Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 12-20 in the reply filed on 3/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 14, 16, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (20210098381).
Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches a thin film peeling test method comprising:
providing a test structure including a peeling risk layer (fig. 34 and 39: 314; fig. 39 shows 314 being peeled from the device structure), a peeling test layer (fig. 34 and 39: 360; fig. 39 shows 360A being peeled away from 312), and a planarized insulation layer (fig. 37: 360B; par. 78 teaches the ILD in the redistribution circuit structure being planarized) that are sequentially disposed on a substrate (fig. 34: 312);
forming first and second via holes (fig. 37 shows via holes being formed and filled by 364B and 364A) penetrating the planarized insulation layer and reaching inside the peeling test layer (par. 78 and 79 outlined this trench opening process panning 360A and 360B);
filling the first and second via holes with a conductive material to form first and second contact vias in the first and second via holes, respectively (par. 78 and 79 teaches filing trench openings with metallization 362A and 364B);
forming first and second test pads electrically connected to the first and second contact vias (par. 38 teaches forming test pads in the redistribution circuit structure; fig. 38, par. 49 teaches that connecting pads 372 function as testing pads), respectively, to fabricate a peeling test structure (the structure seen in fig. 38 shows a structure to be undergo a subsequent peeling process, as seen in fig. 39); and
performing an electrical conduction test between the first and second contact vias by connecting the first and second test pads to an electrical measurement device (par. 38 teaches using a testing device to detect the electrical connectivity of the structure, particularly by attaching to the connecting pads; prior art calls these verification tests, using probes on the connecting pads. It is taught that verification testing can be performed on intermediate structures as well as the final structure).
Regarding claim 14, Yu teaches a thin film peeling test method of claim 12, wherein the test structure further includes a void formed on the substrate due to peeling of the peeling risk layer from the substrate (please see fig. 39 which shows a void formed when 314 is removed from the substrate).
Regarding claim 16, Yu teaches a thin film peeling test method of claim 12, wherein forming the first and second contact vias further includes forming a conductive bridge (fig. 34: 334) electrically connecting the first and second contact vias to each other due to connection of the conductive material filling the first and second via holes, in the void (fig. 37 shows via connected via 334).
Regarding claim 17, Yu teaches a thin film peeling test method of claim 12, wherein forming the first and second via holes includes forming arrays of the first and second via holes arranged along a direction substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (please see fig. 37 which shows this arrangement).
Regarding claim 18, Yu teaches a thin film peeling test method of claim 17, wherein forming the first and second contact vias includes filling the first and second via holes with a conductive material to form arrays of the first and second contact vias, respectively (please see fig. 37 which shows these holes being filled with metallization).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent on claim 19.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818