Claim Objections
Claim 3, line 2; claim 5, line 2-3; claim 10, line 2-3; claim 11, line 2 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a unitary, monolithic combustor” should be - - the unitary, monolithic combustor- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McIntyre et al (US 11053854) in view of Smiddy et al (US 20190292930 as referenced in OA dated 1/10/2025) and Hill (US 1986061 as referenced in OA dated 1/10/2025) and Shekleton et al (US 5033263 as referenced in OA dated 1/10/2025) and Binek et al (US 20220307694 as referenced in OA dated 1/10/2025)
Annotated Figure 1 of Shekleton
Regarding claim 1, McIntyre discloses a fuel injector bolt (Figure 1) comprising:
a bolt head (Figure 1; 124, 108);
a threaded body (Figure 1; 110) that includes fuel injector threads (Column 5, lines 7-15);
one or more fuel intakes (Figure 2; 114);
a fuel injector channel (Figure 2; 202); and
an angled face (The angles face that has Figure 2; 116) that includes a fuel orifice (Figure 1; 116);
wherein the fuel injector bolt is configured to be installed in a gas turbine engine combustor (Column 8, line 22-32) such that the fuel injector bolt and the fuel injector channel are positioned along a fuel injector axis (The central, longitudinal axis of Figure 1; 100) parallel with a primary combustor axis (The combustor axis of the gas turbine engine combustor of Column 8, line 22-32. Functional Language, the injector axis is parallel to a central axis of a gas turbine engine, Figure 17; 1602. The combustor axis is also parallel to the central axis of the gas turbine engine, so that the injector axis is parallel to the combustor axis); and
wherein the angled face and fuel orifice are angled and sized to provide a desired degree of mixing between fuel exiting the fuel injector bolt and air flowing in the combustor when the fuel injector bolt is installed in the combustor and is in operation (Functional Language, the angled face and fuel orifice provide a desired degree of mixing between the fuel exiting the fuel injector bolt and the air flowing in the combustor when the fuel injector bolt is installed in the combustor and is in operation);
a combustor body (The body of Figure 6; 600);
the fuel injector bolt is threaded into a combustor body boss (The portion of Figure 9; 600 where the fuel injector bolt is located. This portion is an enlarged portion because of Figure 9; 626).
McIntyre does not disclose a bolt head having a visual fuel injector clocking indicator;
wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face;
a fuel injector axis parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis; and
air flowing through an air dilution channel in the combustor; and
wherein the visual fuel injector clocking indicator is configured to align with a visual boss clocking indicator on a unitary, monolith combustor body when the fuel injector bolt is fully threaded into a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss such that the fuel injector bolt achieves a desired torque/preload and a desired angular location of the fuel orifice.
However, Smiddy teaches a bolt head (The head of Figure 8; 190. Paragraph 0037) of a bolt (Figure 9; 190) having a visual clocking indicator (Figure 8; 199);
wherein the visual clocking indicator is configured to align with a visual boss clocking indicator (Figure 8; 201) on a body (Figure 3; 137, 180) when the bolt is fully threaded into the body such that the bolt achieves a desired torque/preload (Functional Language, the bolt can be fully threaded, so that the bolt achieves a desired torque/preload) and a desired angular location of an orifice (Figure 4; 196. Functional Language, Paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre wherein the bolt head has a visual fuel injector clocking indicator and wherein the visual clocking indicator (In the context of McIntyre, the visual clocking indicator of Smiddy is a visual fuel injector clocking indicator) is configured to align with a visual boss clocking indicator on a body (In the context of McIntyre, the body of Smiddy is the combustor body of McIntyre) when the bolt (In the context of McIntyre, the bolt of Smiddy is the fuel injector bolt of McIntyre) is fully threaded into the body (In the context of McIntyre, the bolt of Smiddy is threaded into the combustor body boss of McIntyre) such that the bolt achieves a desired torque/preload and a desired angular location of an orifice (In the context of McIntyre, the orifice of Smiddy is the fuel orifice) as taught by and suggested by Smiddy in order to circumferentially align an external passage to the center of a bolt channel (Figure 3, Paragraph 0065, The modification adds a visual clocking indicator to the bolt head and a corresponding visual indicator to the corresponding body).
McIntyre in view of Smiddy does not teach wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face;
a fuel injector axis parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis;
air flowing through an air dilution channel in the combustor;
a unitary, monolith combustor body;
a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss.
However, Hill teaches wherein first threads (Figure 1; 12) include a fastener arresting face (The face of Figure 5; 20 abutting 21)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Smiddy wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face as taught by and suggested by Hill in order to prevent unscrewing (Column 2-3, lines 47-5, The modification adds the projections in the fuel injector bolt and its corresponding boss).
McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill does not teach a fuel injector axis parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis; and
air flowing through an air dilution channel in the combustor;
a unitary, monolith combustor body;
a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss.
However, Shekleton teaches a fuel injector (Figure 1; 70) comprising:
wherein the fuel injector is configured to be installed in a gas turbine engine combustor (Figure 1; 18) such that the fuel injector is positioned along a fuel injector axis (Figure 2; 86) parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis (Annotated Figure 1; labeled combustor axis); and
wherein a fuel orifice (Figure 2; 82) are sized to provide a desired degree of mixing between fuel exiting the fuel injector and air flowing through an air dilution channel (Figure 1; 52) in the combustor when the fuel injector is installed in the combustor and is in operation (Functional Language, the fuel orifice provide a desired degree of mixing between the fuel exiting the fuel injector and the air flowing in the combustor when the fuel injector is installed in the combustor and is in operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face as taught by and suggested by Shekleton in order to provide a compact gas turbine engine (Column 2, lines 13-21, The modification uses the configuration of Shekleton in McIntyre).
McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton does not teach a unitary, monolith combustor body;
a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss.
However, Binek teaches a fuel injector bolt (Figure 1; 24) comprising:
a bolt head (Figure 5; 64) having a visual fuel injector clocking indicator;
a threaded body (Figure 5; 66) that includes fuel injector threads (The thread of Figure 5; 66 shown in Figure 5),
one or more fuel intakes (Figure 5; 86);
a fuel injector channel (Figure 1; 94); and
a fuel orifice (Figure 1; 96);
a unitary, monolith combustor body (Figure 1; 22, Paragraph 0081);
the fuel injector bolt is fully threaded into a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss (Functional Language, Figure 1; 32. Paragraph 0081).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton to include a unitary, monolithic combustor body and a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss as taught by and suggested by Binek in order to provide a single, integral, unitary body (Paragraph 0081, The modification has the combustor body being a unitary, monolithic combustor body)
Regarding claim 4, McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton and Binek teaches the invention as claimed.
McIntyre further discloses wherein the one or more fuel intakes are configured to align with a fuel injector channel (Figure 14; 700) formed in the combustor body (Functional Language, the fuel intakes can be aligned to a fuel injector channel. In the context of McIntyre in view of Smiddy and hill and Shekleton and Binek, the combustor body of McIntyre is the unitary, monolithic combustor body).
Regarding claim 5, McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton and Binek teaches the invention as claimed.
McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill does not teach wherein the fuel orifice is configured to deliver fuel into the air dilution channel formed in the unitary, monolithic combustor body.
However, Shekleton teaches wherein the fuel orifice is configured to deliver fuel into the air dilution channel in a combustor body (The body of Figure 1; 18. Functional Language, the fuel orifice can deliver fuel into the air dilution channel. In the context of McIntyre in view of Smiddy and hill and Shekleton and Binek, the combustor body of Shekleton is the unitary, monolithic combustor body).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill wherein the fuel orifice is configured to deliver fuel into the air dilution channel in a combustor body as taught by and suggested by Shekleton in order to provide a compact gas turbine engine (Column 2, lines 13-21, This is the same modification as claim 1)
Claim(s) 6/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton and Binek as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ott et al (US 20160348913 as referenced in OA dated 1/10/2025)
Regarding claim 6, McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton and Binek teaches the invention as claimed.
McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton and Binek does not teach wherein the fuel injector bolt is formed from a nickel-based alloy using additive manufacturing techniques.
However, Ott teaches wherein a fuel injector (Figure 1A; 10) is formed from a nickel-based alloy using additive manufacturing techniques (Paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton and Binek wherein the fuel injector bolt is formed from a nickel-based alloy using additive manufacturing techniques as taught by and suggested by Ott in order to form a single unitary piece (Paragraph 0005, the modification makes the fuel injector bolt from a nickel-based alloy using additive manufacturing techniques)
Claim(s) 7, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton.
Regarding claim 7, McIntyre discloses a gas turbine engine combustor (Column 8, line 22-32), comprising:
a combustor body (The body of Figure 6; 600);
a combustor body boss (The portion of Figure 9; 600 where the fuel injector bolt is located. This portion is an enlarged portion because of Figure 9; 626);
a fuel injector bolt (Figure 1) comprising:
a bolt head (Figure 1; 124, 108);
a threaded body (Figure 1; 110) that includes fuel injector threads (Column 5, lines 7-15);
one or more fuel intakes (Figure 2; 114);
a fuel injector channel (Figure 2; 202); and
an angled face (The angles face that has Figure 2; 116) that includes a fuel orifice (Figure 1; 116);
wherein the fuel injector bolt is configured to be installed in a gas turbine engine combustor (Column 8, line 22-32) such that the fuel injector bolt and the fuel injector channel are positioned along a fuel injector axis (The central, longitudinal axis of Figure 1; 100) parallel with a primary combustor axis (The combustor axis of the gas turbine engine combustor of Column 8, line 22-32. Functional Language, the injector axis is parallel to a central axis of a gas turbine engine, Figure 17; 1602. The combustor axis is also parallel to the central axis of the gas turbine engine, so that the injector axis is parallel to the combustor axis); and
wherein the angled face and fuel orifice are angled and sized to provide a desired degree of mixing between fuel exiting the fuel injector bolt and air flowing in the combustor when the fuel injector bolt is installed in the combustor and is in operation (Functional Language, the angled face and fuel orifice provide a desired degree of mixing between the fuel exiting the fuel injector bolt and the air flowing in the combustor when the fuel injector bolt is installed in the combustor and is in operation);
the fuel injector bolt is threaded into the combustor body boss.
McIntyre does not disclose a unitary, monolithic combustor body;
a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss formed in the unitary, monolithic combustor body, wherein the unitary, monolithic combustor body includes boss threads and a visual boss clocking indicator, wherein the unitary, monolithic combustor body boss is configured to receive, with the boss threads, a fuel injector bolt;
a bolt head having a visual fuel injector clocking indicator;
wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face;
a fuel injector axis parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis;
air flowing through an air dilution channel in the combustor; and
wherein the visual fuel injector clocking indicator is configured to align with a visual boss clocking indicator when the fuel injector bolt is fully threaded into the unitary, monolithic combustor body boss such that the fuel injector bolt achieves a desired torque/preload and a desired angular location of the fuel orifice.
However, Binek teaches a gas turbine engine combustor (Figure 18), comprising:
a unitary, monolithic combustor body (Figure 1; 22. Paragraph 0081);
a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss (Figure 1; 32. Paragraph 0081) formed in the combustor body, wherein the combustor body includes boss threads (Figure 3; 54), wherein the combustor body boss is configured to receive, with the boss threads, a fuel injector bolt (Figure 1; 24); wherein
the fuel injector bolt comprises:
a bolt head (Figure 5; 64);
a threaded body (Figure 5; 66) that includes fuel injector threads (The thread of Figure 5; 66 shown in Figure 5);
one or more fuel intakes (Figure 5; 86);
a fuel injector channel (Figure 1; 94); and
a fuel orifice (Figure 1; 96).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre to include a unitary, monolithic combustor body; a unitary, monolithic combustor body boss formed in the unitary, monolithic combustor body, wherein the unitary, monolithic combustor body includes boss threads and a visual boss clocking indicator, wherein the unitary, monolithic combustor body boss is configured to receive, with the boss threads, a fuel injector bolt as taught by and suggested by Binek in order to provide a single, integral, unitary body (Paragraph 0081, The modification has the combustor body being a unitary, monolithic combustor body)
McIntyre in view of Binek does not teach a bolt head having a visual fuel injector clocking indicator;
wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face;
a fuel injector axis parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis;
air flowing through an air dilution channel in the combustor;
wherein the visual fuel injector clocking indicator is configured to align with a visual boss clocking indicator when the fuel injector bolt is fully threaded into the unitary, monolithic combustor body boss such that the fuel injector bolt achieves a desired torque/preload and a desired angular location of the fuel orifice.
However, Smiddy teaches a bolt head (The head of Figure 8; 190. Paragraph 0037) of a bolt (Figure 9; 190) having a visual clocking indicator (Figure 8; 199);
wherein the visual clocking indicator is configured to align with a visual boss clocking indicator (Figure 8; 201) when the bolt is fully threaded into a body (Figure 3; 137, 180) such that the bolt achieves a desired torque/preload (Functional Language, the bolt can be fully threaded, so that the bolt achieves a desired torque/preload) and a desired angular location of an orifice (Figure 4; 196. Functional Language, Paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Binek wherein the visual clocking indicator (In the context of McIntyre, the visual clocking indicator of Smiddy is a visual fuel injector clocking indicator) is configured to align with a visual boss clocking indicator when the bolt (In the context of McIntyre, the bolt of Smiddy is the fuel injector bolt of McIntyre) is fully threaded into a body (In the context of McIntyre, the bolt of Smiddy is threaded into the combustor body boss of McIntyre) such that the bolt achieves a desired torque/preload and a desired angular location of the fuel orifice as taught by and suggested by Smiddy in order to circumferentially align an external passage to the center of a bolt channel (Figure 3, Paragraph 0065, The modification adds a visual clocking indicator to the bolt head and a corresponding visual indicator to the corresponding body).
McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy does not teach wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face;
a fuel injector axis parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis; and
air flowing through an air dilution channel in the combustor.
However, Hill teaches wherein first threads (Figure 1; 12) include a fastener arresting face (The face of Figure 5; 20 abutting 21)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face as taught by and suggested by Hill in order to prevent unscrewing (Column 2-3, lines 47-5, The modification adds the projections in the fuel injector bolt and its corresponding boss).
McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill does not teach a fuel injector axis parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis; and
air flowing through an air dilution channel in the combustor.
However, Shekleton teaches a fuel injector (Figure 1; 70) comprising:
wherein the fuel injector is configured to be installed in a gas turbine engine combustor (Figure 1; 18) such that the fuel injector is positioned along a fuel injector axis (Figure 2; 86) parallel with but offset from a primary combustor axis (Annotated Figure 1; labeled combustor axis); and
wherein a fuel orifice (Figure 2; 82) are sized to provide a desired degree of mixing between fuel exiting the fuel injector and air flowing through an air dilution channel (Figure 1; 52) in the combustor when the fuel injector is installed in the combustor and is in operation (Functional Language, the fuel orifice provide a desired degree of mixing between the fuel exiting the fuel injector and the air flowing in the combustor when the fuel injector is installed in the combustor and is in operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill wherein the fuel injector threads include a fastener arresting face as taught by and suggested by Shekleton in order to provide a compact gas turbine engine (Column 2, lines 13-21, The modification uses the configuration of Shekleton in McIntyre).
Regarding claim 10, McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton teaches the invention as claimed.
McIntyre further discloses wherein the one or more fuel intakes are configured to align with a fuel injector channel (Figure 14; 700) formed in the combustor body (Functional Language, the fuel intakes can be aligned to a fuel injector channel. In the context of McIntyre in view of Smiddy and hill and Shekleton and Binek, the combustor body of McIntyre is the unitary, monolithic combustor body).
Regarding claim 11, McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton teaches the invention as claimed.
McIntyre does not disclose wherein the fuel orifice is configured to deliver fuel into the air dilution channel formed in the unitary, monolithic combustor body.
However, Binek wherein the fuel orifice is configured to deliver fuel into an air dilution channel (Figure 18; 102 and the hole directly below 96) formed in the unitary, monolithic combustor body (Functional Language, the fuel orifice can deliver fuel into an air dilution channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre wherein the fuel orifice is configured to deliver fuel into the air dilution channel formed in the unitary, monolithic combustor body as taught by and suggested by Binek because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Binek’s providing fuel according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, McIntyre’s combustor, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case mixing fuel with air in a plenum and provide the mixture to the combustion chamber for combustion (Paragraph 0068 of Binek), was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ott.
Regarding claim 12, McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton teaches the invention as claimed.
McIntyre does not disclose wherein the fuel injector bolt is formed from a nickel-based alloy using additive manufacturing techniques
However, Binek wherein the fuel injector bolt is formed using additive manufacturing techniques (Paragraph 0081)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre wherein the fuel injector bolt is formed using additive manufacturing techniques as taught by and suggested by Binek in order to provide a single, integral, unitary body (Paragraph 0081, This is the same modification as claim 7).
McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton does not disclose the fuel injector bolt is formed from a nickel-based alloy.
However, Ott teaches wherein a fuel injector (Figure 1A; 10) is formed from a nickel-based alloy using additive manufacturing techniques (Paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of McIntyre in view of Binek and Smiddy and Hill and Shekleton wherein the fuel injector bolt is formed from a nickel-based alloy as taught by and suggested by Ott in order to reduce end cost and weight and increasing reliability and expect life (Paragraph 0023, The modification makes the fuel injector bolt from a nickel-based allow using additive manufacturing).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Smiddy does not disclose, teach, or suggest the fuel injector bolt achieves a desired torque/preload and a desired angular location of the fuel orifice. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Smiddy teaches wherein the visual clocking indicator is configured to align with a visual boss clocking indicator (Figure 8; 201) on a body (Figure 3; 137, 180) when the bolt is fully threaded into the body such that the bolt achieves a desired torque/preload (Functional Language, the bolt can be fully threaded, so that the bolt achieves a desired torque/preload) and a desired angular location of an orifice (Figure 4; 196. Functional Language, Paragraph 0065) which applied to the fuel injector bolt of McIntyre obviates the fuel injector bolt achieves a desired torque/preload and a desired angular location of the fuel orifice.
Applicant asserts that the fastener arresting face of the instant application performs a different function than Hill. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated by Applicant, Hill prevents unscrewing movement, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize prevents rotation.
Applicant asserts that the fuel manifold 70 of Shekleton is not a fuel injector. Examiner respectfully disagrees. 70 of Shekleton injects fuel into 32 and 68 of Shekleton, so that 70 of Shekleton can be considered a fuel injector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EnterFEA (Femap Bolt Preload Tutorial) and Bolt Science (TORQUE Program) each teach that preloading a bolt occurs by tightening a bolt.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741