2. This Office action is sent in response to Applicant’s amendment/remarks received on February 18, 2026.
3. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
4. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended. Claims 5-20 have been allowed.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed February 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed moot in view of a necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
8. Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al.(US 11,095,872 B2)(hereinafter Park) in view of SUZUKI et al.(US 2022/0191455 A1)(hereinafter Suzuki) in further view of HWANG et al.(US 2016/0150223 A1)(hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display device [See Park: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding display] comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels [See Park: at least Figs. 1-5 and col. 9 lines 5-22 regarding in Fig. 5, the display panel DP may be any one of the flat display panel including a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel, a field emission display (FED) panel, a plasma display panel (PDP), and an organic light emitting diode display (OLED) panel. The display panel DP includes a plurality of data lines 105 and a plurality of gate lines (or scan lines) 106 crossing each other. A plurality of pixel areas PXL is disposed at each of the area divided by the crossing structure in a matrix manner. Each pixel area PXL may include a plurality of sub pixels representing different colors.];
an optical member on the display panel [See Park: at least Figs. 1-5, col. 4 line 48- col. 5 line 31 regarding a display panel DP and a lens film LF disposed on the upper surface of the display panel DP. The display panel DP includes a plurality of the pixels P×L arrayed in a matrix manner. The lens film LF includes a plurality of lenticular lenses SLN having a semi-cylindrical shape and disposed continuously in lateral direction.] and comprising a plurality of stereoscopic lenses overlapping the sub-pixels [See Park: at least Fig. 1-5, col. 5 lines 1-21, col. 9 lines 11-22 regarding The lens film LF includes a plurality of lenticular lenses SLN having a semi-cylindrical shape and disposed continuously in lateral direction. The lenticular lenses SLN may be disposed on the upper surface of the display panel DP as aligned as having a predetermined slanted or tilted angle. Here, the inclination (or the slanted angle) may be represented by the unit of pixel PXL. The lenticular lens includes k view areas separated from each other. The view-areas are defined as a plurality of segments having the same view width is arrayed in serial. At each view area has a plurality of the aperture areas AP. The pixel areas PXL allocated at the same view area represent the same video image. … A plurality of pixel areas PXL is disposed at each of the area divided by the crossing structure in a matrix manner. Each pixel area PXL may include a plurality of sub pixels representing different colors. The display panel DP represents the 2D images at the 2D mode and the 3D images at the 3D mode according to the view-map…]; and
a display driver configured to drive the display panel to display an image on the display panel[See Park: at least Fig. 1-5, col. 9 lines-23-50 regarding The display panel driver 130 may include a data driving circuit 102 and a gate driving circuit 103. The display panel driver 130 may supply the video data for the stereoscopic images to the pixel areas PXL of the display panel DP in a spatial division method at the 3D mode… The timing controller 101 supplies the digital video data RGB of the 2D/3D images received from the host system 110 to the data driving circuit 102.], and upon receiving a correction coefficient for each of a plurality of viewpoints of the display panel, to correct image data using the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoints [See Park: at least Figs. 1-8, col. 9 line 23- col. 10 line 26 regarding Between the host system 110 and the timing controller 101, the view-map selector 120 is placed. The view-map selector 120 may select a view-map corresponding to the flag received from the position detector DIS from the memory MEM, and may send the view-map to the timing controller 101. The position detector DIS is disposed at the front surface of the display panel DP for detecting the distance between the display panel DP and the observer. The position detector DIS may include a means for measuring the position of the observer. For the case of using an image processor for the measuring the distance, the position detector DIS may further include a camera CAM. For example, measuring the distance between the observer and the display panel DP, the position detector DIS may decide that the observer is located at any one view position among the optimum viewing distance, the near viewing distance and the far viewing distance. The position detector DIS may send the flag selected in accordance with the distance of the observer to the view-map selector 120 or the host system 110…].
Park does not explicitly disclose a display driver configured to drive the display panel to display a test image on the display panel, and upon receiving a correction coefficient for each of a plurality of viewpoints of the display panel based on the display of the test image, to correct image data using the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoints.
However, Suzuki teaches a display driver configured to drive the display panel to display a test image on the display panel[See Suzuki: at least Fig. 23, par. 133-134, 144-163 regarding The correction unit 36 obtains, in advance, the transfer function D(X) representing the generation model of the blurring caused by the crosstalk as a function corresponding to a diffusion distribution for images in a unit of a pixel column by the diffusion plate 34 by, for example, causing the projection unit 32 to project a known test pattern on the screen 33, capturing an image by the imaging unit 35 via the diffusion plate 34, and comparing the captured test pattern with the known test pattern…], and upon receiving a correction coefficient for each of a plurality of viewpoints of the display panel based on the display of the test image, to correct image data using the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoints of the display panel[See Suzuki: at least Fig. 23, par. 133-134, 144-163 regarding the image generation unit 31 generates a test pattern, and causes the projection unit 32 to be processed to project the test pattern on the screen 33, and the imaging unit 35 captures an image of the test pattern projected on the screen 33 via the diffusion plate 34, and outputs the captured image of the test pattern to the correction unit 36. Then, the correction unit 36 measures a diffusion distribution on the basis of comparison between a known test pattern and the captured image of the test pattern, and specifies the amount of crosstalk from the diffusion distribution. In Step S12, the correction unit 36 acquires and stores an amount of blurring of the projection unit 32 to be processed as information regarding an amount of blurring caused by a lens MTF... The correction unit 36 specifies the amount of blurring related to the lens MTF on the basis of comparison between a known test pattern and the captured image of the test pattern. In Step S14, the correction unit 36 sets inverse functions (inverse filters) including optimization of a distribution of pixels on the basis of the information regarding the amount of crosstalk (the amount of blurring caused by the crosstalk) and the information regarding the amount of blurring caused by the lens MTF…In Step S15, the image generation unit 31 reads input images to generate images P1 to Pn, and multiplies each of the images P1 to Pn by the inverse functions (inverse filters), so that the blurring caused by the crosstalk and the blurring caused by the lens MTF are integrally and simultaneously corrected…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Suzuki teachings by including “a display driver configured to drive the display panel to display a test image on the display panel, and upon receiving a correction coefficient for each of a plurality of viewpoints of the display panel based on the display of the test image, to correct image data using the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoint of the display panel” because this combination has the benefit of providing display device capable of correcting multi-viewpoint images with high accuracy[See Suzuki: at least par. 1-17].
Park and Suzuki do not explicitly disclose upon receiving a correction coefficient for each of a plurality of viewpoints of the display panel based on the display of the test image, to correct image data using the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoints of the display panel, wherein the plurality of viewpoints of the display panel are set according to relative positions of the sub-pixels overlapping the stereoscopic lenses.
However, Hwang teaches upon receiving a correction coefficient for each of a plurality of viewpoints of the display panel based on the display of the test image, to correct image data using the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoints of the display panel, wherein the plurality of viewpoints of the display panel are set according to relative positions of the sub-pixels overlapping the stereoscopic lenses[See Hwang: at least Figs. 1-18 and par. 62-75, 105-125 regarding At least one example embodiment may reduce (or alternatively, prevent) an occurrence of a crosstalk by calibrating an arrangement of pixels of a panel based on a current size and a current position of an optical layer although a size error and a position error exist. For example, at least one example embodiment may calibrate mapping information of a subpixel included in the panel, and render a 3D image based on the calibrated mapping information… For such calibration, an accurate estimation of a size error and a position error may be required. At least one example embodiment may provide technology that displays an image 121 of a desired (or alternatively, predetermined) first pattern on a panel 122 of the 3D display device 120, captures an image 130 of a second pattern played at a position of a user, and determines a calibration parameter for the 3D display device 120 based on the captured image 130 of the second pattern… The image 121 of the first pattern may be displayed using subpixels continuously disposed (or aligned) in the panel 122. Referring to FIG. 3, a panel 300 of a 3D display device may include a plurality of pixels 310 with a plurality of subpixels. For example, a pixel 310 may include a red (R) subpixel 311 corresponding to a red color, a green (G) subpixel 312 corresponding to a green color, and a blue (B) subpixel 313 corresponding to a blue color. The subpixels of the pixel 310 may be disposed in a stripe structure…. In an example, the optical layer 123 may include a lens array 420. The lens array 420 may be a lenticular lens. Light output from subpixels 411 and 412 may be refracted by the lens array 420, and propagate only in directions from the subpixels 411 and 412 toward centers of corresponding lenses, respectively…FIGS. 13 and 14 illustrate display devices, each including an apparatus for determining a calibration parameter…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Park and Suzuki with Hwang teachings by including “upon receiving a correction coefficient for each of a plurality of viewpoints of the display panel based on the display of the test image, to correct image data using the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoints of the display panel, wherein the plurality of viewpoints of the display panel are set according to relative positions of the sub-pixels overlapping the stereoscopic lenses” because this combination has the benefit of providing a method for correcting or calibrating mapping information of subpixels in the display device[See Hwang: at least par. 62-75, 105-125].
Regarding claim 2, Park, Suzuki and Hwang teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Park, Suzuki and Hwang teach or suggest disposed in an electronic device [See Park: at least Fig. 5, col. 1 line 28-33, col. 9 lines 5-10 and col. 9 lines 51-58 regarding a stereoscopic image reproducing technique is applied to a display device such as a television or monitor, so that anyone can appreciate a stereoscopic image anywhere… The host system 110 may be any one of a television set, a set-top box, a navigation system, a DVD system, a blue-ray player, a personal player, a home theater system and/or a smart phone. Using a scaler, the host system 110 may converts the digital video data of the 2D/3D images into another video data satisfying the resolution format of the display panel DP, and then send the changed data and the timing signals to the timing controller 101. See Suzuki: at least Fig. 29, par. 165, 194-201 regarding the projection units 32 and the screen 33 may include a liquid crystal display (LCD) or an organic light emitting diode (OLED)… See Hwang: at least par. 133-135 regarding the units and/or modules described herein may be implemented using hardware components and software components. For example, the hardware components may include microphones, amplifiers, band-pass filters, audio to digital convertors, and processing devices. A processing device may be implemented using one or more hardware device configured to carry out and/or execute program code by performing arithmetical, logical, and input/output operations. The processing device(s) may include a processor (i.e., a special purpose processor), a controller and an arithmetic logic unit, a digital signal processor, a microcomputer, a field programmable array, a programmable logic unit, a microprocessor or any other device capable of responding to and executing instructions in a defined manner...] , and wherein the display driver designates a viewpoint of the plurality of viewpoints and a viewpoint number to each of the sub-pixels based on relative positions of the sub-pixels for each of the plurality of stereoscopic lenses of the optical member[See Park: at least Figs. 1, 3-4,6-8, col. 5 line 32- col. 6 line 21, col. 7 line 53- col. 8 line 11, col. 8 line 48- line 65 regarding The pixels allocated to each view area V1 to V4 display unique images different from each other. That is, the display shown in FIG. 1 represents 4 images observing at 4 directions, at the same time. These 4 images are separated by the lenticular lens and then provided to the 4 view areas, respectively. According to the view-map design, the number of the view areas may be changed. The number of the view areas may be larger than 4 or less than 4. The number written on each aperture area AP in FIG. 1 preferably means the number of image. For example, the aperture area AP having number ‘1’ represents the first image i.e., S1 of FIG. 1. The aperture area AP providing the first image S1 is allocated at the first view area V1. The aperture area AP having number ‘2’ represents the second image S2. The aperture area AP providing the second image S1 is allocated at the second view area V2. Like this manner, the aperture areas AP providing any one image among the first image to the fourth image are allocated at any one of the seven view areas V1 to V4…], aligns positions of the image data according to the viewpoint and the viewpoint number of each of the sub-pixels prior to correcting the image data [See Park: at least Figs. 1-8, col. 9 line 23- col =. 10 26 regarding Between the host system 110 and the timing controller 101, the view-map selector 120 is placed. The view-map selector 120 may select a view-map corresponding to the flag received from the position detector DIS from the memory MEM, and may send the view-map to the timing controller 101. The position detector DIS is disposed at the front surface of the display panel DP for detecting the distance between the display panel DP and the observer. The position detector DIS may include a means for measuring the position of the observer. For the case of using an image processor for the measuring the distance, the position detector DIS may further include a camera CAM. For example, measuring the distance between the observer and the display panel DP, the position detector DIS may decide that the observer is located at any one view position among the optimum viewing distance, the near viewing distance and the far viewing distance. The position detector DIS may send the flag selected in accordance with the distance of the observer to the view-map selector 120 or the host system 110… See Hwang: at least Figs. 1-18 and par. 62-75, 105-125 regarding At least one example embodiment may reduce (or alternatively, prevent) an occurrence of a crosstalk by calibrating an arrangement of pixels of a panel based on a current size and a current position of an optical layer although a size error and a position error exist. For example, at least one example embodiment may calibrate mapping information of a subpixel included in the panel, and render a 3D image based on the calibrated mapping information… For such calibration, an accurate estimation of a size error and a position error may be required. At least one example embodiment may provide technology that displays an image 121 of a desired (or alternatively, predetermined) first pattern on a panel 122 of the 3D display device 120, captures an image 130 of a second pattern played at a position of a user, and determines a calibration parameter for the 3D display device 120 based on the captured image 130 of the second pattern… The image 121 of the first pattern may be displayed using subpixels continuously disposed (or aligned) in the panel 122. Referring to FIG. 3, a panel 300 of a 3D display device may include a plurality of pixels 310 with a plurality of subpixels. For example, a pixel 310 may include a red (R) subpixel 311 corresponding to a red color, a green (G) subpixel 312 corresponding to a green color, and a blue (B) subpixel 313 corresponding to a blue color. The subpixels of the pixel 310 may be disposed in a stripe structure…. In an example, the optical layer 123 may include a lens array 420. The lens array 420 may be a lenticular lens. Light output from subpixels 411 and 412 may be refracted by the lens array 420, and propagate only in directions from the subpixels 411 and 412 toward centers of corresponding lenses, respectively…FIGS. 13 and 14 illustrate display devices, each including an apparatus for determining a calibration parameter…], and
displays an image in a display area of the display panel using the image data corrected using the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoints[See Suzuki: at least Fig. 23, par. 133-134, 144-163 regarding the image generation unit 31 generates a test pattern, and causes the projection unit 32 to be processed to project the test pattern on the screen 33, and the imaging unit 35 captures an image of the test pattern projected on the screen 33 via the diffusion plate 34, and outputs the captured image of the test pattern to the correction unit 36. Then, the correction unit 36 measures a diffusion distribution on the basis of comparison between a known test pattern and the captured image of the test pattern, and specifies the amount of crosstalk from the diffusion distribution. In Step S12, the correction unit 36 acquires and stores an amount of blurring of the projection unit 32 to be processed as information regarding an amount of blurring caused by a lens MTF... The correction unit 36 specifies the amount of blurring related to the lens MTF on the basis of comparison between a known test pattern and the captured image of the test pattern. In Step S14, the correction unit 36 sets inverse functions (inverse filters) including optimization of a distribution of pixels on the basis of the information regarding the amount of crosstalk (the amount of blurring caused by the crosstalk) and the information regarding the amount of blurring caused by the lens MTF…In Step S15, the image generation unit 31 reads input images to generate images P1 to Pn, and multiplies each of the images P1 to Pn by the inverse functions (inverse filters), so that the blurring caused by the crosstalk and the blurring caused by the lens MTF are integrally and simultaneously corrected…See Hwang: at least 24, 129-130 regarding The determiner 112 may convert the distorted image of the second pattern into the normalized image 1820 based on the detected four edges or vertices. The normalized image 1820 may have a size identical to that of an image of a first pattern displayed on a panel. The determiner 112 may determine the calibration parameter based on the normalized image 1820…].
Regarding claim 4, Park, Suzuki and Hwang teach all of the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Park and Suzuki teach or suggest wherein the display driver generates corrected image data for each of the plurality of viewpoints by multiplying the correction coefficient for each of the plurality of viewpoints by the image data for each of the plurality of viewpoints See Suzuki: at least Figs. 22-23 and par. 129, 135-139 regarding For example, as illustrated in FIG. 22, the image of the pixel column Pt is corrected by multiplying pixels of pixel columns in the vicinity of the pixel column Pt in a range Zf, for example, the pixel columns Pk−1, Pk−1_1 to Pk−1_4, Pk, Pk_1 to Pk_4, Pk+1, and Pk+1_1 to Pk+1_4 by inverse functions (inverse filters) for integrally and simultaneously correcting the blurring caused by the crosstalk and the blurring caused by the lens MTF. When the image generation unit 31 generates the images P1 to Pn on the basis of the input images PM1 (FIG. 1), the image generation unit 31 multiplies the images P by (D-1M−1(X)) serving as the inverse functions (inverse filters) supplied from the correction unit 36 in a unit of a pixel column of each of the images P, so that the blurring caused by the crosstalk and the blurring caused by the lens MTF are integrally and simultaneously corrected.], generates data voltages corresponding to the corrected image data, and provides the data voltages to the display panel[See Park: at least Figs. 1-8, col. 9 line 23- col. 10 line 26 regarding The display panel driver 130 may include a data driving circuit 102 and a gate driving circuit 103. The data driving circuit 102 supplies the data voltages corresponding to the 2D or 3D images to the data lines 105. The gate driving circuit 103 supplies the gate pulse (or scan pulse) to the gate lines 106 sequentially. The display panel driver 130 may supply the video data for the stereoscopic images to the pixel areas PXL of the display panel DP in a spatial division method at the 3D mode. The view-map selector 120 may select a view-map corresponding to the flag received from the position detector DIS from the memory MEM, and may send the view-map to the timing controller 101. The position detector DIS is disposed at the front surface of the display panel DP for detecting the distance between the display panel DP and the observer. The position detector DIS may include a means for measuring the position of the observer. For the case of using an image processor for the measuring the distance, the position detector DIS may further include a camera CAM. For example, measuring the distance between the observer and the display panel DP, the position detector DIS may decide that the observer is located at any one view position among the optimum viewing distance, the near viewing distance and the far viewing distance. The position detector DIS may send the flag selected in accordance with the distance of the observer to the view-map selector 120 or the host system 110…].
9. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al.(US 11,095,872 B2)(hereinafter Park) in view of SUZUKI et al.(US 2022/0191455 A1)(hereinafter Suzuki) in further view of HWANG et al.(US 2016/0150223 A1)(hereinafter Hwang) and in further view of OHYAMA(US 2021/0385431 A1)(hereinafter Ohyama).
Regarding claim 3, Park, Suzuki and Hwang teach all of the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Park, Suzuki and Hwang do not explicitly disclose wherein the display driver generates corrected image data for each of the plurality of viewpoints by adding/subtracting the correction coefficient to/from the image data for each of the plurality of viewpoints, generates data voltages corresponding to the corrected image data, and provides the data voltages to the display panel.
However, Ohyama teaches disclose wherein the display driver generates corrected image data for each of the plurality of viewpoints by adding/subtracting the correction coefficient to/from the image data for each of the plurality of viewpoints, generates data voltages corresponding to the corrected image data, and provides the data voltages to the display panel[See Ohyama: at least par. 114-115, 231, 287-295, 301 regarding the control device 50 adjusts the formed-image data in accordance with difference between the acquired data of the photographed image and the photographing direction, and the angle data and the plane image data of the three-dimensional spatial representation (Step S32). The difference is obtained by comparing a partial image corresponding to each refraction means 1a (a partial image corresponding to the photographing direction of the photographing device 9) in the photographed image data and to a region image corresponding to the photographing direction of the photographing device 9 and the normal direction of each refraction means 1a in the plane image corresponding to the photographing direction of the photographing device 9. For example, it is the displacement magnitude and direction of the position between the partial image and the region image to be compared, or the difference in size and the difference in shape etc. between the partial image and the region image to be compared… Next, the control unit 56 corrects the formed-image data so that the difference between the photographed image and the plane image is reduced. For example, in the case of the displacement between the partial image and the region image to be compared, the control section 56 corrects the formed-image data based on the magnitude and direction of the displacement….].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Park, Suzuki and Hwang with Ohyama teachings by including “wherein the display driver generates corrected image data for each of the plurality of viewpoints by adding/subtracting the correction coefficient to/from the image data for each of the plurality of viewpoints, generates data voltages corresponding to the corrected image data, and provides the data voltages to the display panel” because this combination has the benefit of improving the display device by providing a correction method to reduce differences[See Ohyama: at least par. 5-17, 114-115, 231, 287-295, 301].
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 5-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482