DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyairi et al (US 2021/0291157).
Miyairi discloses an induction heating device claimed including an induction heating coil form with a conductor (4) wound around a predetermined axis line, a member (18, 19) comprising at least one soft magnetic material (para 0033 which discloses for the magnetic substance including electromagnetic soft iron) disposed at or on an outer side of each axis line end portion of the induction heating coil in an extending direction of the axis line, and a heating object (a honeycomb structure 1) disposed on an inner side of the induction heating coil and the member wherein the heating object is configured to be heatable by induction heating using a magnetic flux (which is generated by a magnetic field passing through the heating object) from the induction heating coil. Also, see annotated drawing below.
With respect to claim 2, Miyairi discloses the heating object forming a flow path for fluid (e.g., gas) flowing in the extending direction of the axis line.
With respect to claim 5, Miyairi discloses the induction heating coil having opening portions on both sides in the extending direction of the axis line (i.e., the coil that is wound around has openings on both ends of the coil) wherein the member (shown by plugs 18, 19) disposed so as to cover at least a part of at least one of the opening portions. Also, see Figure 2.
With respect to claim 6, Miyairi discloses the induction coil having opening portions on both sides in the extending direction of the axis line wherein the member comprises is a first member (e.g., 19) covering one opening portion of the induction heating coil and a second member (e.g., 18) covering other opening portion of the induction heating coil.
With respect to claim 17, Miyairi discloses the heating object is a honeycomb structure comprising an outer peripheral wall and a partition wall disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall wherein the partition wall defining a plurality of cells with each cell extending from one end face to other end face to form a flow path. Also, see Figures 1 and 2.
With respect to claim 18, Miyairi discloses a part of the honeycomb that comprises a magnetic material (18, 19) as illustrated in Figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyairi et al (US 2021/0291157) in view of Crawford et al (US 2017/0218816) and Barman et al (US 2012/0112552).
Miyairi discloses a back wall (shown by a fixing member 5) disposed to cover at least a part of a back portion of the induction heating coil but does not disclose that the back wall is made of a soft magnetic material.
Crawford discloses it is known to provide an induction coil that is covered by a back wall (24) made of an electromagnetic shield (para 0042).
Barman discloses that it is known make an electromagnetic shield with a soft magnetic material (para 0055).
In view of Crawford and Barman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Miyairi with the back wall including an electromagnetic shield, which is known to be made of a soft magnetic material as taught by Barman, to reduce induction loss to an outer metal housing.
With respect to claim 8, Miyairi discloses the backwall that is connected at an end portion of the induction heating coil where the member (18, 19) is also provided. Also, see Figures 2 and 5.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyairi et al (US 2021/0291157) in view of Urata et al (US 2007/0175545).
Miyairi discloses the induction heating device including the soft magnetic material but does not disclose for its relative magnetic permeability of 80 or more.
Urata discloses it is known to provide a soft magnetic material having excellent magnetic properties (Abstract) which has a magnetic permeability of 80 or more (also, see Table 15 in para 0148).
In view of Urata, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Miyairi with the soft magnetic material that includes its relative magnetic permeability that is 80 or more to provide for the magnetic material having more enhanced or excellent magnetic properties.
With respect to claim 13, Urata further discloses it is known for the soft magnetic material having a resistivity of 10 Ωcm or more. Also, see para 0072 and Table 15 in para 0148.
With respect to claim 14, Urata discloses for the soft magnetic material having a Curie point that is 240º C or more (para 0055) that overlaps with the claimed range of 250º C or more.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyairi et al (US 2021/0291157) in view of Morrison (US 2003/0029863).
Miyairi discloses the induction heating device except for a power supply circuit that comprises a direct-current power supply, an inverter, and a transformer as claimed.
Morrison discloses it is known to provide an induction heating having a power supply circuit that includes a direct-current power supply (e.g., battery that supplied DC current), an inverter (40) that inverts the DC current to an alternative current AC that is supplied to a transformer (110) for supplying the AC current to an induction coil (50). Also, see Figure 2.
In view of Morrison, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Miyairi with a known power supply circuit that includes a direct-current (DC) power supply that supplies the DC current which is inverted to an AC current by an inverter which is connected to a transformer and an induction coil for supplying the AC current to the induction coil to predictably induce a voltage in the heating object (workpiece) to be heated (via magnetic flux) as known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 9-11, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761