DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner’s Official Notice in regards to claims 3, 5 and 8 have not been traversed and, accordingly, the art statements are taken to be admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03(C).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-17, 19-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 21 recite, “a first protrusion is disposed on the first temperature equalization board that the first protrusion protrudes towards the PCB” which appears to be incorrect. It appears it should be changed to read, “a first protrusion is disposed on the first temperature equalization board, the first protrusion protrudes towards the PCB”
Claim 9 recites, “a third protrusion is disposed on the second temperature equalization board that the third protrusion protrudes towards the PCB” which appears to be incorrect. It appears it should be changed to read, “a third protrusion is disposed on the second temperature equalization board, the third protrusion protrudes towards the PCB”
Claims 4-17, 19-20, 22-23 are objected to since they depend from claims 1 and 21 and inherit the deficiencies therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 15-17, 21-23, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 10,645,848 – hereinafter, “Lu”) in view of Wang et al. (US 9,835,382 – hereinafter, “Wang”).
With respect to claim 1, Lu teaches (In Figs 7-9) a vehicle-mounted device (Title), wherein the vehicle-mounted device comprises a housing (501, 502), a first temperature equalization board (Portion which 551-554 are mounted) and a PCB (522), wherein the first temperature equalization board and the PCB are fastened inside the housing (See Fig 5A, for example), the first temperature equalization board is disposed on a first inner wall of the housing (See Fig 8), the PCB (522) is disposed between the first temperature equalization board and a second inner wall (Wall which 531-534 protrudes from) of the housing (See Fig 7, when assembled, 522 will be between the first temperature equalization board and the wall which 531-534 protrudes from), and the first inner wall is opposite to the second inner wall (See Fig 7), wherein the first temperature equalization board is a thermally conductive board (Col. 11, ll. 18-23, “When unit cover 501 is lowered to cover unit tray 520, the heat transfer arms 551-554 substantially contact the corresponding heat generating components (e.g., sensor processing components) to receive the heat generated from the heat generating components and to transfer the heat to the unit cover 501.” which requires that the first temperature equalization board is thermally conductive); a first protrusion (551) is disposed on the first temperature equalization board, the first protrusion protrudes towards the PCB (See Figs 7-8), a first heat emission component (525) is disposed on a side of the PCB and that is facing the first temperature equalization board (See Fig 7); and a position of the first protrusion (551) corresponds to a position of the first heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 14-23).
Lu fails to specifically teach or suggest that the first temperature equalization board is disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of the housing, and a first heat pipe is disposed on the first temperature equalization board; the first heat pipe is physically separated from the first heat emission component facing the first protrusion, and the first heat pipe disperses heat, the heat being conducted from the first heat emission component through the first protrusion to the first heat pipe; and the first protrusion is in contact with the first heat emission component; or the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a first thermally conductive member, the first thermally conductive member is disposed between the first heat emission component and the first protrusion, and two sides of the first thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first heat dissipation component and the first protrusion.
Wang, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a first temperature equalization board (500) disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of a housing (310, see Fig 1, when 310 is assembled onto 320, 500 will be close to the inner wall of 310. See also Col. 3, ll. 28-30 where Wang discloses that 500 could also be a partial or whole structure of 310 thus further suggesting that 500 and 310 are separate) and a first heat pipe (130) disposed on the board, the first heat pipe (130) is physically separated (Via 170 and 242, 243) from a first heat emission component (200) facing a first protrusion (170), and the first heat pipe (130) disperses heat, the heat being conducted from the first heat emission component (200) through the first protrusion (170) to the first heat pipe (130 – heat from 200 goes into 242, into 170 and then into 130); and the first protrusion (170) is in contact with the first heat emission component (200, where 170 is in thermal contact with 200 via 242); or the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a first thermally conductive member (242), the first thermally conductive member is disposed between the first heat emission component (200) and the first protrusion (170), and two sides of the first thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first heat dissipation component (200) and the first protrusion (170, see Figs 1-2, see also, Col. 3, l. 7 – Col. 5, l. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with that of Lu, such that, in Lu the first temperature equalization board is disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of the housing, and a first heat pipe is disposed on the first temperature equalization board; the first heat pipe is physically separated from the first heat emission component facing the first protrusion, and the first heat pipe disperses heat, the heat being conducted from the first heat emission component through the first protrusion to the first heat pipe; and the first protrusion is in contact with the first heat emission component; or the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a first thermally conductive member, the first thermally conductive member is disposed between the first heat emission component and the first protrusion, and two sides of the first thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first heat dissipation component and the first protrusion, as taught by Wang, since doing so would increase heat transfer from the emission component and further allow for the heat to spread a further distance away from the first protrusion thus reducing hot spots on the equalization board and housing.
It is further noted that separation of parts, such as separating the integral temperature equalization board & cover, has been held to be obvious1.
With respect to claim 4, Lu further teaches that the first temperature equalization board is in contact with the first inner wall (See Fig 8, protrusion which has 551-554 thereon is formed on and in contact with the first inner wall of the housing 501).
With respect to claim 5, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a second thermally conductive member, the second thermally conductive member is disposed between the first temperature equalization board and the first inner wall, and two sides of the second thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first temperature equalization board and the first inner wall.
The conventionality of placing a gap pad or thermal interface material between two heat conducting elements is now taken as admitted prior art (See the above Examiner’s Note).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the admitted prior art with that of Lu, such that a gap pad or thermal interface material exists between the equalization board and the first inner wall, since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the two.
With respect to claim 6, Lu further teaches that a second heat emission component is disposed on a side of the PCB that is facing the second inner wall, and a second protrusion (561) is disposed on the second inner wall (See Fig 9); and a position of the second protrusion corresponds to a position of the second heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 35-46).
With respect to claim 7, Lu further teaches that the second protrusion is in contact with the second heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 35-46).
With respect to claim 8, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 6 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a third thermally conductive member, the third thermally conductive member is disposed between the second protrusion and the second heat emission component, and two sides of the third thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the second protrusion and the second heat emission component.
The conventionality of placing a gap pad or thermal interface material between a heat generating component and a heat spreader/heat sink is taken as admitted prior art (See the above Examiner’s Note).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the admitted prior art with that of Lu, such that a gap pad or thermal interface material is placed between the second component and the second protrusion since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the component and the protrusion.
With respect to claim 15, Lu further teaches that a quantity (1 – 551) of first protrusions is the same as a quantity (1 - 525) of first heat emission components (See Fig 7) and a position of each first protrusion corresponds to a position of one first heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 14-34).
With respect to claim 16, Lu further teaches that the housing comprises a first housing part (501) and a second housing part (502), and the first housing part and the second housing part are fixedly connected (Col. 11, ll. 7-13); and the first inner wall is located on the first housing part (501), and the second inner wall is located on the second housing part (502, see Fig 7).
With respect to claim 17, Lu further teaches that the first temperature equalization board (Portion which accommodates 551-554) and the first inner wall are fixedly connected (See Fig 8).
With respect to claim 21, Lu teaches (In Figs 7-9) a vehicle (101), wherein the vehicle is installed with a vehicle-mountable device (500, Title) and the vehicle-mountable device comprises a housing (501, 502), a first temperature equalization board (Portion which 551-554 are mounted), and a PCB (522), wherein the first temperature equalization board and the PCB are fastened inside the housing (See Fig 5A, for example), the first temperature equalization board is disposed on a first inner wall of the housing (See Fig 8), the PCB (522) is disposed between the first temperature equalization board and a second inner wall (Wall which 531-534 protrudes from) of the housing (See Fig 7, when assembled, 522 will be between the first temperature equalization board and the wall which 531-534 protrudes from), and the first inner wall is opposite to the second inner wall (See Fig 7), wherein the first temperature equalization board is a thermally conductive board (Col. 11, ll. 18-23, “When unit cover 501 is lowered to cover unit tray 520, the heat transfer arms 551-554 substantially contact the corresponding heat generating components (e.g., sensor processing components) to receive the heat generated from the heat generating components and to transfer the heat to the unit cover 501.” which requires that the first temperature equalization board is thermally conductive); a first protrusion (551) is disposed on the first temperature equalization board, the first protrusion protrudes towards the PCB (See Figs 7-8); a first heat emission component (525) is disposed on a side of the PCB and that is facing the first temperature equalization board (See Fig 7); and a position of the first protrusion (551) corresponds to a position of the first heat emission component (Col. 11, ll. 14-23).
Lu fails to specifically teach or suggest that the first temperature equalization board is disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of the housing, and a first heat pipe is disposed on the first temperature equalization board; the first heat pipe is physically separated from the first heat emission component facing the first protrusion, and the first heat pipe disperses heat, the heat being conducted from the first heat emission component through the first protrusion to the first heat pipe; and the first protrusion is in contact with the first heat emission component; or the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a first thermally conductive member, the first thermally conductive member is disposed between the first heat emission component and the first protrusion, and two sides of the first thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first heat dissipation component and the first protrusion.
Wang, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a first temperature equalization board (500) disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of a housing (310, see Fig 1, when 310 is assembled onto 320, 500 will be close to the inner wall of 310. See also Col. 3, ll. 28-30 where Wang discloses that 500 could also be a partial or whole structure of 310 thus further suggesting that 500 and 310 are separate) and a first heat pipe (130) disposed on the board, the first heat pipe (130) is physically separated (Via 170 and 242, 243) from a first heat emission component (200) facing a first protrusion (170), and the first heat pipe (130) disperses heat, the heat being conducted from the first heat emission component (200) through the first protrusion (170) to the first heat pipe (130 – heat from 200 goes into 242, into 170 and then into 130); and the first protrusion (170) is in contact with the first heat emission component (200, where 170 is in thermal contact with 200 via 242); or the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a first thermally conductive member (242), the first thermally conductive member is disposed between the first heat emission component (200) and the first protrusion (170), and two sides of the first thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first heat dissipation component (200) and the first protrusion (170, see Figs 1-2, see also, Col. 3, l. 7 – Col. 5, l. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with that of Lu, such that, in Lu the first temperature equalization board is disposed adjacent to a first inner wall of the housing, and a first heat pipe is disposed on the first temperature equalization board; the first heat pipe is physically separated from the first heat emission component facing the first protrusion, and the first heat pipe disperses heat, the heat being conducted from the first heat emission component through the first protrusion to the first heat pipe; and the first protrusion is in contact with the first heat emission component; or the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a first thermally conductive member, the first thermally conductive member is disposed between the first heat emission component and the first protrusion, and two sides of the first thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first heat dissipation component and the first protrusion, as taught by Wang, since doing so would increase heat transfer from the emission component and further allow for the heat to spread a further distance away from the first protrusion thus reducing hot spots on the equalization board and housing.
It is further noted that separation of parts, such as separating the integral temperature equalization board & cover, has been held to be obvious1.
With respect to claim 22, Lu further teaches that the first temperature equalization board is in contact with the first inner wall (See Fig 8, protrusion which has 551-554 thereon is formed on and in contact with the first inner wall of the housing 501).
With respect to claim 23, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 21 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a second thermally conductive member, the second thermally conductive member is disposed between the first temperature equalization board and the first inner wall, and two sides of the second thermally conductive member are respectively in contact with the first temperature equalization board and the first inner wall.
The conventionality of placing a gap pad or thermal interface material between two heat conducting elements is now taken as admitted prior art (See the above Examiner’s Note).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the admitted prior art with that of Lu, such that a gap pad or thermal interface material exists between the equalization board and the first inner wall, since doing so would facilitate heat transfer between the two.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Harrington (US 9,010,141).
With respect to claim 14, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Lu further teaches that the first heat emission component (525) is a processor (Col. 10, l. 57) and Wang further teaches that the first heat pipe (130) directly faces a first heat emission component (200, see Fig 1) which is a CPU (Col 2, ll. 48-50) however both fail to specifically teach or suggest that the CPU/processor has a heating power greater than 100W.
Harrington, however, teaches that CPU’s can generate over 100 watts of heat (Col. 1, ll. 25-29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Harrington with that of Lu as modified by Wang, such that the first heat pipe directly faces a component which has a heating power greater than 100W, since doing so would allow for the processor of Lu to quickly process information for the vehicle mounted device (Higher heat emission rates of a processor equate to higher calculation speeds and so allowing the device (525) of Lu to generate a lot of heat by providing ample cooling will allow the processor to process more quickly).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Odanaka et al. (US 7,961,471 – hereinafter, “Odanaka”).
With respect to claim 19, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a fan, and the fan is fastened to an outer wall of the housing; and the fan is configured to accelerate heat dissipation of the housing.
Odanaka, however, teaches mounting a fan (50), and the fan is fastened to an outer wall of the housing; and the fan is configured to accelerate heat dissipation of the housing (Col. 5, ll. 32-47). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Odanaka with that of Lu, such that a fan is fastened to an outer wall of the housing, as taught by Odanaka, since doing so would improve the cooling efficiency of the housing (Odanaka, Col. 5, ll. 45-47).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Chrysler et al. (US 7,336,487 – hereinafter “Chrysler”).
With respect to claim 20, Lu as modified by Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a sealed cavity is formed between the first inner wall and the first temperature equalization board, and the sealed cavity is configured to hold coolant; and a liquid inlet and a liquid outlet are disposed on the sealed cavity. wherein the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a liquid cooling apparatus, and the liquid cooling apparatus comprises a liquid outlet pipe and a liquid return pipe; and the liquid outlet pipe is connected to the liquid inlet, and the liquid return pipe is connected to the liquid outlet.
Chrysler, however, teaches (In Fig 5) a sealed cavity (150, 152, 154) is formed between a first inner wall (314) and a first temperature equalization board (180), and the sealed cavity is configured to hold coolant; and a liquid inlet (152) and a liquid outlet (154) are disposed on the sealed cavity, wherein the device further comprises a liquid cooling apparatus, and the liquid cooling apparatus comprises a liquid outlet pipe (532) and a liquid return pipe (533); and the liquid outlet pipe is connected to the liquid inlet (See Fig 5), and the liquid return pipe is connected to the liquid outlet (See Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chrysler with that of Lu, such that a sealed cavity is formed between the first inner wall and the first temperature equalization board, and the sealed cavity is configured to hold coolant; and a liquid inlet and a liquid outlet are disposed on the sealed cavity. wherein the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a liquid cooling apparatus, and the liquid cooling apparatus comprises a liquid outlet pipe and a liquid return pipe; and the liquid outlet pipe is connected to the liquid inlet, and the liquid return pipe is connected to the liquid outlet, as taught by Chrysler, since doing so would provide another means of thermal transfer to the vehicle-mounted device of Lu thus increasing the amount of heat that can be removed therefrom.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if: a) rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and b) rewritten to overcome the above-noted objection to claim 9.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claims 9-13, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 9 and at least in part because claim 9 recites, “wherein the vehicle-mounted device further comprises a second temperature equalization board, and the second temperature equalization board is fastened between the PCB and the second inner wall; a second heat emission component is disposed on a side of the PCB that is facing the second temperature equalization board; a second heat pipe is disposed on the second temperature equalization board, and a third protrusion is disposed on the second temperature equalization board that the third protrusion protrudes towards the PCB; and a position of the third protrusion corresponds to a position of the second heat emission component”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 9 are believed to render said claim 9 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Lu and Wang teach many of the limitations of claim 9 as per the above rejection to claim 1, neither Lu nor Wang nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 9.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that, “As illustrated in Wang's FIG. 2, the heat conducting pad 243 and the heat pipe 130 are arranged in different layers, and the above description requires that they be in direct contact with each other. Therefore, the Office's interpretation of the term "can" does not appear to be fully consistent with Wang's disclosure. Rather, the use of the term "can" more reasonably suggests that different types of exposing structures may be employed, and that the structure is not necessarily limited to a hole configuration. However, such language in Wang does not suggest that the direct-contact relationship between the heat conducting pad 243 and the heat pipe 130 is optional or absent. Therefore, it is submitted that Wang does not teach or suggest the claimed configuration in which the first heat pipe is disposed on the first temperature equalization board and physically separated from the first protrusion, for example, by the first protrusion. Additionally, claim 1 has now been amended to explicitly recite "wherein the first heat pipe is physically separated from the first heat emission component facing the first protrusion, and the first heat pipe disperses heat, the heat being conducted from the first heat emission component through the first protrusion to the first heat pipe." The arrangement of the first heat pipe as recited in amended claim 1 is structurally distinct from the plate body 500 having a trench 530 to accommodate the heat pipe 130 disclosed by Wang (as discussed above), as Wang's configuration instead positions the heat pipe 130 in a manner that facilitates direct contact with the heat emission components. (Present remarks pages 10-11) the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As per the above rejection to claim 1, Wang teaches (In Figs 1-2) a first heat pipe (130) which is physically separated from a first heat emission component (200) facing a first protrusion (170, since 242, 243 and 174 exist between 200 and 130, 130 is physically separated from 200) and the first heat pipe disperses heat (Heat from 200 is dispersed via the heat pipe), the heat being conducted from the first heat emission component (200) through the first protrusion (Via 242 to 174) to the first heat pipe (130); and the first protrusion (170) is in contact with the first heat emission component (200, see Figs 1-2 and the appropriate text thereto).
Accordingly, claim 1 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Lu and Wang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)