DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner’s Official Notice in regards to claims 3, 5 and 8 have not been traversed and, accordingly, the art statements are taken to be admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03(C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 112 rejections to claims 1-17, 19-21 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 1 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 15-17, 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 10,645,848 – hereinafter, “Lu”) in view of Wang et al. (US 9,835,382 – hereinafter, “Wang”).
With respect to claim 1, Lu teaches (In Figs 7-9) a vehicle-mounted device (Title), wherein the vehicle-mounted device comprises a housing (501, 502), a first temperature equalization board (Portion which 551-554 are mounted) and a PCB (522), wherein the first temperature equalization board and the PCB are fastened inside the housing (See Fig 5A, for example), the first temperature equalization board is disposed on a first inner wall of the housing (See Fig 8), the PCB (522) is disposed between the first temperature equalization board and a second inner wall (Wall which 531-534 protrudes from) of the housing (See Fig 7, when assembled, 522 will be between the first temperature equalization board and the wall which 531-534 protrudes from), and the first inner wall is opposite to the second inner wall (See Fig 7), wherein the first temperature equalization board is a thermally conductive board (Col. 11, ll. 18-23, “When unit cover 501 is lowered to cover unit tray 520, the heat transfer arms 551-554 substantially contact the corresponding heat generating components (e.g., sensor processing components) to receive the heat generated from the heat generating components and to transfer the heat to the unit cover 501.” which requires that the first temperature equalization board is thermally conductive); a first protrusion (551) is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the PCB (See Fig 8), a first heat emission component (525) is disposed on a side of the PCB and that is facing the first temperature equalization board (See Fig 7); and a position of the first protrusion (551) corresponds to a position of the first heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 14-23).
Lu fails to specifically teach or suggest that the first temperature equalization board is disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of the housing, and a first heat pipe is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the first inner wall.
Wang, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a first temperature equalization board (500) disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of a housing (310, see Fig 1, when 310 is assembled onto 320, 500 will be close to the inner wall of 310. See also Col. 3, ll. 28-30 where Wang discloses that 500 could also be a partial or whole structure of 310 thus further suggesting that 500 and 310 are separate) and a heat pipe (130) on the board, the heat pipe is disposed on a side of the board that is facing the first inner wall (Inner wall of 310, see Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with that of Lu, such that, in Lu the first temperature equalization board is close to a first inner wall of the housing and a first heat pipe is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the first inner wall, as taught by Wang, since doing so would increase heat transfer from the emission component and further allow for the heat to spread a further distance away from the first protrusion thus reducing hot spots on the equalization board and housing.
It is further noted that separation of parts, such as separating the integral temperature equalization board & cover, has been held to be obvious1.
With respect to claim 2, Lu further teaches that the first protrusion (551) is in contact with the first heat emission component (525, Col. 11, ll. 14-23).
With respect to claim 3, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a first thermally conductive member, the first thermally conductive member is disposed between the first heat emission component and the first protrusion, and two sides of the first thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first heat emission component and the first protrusion (IE, a gap pad).
The conventionality of placing a gap pad or thermal interface material between a heat generating component and a heat spreader/heat sink is considered admitted prior art (See the above Examiner’s Note).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the above admitted prior art with that of Lu, such that a gap pad or thermal interface material is placed between the component (525) and the protrusion (551) since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the component and the protrusion.
With respect to claim 4, Lu further teaches that the first temperature equalization board is in contact with the first inner wall (See Fig 8, protrusion which has 551-554 thereon is formed on and in contact with the first inner wall of the housing 501).
With respect to claim 5, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a second thermally conductive member, the second thermally conductive member is disposed between the first temperature equalization board and the first inner wall, and two sides of the second thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first temperature equalization board and the first inner wall.
The conventionality of placing a gap pad or thermal interface material between two heat conducting elements is now taken as admitted prior art (See the above Examiner’s Note).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the admitted prior art with that of Lu, such that a gap pad or thermal interface material exists between the equalization board and the first inner wall, since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the two.
With respect to claim 6, Lu further teaches that a second heat emission component is disposed on a side of the PCB that is facing the second inner wall, and a second protrusion (561) is disposed on the second inner wall (See Fig 9); and a position of the second protrusion corresponds to a position of the second heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 35-46).
With respect to claim 7, Lu further teaches that the second protrusion is in contact with the second heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 35-46).
With respect to claim 8, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 6 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a third thermally conductive member, the third thermally conductive member is disposed between the second protrusion and the second heat emission component, and two sides of the third thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the second protrusion and the second heat emission component.
The conventionality of placing a gap pad or thermal interface material between a heat generating component and a heat spreader/heat sink is taken as admitted prior art (See the above Examiner’s Note).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the admitted prior art with that of Lu, such that a gap pad or thermal interface material is placed between the second component and the second protrusion since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the component and the protrusion.
With respect to claim 15, Lu further teaches that a quantity (1 – 551) of first protrusions is the same as a quantity (1 - 525) of first heat emission components (See Fig 7) and a position of each first protrusion corresponds to a position of one first heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 14-34).
With respect to claim 16, Lu further teaches that the housing comprises a first housing part (501) and a second housing part (502), and the first housing part and the second housing part are fixedly connected (Col. 11, ll. 7-13); and the first inner wall is located on the first housing part (501), and the second inner wall is located on the second housing part (502, see Fig 7).
With respect to claim 17, Lu further teaches that the first temperature equalization board (Portion which accommodates 551-554) and the first inner wall are fixedly connected (See Fig 8).
With respect to claim 21, Lu teaches (In Figs 7-9) a vehicle (101), wherein the vehicle is installed with a vehicle-mountable device (500, Title) and the vehicle-mountable device comprises a housing (501, 502), a first temperature equalization board (Portion which 551-554 are mounted), and a PCB (522), wherein the first temperature equalization board and the PCB are fastened inside the housing (See Fig 5A, for example), the first temperature equalization board is disposed on a first inner wall of the housing (See Fig 8), the PCB (522) is disposed between the first temperature equalization board and a second inner wall (Wall which 531-534 protrudes from) of the housing (See Fig 7, when assembled, 522 will be between the first temperature equalization board and the wall which 531-534 protrudes from), and the first inner wall is opposite to the second inner wall (See Fig 7), wherein the first temperature equalization board is a thermally conductive board (Col. 11, ll. 18-23, “When unit cover 501 is lowered to cover unit tray 520, the heat transfer arms 551-554 substantially contact the corresponding heat generating components (e.g., sensor processing components) to receive the heat generated from the heat generating components and to transfer the heat to the unit cover 501.” which requires that the first temperature equalization board is thermally conductive); a first protrusion (551) is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the PCB (See Fig 8); a first heat emission component (525) is disposed on a side of the PCB and that is facing the first temperature equalization board (See Fig 7); and a position of the first protrusion (551) corresponds to a position of the first heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 14-23).
Lu fails to specifically teach or suggest that the first temperature equalization board is disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of the housing, and a first heat pipe is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the first inner wall.
Wang, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a first temperature equalization board (500) disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of a housing (310, see Fig 1, when 310 is assembled onto 320, 500 will be close to the inner wall of 310. See also Col. 3, ll. 28-30 where Wang discloses that 500 could also be a partial or whole structure of 310 thus further suggesting that 500 and 310 are separate) and a heat pipe (130) on the board, the heat pipe is disposed on a side of the board that is facing the first inner wall (Inner wall of 310, see Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with that of Lu, such that, in Lu the first temperature equalization board is close to a first inner wall of the housing and a first heat pipe is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the first inner wall, as taught by Wang, since doing so would increase heat transfer from the emission component and further allow for the heat to spread a further distance away from the first protrusion thus reducing hot spots on the equalization board and housing.
It is further noted that separation of parts, such as separating the integral temperature equalization board & cover, has been held to be obvious1.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Harrington (US 9,010,141).
With respect to claim 14, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Lu further teaches that the first heat emission component (525) is a processor (Col. 10, l. 57) and Wang further teaches that the first heat pipe (130) directly faces a first heat emission component (200, see Fig 1) which is a CPU (Col 2, ll. 48-50) however both fail to specifically teach or suggest that the CPU/processor has a heating power greater than 100W.
Harrington, however, teaches that CPU’s can generate over 100 watts of heat (Col. 1, ll. 25-29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Harrington with that of Lu as modified by Wang, such that the first heat pipe directly faces a component which has a heating power greater than 100W, since doing so would allow for the processor of Lu to quickly process information for the vehicle mounted device (Higher heat emission rates of a processor equate to higher calculation speeds and so allowing the device (525) of Lu to generate a lot of heat by providing ample cooling will allow the processor to process more quickly).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Odanaka et al. (US 7,961,471 – hereinafter, “Odanaka”).
With respect to claim 19, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a fan, and the fan is fastened to an outer wall of the housing; and the fan is configured to accelerate heat dissipation of the housing.
Odanaka, however, teaches mounting a fan (50), and the fan is fastened to an outer wall of the housing; and the fan is configured to accelerate heat dissipation of the housing (Col. 5, ll. 32-47). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Odanaka with that of Lu, such that a fan is fastened to an outer wall of the housing, as taught by Odanaka, since doing so would improve the cooling efficiency of the housing (Odanaka, Col. 5, ll. 45-47).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Chrysler et al. (US 7,336,487 – hereinafter “Chrysler”).
With respect to claim 20, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a sealed cavity is formed between the first inner wall and the first temperature equalization board, and the sealed cavity is configured to hold coolant; and a liquid inlet and a liquid outlet are disposed on the sealed cavity. wherein the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a liquid cooling apparatus, and the liquid cooling apparatus comprises a liquid outlet pipe and a liquid return pipe; and the liquid outlet pipe is connected to the liquid inlet, and the liquid return pipe is connected to the liquid outlet.
Chrysler, however, teaches (In Fig 5) a sealed cavity (150, 152, 154) is formed between a first inner wall (314) and a first temperature equalization board (180), and the sealed cavity is configured to hold coolant; and a liquid inlet (152) and a liquid outlet (154) are disposed on the sealed cavity, wherein the device further comprises a liquid cooling apparatus, and the liquid cooling apparatus comprises a liquid outlet pipe (532) and a liquid return pipe (533); and the liquid outlet pipe is connected to the liquid inlet (See Fig 5), and the liquid return pipe is connected to the liquid outlet (See Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chrysler with that of Lu, such that a sealed cavity is formed between the first inner wall and the first temperature equalization board, and the sealed cavity is configured to hold coolant; and a liquid inlet and a liquid outlet are disposed on the sealed cavity. wherein the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a liquid cooling apparatus, and the liquid cooling apparatus comprises a liquid outlet pipe and a liquid return pipe; and the liquid outlet pipe is connected to the liquid inlet, and the liquid return pipe is connected to the liquid outlet, as taught by Chrysler, since doing so would provide another means of thermal transfer to the vehicle-mounted device of Lu thus increasing the amount of heat that can be removed therefrom.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claims 9-13, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 9 and at least in part because claim 9 recites, “wherein the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a second temperature equalization board, and the second temperature equalization board is fastened between the PCB and the second inner wall; a second heat emission component is disposed on a side of the PCB that is facing the second temperature equalization board; a second heat pipe is disposed on a side of the second temperature equalization board that is facing the second inner wall, and a third protrusion is disposed on a side of the second temperature equalization board that is facing the PCB (3); and a position of the third protrusion corresponds to a position of the second heat emission component”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 9 are believed to render said claim 9 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Lu and Wang teach many of the limitations of claim 9 as per the above rejection to claim 1, neither Lu nor Wang nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 9.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that, “Therefore, contrary to the Office's assertions, Wang's device structure arranges the heat pipe (e.g., 130) so that it is exposed to the heating source through an opening (e.g., 510) of the plate body 500 (alleged to be equivalent to the claimed temperature equalization board). This arrangement differs from the claimed, as claim 1 requires that "a first heat pipe is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the first inner wall." (Present remarks pages 9-10) the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations, “a first heat pipe is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the first inner wall” is taught by Wang. Indeed, Figs 1-2 and the written description thereto, clearly discloses that the heat pipe (130) is disposed on an upper side of a temperature equalization board (500) that is facing a first inner wall of a housing (Inner wall of 310, when 310 is assembled to 320). While Wang does disclose that the temperature equalization board (500) can have a hole (510) therein, the use of the word “can” does not require that it is always there and thus permits an embodiment where the temperature equalization board does not have a hold therein. Even so, Wang discloses that the temperature equalization board (500) has a trench (530) therein which accommodates the heat pipe (Col. 4, ll. 4-5, “The heat pipe 130 is disposed at the trench 530 of the plate body 500”). Because the top surface of this trench forms a part of the side of the first temperature equalization board, it can fairly be said that the first heat pipe is disposed on a side of the first temperature equalization board that is facing the first inner wall, as claimed.
With respect to the Applicant’s additional remarks to claim 1 that, “Furthermore, amended claim 1 specifies "wherein the first temperature equalization board is a thermally conductive board." In other words, the first temperature equalization board forms part of the heat transfer path, conducting heat from the heat source to the heat pipe that does not directly contact the heat source on the PCB. Wang also fails to teach or suggest these features, as Wang's structure would cause the heat pipe to directly contact the heat source on the circuit board.” (Present remarks page 10) the Examiner respectfully notes that the limitations, "wherein the first temperature equalization board is a thermally conductive board” are taught by the Lu reference as per the above rejection to claim 1. Further it is respectfully noted that there are no limitations in claim 1 which require that the heat pipe not directly contact the heat source on the PCB, as suggested by the above argument and, accordingly, it is not necessary for there to be a corresponding teaching of the same.
Accordingly, claim 1 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Lu and Wang.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835
1 In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)