DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 10/30/2023.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al. (US 2019/0305570) in view of Steben et al. (US 2015/0008052).
Re Claims 1, 7, 9, 16: Baldwin et al. {hereinafter referred as “Baldwin”} teaches contingency battery charging system, which includes a work machine including a battery system {herein a battery charging station 120 includes one or more battery chargers 130} (see ¶ 29+); and a transport vehicle {herein a truck 105 may transport the truck trailer 110. In some implementations, another type of transport vehicle or transportation container may be substituted for the truck 105 and the truck trailer 110} adapted to transport the work machine (see ¶ 29+), wherein the work machine is positioned on the transport vehicle for transportation thereof, the transport vehicle including a fuel cell system (¶ 24-28+), wherein the fuel cell system of the transport vehicle provides operating power to the transport vehicle for propelling the transport vehicle, and wherein the fuel cell system further provides an electric power supply to the battery system of the work machine for charging the battery system (¶ 33+)
Baldwin fails to specifically teach a work machine.
With regards to Claims 7 and 14, Baldwin is also silent the work machine includes an off-highway machine and the transport vehicle includes an on-highway vehicle.
Steben et al. teaches tracked vehicle, which includes a work machine {herein the tracked utility vehicle 10is designed to carry and enable use of work equipment 41} (¶ 42+). Steben et al. also teaches that the work machine includes an off-highway machine and the transport vehicle includes an on-highway vehicle {herein a public road infrastructure} (¶ 53+).
In view of Steben et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to employ into the teachings of Baldwin a work machine so as to provide a carrying platform for transporting a work machine/equipment with ability to provide electric power to said work machine.
Re Claims 2, 10 and 17: Baldwin as modified by Steben et al. teaches a system, wherein the fuel cell system provides the electric power supply to the battery system of the work machine for charging the battery system during the transportation of the work machine (¶ 33+, 56+).
Re Claims 3, 11 and 18: the teachings of Baldwin have been discussed above.
Baldwin fails to specifically teach that the fuel cell system provides the electric power supply to the battery system of the work machine for charging the battery system when the work machine is located at a worksite and the transport vehicle is in a parked state.
Steben et al. teaches tracked vehicle, wherein the fuel cell system provides the electric power supply to the battery system of the work machine for charging the battery system when the work machine is located at a worksite and the transport vehicle is in a parked state (¶ 53+).
In view of Steben et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to employ into the teachings of Baldwin that the fuel cell system provides the electric power supply to the battery system of the work machine for charging the battery system when the work machine is located at a worksite and the transport vehicle is in a parked state so as to provide electric power to the work equipment in a non-moving/idle state on the transporter.
Re Claims 4 and 19: Baldwin as modified by Steben et al. teaches a system, further comprising a cable {herein a power cable 128 from the second fixed connector 118 to the transportable battery charging station 120 may supply the power to the battery charger 130} to supply the electric power supply from the fuel cell system to the battery system, the cable having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the cable is coupled to the fuel cell system of the transport vehicle and the second end of the cable is coupled to the battery system of the work machine (¶ 32+).
Re Claims 5, 12: Baldwin as modified by Steben et al. teaches a system, wherein the transport vehicle further includes a hydrogen storage system {herein the fuel cells store hydrogen gas which can be converted into electricity through an electrochemical reaction} to provide hydrogen fuel to the fuel cell system of the transport vehicle, and wherein the hydrogen storage system includes one or more hydrogen tanks (¶ 25-33+, 56+).
Re Claims 6, 13: Baldwin as modified by Steben et al. teaches a system, wherein the transport vehicle further includes a mobile machine and a trailer that is driven by the mobile machine, and wherein the fuel cell system is disposed in the mobile machine (see fig.# 3).
Re Claims 8, 15 and 20: Baldwin as modified by Steben et al. teaches a system, wherein the fuel cell system provides the electric power supply {herein the transportable battery charging station includes several battery stands, such as battery stands 284.sub.1-284.sub.n} to battery systems of two or more work machines for charging the battery systems when the two or more work machines are located at a worksite and the transport vehicle is in a parked state, and wherein the fuel cell system is adapted to provide the electric power supply to the battery systems of the two or more work machines at least one of simultaneously and in a sequential manner (see fig.# 2, ¶ 34+).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jones et al. (US 2026/0125874) teaches system and method for automated intervention based on an effective height of a work machine during transport.
Oetken et al. (US 2021/0316625) teaches mobile charging station.
Winsniewski et al. (US 2014/0217991) teaches shared swappable energy module.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876