DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the phrase “at least one of Ring A, Ring M, Ar1, and Ar1’. Applicants are advised to amend this phrase to recite “at least one of Ring A, Ring M, Ar1, or Ar1’ Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 recites the phrase “at least one of Ring A, Ring M, Ar1, and Ar1’. Applicants are advised to amend this phrase to recite “at least one of Ring A, Ring M, Ar1, or Ar1’ Appropriate correction is required
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites the phrase “at least one of Ring A, Ring M, Ar1, and Ar1’. Applicants are advised to amend this phrase to recite “at least one of Ring A, Ring M, Ar1, or Ar1’ Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 2015/0236274).
Regarding claim 1, Hatakeyama et al discloses the following organic light emitting device (Figure 1):
,
where in order of stacking: layer 102 corresponds to the recited first electrode; the hole injection (103) and hole transport (104) layers correspond to the recited hole transport region; layer 105 corresponds to the recited light emitting layer; the electron transport (106) and electron injection (107) layers correspond to the recited electron transport region; and the negative electrode (108) corresponds to the recited second electrode ([0104]).
The light emitting layer comprises the following compound ([0118]-[0119] and [0013] – Formula (1)):
,
where ring A is an aryl ring such as a benzene ring ([0059]-[0060]); ring B is a heteroaryl ring such as a benzofuran ring ([0061]-[0062]); ring C is an aryl ring such as a benzene ring ([0059]-[0060]); Y1 is boron ([0015]); and X1 and X2 are N-R, where R is an aryl such as benzene ([0016] and [0071]). The reference further discloses that at least one hydrogen atom in rings A, B, and C may be substituted with a primary substituent ([0014]); and that the aryl groups in the moiety N-R may also be substituted with secondary substituents ([0016]). As the primary substituent for rings A, B, and C, the reference discloses alkyls such as tert-butyl ([0059]-[0065]). The R, in N-R can be substituted with secondary substituents such as alkyls, e.g. tert-butyl ([0071], [0068], and [0065]).
This compound corresponds to the polycyclic compound represented by Formula 4:
where Ar1 and Ar1’ are phenyl groups, i.e. C6 aryl groups; ring B is a benzene ring; i.e. a C6 aryl; and Z is B. Ring M is a benzene ring, i.e. C6 aryl. Ring A is a benzofuran ring and corresponds to Formula 2 of the claims:
where X is a direct bond; Y is O; and R1 and R2 combine to form a benzene ring, i.e. an aromatic ring. Accordingly, ring A is a benzofuran ring and ring M is not a furan, a thiophene, a benzofuran or a benzothiophene as required by the present claims. Furthermore, from the discussion above, Rings A,B, and M, and the groups Ar1 and Ar1’ are substituted with a tert-butyl group as recited in the present claims.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the compound is a thermally activated delayed fluorescence compound ([0046]). Given that the compound is utilized in the light emitting layer of the organic light emitting device ([0118]-[0119]), it is clear that the light emitting layer is necessarily configured to emit delayed fluorescence as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 3, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the compound is a thermally activated delayed fluorescence compound ([0046]). Given that the compound is utilized in the light emitting layer of the organic light emitting device ([0118]-[0119]), it is clear that the light emitting layer is necessarily a thermally activated delayed fluorescence emission layer as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 4, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. The reference does not explicitly disclose that the emission layer is configured to emit blue light. However, given that the reference discloses an emission layer comprising a compound encompassed by the present claims, it is the Office’s position that the light emitting layer disclosed by the reference necessarily emits blue light.
The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. emission of blue light, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position; and (2) it would be the Office's position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claim 5, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Z is B.
Regarding claim 6, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the positive and negative electrodes, i.e. the recited first and second electrodes, are silver (Ag) or gold (Au) ([0110] and [0258]).
Regarding claim 7, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following organic light emitting device:
,
where layer 103 is the hole injection layer on the first electrode (102) and layer 104 is the hole transport layer on the hole injection layer (103).
Regarding claim 8, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the hole injection layer has a thickness of 10 nm, i.e. 100 Å, within the recited range of about 30 to about 1,000 Å (Page 181 – Table 2). The hole transport layer has a thickness of 30 nm, i.e. 300 Å, within the recited range of about 10 to about 1,000 Å (Page 181 – Table 2).
Regarding claim 9, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following organic light emitting device:
,
where layer 106 is the electron transport layer on the light emitting layer (105) and layer 107 is the electron injection layer on the electron transport layer (106).
Regarding claim 11, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that light emitting layer has a thickness of 30 nm, i.e. 300 Å, within the recited range of about 100 to about 600 Å (Page 181 – Table 2).
Regarding claim 12, Hatakeyama discloses the following compound ([0013] – Formula (1)):
,
where ring A is an aryl ring such as a benzene ring ([0059]-[0060]); ring B is a heteroaryl ring such as a benzofuran ring ([0061]-[0062]); ring C is an aryl ring such as a benzene ring ([0059]-[0060]); Y1 is boron ([0015]); and X1 and X2 are N-R, where R is an aryl such as benzene ([0016] and [0071]). The reference further discloses that at least one hydrogen atom in rings A, B, and C may be substituted with a primary substituent ([0014]); and that the aryl groups in the moiety N-R may also be substituted with secondary substituents ([0016]). As the primary substituent for rings A, B, and C, the reference discloses alkyls such as tert-butyl ([0059]-[0065]). The R, in N-R can be substituted with secondary substituents such as alkyls, e.g. tert-butyl ([0071], [0068], and [0065]).
This compound corresponds to the polycyclic compound represented by Formula 4:
where Ar1 and Ar1’ are phenyl groups, i.e. C6 aryl groups; ring B is a benzene ring; i.e. a C6 aryl; and Z is B. Ring M is a benzene ring, i.e. C6 aryl. Ring A is a benzofuran ring and corresponds to Formula 2 of the claims:
where X is a direct bond; Y is O; and R1 and R2 combine to form a benzene ring, i.e. an aromatic ring. Accordingly, ring A is a benzofuran ring and ring M is not a furan, a thiophene, a benzofuran or a benzothiophene as required by the present claims. Furthermore, from the discussion above, Rings A,B, and M, and the groups Ar1 and Ar1’ are substituted with a tert-butyl group as recited in the present claims.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Z is B.
Regarding claim 14, Hatakeyama discloses the following compound ([0013] – Formula (1)):
,
where ring A is an aryl ring such as a benzene ring ([0059]-[0060]); ring B is a heteroaryl ring such as a benzofuran ring ([0061]-[0062]); ring C is an aryl ring such as a benzene ring ([0059]-[0060]); Y1 is boron ([0015]); and X1 and X2 are N-R, where R is an aryl such as benzene ([0016] and [0071]). The reference further discloses that at least one hydrogen atom in rings A, B, and C may be substituted with a primary substituent ([0014]); and that the aryl groups in the moiety N-R may also be substituted with secondary substituents ([0016]). As the primary substituent for rings A, B, and C, the reference discloses alkyls such as tert-butyl ([0059]-[0065]). The R, in N-R can be substituted with secondary substituents such as alkyls, e.g. tert-butyl ([0071], [0068], and [0065]).
This compound corresponds to the polycyclic compound represented by Formula 4:
where Ar1 and Ar1’ are phenyl groups, i.e. C6 aryl groups; ring B is a benzene ring; i.e. a C6 aryl; and Z is B. Ring M is a benzene ring, i.e. C6 aryl. Ring A is a benzofuran ring and corresponds to Formula 2 of the claims:
where X is a direct bond; Y is O; and R1 and R2 combine to form a benzene ring, i.e. an aromatic ring. Accordingly, ring A is a benzofuran ring and ring M is not a furan, a thiophene, a benzofuran or a benzothiophene as required by the present claims. Furthermore, from the discussion above, Rings A,B, and M, and the groups Ar1 and Ar1’ are substituted with a tert-butyl group as recited in the present claims.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 2018/0094000) as applied to claims 1-9 and 11-14 above, and in view of the reference presented in Jou (US 2010/0051997).
The discussion with respect to Hatakeyama et al as set forth in Paragraph 8 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 10, Hatakeyama et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the electron transport layer has a thickness of 50 nm, i.e. 500 Å, within the recited range of about 100 to about 1,000 Å (Page 181 – Table 2). The organic light emitting device further comprises a 1 nm, i.e. 10 Å, thick layer of LiF between the electron transport layer and the second electrode (Page 181 – Table 2). While the reference does not disclose the layer of LiF as an electron transport layer, as evidenced by Paragraph [0040] of Jou, the electron injection layer is typically made of an electron injection material such as LiF. Accordingly, it is clear that Hatakeyama et al discloses an electron injection layer with a thickness of 1 nm, i.e. 10 Å, within the recited range of about 1 to about 100 Å
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As evidence of unexpected results of the claimed compounds (see Remarks filed on 10/6/2025), Applicants point to Inventive Examples 5 to 6 which utilize Inventive Compounds 1 and 9, i.e.
and
and compare these inventive examples to Comparative Example 1 which utilizes Comparative Compound R-1, i.e.
.
However, while the comparison of the inventive to comparative examples is a proper side-by-side comparison, it is significant to note that the inventive examples are outside the scope of the present claims for the following reasons. As amended, claims 1, 12, and 14 require that rings A,B, and M are substituted aryls or heteroaryls, where Ar1 and Ar1’ and rings A and M are each substituted with an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms and at least one of ring A, ring M, Ar1 or Ar1’ is substituted with a tert-butyl group. However, inventive Compounds 1 and 9 do not possess any alkyl substituents. Accordingly, the above inventive compounds are outside the scope of the present claims.
Furthermore, it is noted that if Applicants’ intentions were to further point to Inventive Examples 1, 2, 3, and 4, presented in Table 1 (Pages 45-46) of the instant Specification, the following should be noted.
Inventive Example 1 utilizes Compound 8:
;
Inventive Example 2 utilizes Compound 10:
;
Inventive Example 3 utilizes Compound 11:
; and
Inventive Example 12 utilizes Compound 12:
.
While these compounds possess substituents encompassed by the present claims, i.e. alkyl substituents, these compounds do not possess a tert-butyl group as currently required by the claims. Accordingly, these examples fall outside the scope of the present claims.
Applicants argue that the addition of the feature that Ring A, Ring M, Ar1 and Ar1’ are each substituted with an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms and at least one of ring A, Ring M, Ar1 or Ar1’ is substituted with a tert-butyl group should be in line with what was discussed during the interview of 9/24/205. However, it is noted that during the interview the Examiner suggested that the claims could be amended to recite substituents that are not disclosed by Hatakeyama, see Interview Summary mailed on 10/1/2025, and for the reasons discussed in the rejection above, Hatakeyama remains applicable against the present claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786