DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17, in the reply filed on May 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 11, 2026.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,7-11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rittscher et al. (U.S. Publication 2022/0207728, hereinafter “Rittscher”).
As to Claim 1, Rittscher discloses a system (1) in [0054]-[0055] for image inpainting of in-vivo images, the system comprising:
at least one processor (10) in [0058]; and
at least one memory (11) in [0057] storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
access an in-vivo image “images” and “pixels” in [0113], [0137], [0162], and [0167] of a portion of a gastrointestinal tract, the in-vivo image comprising image regions to be reconstructed,
process the in-vivo image by a trained image inpainting deep learning model “model” in [0162] and [0167] to provide a reconstructed in-vivo image, and
provide the reconstructed in-vivo image to a device for viewing by a medical professional via (27) in [0110].
As to Claim 2, Rittscher discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the image regions to be reconstructed comprise regions where gastrointestinal content blocked a view of gastrointestinal tract tissue as described in [0113], [0137], [0162], and [0167].
As to Claim 3, Rittscher discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the reconstructed in-vivo image comprises regions of reconstructed gastrointestinal tract tissue for the regions where the gastrointestinal content blocked the view of the gastrointestinal tract tissue as described in [0113], [0137], [0162], and [0167].
As to Claim 4, Rittscher discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the portion of the gastrointestinal tract comprises a small bowel, and
wherein the regions of reconstructed gastrointestinal tract issue comprise small bowel mucosa (the gastroesophageal anatomy being a portion of gastrointestinal tract in a human).
As to Claim 5, Rittscher discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the image regions to be reconstructed are indicated by a medical professional in [0145].
As to Claim 7, Rittscher discloses a method for image inpainting of in-vivo images, the method comprising:
accessing an in-vivo image “images” and “pixels” in [0113], [0137], [0162], and [0167] of a portion of a gastrointestinal tract, the in-vivo image comprising image regions to be reconstructed;
processing via (10) in [0058] the in-vivo image by a trained image inpainting deep learning model “model” in [0162] and [0167] to provide a reconstructed in-vivo image; and
providing the reconstructed in-vivo image to a device for viewing by a medical professional via (27) in [0110].
As to Claim 8, Rittscher discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the image regions to be reconstructed comprise regions where gastrointestinal content blocked a view of gastrointestinal tract tissue as described in [0139], [0164], and [0169].
As to Claim 9, Rittscher discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the reconstructed in-vivo image comprises regions of reconstructed gastrointestinal tract tissue for the regions where the gastrointestinal content blocked the view of the gastrointestinal tract tissue as described in [0139], [0164], and [0169].
As to Claim 10, Rittscher discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the portion of the gastrointestinal tract comprises a small bowel, and
wherein the regions of reconstructed gastrointestinal tract issue comprise small bowel mucosa (the gastroesophageal anatomy being a portion of gastrointestinal tract in a human).
As to Claim 11, Rittscher discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the image regions to be reconstructed are indicated by a medical professional in [0145].
As to Claim 13, Rittscher discloses a processor-readable medium (11) in [0057] storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor (10) in [0058] of a system (1) in [0054]-[0055], cause the system to:
access an in-vivo image “images” and “pixels” in [0113], [0137], [0162], and [0167] of a portion of a gastrointestinal tract, the in-vivo image comprising image regions to be reconstructed;
process the in-vivo image by a trained image inpainting deep learning model “model” in [0162] and [0167] to provide a reconstructed in-vivo image; and
provide the reconstructed in-vivo image to a device for viewing by a medical professional via (27) in [0110].
As to Claim 14, Rittscher discloses the processor-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the image regions to be reconstructed comprise regions where gastrointestinal content blocked a view of gastrointestinal tract tissue as described in [0113], [0137], [0162], and [0167].
As to Claim 15, Rittscher discloses the processor-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the reconstructed in-vivo image comprises regions of reconstructed gastrointestinal tract tissue for the regions where the gastrointestinal content blocked the view of the gastrointestinal tract tissue as described in [0113], [0137], [0162], and [0167].
As to Claim 16, Rittscher discloses the processor-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the portion of the gastrointestinal tract comprises a small bowel, and
wherein the regions of reconstructed gastrointestinal tract issue comprise small bowel mucosa (the gastroesophageal anatomy being a portion of gastrointestinal tract in a human).
As to Claim 17, Rittscher discloses the processor-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the image regions to be reconstructed are indicated by a medical professional in [0145].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the enclosed 892 form. 20250082416 ([0087]), 20230285621 ([0052]), 20210202063 ([0151] and [0167]), and 20160307303 ([0067]) are cited to show image inpainting. The prior art should be considered to define the claims over the art of record.
/WILLIAM CHOU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795