The present application, filed on or after 16 Mar 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-20 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-20 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
+_+_+ Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dorrer - U.S. Pub. 20070041021 +_+_+
As for Claim 1, Dorrer teaches a first splitter optically coupled to a first connection and to a first device (Fig. 4, splitter 420, connected to device 450, ¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”), the first device configured to generate a first output signal in response to receiving a first optical signal from the first connection through the first splitter (Fig. 4, device 450, with output SA); and a second splitter optically coupled to a second connection and to a second device (Fig. 4, “optical hybrid structure” 440, shown splitting the signal again into another modulated signal and another reference signal.), the second device configured to generate a second output signal in response to receiving a second optical signal from the second connection through the second splitter (Fig. 4, device 460, with output SB), wherein the first splitter and the second splitter are optically coupled to each other (Fig. 4, the splitters are shown optically connected.)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Dorrer teaches wherein the first splitter comprises a first port, the second splitter comprises a second port, and the first splitter is optically coupled to the second splitter through the first port and the second port (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 1, Dorrer teaches wherein the first splitter is configured to: receive a first input signal from the first connection; split the first input signal into the first optical signal and a first reference signal; and provide the first optical signal to the first device and provide the first reference signal to the second splitter (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 3, Dorrer teaches wherein the second splitter is configured to provide at least a portion of the first reference signal to the second connection in response to receipt of the first reference signal (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 3, Dorrer teaches wherein an optical power of the first optical signal is substantially similar or identical to an optical power of the first reference signal (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 3, Dorrer teaches wherein the second splitter comprises: a first port configured to provide the first optical signal to the first device; and a second port configured to output at least a portion of the first reference signal in response to receipt of the first reference signal (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 6, Dorrer teaches wherein the first splitter comprises: a third port configured to provide the second optical signal to the second device; and a fourth port configured to output at least a portion of a second reference signal in response to receipt of the second reference signal (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 1, Dorrer teaches wherein the second splitter is configured to: receive a second input signal from the second connection; split the second input signal into the second optical signal and a second reference signal; and provide the second optical signal to the second device and provide the second reference signal to the first splitter, wherein an optical power of the second optical signal is substantially similar or identical to an optical power of the second reference signal (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 8, Dorrer teaches wherein the first splitter is configured to provide at least a portion of the second reference signal to the first connection in response to receipt of the second reference signal (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 10, which depends on Claim 1, Dorrer teaches wherein the first splitter, the second splitter, the first device, and the second device are integrated on a chip (¶31|1: “In one embodiment, the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 is a structure made of silica waveguides on a silicon substrate. Other implementations of such structure leading to substantially identical function include for example a polarization-based hybrid and a fiber-based hybrid. The hybrid structure 440 is configured to split the modulated signal at splitter SMOD into first and second modulated signals and configured to split the reference signal at splitter SREF into a first and second reference signals.”)
As for Claim 11, which depends on Claim 1, Dorrer teaches wherein the first connection is a first grating coupler configured to optically couple the first splitter to at least one of a light source or a detector; and wherein the second connection is a second grating coupler configured to optically couple the second splitter to at least one of the light source or the detector (¶31|1: “In one embodiment, the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 is a structure made of silica waveguides on a silicon substrate. Other implementations of such structure leading to substantially identical function include for example a polarization-based hybrid and a fiber-based hybrid. The hybrid structure 440 is configured to split the modulated signal at splitter SMOD into first and second modulated signals and configured to split the reference signal at splitter SREF into a first and second reference signals.”)
As for Claim 12, Dorrer teaches a test circuit, comprising: a first splitter optically coupled to a first connection and to a first device (Fig. 4, splitter 420, connected to device 450, ¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”), the first device configured to generate a first output signal in response to receiving a first optical signal from the first splitter (Fig. 4, device 450, with output SA); and a second splitter optically coupled to a second connection and to a second device (Fig. 4, “optical hybrid structure” 440, shown splitting the signal again into another modulated signal and another reference signal.), the second device configured to generate a second output signal in response to receiving a second optical signal from the second splitter (Fig. 4, device 460, with output SB), wherein the first splitter and the second splitter are optically coupled to each other (Fig. 4, the splitters are shown optically connected.); and a test apparatus configured to communicate a signal with the test circuit through the first connection and the second connection (Fig. 4, showing signal source 410 communicated through the first and second connections in the test circuit.)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 12, Dorrer teaches wherein the test apparatus comprises: a light source configured to provide an input signal (¶28|4: “In one embodiment, the optical source 410 is implemented using an Agilent 81689A laser.”); a detector configured to receive a reference signal; an optical switch configured to provide the input signal to the first connection or the second connection and to receive at least a portion of the reference signal from the first connection or the second connection (Fig. 4, splitter 420, connected to device 450, ¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”)
As for Claim 14, which depends on Claim 12, Dorrer teaches wherein the first device is at least one of a laser source, an amplifier, or a modulator (Fig. 4, splitter 420, ¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”)
As for Claim 15, which depends on Claim 12, Dorrer teaches wherein the test apparatus is detachably coupled to the test circuit port (¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”)
As for Claim 16, which depends on Claim 12, Dorrer teaches further comprising: a first port of the first splitter; and a second port of the second splitter, the second port optically coupled to the first (¶29|1: “The source is sent to a splitter module 420 which includes a splitter S. Such splitting can be performed for example using fiber-based or waveguide-based couplers. Part of the light is sent to the modulator 430 to generate a modulated signal. The remaining part is sent directly to one of the input ports of the 90° optical hybrid structure 440 to act as a reference signal.”)
As for Claim 17, which depends on Claim 12, Dorrer teaches wherein the system is configured such that: in a first mode of the system, the test apparatus provides a first input signal to the first splitter through the first connection; in response to receipt of the first input signal, the first splitter splits the first input signal into the first optical signal to be directed to the first device and a first reference signal directed to the second splitter; and in response to receipt of the first reference signal, the second splitter directs at least a portion of the first reference signal to the test apparatus (¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”); and in a second mode of the system, the test apparatus provides a second input signal to the second splitter through the second connection; in response to receipt of the second input signal, the second splitter splits the second input signal into the second optical signal to be directed to the second device and a second reference signal directed to the first splitter; and in response to receipt of the second reference signal, the first splitter directs at least a portion of the second reference signal to the test apparatus (¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”)
Claims 18-19 recite substantially the same subject matter as Claims 8 and 10, respectively, and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
As for Claim 20, Dorrer teaches a laser source configured to output a source beam (¶28|4: “In one embodiment, the optical source 410 is implemented using an Agilent 81689A laser.”); a modulator configured to receive a modulation signal and modulate the source beam based on the modulation signal to produce a modulated beam (¶27|3: “The homodyne arrangement 400 includes …a temporal modulator under test 430….”); an amplifier configured to amplify the modulated beam (¶30|7: “Other examples of modulators and devices that could be characterized using the teachings of the present invention include a Mach-Zehnder modulator or a phase modulator driven by a time-varying electrical signal, a semiconductor optical amplifier driven by a time-varying electrical signal or modulated by a time-varying optical signal propagating jointly with the first signal source in the semiconductor optical amplifier.”); and a test circuit, comprising: a first splitter optically coupled to a first device, the first device being at least one of the laser source, the modulator, or the amplifier (Fig. 4, splitter 420, ¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”); and a second splitter optically coupled to a second device and the first splitter (Fig. 4, “optical hybrid structure” 440, shown splitting the signal again into another modulated signal and another reference signal.); and wherein, in response to receipt of a first input signal, the first splitter is configured to split the first input signal into a first optical signal to be directed to the first device and a first reference signal to be directed to the second splitter(Fig. 4, splitter 420, ¶27|1: “FIG. 4 depicts a block diagram of a homodyne measuring arrangement according to an embodiment of the invention. The homodyne arrangement 400 includes a signal source 410, a splitter S 420, a temporal modulator under test 430, a 90° optical hybrid structure 440 [containing second splitter], and two balanced photodetector units 450, 460.”)
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645