DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3: “each comprising” should read “each cold head of the plurality of cold heads comprising”
Claim 4, line 3: “each comprising” should read “each cold head of the plurality of cold heads comprising”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-3 and 5 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Patent No. 9,470,436), hereinafter Takahashi in view of Mizuno et al. (US 20200263907), hereinafter Mizuno.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses a cryocooler (Fig. 1, cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10) comprising:
a compressor (Fig. 1, compressor 12);
a plurality of cold heads connected in parallel to the compressor, each comprising a cryocooler cylinder and a pressure switching valve configured to generate periodic pressure fluctuation in the cryocooler cylinder (Fig 1, refrigerators 14, expansion chamber 34, flow rate control valves 54; Col. 2, lines 30-32, The cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 further comprises a gas line 16 connecting the plurality of refrigerators 14 to the compressor 12 in parallel; Col. 4, lines 7-16 and 25-26, The degree of valve opening of the flow rate control valve 54 is controlled to adjust a pressure drop ΔP1 in the individual high-pressure pipe 46, thereby controlling the flow rate of working gas in the individual high-pressure pipe 46. For example, the flow rate control valve 54 performs so-called Cv value control. Since each of the flow rate control valves 54 is provided in the corresponding individual passage of the gas line 16, the pressure drop ΔP1 of the flow of gas supplied to the corresponding refrigerator 14 can be individually controlled… The flow rate control valve 54 may be mounted on the refrigerator 14 to form an integrated refrigerator unit; Further, the flow rate control valves 54 of Takahashi have the same structure as the claimed pressure switching valve and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a pressure sensor that measures a pressure of a working gas on a supply side from the compressor to the plurality of cold heads or on a collection side from the plurality of cold heads to the compressor (Fig. 1, first pressure sensor 22, second pressure sensor 24; Col. 2, lines 43-48, The compressor 12 comprises a first pressure sensor 22 configured to measure the pressure of the low-pressure working gas and a second pressure sensor 24 configured to measure the high-pressure working gas. These pressure sensors may be provided at appropriate locations in the gas line 16); and
a controller (Fig. 1, compressor control 58, temperature controller 62) configured to:
acquiring pressure waveform data for the plurality of cold heads (Col. 4, lines 49-65, In the constant pressure difference control, the compressor controller 58 determines a pressure difference between the pressure measured by the first pressure sensor 22 and the pressure measured by the second pressure sensor 24. The compressor controller 58 determines the operating frequency of the compressor motor 21 to cause the pressure difference match the target value ΔP. The compressor controller 58 controls the compressor inverter 60 so as to achieve the operating frequency. The cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 comprises a temperature controller 62 configured to control the cooling temperatures of the plurality of refrigerators 14. The temperature controller 62 is configured to control the plurality of flow rate control valves 54 individually based on the temperature measured by the first temperature sensor 30 and/or the second temperature sensor 32 of the corresponding one of the plurality of refrigerators 14);
analyze the acquired pressure waveform data (Col. 6, lines 13-41, In contrast, the present embodiment is based on a concept of adjusting the pressure difference P, which determines the PV work of the refrigerator 14. The refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator 14 is correlated to the product ΔP2*V of the pressure difference ΔP2 between the intake pressure and the discharge pressure of the expansion chamber 34 and the volume V of the expansion chamber 34. As described above, the pressure difference ΔP2 of the expansion chamber 34 is determined by the pressure difference ΔP of the compressor 12 and the pressure drop ΔP1 of the flow rate control valve 54. Therefore, by changing the pressure drop ti.pl, the refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator 14 can be controlled and the cooling temperature can be adjusted accordingly. If a given flow rate control valve 54 is driven to a less open position, the pressure drop ΔP1 is then increased. This causes a complementary reduction in the pressure difference ΔP2(=ΔP–ΔP1) of the expansion chamber 34 of the refrigerator 14 corresponding to the given flow rate control valve 54 and thereby the PV work in the refrigerator 14 is reduced. Therefore, the refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator 14 is reduced so that the temperature of the refrigerator 14 is raised. Conversely, if the flow rate control valve 54 is driven to a more open position, the pressure drop ΔP1 is then reduced. This causes a complementary increase in the pressure difference ΔP2 of the expansion chamber 34 and thereby the PV work of the refrigerator 14 is increased. Therefore, the refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator 14 is increased and the temperature of the refrigerator 14 is lowered);
operate pressure switching valves of the plurality of cold heads simultaneously and asynchronously based on a result of the analysis (Fig. 2, steps S10-S14; Col. 4, lines 36-39, The compressor controller 58 is configured to control the operating frequency of the compressor motor 21 based on the pressure measured by the first pressure sensor 22 and/or the second pressure sensor 24; Col. 4, lines 58-65, The cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 comprises a temperature controller 62 configured to control the cooling temperatures of the plurality of refrigerators 14. The temperature controller 62 is configured to control the plurality of flow rate control valves 54 individually based on the temperature measured by the first temperature sensor 30 and/or the second temperature sensor 32 of the corresponding one of the plurality of refrigerators 14; Col. 7, lines 31-58, FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing a method of controlling the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The method is run by, for example, the temperature controller 62. As shown in the figure, the operation of the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 is started S10). The plurality of refrigerators 14 are operated simultaneously by using the common compressor 12. The control method includes total control (S12) of the plurality of refrigerators 14 and individual control (S14) of the refrigerators 14. Total control includes cooling the refrigerators 14 from an initial temperature (e.g., room temperature) toward the target temperature, while monitoring the cooling temperature of the refrigerators 14 individually. In total control, the flow rate control valves 54 are configured at a certain valve opening position (e.g., fully open). When any of the refrigerators 14 reaches the target temperature, temperature controller 62 terminates total control and makes a transition to individual control. Individual control includes individually controlling the pressure drop in the individual passage corresponding to each of the plurality of refrigerators 14. In individual control, the flow rate control valve 54 is controlled. In other words, total control is rough temperature adjustment and individual control is precise temperature adjustment. In an alternative embodiment, the temperature controller 62 may start individual control when the operation of the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 is started).
However, Takahashi does not disclose the controller configured to acquire a plurality of individual pressure waveform data by repeating, for each of the plurality of cold heads, measuring individual pressure waveform data by the pressure sensor during individual operation of a cold head of the plurality of cold heads; and
analyze the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data.
Mizuno teaches the use of a pressure senor disposed on the cryocooler cylinder to measure individual pressure waveforms to diagnose cold head performance (Fig. 7, sensor 50, expander 14, cryocooler cylinder 16; Fig. 3-4; Abstract, There is provided a cryocooler including a cryocooler cylinder, a pressure switching valve that generates a periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder, and a sensor that measures a periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder, which is caused by the periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder; Pg. 3, paragraph 36; The sensor 50 measures a periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder 16, which is caused by a periodic pressure fluctuation in the cryocooler cylinder 16, and outputs measured waveform data S1 indicating the periodic deformation. The measured waveform data S1 indicates a temporal change in a measured value of the sensor 50 during an operation of the cryocooler 10. The sensor 50 is communicably connected to the processing unit 60 by wire or wirelessly. As an exemplary configuration, the sensor 50 is a contact-type displacement sensor. For example, the sensor 50 is attached to an outer surface on a side surface of the cryocooler cylinder 16, and measures the periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder 16 in the axial direction, the radial direction, and/or the circumferential direction; Pg. 3-5, paragraphs 41-59; Pg. 5, paragraph 65, As illustrated in FIG. 7, the sensor 50 may be a pressure sensor that measures the periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder 16 and outputs the measured waveform data S1 indicating the periodic pressure fluctuation; Further, it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Takahashi of claim 1 to acquire a plurality of individual pressure waveform data by repeating, for each of the plurality of cold heads, measuring individual pressure waveform data by the pressure sensor during individual operation of a cold head of the plurality of cold heads; and analyze the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data as taught by Mizuno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the cryocooler can be more accurately diagnosed, compared to the diagnosis based on the cooling temperature (Mizuno, Pg. 4, paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi as modified discloses the cryocooler according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller is configured to operate the pressure switching valves of the plurality of cold heads simultaneously and asynchronously based on a comparison among the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data (Takahashi, Fig. 2, steps S10-S14; Col. 4, lines 36-39, The compressor controller 58 is configured to control the operating frequency of the compressor motor 21 based on the pressure measured by the first pressure sensor 22 and/or the second pressure sensor 24; Col. 4, lines 58-65, The cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 comprises a temperature controller 62 configured to control the cooling temperatures of the plurality of refrigerators 14. The temperature controller 62 is configured to control the plurality of flow rate control valves 54 individually based on the temperature measured by the first temperature sensor 30 and/or the second temperature sensor 32 of the corresponding one of the plurality of refrigerators 14; Col. 7, lines 31-58, FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing a method of controlling the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The method is run by, for example, the temperature controller 62. As shown in the figure, the operation of the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 is started S10). The plurality of refrigerators 14 are operated simultaneously by using the common compressor 12. The control method includes total control (S12) of the plurality of refrigerators 14 and individual control (S14) of the refrigerators 14. Total control includes cooling the refrigerators 14 from an initial temperature (e.g., room temperature) toward the target temperature, while monitoring the cooling temperature of the refrigerators 14 individually. In total control, the flow rate control valves 54 are configured at a certain valve opening position (e.g., fully open). When any of the refrigerators 14 reaches the target temperature, temperature controller 62 terminates total control and makes a transition to individual control. Individual control includes individually controlling the pressure drop in the individual passage corresponding to each of the plurality of refrigerators 14. In individual control, the flow rate control valve 54 is controlled. In other words, total control is rough temperature adjustment and individual control is precise temperature adjustment. In an alternative embodiment, the temperature controller 62 may start individual control when the operation of the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 is started; Mizuno, Pg. 4, paragraph 55, The processing unit 60 determines whether or not the cryocooler 10 is degraded, based on the measured waveform data S1. In this way, the cryocooler 10 can be more accurately diagnosed, compared to the diagnosis based on the cooling temperature). Further, the limitations of claim 2 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi as modified discloses the cryocooler according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller is configured to:
acquire total pressure waveform data measured by the pressure sensor when the plurality of cold heads are simultaneously operated (Takahashi; Fig 2, step S12 Col. 6, lines 42-51, Since the compressor 12 is a single gas source common to the plurality of refrigerators 14, the pressure difference ΔP of the compressor 12 is also common to the plurality of refrigerators 14. Therefore, adjustment of the pressure difference of the compressor does not result in individual temperature control of the refrigerators 14. According to the present embodiment, however, the pressure drop ΔP1 of the flow rate control valve 54 can be controlled for each refrigerator 14 so that the refrigeration capacities of the plurality of refrigerators 14 can be individually controlled), and
operate the pressure switching valves of the plurality of cold heads simultaneously and asynchronously based on system operation characteristics (Takahashi, Fig. 2, steps S10-S14; Col. 4, lines 36-39, The compressor controller 58 is configured to control the operating frequency of the compressor motor 21 based on the pressure measured by the first pressure sensor 22 and/or the second pressure sensor 24; Col. 4, lines 58-65, The cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 comprises a temperature controller 62 configured to control the cooling temperatures of the plurality of refrigerators 14. The temperature controller 62 is configured to control the plurality of flow rate control valves 54 individually based on the temperature measured by the first temperature sensor 30 and/or the second temperature sensor 32 of the corresponding one of the plurality of refrigerators 14; Col. 7, lines 31-58, FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing a method of controlling the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The method is run by, for example, the temperature controller 62. As shown in the figure, the operation of the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 is started S10). The plurality of refrigerators 14 are operated simultaneously by using the common compressor 12. The control method includes total control (S12) of the plurality of refrigerators 14 and individual control (S14) of the refrigerators 14. Total control includes cooling the refrigerators 14 from an initial temperature (e.g., room temperature) toward the target temperature, while monitoring the cooling temperature of the refrigerators 14 individually. In total control, the flow rate control valves 54 are configured at a certain valve opening position (e.g., fully open). When any of the refrigerators 14 reaches the target temperature, temperature controller 62 terminates total control and makes a transition to individual control. Individual control includes individually controlling the pressure drop in the individual passage corresponding to each of the plurality of refrigerators 14. In individual control, the flow rate control valve 54 is controlled. In other words, total control is rough temperature adjustment and individual control is precise temperature adjustment. In an alternative embodiment, the temperature controller 62 may start individual control when the operation of the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 is started).
However, Takahashi as modified does not disclose, wherein the controller is configured to:
acquire a total pressure amplitude from the total pressure waveform data,
acquire a total sum of individual pressure amplitudes from the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data, and
operate the pressure switching valves of the plurality of cold heads simultaneously and asynchronously based on comparison between the total pressure amplitude and the total sum of the individual pressure amplitudes.
Mizuno teaches collecting pressure waveform data that includes total pressure waveform data, total pressure amplitude data from the total pressure waveform data, and total sum of individual pressure amplitudes from the individual pressure waveform data of the cold head (Fig. 3-4; Abstract, There is provided a cryocooler including a cryocooler cylinder, a pressure switching valve that generates a periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder, and a sensor that measures a periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder, which is caused by the periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder; Pg. 3-5, paragraphs 41-59; Further, it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Takahashi as modified wherein the controller is configured to acquire a total pressure amplitude from the total pressure waveform data, acquire a total sum of individual pressure amplitudes from the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data, and operate the pressure switching valves of the plurality of cold heads simultaneously and asynchronously based on comparison between the total pressure amplitude and the total sum of the individual pressure amplitudes as taught by Mizuno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the cryocooler can be more accurately diagnosed, compared to the diagnosis based on the cooling temperature (Mizuno, Pg. 4, paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi discloses a method for operating a cryocooler, in which the cryocooler includes a compressor, and a plurality of cold heads connected in parallel to the compressor, each comprising a cryocooler cylinder and a pressure switching valve configured to generate periodic pressure fluctuation in the cryocooler cylinder (Fig. 1, cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10, compressor 12, refrigerators 14, expansion chamber 34, flow rate control valves 54; Col. 2, lines 30-32, The cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 further comprises a gas line 16 connecting the plurality of refrigerators 14 to the compressor 12 in parallel; Col. 4, lines 7-16 and 25-26, The degree of valve opening of the flow rate control valve 54 is controlled to adjust a pressure drop ΔP1 in the individual high-pressure pipe 46, thereby controlling the flow rate of working gas in the individual high-pressure pipe 46. For example, the flow rate control valve 54 performs so-called Cv value control. Since each of the flow rate control valves 54 is provided in the corresponding individual passage of the gas line 16, the pressure drop ΔP1 of the flow of gas supplied to the corresponding refrigerator 14 can be individually controlled… The flow rate control valve 54 may be mounted on the refrigerator 14 to form an integrated refrigerator unit; Further, the flow rate control valves 54 of Takahashi have the same structure as the claimed pressure switching valve and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed), the method comprising:
acquiring pressure waveform data, by measuring pressure of a working gas on a supply side from the compressor to the plurality of cold heads or on a collection side from the plurality of cold heads to the compressor during individual operation of a cold head of the plurality of cold heads (Fig. 1, first pressure sensor 22, second pressure sensor 24; Col. 2, lines 43-48, The compressor 12 comprises a first pressure sensor 22 configured to measure the pressure of the low-pressure working gas and a second pressure sensor 24 configured to measure the high-pressure working gas. These pressure sensors may be provided at appropriate locations in the gas line 16; Col. 4, lines 49-65, In the constant pressure difference control, the compressor controller 58 determines a pressure difference between the pressure measured by the first pressure sensor 22 and the pressure measured by the second pressure sensor 24. The compressor controller 58 determines the operating frequency of the compressor motor 21 to cause the pressure difference match the target value ΔP. The compressor controller 58 controls the compressor inverter 60 so as to achieve the operating frequency. The cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 comprises a temperature controller 62 configured to control the cooling temperatures of the plurality of refrigerators 14. The temperature controller 62 is configured to control the plurality of flow rate control valves 54 individually based on the temperature measured by the first temperature sensor 30 and/or the second temperature sensor 32 of the corresponding one of the plurality of refrigerators 14);
analyzing the acquired pressure waveform data (Col. 6, lines 13-41, In contrast, the present embodiment is based on a concept of adjusting the pressure difference P, which determines the PV work of the refrigerator 14. The refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator 14 is correlated to the product ΔP2*V of the pressure difference ΔP2 between the intake pressure and the discharge pressure of the expansion chamber 34 and the volume V of the expansion chamber 34. As described above, the pressure difference ΔP2 of the expansion chamber 34 is determined by the pressure difference ΔP of the compressor 12 and the pressure drop ΔP1 of the flow rate control valve 54. Therefore, by changing the pressure drop ti.pl, the refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator 14 can be controlled and the cooling temperature can be adjusted accordingly. If a given flow rate control valve 54 is driven to a less open position, the pressure drop ΔP1 is then increased. This causes a complementary reduction in the pressure difference ΔP2(=ΔP–ΔP1) of the expansion chamber 34 of the refrigerator 14 corresponding to the given flow rate control valve 54 and thereby the PV work in the refrigerator 14 is reduced. Therefore, the refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator 14 is reduced so that the temperature of the refrigerator 14 is raised. Conversely, if the flow rate control valve 54 is driven to a more open position, the pressure drop ΔP1 is then reduced. This causes a complementary increase in the pressure difference ΔP2 of the expansion chamber 34 and thereby the PV work of the refrigerator 14 is increased. Therefore, the refrigeration capacity of the refrigerator 14 is increased and the temperature of the refrigerator 14 is lowered); and
operate pressure switching valves of the plurality of cold heads simultaneously and asynchronously based on a result of the analysis (Fig. 2, steps S10-S14; Col. 4, lines 36-39, The compressor controller 58 is configured to control the operating frequency of the compressor motor 21 based on the pressure measured by the first pressure sensor 22 and/or the second pressure sensor 24; Col. 4, lines 58-65, The cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 comprises a temperature controller 62 configured to control the cooling temperatures of the plurality of refrigerators 14. The temperature controller 62 is configured to control the plurality of flow rate control valves 54 individually based on the temperature measured by the first temperature sensor 30 and/or the second temperature sensor 32 of the corresponding one of the plurality of refrigerators 14; Col. 7, lines 31-58, FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing a method of controlling the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The method is run by, for example, the temperature controller 62. As shown in the figure, the operation of the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 is started S10). The plurality of refrigerators 14 are operated simultaneously by using the common compressor 12. The control method includes total control (S12) of the plurality of refrigerators 14 and individual control (S14) of the refrigerators 14. Total control includes cooling the refrigerators 14 from an initial temperature (e.g., room temperature) toward the target temperature, while monitoring the cooling temperature of the refrigerators 14 individually. In total control, the flow rate control valves 54 are configured at a certain valve opening position (e.g., fully open). When any of the refrigerators 14 reaches the target temperature, temperature controller 62 terminates total control and makes a transition to individual control. Individual control includes individually controlling the pressure drop in the individual passage corresponding to each of the plurality of refrigerators 14. In individual control, the flow rate control valve 54 is controlled. In other words, total control is rough temperature adjustment and individual control is precise temperature adjustment. In an alternative embodiment, the temperature controller 62 may start individual control when the operation of the cryogenic refrigeration apparatus 10 is started).
However, Takahashi does not disclose acquiring a plurality of individual pressure waveform data by repeating, for each of the plurality of cold heads, measuring a pressure of a working gas on a supply side from the compressor to the plurality of cold heads or on a collection side from the plurality of cold heads to the compressor during individual operation of a cold head of the plurality of cold heads; and
analyzing the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data.
Mizuno teaches the use of a pressure senor disposed on the cryocooler cylinder to measure individual pressure waveforms to diagnose cold head performance (Fig. 7, sensor 50, expander 14, cryocooler cylinder 16; Fig. 3-4; Abstract, There is provided a cryocooler including a cryocooler cylinder, a pressure switching valve that generates a periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder, and a sensor that measures a periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder, which is caused by the periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder; Pg. 3, paragraph 36; The sensor 50 measures a periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder 16, which is caused by a periodic pressure fluctuation in the cryocooler cylinder 16, and outputs measured waveform data S1 indicating the periodic deformation. The measured waveform data S1 indicates a temporal change in a measured value of the sensor 50 during an operation of the cryocooler 10. The sensor 50 is communicably connected to the processing unit 60 by wire or wirelessly. As an exemplary configuration, the sensor 50 is a contact-type displacement sensor. For example, the sensor 50 is attached to an outer surface on a side surface of the cryocooler cylinder 16, and measures the periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder 16 in the axial direction, the radial direction, and/or the circumferential direction; Pg. 3-5, paragraphs 41-59; Pg. 5, paragraph 65, As illustrated in FIG. 7, the sensor 50 may be a pressure sensor that measures the periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder 16 and outputs the measured waveform data S1 indicating the periodic pressure fluctuation; Further, it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify of method Takahashi of claim 4 to acquire a plurality of individual pressure waveform data by repeating, for each of the plurality of cold heads, measure a pressure of a working gas on a supply side from the compressor to the plurality of cold heads or on a collection side from the plurality of cold heads to the compressor during individual operation of a cold head of the plurality of cold heads; and analyze the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data as taught by Mizuno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the cryocooler can be more accurately diagnosed, compared to the diagnosis based on the cooling temperature (Mizuno, Pg. 4, paragraph 55).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi as modified by Mizuno as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olson et al. (US Patent No. 6,813,892), hereinafter Olson.
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi as modified discloses the cryocooler according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Takahashi as modified does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to determine a phase difference from the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data, and to operate the pressure switching valves of the plurality of cold heads simultaneously and asynchronously based on the phase difference.
Olson teaches a cryocooler with a plurality of cold heads wherein the controller is configured to make system operation decisions for operating each of the cold heads based on pressure and phase differences (Fig. 3; Col. 15, lines 35-63, As such, the piston 218a does not interact with fluid in the compression space 214b or the cryocooler section 234. Similarly, the piston 218b does not interact with fluid in the compression space 214a or the cryocooler section 230. Therefore, both the working fluid and charge pressure within the first cryocooler section 230 and second cryocooler section 234 each may be independently selected. In one embodiment, only a single piston (piston 214a) provides the pressure oscillation for the cryocooler section 230, and only a single piston (piston 214b) provides the pressure oscillation for the cryocooler section 234. Preferably, these pistons 214a, 214b are again disposed in opposing relation. The control system 210 simultaneously moves both pistons 218a, 218b through their corresponding compression space 214a, 214b. Preferably, the control system 210 moves the pistons 218a, 218b in opposite directions for vibration reduction purposes. Stated another way, the control system 210 operates both pistons 218a, 218b at the same frequency, but 180° out of phase with each other. In one embodiment, the pistons 218a, 218b are advanced toward each other during their respective compression strokes, and the pistons 218a, 218b move away from each other during their respective expansion strokes. In another embodiment, the pistons 218a, 218b are advanced away from each other during their respective compression strokes, and the pistons 218a, 281b are advanced toward each other during their respective expansion strokes (not shown)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of the cryocooler system of Takahashi as modified disclose wherein the controller is configured to determine a phase difference from the acquired plurality of individual pressure waveform data, and to operate the pressure switching valves of the plurality of cold heads simultaneously and asynchronously based on the phase difference as taught by Olsen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide at least some degree of independence between the plurality of cryocoolers to improve overall system efficiencies (Olsen, Col. 1516, lines 64-67 and 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 14th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 6-8 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “Takahashi merely discloses a plurality of flow rate control valves 54 provided in the individual high-pressure pipe 46 and in one-to-one correspondence with the refrigerators 14. The degree of valve opening of the flow rate control valve 54 is controlled to adjust a pressure drop (delta P1) in the individual high-pressure pipe 46, thereby controlling the flow rate of working gas in the individual high-pressure pipe 46. Col. 3, line 64 to col. 4, line 16. Takahashi 's individual control (S14) of the flow rate control valve 54 is directed to precise temperature adjustment. Col. 7, lines 52-55. In other words, Takahashi does not teach or suggest controlling the timing or phase of the refrigeration cycle itself, which is governed by the pressure switching valve configured to generate periodic pressure fluctuation in the cryocooler cylinder. Furthermore, as the examiner acknowledged on page 4, Takahashi fails to disclose acquiring individual pressure waveform data. Consequently, Takahashi cannot teach or suggest the claimed feature of analyzing such waveform data and operating the pressure switching valves simultaneously and asynchronously based on the analysis result. Accordingly, Takahashi fails to teach the claimed features. Further, the additional references fail to cure the deficiencies of Takahashi. Mizuno merely discloses that the sensor 50 measures a periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder 16, which is caused by a periodic pressure fluctuation in the cryocooler cylinder 16, and outputs measured waveform data SI indicating the periodic deformation for the purpose of diagnosing the cryocooler (paragraphs [0036], [0041]). Mizuno does not teach or suggest using such waveform data to actively control the asynchronous operation of multiple cold heads… There is no motivation to combine Takahashi's flow-rate-based temperature control with Mizuno's diagnostic waveform or Olson's vibration-reduction phase control to arrive at the presently claimed invention. The claimed method of analyzing pulsatory pressure data specifically acquired during individual operation to coordinate the pressure switching valves for preventing performance degradation is unique to the present invention and not rendered obvious by any of the cited references.” However, this argument is not persuasive as the flow control valves 54 of Takahashi control a pressure difference within each of the plurality of cold heads as desired to achieve a particular temperature within the cold heads making them pressure switching valves (Takahashi, Col. 4, lines 7-16 and 25-26, The degree of valve opening of the flow rate control valve 54 is controlled to adjust a pressure drop ΔP1 in the individual high-pressure pipe 46, thereby controlling the flow rate of working gas in the individual high-pressure pipe 46. For example, the flow rate control valve 54 performs so-called Cv value control. Since each of the flow rate control valves 54 is provided in the corresponding individual passage of the gas line 16, the pressure drop ΔP1 of the flow of gas supplied to the corresponding refrigerator 14 can be individually controlled… The flow rate control valve 54 may be mounted on the refrigerator 14 to form an integrated refrigerator unit). Further, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., controlling the timing or phase of the refrigeration cycle itself) are not recited in the rejected claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, the acquisition of individual pressure waveform data of a cold head is explicitly disclosed by Mizuno via a pressure sensor 50 of the embodiment of Fig. 7 of Mizuno and is said to have the benefit of more accurately diagnosis of a cryocooler compared to the diagnosis based on the cooling temperature (i.e., the diagnosis used in Takahashi) (Mizuno, Fig. 7, sensor 50, expander 14, cryocooler cylinder 16; Fig. 3-4; Abstract, There is provided a cryocooler including a cryocooler cylinder, a pressure switching valve that generates a periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder, and a sensor that measures a periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder, which is caused by the periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder; Pg. 3, paragraph 36; The sensor 50 measures a periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder 16, which is caused by a periodic pressure fluctuation in the cryocooler cylinder 16, and outputs measured waveform data S1 indicating the periodic deformation. The measured waveform data S1 indicates a temporal change in a measured value of the sensor 50 during an operation of the cryocooler 10. The sensor 50 is communicably connected to the processing unit 60 by wire or wirelessly. As an exemplary configuration, the sensor 50 is a contact-type displacement sensor. For example, the sensor 50 is attached to an outer surface on a side surface of the cryocooler cylinder 16, and measures the periodic deformation of the cryocooler cylinder 16 in the axial direction, the radial direction, and/or the circumferential direction; Pg. 3-5, paragraphs 41-59; Pg. 5, paragraph 65, As illustrated in FIG. 7, the sensor 50 may be a pressure sensor that measures the periodic pressure fluctuation inside the cryocooler cylinder 16 and outputs the measured waveform data S1 indicating the periodic pressure fluctuation). As described in the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above, the combination of the teachings of simultaneous or asynchronous control of a plurality of cold heads as disclosed by Takahashi in view of the individual pressure waveform analysis and control taught by Mizuno result in the limitations of claim 1 as presently claimed. See the rejection of claim 1 above.
The rejections of independent claims 1 and 4 are maintained. The rejections of dependent claims 2-3 and 5 are also maintained for at least the reasons described herein.
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 April 06th, 2026