DETAILED ACTION
Response
See the new rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang, US 2016/0377513 A1, in view of Katsumoto, US 2017/0212097 A1.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang, US 2016/0377513 A1.
Claim 1: Chang discloses
a first layer (1010) in which a modified region (1050/250) is formable;
“the first weakening structure 250 having a high aspect ratio is formed by plasma etching and such dry etching technique. Of course, in other embodiments, the etching step here may be replaced by the stealth laser cutting technique of U.S. Pat. No. 6,992,026 or partial ion implantation and heat treatment and such related modification method.” [0044].
a second layer (identified as 230 in FIG. 1B) that is a in which the modified region is not formed;
and a third layer (1020) that is a layer in which the modified region is formable,
a hollow portion (1040) defined between the first layer and the second layer;
wherein a part of the second layer facing the concave portion is removed (FIG. 10).
Claim 1 recites a plurality of terminals aligned in the hollow portion. In the summary of the invention, Chang discloses that the disclosed sample holder “may be suitable for … contact probes for electrical testing.” ([0014].) This would require problems (terminals) to be in the hollow portion to electrically test the sample. While Chang does not disclose the details of this, Katsumoto discloses a sample holder with a hollow portion (101) with a plurality of terminals (E) aligned in the hollow portion for electrically measuring the sample ([0046], FIG. 1B). It would have been obvious to have had such terminals in Chang to accomplish the stated purpose of electrical testing. Note that the terminals are aligned along a horizontal line in FIG. 1B.
Claim 2: the second layer includes a first portion that faces the hollow portion and that defines a region of the hollow portion and a second portion that does not face the hollow portion, and the part of the second layer is a part of the first portion.
Note that “the part of the second layer is a part of the first portion”, referring to “the part of the second layer is a part of the first portion” from claim 1. This is a product-by-process limitation, which only requires the resulting structure, which in this case is a place where there is no second layer but there could have been a second layer before.
Claim 3: removal of the part of the second layer exposes the third layer to the hollow portion.
Note that “the part of the second layer is a part of the first portion”, referring to “the part of the second layer is a part of the first portion” from claim 1. This is a product-by-process limitation, which only requires the resulting structure, which in this case is a place where there is no second layer but there could have been a second layer before.
Claim 4 recites that “in a case where a direction in which a plurality of terminals are aligned in the hollow portion is referred to as X direction, a thickness direction of the stacked wafer is referred to as Z direction, and a direction orthogonal to the X direction and the Z direction is referred to as Y direction, the part of the second layer is removed along a dicing line in the X direction.” This claim does not affirmatively recite a plurality of terminals aligned this way, but states what would be the case “in case where” there are such terminals. Thus, this is optional under claim 4, and thus does not distinguish over Chang.
Claim 5 recites that “in a case where a direction in which a plurality of terminals are aligned in the hollow portion is referred to as X direction, a thickness direction of the stacked wafer is referred to as Z direction, and a direction orthogonal to the X direction and the Z direction is referred to as Y direction, a distance between an end portion of a region of the hollow portion and the part of the second layer in the Y direction is a predetermined distance.” This claim does not affirmatively recite a plurality of terminals aligned this way, but states what would be the case “in case where” there are such terminals. Thus, this is optional under claim 5, and thus does not distinguish over Chang.
Claim 6 recites that the second layer includes a Silicon On Insulator (SOI) layer and an oxide film, and the SOI layer is removed by removal of the part of the second layer. This is a product-by-process limitation. The structure includes a wafer 1020 with second layer (230) on it, which may be silicon oxide ([0036]). The remaining element, an SOI layer, would be removed in the method of claim 6, and thus the structure of Chang can correspond to the resulting structure.
Claim 7 recites that the oxide film is removed by removal of the part of the second layer. The resulting structure is that oxide film is removed. The examiner interprets claim 7 to encompass that the oxide film can be part or all of the second layer. Alternatively, claim 7 could correspond to a case in which the top of 230 is the second layer, and a bottom of 230 would be the oxide film of an SOI. In either case, the structure of Chang could correspond to the resulting structure of claim 7.
Claim 8 recites that the oxide film is not removed by removal of the part of the second layer. This can read on a case in which the layer 226 (see FIG. 3A) corresponds to the oxide film of the SOI layer, which is not removed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Katsumoto and Yuk, US 2020/0240933 A1. Yuk discloses cover layers 160 and 260 which are to protect the device ([0067], [0075]). It would have been obvious to have had such layers in Chang for this purpose. In Chang in view of Yuk, this plurality of layers would not be removed, would not face the hollow portion, and would not have the modified region, as the modified region 1050 is formed in the central part of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claim 11 recites “the removal region forms a groove that is recessed from a surface of the second layer facing the hollow portion toward the third layer in a stacking direction in which the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer are stacked”, which is not disclosed by Chang.
the removal region forms a groove that is recessed from a surface of the second layer facing the hollow portion toward the third layer in a stacking direction in which the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer are stacked.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897