DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PG Pub 2024/0032362 to Lee et al (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a stretchable display panel, comprising:
a plurality of pixel islands (Fig. 2 SPX); and
a plurality of stretchable bridges (111/181/182), each of which connects two adjacent ones of the pixel islands;
wherein an edge of each of the pixel islands comprises at least one first edge portion and a second edge portion (121) other than the at least one first edge portion, and the at least one first edge portion connects the pixel island and corresponding ones of the stretchable bridges (Fig. 2);
the stretchable display panel further comprises an anti-deformation layer (121; [0072]) disposed at least partially on a periphery of the second edge portion.
Regarding Claim 2, the stretchable display panel according to Claim 1, wherein the anti-deformation layer has a first elastic modulus, and the stretchable bridge has a second elastic modulus, wherein the first elastic modulus is greater than the second elastic modulus [0121] & [0056].
Regarding Claim 3, Lee disclose the stretchable display panel according to Claim 2, wherein a material of the anti-deformation layer comprises one of an insulating material and a metal material [0056].
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 2, wherein the pixel island has a third elastic modulus, the first elastic modulus is greater than the third elastic modulus, and the third elastic modulus is greater than the second elastic modulus [0056].
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 1, wherein the stretchable display panel comprises a stretched state, and a non-stretched state in which the edge of the pixel island is of a quadrilateral shape and the second edge portion comprises four edge corner portions, wherein the anti-deformation layer surrounds the four edge corner portions (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 5, wherein, in the non-stretched state, one of the four edge corner portions of one of the two adjacent pixel islands is arranged oppositely with one of the four edge corner portions of an other one of the two adjacent pixel islands (Fig. 7);
in the stretched state, one of the four edge corner portions of one of the two adjacent pixel islands is arranged oppositely with one of the four edge corner portions of an other one of the two adjacent pixel islands (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 6, wherein the stretchable display panel comprises a display region and a second display region, the plurality of pixel islands are provided in the first display region and the second display region, and the second display region surrounds the first display region, wherein the edge of each of ones, which are in the first display region, of the pixel islands comprises four of the at least one first edge portion (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 7, wherein in the ones of the pixel islands which are in the first display region, two of the four first edge portions are located on one side of the quadrilateral shape and other two of the four first edge portions are located on an other side of the quadrilateral shape, and the anti-deformation layer surrounds other two sides of the quadrilateral shape (Fig. 2 and Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 6, wherein the stretchable display panel comprises a display region comprising a first display region and a second display region, the plurality of pixel islands are provided in the first display region and the second display region, and the second display region surrounds the first display region, wherein the edge of each of ones, which are in the first display region, of the pixel islands comprises eight of the at least one first edge portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 9, wherein in the ones of the pixel islands which are in the first display region, each side of the quadrilateral shape is provided with two of the at least one first edge portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 5, wherein, in the non-stretched state, one of sides of one of the two adjacent pixel islands is arranged oppositely with one of sides of an other one of the two adjacent pixel islands;
in the stretched state, one of sides of one of the two adjacent pixel islands is arranged oppositely with one of sides of an other one of the two adjacent pixel islands (Figs. 2 & 7).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 11, wherein the stretchable display panel comprises a display region comprising a first display region and a second display region, the plurality of pixel islands are provided in the first display region and the second display region, and the second display region surrounds the first display region, wherein the edge of each of ones, which are in the first display region, of the pixel islands comprises four of the at least one first edge portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 12, wherein in the ones of the pixel islands which are in the first display region, each of the sides of the pixel island is provided with one of the four first edge portions (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 11, wherein the stretchable display panel comprises a display region comprising a first display region and a second display region, the plurality of pixel islands are provided in the first display region and the second display region, and the second display region surrounds the first display region, wherein the edge of each of ones, which are in the first display region, of the pixel islands comprises eight of the at least one first edge portion (Figs. 2 and 7).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 14, wherein in the ones of the pixel islands which are in the first display region, each of the sides of the pixel island is provided with two of the eight first edge portions (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 1, wherein the edge of the pixel island is of a circular shape or a polygon (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses the stretchable display panel according to Claim 1, wherein the pixel island in a stretched state has a same shape as the pixel island in a non-stretched state; and
the pixel island in the stretched state has a same area as the pixel island in the non-stretched state (Figs. 2 & 7).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee discloses a display device comprising:
a housing having a receiving space [0081]; and
a stretchable display panel comprising:
a plurality of pixel islands (Fig. 2 SPX); and
a plurality of stretchable bridges (111/181/182), each of which connects two adjacent ones of the pixel islands;
wherein an edge of each of the pixel islands comprises at least one first edge portion and a second edge portion (121) other than the at least one first edge portion, and the at least one first edge portion connects the pixel island and corresponding ones of the stretchable bridges (Fig. 2);
the stretchable display panel further comprises an anti-deformation layer (121; [0072]) disposed at least partially on a periphery of the second edge portion;
the stretchable display panel is disposed in the receiving space, and the housing is capable of being stretched [0081].
Conclusion
/DAVID C SPALLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893