DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are amended.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding Rajavelu in view of Yamamoto (claims 1, 19) and Rajavelu in view of Ohara (claim 15). Applicant argues (regarding claim 1) that Rajavelu leads away from the combination because it suggests changes in light transmittance will cause substrate temperature non-uniformity.
Examiner disagrees, and notes that Rajavelu appears to suggest that extreme changes would cause substrate non-uniformity ("much thicker" and "great extent" were exact phrasing that would lead to non-uniformity), and Applicant's claim only mentions "changes" which appears to suggest non-extreme changes. Additionally, Yamamoto is teaching about changing surface roughness, not thickness.
Applicant argues (claim 1) that Yamamoto is directed to an optical element and not all related to the claim limitations.
Examiner notes that Rajavelu already teaches the ribs (which are optical/transparent/translucent elements) so Yamamoto does not need to re-teach an optical element. Yamamoto is relied upon to teach changing surface roughness on an optical/transparent element to control for light transmittance.
Applicant argues (claim 15) that Ohara does not teach a plate that is between a light source and a rib, and that UV filtering is not blocking light.
Examiner disagrees, and notes that Applicant has not specified what kind of light is blocked (or any range thereof), thus Ohara reads on the claim, in the aspect of blocking light that isn't UV. Also, Ohara does not need to reteach a rib (which is a direct part of an outside wall of a chamber). Thus Ohara reads on the claim, because it teaches a plate that is between a light source and a chamber.
Due to the explanations above, Applicant’s arguments are rendered not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180363139 to Rajavelu in view of US 20150192702 to Yamamoto.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-13: Rajavelu discloses (claim 1) a wafer processing apparatus comprising: a chamber (100 [reaction chamber], Fig.1) providing an internal space (inside 100, Fig. 2); and a first rib (one upper 116 [rib]) on an outer side of a first sidewall (102 [upper wall]) of the chamber (100), wherein an outer side of the first rib (upper 116) includes a first portion (upper surface of upper 116) and a second portion (another portion of upper 116); (claim 3) wherein the first portion (upper surface of upper 116) is an upper surface of the first rib (upper surface of upper 116), and the second portion (another portion of upper 116) is at least a portion of a side of the first rib (another portion of upper 116);
(claims 8, 9) further comprising: a second rib (another upper 116, Fig. 1-2) spaced apart from the first rib (one upper 116) on the outer side of the first sidewall (102) of the chamber (100), wherein an outer side of the second rib (another upper 116) includes a third portion (upper surface of upper 116) and a fourth portion (another portion of another upper 116); (claim 11) a second rib (lower 118, Fig. 1-2) on an outer side of a second sidewall (104 [lower wall]) of the chamber (100); (claim 12) wherein the outer side of the second rib (lower 118) includes a third portion (lower surface of lower 118) and a fourth portion (another portion of lower 118).
However Rajavelu does not disclose (claim 1) and a light transmittance of the first portion is different from a light transmittance of the second portion; (claim 2) wherein a surface roughness of the first portion is different from a surface roughness of the second portion; (claim 4) wherein light transmittance of the first portion is smaller than that of the second portion; (claim 6) wherein light transmittance of the first portion is smaller than that of the second portion; (claim 8) a light transmittance of the third portion is different from a light transmittance of the fourth portion; (claim 9) and a light transmittance of the third portion is equal to a light transmittance of the fourth portion; (claim 12) and a light transmittance of the third portion is different from a light transmittance of the fourth portion; (claim 13) wherein a surface roughness of the third portion is different from a surface roughness of the fourth portion.
Yamamoto teaches multiple substrates that have different types of surface roughness, which shows the relationship between wavelength and light transmittance for those different surface roughness (para. [0073]), where the light transmittance is different for different surface roughness, and transmittance of the substrate having a fine surface roughness is higher than that of the substrate without fine surface roughness (para. [0077-0078]) for the purpose of manufacturing elements to have varied surface roughness for desired transmittance (para. [0107]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yamamoto with motivation to manufacture elements to have varied surface roughness for desired transmittance.
Claim 5: The apparatus of Rajavelu in view of Yamamoto discloses wherein the first portion (upper surface of upper 116, Fig. 1-2, Rajavelu) is an upper surface of the first rib (upper surface of upper 116) and an upper region of the outer side of the first rib (upper surface of outer side of upper 116), the upper region of the outer side of the first rib (upper surface of outer side of upper 116) is connected to the upper surface of the first rib (upper surface of upper 116), the second portion (lower surface of outer side of upper 116) is a lower region of the outer side of the first rib (lower surface of outer side of upper 116), and the lower region of the outer side of the first rib (lower surface of outer side of upper 116) is connected to the first sidewall of the chamber (102 of 100).
Claim 10: The apparatus of Rajavelu in view of Yamamoto discloses further comprising: a lamp (204 [radiant heating lamps], Fig. 2, Rajavelu) on the outer side of the first sidewall of the chamber (102 of 100), wherein the first rib (upper 116) overlaps the lamp (204, Fig. 3B), and the second rib (another upper 116) does not overlap the lamp (see para. [0036] where the lamps can be positioned to overlap or not overlap any of the ribs).
Claim 14: The apparatus of Rajavelu in view of Yamamoto discloses further comprising: a lamp (208 [radiant heating lamps], Fig. 2, Rajavelu) on the outer side of the second sidewall (outer side of 104), wherein the lamp (208) does not overlap the second rib (see para. [0036] where the lamps can be positioned to overlap or not overlap any of the ribs).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajavelu in view of Yamamoto as applied to claims 1-6, 8-14 above, and further in view of US 20150044877 to Ohtake.
Claim 7: The apparatus of Rajavelu in view of Yamamoto does not disclose wherein at least a portion of the second portion is concave.
However Ohtake discloses a plate with ribs (18b, Fig. 4) wherein at least a portion of the second portion is concave (181 [recessed portion] for the purpose of having higher transmittance at portions where the recesses are (para. [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concave portion as taught by Ohtake with motivation to have higher transmittance at portions where the recesses are.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180363139 to Rajavelu in view of US 20060165904 to Ohara.
Claims 15-18: Rajavelu discloses a wafer processing apparatus comprising: a chamber (100 [reaction chamber], Fig.1) providing an internal space (inside 100, Fig. 2); a first rib (one upper 116 [rib]) on an outer side of a first sidewall (102 [upper wall]) of the chamber (100); a first light source (204 [radiant heating lamps], Fig. 2) on the outer side of the first sidewall of the chamber (102 of 100).
However Rajavelu does not disclose (claim 15) a plate between the first light source and the first rib, wherein the plate includes a first region and a second region, the first region of the plate blocks light provided to the first rib, and the second region transmits the light provided to the first rib; (claim 16) wherein the first region is on the upper surface of the first rib; (claim 17) wherein the first region includes a pattern; (claim 18) wherein the plate includes quartz.
Ohara discloses (claim 15) a plate (9 [filter], Fig. 2) between the first light source (8 [UV emitter]) and the chamber (6a [lower chamber]), wherein the plate (9) includes a first region (top center) and a second region (top edge), the first region (top center) of the plate (9) blocks light provided to the chamber (6a, Fig. 5A), and the second region (top edge) transmits the light provided to the chamber (6a, para.[0097]); (claim 16) wherein the first region (top center) is on the upper surface of the chamber (6a); (claim 17) wherein the first region includes a pattern (para. [0099]); (claim 18) wherein the plate (9) includes quartz (para. [0100]); Ohara discloses this for the purpose of changing and controlling the amount of illumination onto the substrate (para. [0098], [0135]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings above of Ohara with motivation to change and control the amount of illumination onto the substrate.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180363139 to Rajavelu in view of US 20150192702 to Yamamoto.
Claims 19-20: Rajavelu discloses (claim 19) a wafer processing apparatus comprising: a chamber (100 [reaction chamber], Fig.1) providing an internal space (inside 100, Fig. 2); a plurality of first ribs (plurality of upper 116’s) on an outer side of a first sidewall (102 [upper wall]) of the chamber (100); a plurality of first lamps (204 [radiant heating lamps], Fig. 2) on the outer side of the first sidewall of the chamber (102 of 100); a plurality of second ribs (plurality of lower 118’s) on an outer side of a second sidewall (104 [lower wall]) of the chamber (100); and a plurality of second lamps (208 [radiant heating lamps], Fig. 2) on the outer side of the second sidewall of the chamber (104 of 100), wherein at least one outer side of the plurality of first ribs includes a first portion (upper surface of upper 116) and a second portion (another portion of upper 116).
However Rajavelu does not disclose (claim 19) and a light transmittance of the first portion is different from a light transmittance of the second portion; (claim 20) wherein a surface roughness of the first portion is different from a surface roughness of the second portion.
Yamamoto teaches multiple substrates that have different types of surface roughness, which shows the relationship between wavelength and light transmittance for those different surface roughness (para. [0073]), where the light transmittance is different for different surface roughness, and transmittance of the substrate having a fine surface roughness is higher than that of the substrate without fine surface roughness (para. [0077-0078]) for the purpose of manufacturing elements to have varied surface roughness for desired transmittance (para. [0107]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yamamoto with motivation to manufacture elements to have varied surface roughness for desired transmittance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718