DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0193742).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses in figure 2::a display device (title) comprising: a first light emitting element diode (LE2/OL/UE2) and a second light emitting diode (LE3/OL/UE3) which are disposed on a first base substrate (110, ¶ [0054]); a bank layer (250, ¶ [0091]) disposed under a second base substrate (210, ¶ [0068]) facing the first base substrate (110) , including a first opening (LA2,¶ [0047) overlapping the first light emitting diode (LE2/OL/UE2) in a plan view and a second opening (LA3¶ [0047]) overlapping the second light emitting diode (LE3/OL/UE3) in a plan view, and having a first part (right ) and a second part (left) a transmitting layer (238a, ¶ [0090]) disposed inside the first opening (LA2) and a first color conversion layer (234c,¶ [0087]) disposed inside the second opening (LA3) , wherein the first part (right side of 250 in LA2) and the second part ( left side) have different thicknesses (the right side is thicker) in a thickness direction of the second base substrate (210) .
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses in figure 2: wherein a thickness of the first part is greater than a thickness of the second part in the thickness direction (the 250 that is directly above TR2 has a first part on the right that is thicker than the second part on the left side because 240 dips down).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses in figure 2: wherein the first part (on the right) is disposed adjacent to the first opening (LA2).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses in figure 2: further comprising: a color filter (222/224/226) (¶ [0069]) layer disposed under the second base substrate (210).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses in figure 5: further comprising: a low refractive layer (232a, resin, acrylic, 1.5, ¶ [0083]) disposed between the color filter layer (222/224/226) and the bank layer (250).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses in figure 5: further comprising: a capping layer (240, ¶ [0073]) disposed between the low refractive layer (232a) and the bank layer (250) (it dips down).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses in figure 2: A display device (title) comprising: a first light emitting diode (LE2/OL/UE2), a second light emitting diode (LE3/OL/UE3)), and a third light emitting diode (LE1/OL/UE1) [0054]) which are disposed on a first base substrate (110, ¶ [0054]); a bank layer (250, ¶ [0091])) disposed under a second base substrate (210,¶ [0068]) ) facing the first base substrate (110), and including a first opening (LA2) overlapping the first light emitting diode (LE2/OL/UE2) in a plan view, a second opening (LA3) overlapping the second light emitting diode LE3/OL/UE3) in a plan view, and a third opening (LA1) overlapping the third light emitting diode ((LE1/OL/UE1) in a plan view; a transmitting layer (238a, ¶ [0090]) disposed inside the first opening (LA2); a first color conversion layer (234c,¶ [0087]) disposed inside the second opening (LA3); and a second color conversion layer (232c, ¶ [0075]) disposed inside the third opening (LA1), wherein a thickness of the bank layer (250) disposed adjacent to the first opening (LA2) and a thickness of the bank layer (250) disposed adjacent to the third opening (LA1) are different from each other in a thickness direction of the second base substrate (210).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses in figure 2: wherein the thickness of the bank layer (250) disposed adjacent to the first opening (LA2) is greater than the thickness of the bank layer (250) disposed adjacent to the third opening (LA1).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses in figure 2: wherein the transmitting layer (238a) covers a portion of a lower surface of the bank layer (250) disposed adjacent to the first opening (LA2).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses in figure 2: wherein the transmitting layer (238a) includes a scatterer (238b, ¶ [0090]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses in figure 2: wherein the scatterer (238b) includes titanium dioxide (TiO2) (¶ [0085]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses in figure 2: wherein the first color conversion layer (234c) includes a first wavelength conversion particle (¶ [0087]), and the second color conversion layer (232c) includes a second wavelength conversion particle (¶ [0076]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses in figure 2: further comprising: a color filter layer (222/224/226) (¶ [0069]) disposed under the second base substrate (210).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses in figure 2: further comprising: a low refractive layer (232a, resin, acrylic, 1.5, ¶ [0083]) disposed between the color filter layer (222/224/226) and the bank layer (250).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses in figure 2: further comprising: a capping layer (240, ¶ [0073]) disposed between the low refractive layer (232a) and the bank layer (250) (it dips down).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 4, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 4, and specifically comprising the limitation of “wherein the bank layer further includes a dummy opening, and the second part is disposed adjacent to the dummy opening” including the remaining limitations
Regarding Claim 5, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 5, and specifically comprising the limitation of “wherein the transmitting layer covers the first part and a portion of a lower surface of the second part” including the remaining limitations.
Claims 6-8 are allowable, at least, because of their dependencies on claim 5.
Examiner Note: The first and second parts border different sub-pixels in Kim.
Lee et al (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0005672) listed on PTO-892 form also teaches most of the limitations of the rejected claims in figure 5:
CONTACT INFORMATION
/DONALD L RALEIGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875