DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing of 10-27-2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-20 represent method, system and medium type claims. Therefore claims 1-20 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 15:
2A Prong 1:
providing at least one of the following: information about knowledge available for sharing; or knowledge available for sharing,
As drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion-user provide/collect data).
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein the method further comprises: executing a transfer learning process for sharing at least part of the knowledge available for sharing.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the method further comprises: executing a transfer learning process for sharing at least part of the knowledge available for sharing. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claims 2 and 16:
2A Prong 1:
reporting on the information about the knowledge available for sharing, based on a request for information on available knowledge;
As drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion-reporting).
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
executing the transfer learning process by reporting on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing, based on a request for available knowledge; or executing the transfer learning process by reporting on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing, based on a request for executing the transfer learning process.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
executing the transfer learning process by reporting on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing, based on a request for available knowledge; or executing the transfer learning process by reporting on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing, based on a request for executing the transfer learning process.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claims 3 and 17:
2A Prong 1:
reporting, to the authorized management service consumer, on the information about the knowledge available for sharing;
As drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
receiving the request for information on available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network
receiving the request for available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to the authorized management service consumer, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; receiving the request for information on available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and reporting, to an ML entity or ML- enabled function of the communication network, on the information about the knowledge available for sharing; receiving the request for available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to an ML entity or ML-enabled function of the communication network, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; or receiving the request for executing the transfer learning process from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to an ML entity or ML-enabled function of the communication network, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
receiving the request for information on available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network
receiving the request for available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to the authorized management service consumer, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; receiving the request for information on available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and reporting, to an ML entity or ML- enabled function of the communication network, on the information about the knowledge available for sharing; receiving the request for available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to an ML entity or ML-enabled function of the communication network, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; or receiving the request for executing the transfer learning process from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to an ML entity or ML-enabled function of the communication network, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claims 4 and 18:
2A Prong 1:
No additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein at least one of the following applies: the request for information on available knowledge specifies the ML entity or ML- enabled function; the request for available knowledge specifies the ML entity or ML-enabled function; the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies the ML entity or ML-enabled function; the request for information on available knowledge specifies a set of criteria for providing the information about the knowledge available for sharing; the request for available knowledge specifies criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing; or the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein at least one of the following applies: the request for information on available knowledge specifies the ML entity or ML- enabled function; the request for available knowledge specifies the ML entity or ML-enabled function; the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies the ML entity or ML-enabled function; the request for information on available knowledge specifies a set of criteria for providing the information about the knowledge available for sharing; the request for available knowledge specifies criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing; or the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claims 5 and 19:
2A Prong 1:
No additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein at least one of the following applies: the request for information on available knowledge specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; the request for available knowledge specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; or the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein at least one of the following applies: the request for information on available knowledge specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; the request for available knowledge specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; or the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claims 6 and 20:
2A Prong 1:
No additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
controlling the transfer learning process based on a command, from the authorized service management consumer, with respect to the request for available knowledge or the request for executing transfer learning; or controlling the transfer learning process based on content of the request for available knowledge or the request for executing transfer learning, adapted by the authorized service management consumer.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
controlling the transfer learning process based on a command, from the authorized service management consumer, with respect to the request for available knowledge or the request for executing transfer learning; or controlling the transfer learning process based on content of the request for available knowledge or the request for executing transfer learning, adapted by the authorized service management consumer.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 7:
2A Prong 1:
No additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein executing the transfer learning process comprises: adapting the knowledge into a format sharable with the ML entity or ML-enabled function or a format sharable with a management service consumer of the communication network.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein executing the transfer learning process comprises: adapting the knowledge into a format sharable with the ML entity or ML-enabled function or a format sharable with a management service consumer of the communication network.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 8:
2A Prong 1:
wherein executing the transfer learning process comprises at least one of the following: reporting on the at least part of the knowledge in a one-time transmission; or reporting on the at least part of the knowledge by several transmissions of pieces or subsets of the at least part of the knowledge according to a frequency specified in a request for available knowledge or in a request for executing the transfer learning process.
As drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
No Additional elements:
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
No Additional elements:
Regarding claim 9:
2A Prong 1:
No additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein the knowledge comprises different types of knowledge, wherein the types comprise at least one of the following: rules, statistics, statistical distributions, statistical correlations, regressions, classifications, neural network models, neural network model portions, or clustering.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the knowledge comprises different types of knowledge, wherein the types comprise at least one of the following: rules, statistics, statistical distributions, statistical correlations, regressions, classifications, neural network models, neural network model portions, or clustering.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 10:
2A Prong 1:
No additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
registering the knowledge available for sharing in the data repository; or publishing the knowledge available for sharing in the data repository. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
registering the knowledge available for sharing in the data repository; or publishing the knowledge available for sharing in the data repository.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 12:
2A Prong 1:
specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, an ML entity or ML-enabled function for receiving a report, from the management service producer or data repository, on information about knowledge available for sharing; specifying, in the request for available knowledge, an ML entity or ML-enabled function for receiving a report, from the management service producer or data repository, on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, the ML entity or ML-enabled function for receiving a report, from the management service producer or data repository, on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, a set of criteria for providing information about knowledge available for sharing; specifying, in the request for available knowledge, criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing; specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; specifying, in the request for available knowledge, at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, the management service producer; specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, a description of knowledge required; specifying, in the request for available knowledge, a description of the at least part of the knowledge; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, a description of the at least part of the knowledge; specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, a variable and a knowledge type; specifying, in the request for available knowledge, a variable and at least one of a knowledge name or a knowledge type; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, a variable and at least one of a knowledge name or a knowledge type; specifying, in the request for available knowledge, a frequency for reporting the available knowledge; or specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, a frequency for reporting the available knowledge.
As drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion-in a request a user can mentally specify/evaluate needed data).
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
No Additional elements:
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
No Additional elements:
Regarding claim 13:
2A Prong 1:
No additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein the managing comprises at least one of the following: suspending, re-activating, or cancelling the request for available knowledge; or starting, suspending, or restarting the request for executing the transfer learning process, and wherein the adapting comprises at least one of the following: adjusting description of knowledge for the request for available knowledge; or adjusting conditions or characteristics of the transfer learning process for the request for executing the transfer learning process. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the managing comprises at least one of the following: suspending, re-activating, or cancelling the request for available knowledge; or starting, suspending, or restarting the request for executing the transfer learning process, and wherein the adapting comprises at least one of the following: adjusting description of knowledge for the request for available knowledge; or adjusting conditions or characteristics of the transfer learning process for the request for executing the transfer learning process.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 14:
2A Prong 1:
No additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
initiating the transfer learning process by transmitting the request for executing the transfer learning process to the management service producer; or initiating the transfer learning process by transmitting the request for executing the transfer learning process to the ML entity or ML-enabled function.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
initiating the transfer learning process by transmitting the request for executing the transfer learning process to the management service producer; or initiating the transfer learning process by transmitting the request for executing the transfer learning process to the ML entity or ML-enabled function.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by (“Ghadimi” 20220158907 A1).
Claim 1: Ghadimi discloses a method for use by a management service producer or data repository of a communication network, the method comprising: providing at least one of the following: information about knowledge available for sharing; or knowledge available for sharing (Paragraph 35; knowledge available for sharing with learner),
wherein the method further comprises: executing a transfer learning process for sharing at least part of the knowledge available for sharing (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 35, 52 (transfer) 88-90; execution of transfer learning).
Claim 2: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of the following: reporting on the information about the knowledge available for sharing, based on a request for information on available knowledge; executing the transfer learning process by reporting on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing, based on a request for available knowledge; or executing the transfer learning process by reporting on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing, based on a request for executing the transfer learning process (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 35-38; source provides available knowledge).
Claim 3: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 2, further comprising at least one of the following: receiving the request for information on available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and reporting, to the authorized management service consumer, on the information about the knowledge available for sharing; receiving the request for available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to the authorized management service consumer, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; receiving the request for information on available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and reporting, to an ML entity or ML- enabled function of the communication network, on the information about the knowledge available for sharing; receiving the request for available knowledge from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to an ML entity or ML-enabled function of the communication network, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; or receiving the request for executing the transfer learning process from a management service consumer of the communication network and executing the transfer learning process by reporting, to an ML entity or ML-enabled function of the communication network, on the at least part of the knowledge available for sharing (Ghadimi: Paragraph 82 and 88; receive request of policy/knowledge).
Claim 4: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the following applies: the request for information on available knowledge specifies the ML entity or ML-enabled function; the request for available knowledge specifies the ML entity or ML-enabled function; the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies the ML entity or ML-enabled function; the request for information on available knowledge specifies a set of criteria for providing the information about the knowledge available for sharing; the request for available knowledge specifies criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing; or the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing (Ghadimi: Paragraphs 79, 82 and 88; request specific policy).
Claim 5: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the following applies: the request for information on available knowledge specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; the request for available knowledge specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem (Paragraph 82 and 122; criteria/history); or the request for executing the transfer learning process specifies at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem.
Claim 7: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 1, wherein executing the transfer learning process comprises: adapting the knowledge into a format sharable with the ML entity or ML-enabled function or a format sharable with a management service consumer of the communication network (Paragraphs 81 (ML functions) 121-122; refined form).
Claim 8: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 1, wherein executing the transfer learning process comprises at least one of the following: reporting on the at least part of the knowledge in a one-time transmission (Paragraph 72; feedback/reporting); or reporting on the at least part of the knowledge by several transmissions of pieces or subsets of the at least part of the knowledge according to a frequency specified in a request for available knowledge or in a request for executing the transfer learning process.
Claim 9: Ghadimi discloses a method of any one of claims 1, wherein the knowledge comprises different types of knowledge, wherein the types comprise at least one of the following: rules, statistics, statistical distributions, statistical correlations, regressions (Paragraph 81; SVM), classifications, neural network models (Paragraphs 111-112 and 119), neural network model portions, or clustering.
Claim 10: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 1, further comprising: registering the knowledge available for sharing in the data repository (Paragraphs 88 and 97; stored policy); or publishing the knowledge available for sharing in the data repository.
Claim 11: Ghadimi discloses a method for use by a management service consumer of a communication network, the method comprising at least one of the following: generating a request for information on available knowledge from a management service producer or data repository of the communication network (Paragraph 35; knowledge available for sharing with learner),
generating a request for available knowledge from a management service producer or data repository of the communication network (Paragraphs 82 and 88; request access from stored location);
or generating a request for executing a transfer learning process between a management service producer or data repository of the communication network and an ML entity or ML-enabled function of the communication network, wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following:
managing the request for available knowledge or the request for executing the transfer learning process;
or adapting content of the request for available knowledge or the request for executing the transfer learning process.
(Figure 4 and Paragraphs 35, 52 (transfer) 88-90; execution of transfer learning).
Claim 12: Ghadimi discloses a method a method of claim 11, wherein at least one of the following applies: specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, an ML entity or ML-enabled function for receiving a report, from the management service producer or data repository, on information about knowledge available for sharing;
specifying, in the request for available knowledge, an ML entity or ML-enabled function for receiving a report, from the management service producer or data repository, on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing;
specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, the ML entity or ML-enabled function for receiving a report, from the management service producer or data repository, on at least part of the knowledge available for sharing; specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, a set of criteria for providing information about knowledge available for sharing;
specifying, in the request for available knowledge, criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing (Paragraphs 79 and 82; criteria for using); specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, criteria for providing the knowledge available for sharing; specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem (Paragraph 38-39; task for learner);
specifying, in the request for available knowledge, at least one of the following: a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, at least one of the following:
a task related to the knowledge, a domain related to the knowledge, a context related to the knowledge, or a network problem; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, the management service producer (Paragraphs 38-39; task to learn);
specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, a description of knowledge required;
specifying, in the request for available knowledge, a description of the at least part of the knowledge (Paragraph 82; request for running policy); specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, a description of the at least part of the knowledge; specifying, in the request for information on available knowledge, a variable and a knowledge type; specifying, in the request for available knowledge, a variable and at least one of a knowledge name or a knowledge type; specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, a variable and at least one of a knowledge name or a knowledge type; specifying, in the request for available knowledge, a frequency for reporting the available knowledge; or specifying, in the request for executing the transfer learning process, a frequency for reporting the available knowledge (Paragraph 106; frequency of providing/reporting information (i.e. once per day)).
Claim 13: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 11, wherein the managing comprises at least one of the following: suspending, re-activating, or cancelling the request for available knowledge; or starting, suspending, or restarting the request for executing the transfer learning process (Paragraph 82; request starts transfer execution), and wherein the adapting comprises at least one of the following: adjusting description of knowledge for the request for available knowledge; or adjusting conditions or characteristics of the transfer learning process for the request for executing the transfer learning process (Paragraphs 82 and 111-112 (adaptative functions performed on knowledge)).
Claim 14: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 11, further comprising: initiating the transfer learning process by transmitting the request for executing the transfer learning process to the management service producer; or initiating the transfer learning process by transmitting the request for executing the transfer learning process to the ML entity or ML-enabled function (Paragraphs 82 and 122; request to start transfer learning of policy).
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Memory and processor (Paragraph 94)
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 2 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 3 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 4 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 5 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghadimi et al. (“Ghadimi” 20220158907 A1) in view of Zhdanov et al. (“Zhdanov” 11983244 B1).
Claim 6: Ghadimi discloses a method of claim 2, further comprising at least one of the following: controlling the transfer learning process based on a command, from the authorized service management consumer, with respect to the request for available knowledge or the request for executing transfer learning; or controlling the transfer learning process based on content of the request for available knowledge or the request for executing transfer learning, adapted by the authorized service management consumer (Ghadimi: Paragraphs 82 and 88; request).
Ghadimi provides a request, however, may not explicitly disclose request from an authorized consumer. Zhdanov is provided because it discloses a transfer learning method that also provides a request of sharable knowledge (Column 20, Line 49-Column 21-Line 7) from an authorized user/consumer (Column 9, Lines 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way and provide an authorization mechanism for the request of Ghadimi. One would have been motivated to provide the authorization capability as an enhanced security measure.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 6 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20220075948 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHERROD L KEATON whose telephone number is (571)270-1697. The examiner can normally be reached on MONDAY -FRIDAY 9:30-5.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michelle Bechtold can be reached on 571-272-4124. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-3800.
/SHERROD L KEATON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2148 7-27-2026