DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 22-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braunisch et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2008/0150125 A1; hereinafter Braunisch)
With respect to claim 1, Braunisch discloses a semiconductor device assembly, comprising: a substrate [104] having a bore [120] that extends through the substrate; a semiconductor die [102,108] disposed on the substrate; and a thermally-conductive channel [114] extending through the bore, the thermally-conductive channel having a first end located at a same side of the substrate as the semiconductor die, and a second end located at an opposite side of the substrate from the semiconductor die (See Figure 2).
With respect to claim 2, Braunisch discloses wherein the thermally-conductive channel comprises copper (see ¶[0017]).
With respect to claim 3, Braunisch discloses wherein the semiconductor device assembly is in a board-on-chip configuration (see Figure 2).
With respect to claim 4, Braunisch discloses wherein the first end of the thermally-conductive channel contacts the semiconductor die (See Figure 2).
With respect to claim 7, Braunisch discloses wherein the thermally-conductive channel includes a narrower portion and a wider portion (See Figure 5C).
With respect to claim 8, Braunisch discloses wherein the thermally-conductive channel is aligned with an area of the semiconductor die that is associated with a higher operating temperature than an operating temperature of another area of the semiconductor die (see ¶[0033]).
With respect to claim 9, Braunisch discloses an additional thermally-conductive channel extending through the bore (see Figure 2).
With respect to claim 10, Braunisch discloses a casing [118] surrounding the semiconductor die (see Figure 6; casing also constructed utilizing [106] and [102]).
With respect to claim 11, Braunisch discloses a die attach film between the semiconductor die and the substrate (see Figure 2; die is connected via [106] which rests on die attach film).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunisch in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,196,575 B1; hereinafter Lee)
With respect to claim 12, Braunisch discloses an apparatus, comprising: and a semiconductor device assembly, comprising: a substrate [104] having a bore [120] that extends through the substrate, a semiconductor die [102,108] disposed on the substrate; and a thermally-conductive channel [114], extending through the bore, between the semiconductor die and the circuit board (See Figure 2).
Braunisch fails to disclose a circuit board; wherein the substrate is electrically connected to the circuit board, wherein the thermally-conductive channel is configured to transfer heat from the semiconductor die to the circuit board. In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches a circuit board [305]; wherein the substrate [102] is electrically connected to the circuit board, wherein the thermally-conductive channel [401] is configured to transfer heat from the semiconductor die to the circuit board (see Lee Figure 2A; Column 3, lines 30-35). Implementation of a circuit board as taught by Lee allows for connection of the device of Braunisch to exterior devices and heat dissipation from semiconductor die structures within the device (see Lee Column 3, lines 30-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Braunisch and Lee discloses wherein the semiconductor device assembly is in a board-on-chip configuration (see Braunisch Figure 2).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Braunisch and Lee discloses wherein the substrate is electrically connected to the circuit board via a ball grid array [103] (see Lee Figure 2A).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Braunisch and Lee discloses wherein the thermally-conductive channel contacts the semiconductor die (See Braunisch Figure 2).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Braunisch and Lee discloses a thermal interface material disposed on the circuit board, wherein the thermally-conductive channel contacts the thermal interface material (see Lee Column 4, lines 9-15).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Braunisch and Lee discloses wherein the thermally-conductive channel includes a narrower portion and a wider portion, and wherein the wider portion has a thermal connection to the circuit board (See Braunisch Figure 5C and Lee Figure 2A). With respect to claim 18, the combination of Braunisch and Lee discloses wherein the thermally-conductive channel has a thermal connection to a via [316] in the circuit board (see Lee Figure 2A).
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Braunisch and Lee discloses an additional thermally-conductive channel, extending through the bore, between the semiconductor die and the circuit board, wherein the additional thermally-conductive channel is configured to transfer heat from the semiconductor die to the circuit board (see Braunisch Figure 2 and Lee Figure 2A).
With respect to claim 20, the combination of Braunisch and Lee discloses wherein a thermal connection of the thermally-conductive channel to the circuit board is at a gap between a first row of electrical contacts of the circuit board and a second row of electrical contacts of the circuit board (see Lee Figure 2A)
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunisch in view of Khan et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0065972 A1; hereinafter Khan).
With respect to claim 5, Braunisch fails to disclose an encapsulant extending through the bore, wherein the thermally-conductive channel extends through the encapsulant but does disclose isolating sidewalls [124] (see Figure 5C). In the same field of endeavor, Khan teaches an encapsulant [310] extending through the bore, wherein the thermally-conductive channel [320] extends through the encapsulant (see Figure 3). Implementation of an encapsulant surrounding the thermally-conductive channel as taught by Khan allows for physical and conductive isolation from surrounding device layers (see Figure 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Braunisch and Khan discloses a wire bond [308] from a bottom of the semiconductor die [302] to a bottom of the substrate [314], wherein the encapsulant encapsulates the wire bond (See Khan Figure 3).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunisch in view of Lee as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Khan.
With respect to claim 21, the combination of Braunisch and Lee fails to disclose an encapsulant extending through the bore, wherein the thermally-conductive channel extends through the encapsulant.
In the same field of endeavor, Khan teaches an encapsulant [310] extending through the bore, wherein the thermally-conductive channel [320] extends through the encapsulant (see Figure 3). Implementation of an encapsulant surrounding the thermally-conductive channel as taught by Khan allows for physical and conductive isolation from surrounding device layers (see Figure 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Refai-Ahmed et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0075807 A1) discloses a semiconductor chip with thermal conductors
Yoshida (U.S. Patent No. 11,776,903 B2) discloses a semiconductor package with thermal conductor
Jafari et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0103604 A1) discloses a semiconductor package with thermal conductors
/JONATHAN HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818