DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SEI (US 2020/0130320).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, the allowance of these claims is withdrawn. Upon further consideration the first substrate, second substrate, the protective tape and release tape do not limit the apparatus. As clearly outlined in MPEP 2115 a material or article worked upon does not limit an apparatus claim (see in particular In re Casey 152 USPQ 235). Claims 1 and 9 are thus teaching a hot plate or stamp which comprises a protrusion between a first end of a first side and a second end of the first side. SEI teaches a hot plate 26B which has protrusions between a first end of a first side and a second end of a first side (fig. 3; para. 80), thereby anticipating the claims. Regarding claim 2, SEI teaches plural protrusions (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, SEI teaches a sawtooth wave shape (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, SEI teaches a second side shape that curves in the releasing direction and in a direction opposite the releasing direction (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, SEI teaches a bottom surface with a saw-tooth shape, which has a third surface between a first and second that protrudes less in the releasing direction than adjacent first and second surfaces (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEI.
Regarding claim 5, SEI does not teach an equal bottom surface width in a direction intersecting the release direction, but it would have been obvious to utilize a rectangular or square stamp, which would have an equal width in a direction intersecting the release direction, as a commonly used stamp shape. Additionally, changing shape and dimensions has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 6, SEI teaches a width of 1.6 mm (para. 116).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, and 11-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a heat stamp as claimed having a first, second, and third protrusion, the third between the first and second, where the first and second protrude toward the releasing direction more than the third protrusion; wherein a shape of the first side is curved in a direction opposite to the releasing direction; or a method of using a heat stamp having each step claimed wherein releasing the release tape is performed by moving a roller from above the third end of the second substrate by moving a roller from above the third end of the second substrate surface, so as to maintain a constant distance between the roller and the substrate.
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745