DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10-15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kyleman et al. (US 2023/0028302).
(1) regarding claims 1 and 11:
Kyleman ‘302 discloses a method for digital document exchange (paragraph [0062], systems for managing electronic documents), comprising:
receiving, by a document exchange computer program, a document (paragraph [0063], where a document is received electronically);
ingesting, by the document exchange computer program, the document (paragraph [0109] and [0113], where the documents that are received are processed and digested);
identifying, by the document exchange computer program, a folder for the document (paragraph [0072]-[0073], [0109], and [0114], where using information from he received document a folder is identified for storing the document based on the permissions of the document);
storing, by the document exchange computer program, the document in the folder (paragraph [0072]-[0073], [0109], and [0114], where using information from he received document a folder is identified for storing the document based on the permissions of the document);
identifying, by the document exchange computer program, a target for the document (paragraph [0109] and [0128], where based on the permissions of the received document, a destination is determined (target)); and
notifying, by the document exchange computer program, the target that the document was received (paragraph [0109] and [0128], where a display shows the document to the user with the right permissions, thus notifying of the received document at the same time).
(2) regarding claims 2 and 12:
Kyleman ‘302 further discloses wherein the step of ingesting the document comprises: performing optical character recognition on the document (paragraph [0068], [0109], and [0147], where OCR is performed on the received document).
(3) regarding claims 3 and 13:
Kyleman ‘302 further discloses wherein the step of ingesting the document comprises: determining, by the document exchange computer program, that the document comprises relevant data (paragraph [0080] and [0109], where the document is analyzed and determined to be of a particular relevance).
(4) regarding claims 4 and 14:
Kyleman ‘302 further discloses wherein the step of ingesting the document further comprises: determining, by the document exchange computer program, that the document is complete (paragraph [0067], when multiple documents are received, each document is separated into individual files by checking on markers that identify a complete document from another).
(5) regarding claims 5 and 15:
Kyleman ‘302 further discloses updating, by the document exchange computer program, a checklist to reflect receipt of the document (paragraph [0105]-[0107], where documents are organized in a database in accordance with its characteristics, and as new documents are received an updated entry on the database will be generated naturally).
(6) regarding claims 7 and 17:
Kyleman ‘302 further discloses wherein the folder is identified based on a subject of the document, a party to the document, and/or a submitter of the document (paragraph [0072]-[0073], [0109], and [0114], where the folder is identified based on the permissions granted to the users that could access it, thus related to the party of the document).
(7) regarding claims 10 and 20:
Kyleman ‘302 further discloses wherein the document exchange computer program predicts the target using a machine learning system (paragraph [0076]-[0078], where a machine learning model can be used to predict the permissions categories, thus determining the target intended).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyleman et al. (US 2023/0028302) in view of Feng et al. (US 2019/0250780).
(1) regarding claims 8 and 18:
Kyleman ‘302 discloses all the subject matter as described above except comparing, by the document exchange computer program, the document to a prior version of the document to identify a change; and
providing, by the document exchange computer program, the change to the target.
However, Feng ‘780 teaches comparing, by the document exchange computer program, the document to a prior version of the document to identify a change (paragraph [0016], where a document is compared to its previous version and changes to the document are identified); and
providing, by the document exchange computer program, the change to the target (paragraph [0016], where a notification of the changes to the document is shown to the user (target)).
Having a system of Feng ‘780 reference and then given the well-established teaching of Kyleman ‘302 reference, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kyleman ‘302 to include the limitations as taught by Feng ‘780 because it improves efficiency by only notifying users of changes that the user is determined to be interested in without the user receiving notifications for each action taken to each of the components in the collaborative document (paragraph [0016]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A. Claims 6 and 16 disclose the unique and distinct limitations of “wherein the document exchange computer program generates the checklist using a trained machine learning engine that is trained to predict documents required for a transaction type”, either alone or in combination, the applied prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter.
B. Claims 9 and 19 disclose the unique and distinct limitations of “determining, by the document exchange computer program and using a large language model, an importance of the change; and providing, by the document exchange computer program, the importance of the change to the target”, either alone or in combination, the applied prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
/LENNIN R RODRIGUEZGONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683