DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The claim objections and 112 rejections have been addressed and are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/26 regarding the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant merely states that the prior art references do not teach the new limitations of an actuator for actuating the stature adjustment mechanism, the actuator being electric, nor an additional pedal arm. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Guering does teach an actuator (17) which is an electric motor used for actuating the stature adjustment mechanism. Watter is currently modified by this teaching in Guering to also be electrically actuated by an actuator. Further, both Guering and Watter disclose additional pedals with another pedal arm as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 states “the stature adjustment arm”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation.
All dependent claims not addressed above are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Guering et al (FR 3049574 A1) – translation provided.
For claim 1, Guering discloses a pedal mechanism for an aircraft, the pedal mechanism comprising:
a pedal arm 19 connectable to a pedal 12 at a pedal connection point 24, the pedal arm rotatable about a pedal arm rotation point 21 on translation of the pedal; and
a stature adjustment mechanism Fig. 3: adjustment system 15, including arm 16 and other components, the stature adjustment mechanism actuatable, during a stature adjustment process, to move the pedal arm rotation point Pg 6, second para: “Thus, the set of joints 13 (including in particular the pedal arms and the pedals) moves”; and
an actuator motorized adjustment arm with motor 17 for actuating the stature adjustment mechanism.
For claim 2, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the stature adjustment mechanism is configured to constrain the pedal arm rotation point 21 to follow a first path during the stature adjustment process constrained to follow a path as the arm 16 changes length.
For claim 3, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 2, wherein the stature adjustment mechanism comprises a stature adjustment arm 16, the stature adjustment arm rotatably connected to the pedal arm 19 at the pedal arm rotation point 21, the stature adjustment arm rotatably connected to a fixed point on the aircraft Fig. 3: at least indirectly connected to pivot point of 25, wherein the stature adjustment mechanism is actuatable to move the pedal arm rotation point 21 by rotating the stature adjustment arm about the fixed point Fig. 3: rotates about 25.
For claim 5, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the pedal arm comprises a pedal arm fixing point 23, wherein movement of the pedal arm fixing point is constrained during the stature adjustment process constrained by 26, thereby causing rotation of the pedal arm 19 around the pedal arm fixing point 23.
For claim 6, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 5, wherein the pedal arm comprises a pedal arm connection point 24, wherein the pedal arm rotation point 21 is between the pedal arm connection point 24 and the pedal arm fixing point 23.
For claim 7, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 6, wherein the pedal arm rotation point 21 is closer to the pedal arm fixing point 23 than to the pedal arm connection point 24.
For claim 8, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 5, further comprising:
a rod 26, the rod rotatably connected to the pedal arm at the pedal arm fixing point 23, the rod rotatably connected to a rod connector Pg 4, last para: “This rod 26 is connected, by its other end 27, in an articulated manner, to an upper end of a steering shaft” at a rod connector point left side of 23.
For claim 9, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 8, wherein the rod connector is fixed during the stature adjustment process Pg 6, second para: steering shaft and rod 26 remain while only the adjustment shaft 16 changes length.
For claim 10, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 8, further comprising:
a translation sensor Pg 4, last para: “steering position sensor” (not shown) configured to detect translation of the pedal, the translation sensor configured to output a translation signal in response to detecting the translation of the pedal Pg 4, second to last line: “The steering position sensor usually transforms the mechanical control representative of the rotation of the steering shaft into an electrical signal”;
wherein the translation sensor comprises the rod connector the steering shaft may be considered part of the translation sensor, as it is the connected structure that transmits the force and enable the sensor to function, the translation sensor configured to measure movement of the rod at the rod connector point to detect translation of the pedal detects movement of rod 26 which is controlled by translation of the pedal.
For claim 11, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 5, wherein the pedal arm is connectable able to be connected to an additional pedal Fig. 2: pedals 12 via the pedal arm fixing point 23, which connects to a fixing point on the other side via the connecting rods 26 and steering shaft shown in Fig. 4 at the right such that movement of the pedal of the pedal mechanism causes opposing movement of a pedal of the additional pedal using the steering shaft, Pg 4, last para.
For claim 12, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the pedal connection point comprises a pedal axle Fig. 3: rotation point of 24, the pedal axle fixed to the pedal arm such that rotation of the pedal arm causes rotation of the pedal axle rotation of 19 also rotates the pedal axle.
For claim 13, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the pedal arm rotation point 21 is fixed during an aircraft movement control process at least during flight of the aircraft, the pedal may not be touched at all and therefore 21 would remain fixed, but this also may be true during use of the pedals.
For claim 14, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising:
a cartridge arrangement, the cartridge arrangement comprising:
a pedal 12 rotationally connected to the pedal arm at the pedal connection point bottom of 19; and
a first rotation sensor component, the first rotation sensor component configured to interact with a second rotation sensor component of the pedal mechanism to permit rotation of the pedal to be detected Pg 4, last para: “this steering shaft is linked to a steering position sensor”; the steering shaft being a first sensor component which interacts with the second component – the position sensor.
For claim 15, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising: a second pedal arm connectable to a second pedal at a second pedal connection point, the second pedal arm rotatable about a second pedal arm rotation point on translation of the second pedal, the stature adjustment mechanism actuatable, during the stature adjustment process, to move the second pedal arm rotation point second components relating to other pedal 12 are present on the other side, with the adjustment mechanism moving both sides.
For claim 16, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the actuator is an electrical actuator Pg 5, para 6: “the motor 17 is an electric motor”.
For claim 17, Guering discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, comprising an additional pedal arm arm 19 for other pedal 12 (only one shown in Fig. 3) connected to a stature adjustment arm at an additional pedal arm rotation point at rotation point 21 of other pedal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watter (US 2424523 A) in view of Guering.
For claim 1, Watter discloses a pedal mechanism for an aircraft, the pedal mechanism comprising:
a pedal arm 42 connectable to a pedal 14 at a pedal connection point at bottom of 42, the pedal arm rotatable about a pedal arm rotation point axis of 37 on translation of the pedal; and
a stature adjustment mechanism pedestal 23, the stature adjustment mechanism actuatable, during a stature adjustment process 23 rotatable around pivot 24, to move the pedal arm rotation point Fig. 5-6: movement shown in dashed lines.
Watter does not disclose how the stature adjustment mechanism is to be moved and therefore fails to disclose an actuator for actuating the stature adjustment mechanism. Watter does disclose that the pedestal 23 can be moved to the forward or rear position but does not provide details of what is to cause the movement.
However, Guering teaches an adjustable pedal mechanism with an actuator motorized adjustment arm with electric motor 17 for actuating the stature adjustment mechanism Fig. 3. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Watter by using an actuator for moving the pedals as disclosed by Guering. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that “the pilot does not have to manually adjust the position of his pedals. This reduces his workload and increases his comfort in connection with the cockpit when taking office” (Guering, Pg 5, para 4).
For claim 2, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the stature adjustment mechanism is configured to constrain the pedal arm rotation point to follow a first path during the stature adjustment process Fig. 5-6: movement shown in dashed lines.
For claim 3, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 2, wherein the stature adjustment mechanism comprises a stature adjustment arm 23, the stature adjustment arm rotatably connected to the pedal arm 42 at the pedal arm rotation point 37, the stature adjustment arm rotatably connected to a fixed point on the aircraft pivot point 24, wherein the stature adjustment mechanism is actuatable to move the pedal arm rotation point by rotating the stature adjustment arm about the fixed point Fig. 5-6.
For claim 4, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 3, wherein the fixed point is positioned below the pedal arm rotation point Fig. 5-6.
For claim 5, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the pedal arm comprises a pedal arm fixing point connecting link 53, which functions to fix the pedal in a vertical orientation during the adjustment process, wherein movement of the pedal arm fixing point is constrained during the stature adjustment process constrained to follow a path during adjustment, thereby causing rotation of the pedal arm around the pedal arm fixing point Fig. 5-6: during rotation the pedal arm 42 and link 53 rotate relative to one another.
For claim 6, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 5, wherein the pedal arm comprises a pedal arm connection point point where arm 42 connects to pedal 14, wherein the pedal arm rotation point 37 is between the pedal arm connection point and the pedal arm fixing point kinematically located between.
For claim 7, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 6, wherein the pedal arm rotation point 37 is closer to the pedal arm fixing point 53 than to the pedal arm connection point point between 42 and 14.
For claim 11, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 5, wherein the pedal arm is connectable able to be connected to an additional pedal pedal 13 via the pedal arm fixing point such that movement of the pedal of the pedal mechanism causes opposing movement of a pedal of the additional pedal using equalizing level 56.
For claim 12, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the pedal connection point comprises a pedal axle axle of pedal 14 at its connection to arm 42, the pedal axle fixed to the pedal arm such that rotation of the pedal arm causes rotation of the pedal axle rotation of 42 about 37 also rotates the pedal axle about 37.
For claim 13, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the pedal arm rotation point 37 is fixed during an aircraft movement control process at least during flight of the aircraft, the pedal may not be touched at all and therefore 37 would remain fixed, but this also may be true during use of the pedals.
For claim 14, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising:
a cartridge arrangement, the cartridge arrangement comprising:
a pedal 14 rotationally connected to the pedal arm at the pedal connection point bottom of 42; and
a first rotation sensor component, the first rotation sensor component configured to interact with a second rotation sensor component of the pedal mechanism to permit rotation of the pedal to be detected “It will be apparent that movement of each pedal about its pivotal support will operate the associated crank arm 19 or 36 and, through the links 18 and 35 and rods 11 and 12, actuate the brake mechanism”; any of the components in that chain may be considered a “rotation sensor component” as they sense and transmit the rotation and allow for it to be detected.
For claim 15, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising: a second pedal arm connectable to a second pedal at a second pedal connection point, the second pedal arm rotatable about a second pedal arm rotation point on translation of the second pedal, the stature adjustment mechanism actuatable, during the stature adjustment process, to move the second pedal arm rotation point second components relating to other pedal 13 are present on the other side, with the adjustment mechanism moving both sides.
For claim 16, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the actuator is an electrical actuator as modified by Guering Pg 5, para 6: “the motor 17 is an electric motor”.
For claim 17, Watter discloses the pedal mechanism according to claim 1, comprising an additional pedal arm arm 42 for other pedal 12 connected to a stature adjustment arm at an additional pedal arm rotation point at axis 37 on other side.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLIN ZOHOORI/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642