DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11, filed December 23, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Palliser (US 2003/0192976 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 16-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palliser (US 2003/0192976 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Palliser discloses a seatbelt retractor for a vehicle seatbelt webbing, comprising: a frame (Fig. 1; Pg. 1-2, ¶18, frame 8); a spool rotatably mounted to the frame and on which the seatbelt webbing is wound (Fig. 1; Pg. 1-2, ¶18, spool 1); first and second bands disposed in the spool symmetrically about an axis of the spool, the first and second bands being configured to plastically deform to at least partially absorb a load on the seatbelt webbing (Figs. 7-8; Pg. 2, ¶29, wires 4a, 4b); and a torsion bar (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, ¶20, torsion bar 2); the seatbelt retractor having a high energy absorption ("EA") load level in which the torsion bar and the first and second bands deform plastically to absorb energy in the seat belt webbing and a low EA load level in which the torsion bar alone deforms plastically to absorb the energy in the seatbelt webbing, a switch from the high EA load level to the low EA load level does not depend on the use of pyrotechnics (Pg. 2. ¶¶24-26).
Regarding claim 2, Palliser discloses further comprising: a locking disk rotatable relative to the frame (Fig. 2; Pg. 2. ¶19, locking ring 19), the locking disk being prevented from rotating relative to the frame in an emergency state of a vehicle (Pg. 2. ¶21), first end portions of the first and second bands being connected to the locking disk (best depicted in Fig. 7); the torsion bar having a first end rotationally fixed to the spool and a second end rotationally fixed to the locking disk, plastic deformation of the torsion bar permitting the spool to rotate about an axis relative to the locking disk in the emergency state (Pg. 2. ¶21), second end portions of the first and second bands being connected to the spool such that rotation of the spool relative to the locking disk plastically deforms the first and second bands (Fig. 5; Pg. 2. ¶25, end 37).
Regarding claim 3, Palliser discloses wherein in a normal state of the vehicle, rotation of the spool effects rotation of the locking disk via the torsion bar (Pg. 2. ¶20 describing the locking ring 3 being rotatably attached to the spool and in further connection with the torsion bar 2).
Regarding claim 5, Palliser discloses wherein after the spool rotates a predetermined degree relative to the locking disk (Pg. 2. ¶21), the second end portions of the first and second bands simultaneously disengage from the spool, such disengagement switching the seatbelt retractor from the high EA load level to the low EA load level (Pg. 2. ¶27).
Regarding claim 7, Palliser discloses further comprising a fixing disk rotationally fixed to the locking disk and the first end portions of the first and second bands such that the first end portions of the first and second bands are connected to the locking disk via the fixing disk (Fig. 7 depicting the locking ring 3 having fixing disk connecting the wires 4a, 4b to said locking ring 3).
Regarding claims 8-9, Palliser discloses wherein the fixing disk includes a hub and a flange radially and integrally formed from the hub, the first end portions of the first and second bands being fixed to the hub, rotation of the spool relative to the locking disk urging the first and second bands to deform plastically and wind about the hub (Fig. 6, depicting the wire 4 extending from a flange of a hope where end 36 is labeled).
Regarding claim 11, Palliser discloses wherein the first end portions of the first and second bands each extend from an interior of the hub toward an outer periphery of the hub, each of the first and second bands including a middle portion extending between the first and second end portions, each middle portion having a first segment extending from a corresponding first end portion circumferentially around an outer periphery of the hub (Figs. 7-8; Pg. 2. ¶29, wires 4a, 4b extending from the hub and wrapping around the raised part 38 of the spool 1), a U-turn segment extending from the first segment and a second segment extending from the U-turn segment to a corresponding second end portion (Figs. 7-8 depicting the first ends of the wires 4a, 4b having a U-turn like segment).
Regarding claim 16, Palliser discloses wherein an inner periphery of the spool includes two radially extending projections, the second end portions of the first and second bands abutting the projections, rotation of the spool relative to the locking disk urging the second end portions of the first and second bands to rotate relative to the first end portions via the projections (Fig. 8; Pg. 2. ¶29, raised part 38).
Regarding claim 17, Palliser discloses further comprising a fixing disk rotationally fixed to the locking disk and the first end portions of the first and second bands such that the first end portions of the first and second bands are connected to the locking disk via the fixing disk, the fixing disk including a hub and a flange radially extending from the hub, the first end portions of the first and second bands being fixed to the hub, a cavity in which the first and second bands at least partially extend being defined between the hub, the flange and the spool (best depicted in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Palliser discloses wherein the spool includes a first cylinder portion on which the seatbelt webbing is wound and a second cylinder portion that has a larger diameter than the first cylinder portion, the first and second bands being in the second cylinder portion (best depicted in Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palliser (US 2003/0192976 A1) in view of Singer (WO 2014/154671 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Palliser fails to disclose the hub and flange being separate. However, Singer teaches wherein the hub and flange are separate from one another such that the fixing disk is a two-piece construction, projections of the hub received in recesses of the flange to rotationally fix the flange to the hub (Figs. 2, Clamping ring 6 & Second part 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a separate hub and flange to the fixing disk to provide a means for ease of repair or maintenance so that when an element fails there would be no need of replacing the assembly as a whole.
Regarding claim 12, Palliser fails to disclose an insert fixed to the spool. However, Singer teaches further comprising an insert received in and rotationally fixed to the spool (Figs. 3-4, First part 9), the second end portions of the first and second bands each abutting an inner shoulder of the insert, rotation of the insert relative to the locking disk urging the second end portions of the first and second bands to rotate relative to the first end portions via the inner shoulders (Figs, 3-4 & Pg. 7, ¶31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an insert where the bands are abutted to provide a means for allowing the bands to rotate freely with the spool.
Regarding claim 13, Palliser discloses wherein the fixing disk includes a hub and a flange radially extending from the hub, the first end portions of the first and second bands being fixed to the hub, a cavity in which the first and second bands at least partially extend being defined between the hub, the flange and the insert (best depicted in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Palliser discloses wherein at least a portion of the hub extends into the spool such that the first end portions of the first and second bands are connected to the hub in the spool, the flange being external to the spool and having an axial surface adjacent to and/or abutting at least one of an outer axial surface of the insert and an outer axial surface of the spool (best depicted in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Palliser fails to disclose the hub and flange being separate. However, Singer teaches further comprising an insert received in and rotationally fixed to the spool, the second end portions of the first and second bands each abutting an inner shoulder of the insert, rotation of the insert relative to the locking disk urging the second end portions of the first and second bands to rotate relative to the first end portions via the inner shoulders (Pg. 6, ¶27, Recesses 24 & 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an insert where the bands are abutted to provide a means for allowing the bands to rotate freely with the spool.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palliser (US 2003/0192976 A1) in view of Axblom (US 2021/0276510 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Palliser fails to disclose a pretensioner. However, Axblom teaches further comprising a pretensioner having a turbine wheel rotationally fixed to the locking disk (Fig. 21 showing profile head 3 having a turbine wheel), actuation of the pretensioner rotating the spool in a webbing retraction direction via the turbine wheel, the locking disk and the torsion bar (Pg. 4, ¶67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a pretensioner to the seatbelt real in order to provide additional means for emergency breaking. Doing so when ensure the safety of the occupant and further provide a last measure of rotational resistance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654