DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e., claims 1-16 and 28-34) in the reply filed on June 26th, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Musha et al. (US 2010/0109220 A1; hereinafter Musha).
With respect to claim 1, Musha teaches a method in Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, comprising:
positioning a first semiconductor device UW on a first chuck 22 of a bonding device 20, wherein the first semiconductor device UW includes a layer of ferromagnetic material (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 60, 61, 64-66, 75, 76, 91; 22 holds upper substrate UW; note listed ferromagnetic materials);
positioning a second semiconductor device LW on a second chuck 21 of the bonding device 20 (see Figs. 1A-2 and paragraphs 60, 62, 65, 74; 21 supports lower substrate LW); and
controlling one or more magnetic fields, that interact with the layer of ferromagnetic material of the first semiconductor device UW, to cause bonding of the first semiconductor device UW and the second semiconductor device LW (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 66, 76, 77, 91, 92).
With respect to claim 4, Musha teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor device UW includes a first semiconductor wafer with the layer of ferromagnetic material disposed on the first semiconductor wafer, and the second semiconductor device LW includes a second semiconductor wafer (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 62, 63, 91).
With respect to claim 7, Musha teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: controlling the one or more magnetic fields, that interact with the layer of ferromagnetic material of the first semiconductor device UW, to retain the first semiconductor device UW on the first chuck 22 (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 60, 61, 64-66, 75, 76, 91, 92).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 8-12, 15, 16, and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musha et al. (US 2010/0109220 A1; hereinafter Musha) in view of Kawadahara (US 2022/0076980 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Musha discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first chuck 22 or the second chuck 21 includes an electromagnet, and wherein controlling the one or more magnetic fields comprises: controlling electrical current to the electromagnet (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 61, 79, 91, 92).
Musha does not explicitly disclose wherein the electromagnet is a plurality of electromagnets, and wherein controlling the one or more magnetic fields comprises: controlling electrical current to the plurality of electromagnets.
Kawadahara discloses a method in Figs. 1-12B wherein at least one of a first chuck 10 or a second chuck 20 includes a plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n), and wherein controlling one or more magnetic fields comprises: controlling electrical current to the plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n) (see Figs. 1-12B and paragraphs 29, 39, 43, 48, 59, 61, 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the method of Musha at least one of the first chuck or the second chuck would include a plurality of electromagnets, and wherein controlling the one or more magnetic fields would comprise: controlling electrical current to the plurality of electromagnets as taught by Kawadahara because this makes it possible to cause pressurizing force that is two-dimensionally distributed to act between the two substrates (see Kawadahara: paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the method of claim 1, wherein controlling the one or more magnetic fields is to cause flexing of the first semiconductor device W1 resulting in contact between the first semiconductor device W1 and the second semiconductor device W2 (see Kawadahara: Figs. 9A-11A and paragraphs 70-73). This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because as a result, it is possible to bond the upper wafer W1 and the lower wafer W2 together while reducing the formation of voids (cavities) on a bonding interface. That is, the wafers W1 and W2 can be bonded together by applying a magnetic field/load in such a manner as to push air out from the centers of the wafers W1 and W2 (see Kawadahara: paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Mush and Kawadahara discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: applying a vacuum to the second chuck 20 to retain the second semiconductor device W2 on the second chuck 20 (see Kawadahara: Figs. 2, 3, 7A, and paragraphs 54, 64). This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the use of a vacuum chuck mechanism is semiconductor manufacturing is well known in the art (see MPEP 2144 I).
With respect to claim 9, Musha discloses a method in Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, comprising:
positioning a first semiconductor device UW on a first chuck 22 of a bonding device 20, wherein the first semiconductor device UW includes a layer of ferromagnetic material (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 60, 61, 64-66, 75, 76, 91; 22 holds upper substrate UW; note listed ferromagnetic materials);
positioning a second semiconductor device LW on a second chuck 21 of the bonding device 20 (see Figs. 1A-2 and paragraphs 60, 62, 65, 74; 21 supports lower substrate LW), wherein an electromagnet 33 is joined with at least one of the first chuck 22 or the second chuck 21 (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 61, 79, 91, 92); and
controlling states of activation of the electromagnet to attract or repel the layer of ferromagnetic material to cause bonding of the first semiconductor device UW and the second semiconductor device LW (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 66, 76, 77, 91, 92).
Musha does not explicitly disclose wherein the electromagnet is a plurality of electromagnets, or controlling state of activation of the plurality of electromagnets.
Kawadahara discloses a method in Figs. 1-12B wherein a plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n) are joined with at least one of a first chuck 10 or a second chuck 20, and controlling states of activation of the plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n) (see Figs. 1-12B and paragraphs 29, 39, 43, 48, 59, 61, 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the electromagnet of Musha would be a plurality of electromagnets, and the method would comprise controlling state of activation of the plurality of electromagnets as taught by Kawadahara because this makes it possible to cause pressurizing force that is two-dimensionally distributed to act between the two substrates (see Kawadahara: paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the method of claim 9, wherein controlling the states of activation of the plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n) comprises: controlling electrical current to the plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n) (see Kawadahara: Figs. 1-12B and paragraphs 29, 39, 43, 48, 59, 61, 62).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the method of claim 9, wherein controlling the states of activation of the plurality of electromagnets is to cause flexing of the first semiconductor device W1 resulting in contact between the first semiconductor device W1 and the second semiconductor device W2 (see Kawadahara: Figs. 9A-11A and paragraphs 70-73). This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because as a result, it is possible to bond the upper wafer W1 and the lower wafer W2 together while reducing the formation of voids (cavities) on a bonding interface. That is, the wafers W1 and W2 can be bonded together by applying a magnetic field/load in such a manner as to push air out from the centers of the wafers W1 and W2 (see Kawadahara: paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the first semiconductor device UW includes a first semiconductor wafer with the layer of ferromagnetic material disposed on the first semiconductor wafer, and the second semiconductor device LW includes a second semiconductor wafer (see Mush: Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 62, 63, 91).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Musha and discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: controlling the states of activation of the plurality of electromagnets to retain the first semiconductor device UW on the first chuck 22 (see Musha: Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 60, 61, 64-66, 75, 76, 91, 92; for plural electromagnets see Kawadahara: paragraphs 43, 59, 61).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: applying a vacuum to the second chuck 20 to retain the second semiconductor device W2 on the second chuck 20 (see Kawadahara: Figs. 2, 3, 7A, and paragraphs 54, 64). This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the use of a vacuum chuck mechanism is semiconductor manufacturing is well known in the art (see MPEP 2144 I).
With respect to claim 28, Musha discloses a bonding device 20 in Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, comprising:
a first chuck 22 to retain a first semiconductor device UW at a first surface of the first chuck 22 (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 60, 61, 64-66, 75, 76, 91; 22 holds upper substrate UW);
a second chuck 21 to retain a second semiconductor device LW at a second surface of the second chuck 21, wherein the first surface of the first chuck 22 faces the second surface of the second chuck 21 (see Figs. 1A-2 and paragraphs 60, 62, 65, 74; 21 supports lower substrate LW); and
an electromagnet 33 joined with at least one of the first chuck 22 or the second chuck 21 (see Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 61, 79, 91, 92).
Musha does not explicitly disclose wherein the electromagnet is a plurality of electromagnets.
Kawadahara discloses a bonding device in Figs. 1-12B comprising a plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n or 22a-1 or 22a-n) joined with at least one of a first chuck 10 or a second chuck 20 (see Figs. 1-12B and paragraphs 29, 39, 43, 48, 52, 59, 61, 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in the bonding device of Musha the electromagnet would be a plurality of electromagnets as taught by Kawadahara because this makes it possible to cause pressurizing force that is two-dimensionally distributed to act between the two substrates (see Kawadahara: paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 29, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the bonding device of claim 28, wherein the plurality of electromagnets include a first plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n) joined with the first chuck 10, and a second plurality of electromagnets (22a-1 to 22a-n) joined with the second chuck 20 (see Kawadahara: Figs. 1-12B and paragraphs 43, 52, 53, 59).
With respect to claim 30, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the bonding device of claim 29, wherein the first plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n) are arranged in a grid and the second plurality of electromagnets (22a-1 to 22a-n) are arranged in a grid (see Kawadahara: Figs. 1-12B and paragraphs 44, 49, 53, 58).
With respect to claim 31, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the bonding device of claim 28, wherein the plurality of electromagnets (12a-1 to 12a-n or 22a-1 or 22a-n) are configured to be individually addressable (see Kawadahara: Figs. 1-12B and paragraphs 29, 39, 43, 46, 48, 55, 59, 61, 62).
With respect to claim 32, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the bonding device of claim 28, wherein the plurality of electromagnets are configured to generate one or more magnetic fields of a strength sufficient to repel or attract a ferromagnetic material layer of the first semiconductor device (see Musha: Figs. 1A-2, 7A, 7B, and paragraphs 66, 76, 77, 91, 92. For plural electromagnets see Kawadahara: paragraphs 43, 59, 61
With respect to claim 33, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the bonding device of claim 28, further comprising: a vacuum device 23c; and a vacuum line 23b connecting the vacuum device 23c and the second chuck 20 (see Kawadahara: Figs. 2, 3, 7A, and paragraphs 54, 64). This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the use of a vacuum chuck mechanism is semiconductor manufacturing is well known in the art (see MPEP 2144 I).
With respect to claim 34, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the bonding device of claim 33, wherein the second chuck 20 includes a plurality of openings (23a-1 to 23a-k) in fluid communication with the vacuum line 23b (see Kawadahara: Figs. 2, 3, 7A, and paragraphs 54, 64).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musha et al. (US 2010/0109220 A1; hereinafter Musha) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2023/0299041 A1; hereinafter Chuang).
With respect to claim 5, Musha discloses the method of claim 4.
Musha does not explicitly disclose wherein the first semiconductor device further includes a dielectric layer disposed on the first semiconductor wafer, and wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material is embedded in the dielectric layer.
Chuang discloses a method in at least Figs. 1-14 wherein a first semiconductor device 70 further includes a dielectric layer 78 disposed on the first semiconductor wafer 70, and wherein a layer of ferromagnetic material (of 84) is embedded in the dielectric layer 78 (see Figs. 1-14 and paragraphs 14, 15, 20, 29, 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first semiconductor device of Musha would further include a dielectric layer disposed on the first semiconductor wafer, and wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material would be embedded in the dielectric layer as taught by Chuang because it is well known in the art that stacked semiconductor devices include dielectric layers to isolate and insulate the active circuits of the semiconductor wafer (see MPEP 2144 I).
With respect to claim 6, Musha discloses the method of claim 4.
Musha does not disclose wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material includes multiple discrete regions of ferromagnetic material.
Chuang discloses a method in at least Figs. 1-14 wherein a layer of ferromagnetic material (of 84) includes multiple discrete regions of ferromagnetic material (see Figs. 1-14 and paragraphs 14, 16, 27, 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the layer of ferromagnetic material of Musha would include multiple discrete regions of ferromagnetic material as taught by Chuang so that the wafers may thus be magnetically self-aligned during bonding, which may reduce misalignment between the bonded wafers (see Chuang: paragraph 13).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musha et al. (US 2010/0109220 A1; hereinafter Musha) in view of Kawadahara (US 2022/0076980 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chuang et al. (US 2023/0299041 A1; hereinafter Chuang).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the method of claim 12.
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the first semiconductor device further includes a dielectric layer disposed on the first semiconductor wafer, and wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material is embedded in the dielectric layer.
Chuang disclose a method in at least Figs. 1-14 wherein a first semiconductor device 70 further includes a dielectric layer 78 disposed on the first semiconductor wafer 70, and wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material (of 84) is embedded in the dielectric layer 78 (see Figs. 1-14 and paragraphs 14, 15, 20, 29, 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first semiconductor device of Musha would further include a dielectric layer disposed on the first semiconductor wafer, and wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material would be embedded in the dielectric layer as taught by Chuang because it is well known in the art that stacked semiconductor devices include dielectric layers to isolate and insulate the active circuits of the semiconductor wafer (see MPEP 2144 I).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Musha and Kawadahara discloses the method of claim 12.
Musha does not disclose wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material includes multiple discrete regions of ferromagnetic material.
Chuang discloses a method in at least Figs. 1-14 wherein a layer of ferromagnetic material (of 84) includes multiple discrete regions of ferromagnetic material (see Figs. 1-14 and paragraphs 14, 16, 27, 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the layer of ferromagnetic material of Musha would include multiple discrete regions of ferromagnetic material as taught by Chuang so that the wafers may thus be magnetically self-aligned during bonding, which may reduce misalignment between the bonded wafers (see Chuang: paragraph 13).
Inquiry
/J.M.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893