DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Degani (US 2007/0215976).
Regarding claim 1, Degani discloses a support substrate for a passive electronic component (Fig.2, numeral 11, [0021]), the support substrate comprising: a semiconductor substrate ([0021]); a charge trap layer (12) on the semiconductor substrate (11), the charge trap later having a higher crystal defect density than the semiconductor substrate ([0012]); and a silicon nitride insulating layer on the charge trap layer, wherein an atomic concentration ratio of N to a total amount of Si and N in the insulating layer is not greater than 45 atom% ([0023]; note: Si3N4 layer).
Regarding claim 2, Degani discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate is a single-crystal Si substrate ([0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Degani discloses wherein the charge trap layer is composed of polycrystalline Si ([0021]).
Regarding claim 7, Degani discloses wherein the atomic concentration ratio of N to the total amount of Si and N in the insulating layer is greater than 44 atoms% and not greater than 45 atoms% ([0023]; note: Si3N4 layer).
Regarding claim 17, Degani discloses a passive electronic component comprising the support substrate according to claim 1 (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degani as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wondrak (US 5, 767, 548).
Regarding claim 4, Degani does not disclose wherein the atomic concentration ratio of N to the total amount of Si and N in the insulating layer is not greater than 44 atoms%.
Wondrak however discloses that composition of the insulating layer could adjusted to optimize the fixed charges in the insulating layer (column 5, lines 12-25).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Degani with Wondrak to have the atomic concentration ratio of N to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimization of the fixed charges in the insulating layer.
Regarding claim 5, Degani does not disclose wherein a fixed charge within the insulating layer is positive.
Wondrak however discloses wherein a fixed charge within the insulating layer is positive (column 5, lines 12-20).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Degani with Wondrak to have a fixed charge within the insulating layer is positive for the purpose of optimizing electric filed strength (Wondrak, column 5, lines 29-25).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degani as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hutin (US 2023/0411309).
Regarding claim 8, Degani does not disclose wherein a fixed charge within the insulating layer is negative.
Hutin however discloses wherein a fixed charge within the insulating layer is negative (Fig.8 numeral 25) ([0073]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed to modify Degani with Hutin to have a fixed charge within the insulating layer is negative for the purpose of preventing the formation of a parasitic conduction layer in the semiconductor region (Hutin, Abstract).
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degani as applied to claim 1above, and further in view of Stuber (US 2014/0346622).
Regarding claim 18, Degani discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: the support substrate according to claim 1; a first electrode layer (Fig.5, numeral 58) on the support substrate (51); a dielectric film (Fig.5; a layer between (58) and (60)) on the first electrode layer (58); a second electrode layer (60) on the dielectric film; a protective layer (Fig. 5, numeral 63) covering the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer.
Degani does not disclose an outer electrode penetrating the protective layer.
Stuber however discloses an outer electrode (Fig.4, numeral 421) penetrating the protective layer (407).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Degani with Stuber to have an outer electrode penetrating the protective layer for the purpose of forming connection to circuitry (Stuber, [0068]).
Regarding claim 19, Stuber discloses a matching circuit ([0161]).
Regarding claim 20, Stuber discloses a filter circuit ([0161]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are allowed.
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonable suggest wherein a combination of a conducting type of the semiconductor substrate and a conducting type of the charge trap layer is p-type and p-type, p-type and n-type, or n-type and p-type as required by claim 6.
The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest wherein a combination of a conducting type of the semiconductor substrate and a conducting type of the charge trap layer is n-type and n-type, n-type and p-type, or p-type and n-type as required by claim 9.
The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest a second insulating layer on the first insulating layer, wherein a first fixed charge within the first insulating layer and a second fixed charge within the second insulating layer have opposite polarities as required by claim 10.
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891