter wave radar device 4 of this embodiment, a periodic structure 54 is disposed at the location where the radio wave absorber is disposed in FIG. The periodic structure 54 of this radome 31 has a number of rectangular prism-shaped protrusions 54a, 54b, 54c, 54d, etc. periodically formed on its surface, and is configured to reduce reflected radio waves that are transmitted from the antenna 10 and become side lobes"). Okonogi does not disclose and the conductive portion is provided in at least either of a surface of the protruding portions or the non-protruding portion.
Iwai discloses
The conductive portion is provided in at least either of a surface of the protruding portions or the non-protruding portion (Figure 18 element 114d; Paragraph 0166, "Separator 114 according to Embodiment 7 has an electromagnetic wave absorbing material 114d arranged between circuit board 111 and the inner wall surface of radar housing 114"; Paragraph 0167, "Examples of the material of the electromagnetic wave absorbing material 114d include a conductive absorbing material configured to absorb a current generated by the electromagnetic wave due to a resistance loss in the interior of the material, a dielectric wave absorbing material (for example, carbon) configured to use a dielectric loss caused by a polarizing response of molecules, a magnetic wave absorbing material (for example, iron, nickel, ferrite).
Okonogi and Iwai are considered analogous art as they both concern a radar apparatus. Okonogi discloses absorbing material along the side of the radome and it discloses a periodic protruding shape, but it does not specify the type of absorbing material. Conductive absorbing materials are useful for absorbing light at wide ranging frequencies which can mitigate unwanted sidelobes from the radar itself and unwanted signals from other sources. Absorptive material in the protrusions increases the surface area and the chances of unwanted signal being absorbed. As such, if the goal is to remove unwanted signal of a wide variety of frequencies it would be advantageous to put the conductive absorbing material in the protrusions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okonogi with Iwai by using a conductive absorbing material in the protruding structures to increase the chance of absorbing unwanted waves from wide ranging frequencies.
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Okonogi and Iwai discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 3 including protruding and non-protruding structures on a surface. Okonogi does not disclose wherein: the radio-wave suppression portion includes the conductive portion in both the surface of the protruding portions and the non-protruding portion.
Iwai discloses
Wherein: the radio-wave suppression portion includes the conductive portion in both the surface of the protruding portions and the non-protruding portion (Paragraph 0167, "Examples of the material of the electromagnetic wave absorbing material 114d include a conductive absorbing material configured to absorb a current generated by the electromagnetic wave due to a resistance loss in the interior of the material where the entire absorbing material can just be conductive).
Okonogi and Iwai are considered analogous art as they both concern a radar apparatus. Okonogi discloses absorbing material along the side of the radome and it discloses a periodic protruding shape, but it does not specify the type of absorbing material. Conductive absorbing materials are useful for absorbing light at wide ranging frequencies which can mitigate unwanted sidelobes from the radar itself and unwanted signals from other sources. As there are both protruding and non-protruding portions of the absorbing material it would be advantageous if both the protruding and non-protruding materials shared the same conductive material as that would be easier to manufacture. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okonogi with Iwai to make the protruding and non-protruding absorbing material all out of conductive material to make manufacturing easier.
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Okonogi and Iwai discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 3. Okonogi further discloses wherein: the interval of the protruding portions is an odd multiple of λ / 4 (Paragraph 0020, "Furthermore, the periodic structure is characterized in that it is configured to satisfy the relationship 2P=(n+1/2)λ, where P is the protrusion period, n is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and λ is the wavelength of the radio wave").
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Okonogi and Iwai discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 2. Okonogi further discloses wherein: the specific direction includes a predetermined first direction and a predetermined second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 4 element 54 and the cutout grid where the protrusions form a grid on the surface of the wall of the radome with one direction perpendicular (x axis direction according to Figure 1) from the plane of the antennas (y axis according to Figure 1) and the other direction of the protrusions goes in the z axis direction; FIG. 5 is a cross-sectional view showing the configuration of a main part of a fifth embodiment of a millimeter wave radar device according to the present invention. The fifth embodiment differs from the first embodiment in that an antenna that absorbs radio waves is provided instead of a radio wave absorber, but other configurations are the same as those of the first embodiment, so the same symbols are used and descriptions are omitted where instead of antennas it would be the absorbing protrusions).
Claims 5, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okonogi (JP2007057483A) in view of Iwai (US 20200101889 A1) further in view of Kirino (US 20110187614 A1) further in view of Patri (US 20180287262 A1).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Okonogi and Iwai discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 4 including an absorbing layer with protruding and non-protruding portions to the structure. The combination of Okonogi and Iwai does not disclose wherein: a protrusion height of the protruding portions is an odd multiple of λ / 4.
Kirino discloses
Wherein: a protrusion height of the protruding portions is an odd multiple of λ / 4 (Figure 4 elements 22, 24; Paragraph 0087, "Specifically, with the antenna apparatus 6 of this embodiment, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, a waffle iron structure comprising columnar protrusions with a height of approximately .lamda./4").
Okonogi and Kirino are considered analogous arts as they both concern radar devices. Okonogi discloses protruding structures but does not disclose their height. Part of the reason for the absorptive material along the sides of a radome is to reduce unwanted internal reflections. If the protruding structures where of λ / 4 height you could have a structure that both increases the chance of absorbing unwanted waves and creates a quarter wavelength matching layer. A quarter wavelength matching layer is good for reducing the reflections between two interfaces as noted in Patri, Paragraph 0139, "A perforated quarter wavelength matching layer may be provided on the both sides of the FPP to reduce the reflectivity to its minimum value” where the quarter wavelength layer creates destructive interference. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okonogi with Kirino to make the height of the protrusions λ / 4 to reduce unwanted reflections.
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Okonogi, Iwai, Kirino and Patri discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 5. Okonogi further discloses wherein: the interval of the protruding portions is an odd multiple of λ / 4 (Paragraph 0020, "Furthermore, the periodic structure is characterized in that it is configured to satisfy the relationship 2P=(n+1/2)λ, where P is the protrusion period, n is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and λ is the wavelength of the radio wave").
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Okonogi, Iwai, Kirino and Patri discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 6. Okonogi further discloses wherein: the specific direction includes a predetermined first direction and a predetermined second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 4 element 54 and the cutout grid where the protrusions form a grid on the surface of the wall of the radome with one direction perpendicular (x axis direction according to Figure 1) from the plane of the antennas (y axis according to Figure 1) and the other direction of the protrusions goes in the z axis direction; FIG. 5 is a cross-sectional view showing the configuration of a main part of a fifth embodiment of a millimeter wave radar device according to the present invention. The fifth embodiment differs from the first embodiment in that an antenna that absorbs radio waves is provided instead of a radio wave absorber, but other configurations are the same as those of the first embodiment, so the same symbols are used and descriptions are omitted where instead of antennas it would be the absorbing protrusions).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Okonogi and Iwai discloses
The radar apparatus according to claim 3. The combination of Okonogi and Iwai does not disclose wherein: a protrusion height of the protruding portions is an odd multiple of λ / 4.
Kirino discloses
Wherein: a protrusion height of the protruding portions is an odd multiple of λ / 4 (Figure 4 elements 22, 24; Paragraph 0087, "Specifically, with the antenna apparatus 6 of this embodiment, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, a waffle iron structure comprising columnar protrusions with a height of approximately .lamda./4").
Okonogi and Kirino are considered analogous arts as they both concern radar devices. Okonogi discloses protruding structures but does not disclose their height. Part of the reason for the absorptive material along the sides of a radome is to reduce unwanted internal reflections. If the protruding structures where of λ / 4 height you could have a structure that both increases the chance of absorbing unwanted waves and creates a quarter wavelength matching layer. A quarter wavelength matching layer is good for reducing the reflections between two interfaces as noted in Patri, Paragraph 0139, "A perforated quarter wavelength matching layer may be provided on the both sides of the FPP to reduce the reflectivity to its minimum value” where the quarter wavelength layer creates destructive interference. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okonogi with Kirino to make the height of the protrusions λ / 4 to reduce unwanted reflections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER DAVON DOZE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648