DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Per claim 2, line 1, change “The system” to –A system--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 2 & 6-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 discloses a heat source and claim 9 which is dependent on claim 2 discloses heat elements. It is not clear if the heat source and the heat elements are the same component or different components, for examining purposes Examiner asserts that the components are the same thing.
Claims 6-15 depends on claim2, therefore allowable for the same reason.
Claim 2 discloses a heat source and claim 11 which depends on claim 2 discloses at least one electronic device, it is not clear if the heat source and the at least one electronic device are the same thing or different things, for examining purposes, Examiner asserts that the heat source and electronic device are the same thing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rockenfeller US2006/0087810.
Per claim 1 Rockenfeller teaches a system component (see fig.1; [0012]-[0013], [0001], “computer system”) of a visualization system ([0001], “computer systems have camera and monitors”), the system component comprising: at least one heat source (A-F; [0012]-[0014]) generating waste heat during operation; a housing ([0013]-[0014]) with an interior (see fig.1) in which the at least one heat source is arranged and which is closed off to outside ([0012], [0013]); and a fan (19) is arranged in the interior (see fig.1), with which an internal air circulation within the interior is effected (fig.1).
Per claim 3 Rockenfeller teaches the system component (see fig.1; [0012]-[0013], [0001], “computer system”) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system component is:- a camera control unit ([0001], “a computer is a camera unit”) and the at least one heat source (A-F; [0012]-[0014]) comprises electronic components ([0012]-[0014]), or - a light source unit and the at least one heat source comprises at least one light source.
Per claim 4 Rockenfeller teaches the system component as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system component comprises a primary heat sink (22 & 24), which is in contact on an outer side (22) with external ambient air ([0001]) and which can be impacted on an inner side (24) with the internal air circulation (see fig.1), and at least one of an inner side (24) of the primary heat sink is arranged in the interior (see fig.1) or an outer side (22) of the primary heat sink is arranged outside of the interior (see fig.1).
Per claim 5 Rockenfeller teaches the system component as claimed in claim 4, wherein the primary heat sink (22 & 24) is made of a thermally conductive material ([0001], “heat sinks are thermally conductive materials”).
Per claim 16 Rockenfeller teaches a method for indirectly cooling at least one heat source (A-F; [0012]-[0014]) of a system component of a visualization system ([0001], “computer system”), the method comprising: closing off an interior of the system component ([0013]-[0014]), in which at least one heat source (A-F; [0012]-[0014]) is arranged (see fig.1); generating an internal air circulation that circulates only within the closed-off interior (see fig.1); and transporting waste heat via the internal air circulation ([0012]-[0014]) from the at least one heat source (A-F) to an inner side of a primary heat sink (22), with the inner side arranged in the interior (see fig.1).
Examiner's Note: Regarding claims 16-18, since there are no specific method steps being claimed, just a general process of using the device of claim(s) 1-15 (i.e., the method of claims 16-18 repeat the structure recited in the apparatus of claim[s] 1-15), the fact that the structure of the device of the present invention is anticipated by the prior art of Rockenfeller US2006/0087810 means that the general method of using such a structure is also anticipated by the same reference(s). The method steps recited in the claim are inherently necessitated by the structure of the apparatus claims
Per claim 17 Rockenfeller teaches a method for indirectly cooling at least one heat source (A-F; [0012]-[0014]) of a system component of a visualization system ([0001], “computer systems have camera and monitors”), the method comprising: closing off an interior (see fig.1; [0012]-[0014]) of the system component, in which at least one heat source (A-F) is arranged (see fig.1); removing waste heat from the at least one heat source via a cooling line filled with coolant only up to a primary heat sink (20, 22 & 24; [0014]-[0015]); and removing the waste heat from the closed-off interior ([0014]-[0015]) to outside via the primary heat sink using heat conduction ([0014]-[0015]).
Per claim 18 Rockenfeller teaches a method of claim 17, wherein the heat source comprises a multiplicity of electronic devices (A-F) which are located in the interior (see fig.1) of the system component which is closed off to be air-tight (see fig.1; [0012]-[0015]).
Claim(s) 2, 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horng et al. US2011/0108250.
Per claim 2 Horng et al. teaches the system component of a visualization system ([0025], “camera”), the system component comprising: at least one heat source (9) generating waste heat during operation ([0025]); wherein a housing (1) with an interior (see fig.6-8) in which the at least one heat source (9) is arranged and which is closed off to outside (see fig.6-8); and at least one cooling line (H; [0029]) filled with coolant arranged in the interior ([0029], “heat pipe”), with which the at least one heat source (9) is coolable ([0029]); a primary heat sink (2, see fig.6-8), an inner side of which delimits the interior (see fig.6-8), the at least one cooling line (H) ends in each case at or in the primary heat sink (see fig.6-8); and the at least one cooling line (H) does not completely penetrate a wall of the interior into a surrounding area (see fig.6-8).
Per claim 6 Horng et al. teaches the system component as claimed in claim 2, wherein the system component comprises a cooling tunnel (111a), which has an inflow opening (1112) for introducing ambient air (see fig.7) and an outflow opening (1111) for discharging the ambient air which has heated up at the primary heat sink ([0032]-[0037]), and the primary heat sink (2) is formed as part of the cooling tunnel (see fig.6-8).
Per claim 7 Horng et al. teaches the system component as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a heat exchanger (21, see fig.6-8) through which the ambient air flows (see fig.6-8), is formed or arranged in the cooling tunnel (see fig.6-8), and the heat exchanger provides a heat exchange surface for releasing heat to the ambient air that flows through the cooling tunnel (see fig.6-8).
Per claim 8 Horng et al. teaches the system component as claimed in the claim 7, wherein the heat exchanger (21) is in thermal contact with the primary heat sink (2) so that heat from the primary heat sink (2) is transferable to the heat exchanger (21) by heat conduction ([0034], [0038]).
Per claim 9 Horng et al. teaches the system component as claimed in claim 2, further comprising heat elements (9) on the inner side of the primary heat sink (2) which protrude into the interior increase a surface area of the heat sink (see fig.7-8).
Per claim 10 Horng et al. teaches the system component as claimed in claim 6, wherein the primary heat sink (2) has cooling elements (21) on an outer side which are in contact with ambient air and bring about an increase in surface area to radiate heat from the primary heat sink ([0034]) to the ambient air, and the cooling elements (21) on the outer side of the primary heat sink (2) are arranged in the cooling tunnel (see fig.6-8), and are aligned in a direction of an ambient air flow flowing through the cooling tunnel (see fig.6-8).
Per claim 11 Horng et al. teaches the system component as claimed in claim 2, wherein at least one of a) the system component comprises at least one electronic device (9) which is arranged in the interior and is thermally connected to an inner side of the primary heat sink (2) by at least one cooling line (H) filled with coolant (see fig.6-8, “heat pipe are filled with coolants”), or b) a capillary structure is formed in an interior of the at least one cooling line, such that when the at least one electronic device heats up, the coolant flows independently through the cooling line such that waste heat of at least one of the at least one electronic device or the heat source is transported to the primary heat sink.
Per claim 12 Horng et al. teaches the system component as claimed in claim 2, wherein the system component comprises at least one electronic device (9), which is arranged in the interior (see fig.6-8) and on which at least one cooling element (H) which protrudes into the interior is mounted (see fig.6-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horng et al. US2011/0108250 in view of Rockenfeller US2006/0087810.
Per claim 13 Horng et al. teaches the system component as claimed in claim 2,
Horng et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the system component comprises at least one electronic device which is located in the interior, and an internal air circulation impacts the at least one electronic device.
Rockenfeller however discloses wherein the system component comprises at least one electronic device (A-F) which is located in the interior (see fig.1), and an internal air circulation impacts the at least one electronic device (see fig.1; [0013]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an internal air circulation impact the electronic device in an interior of the system component because it ensures effective thermal cooling of the electronic device.
Per claim 14 Horng et al. in view of Rockenfeller teaches the system component as claimed in claim 13, further comprising at least one air guide element (16) arranged in the interior (see fig.1), said air guide element protrudes into the interior and at least one of steers ([0015]) or accelerates the inner air circulation (see fig.1) in a direction of the primary heat sink (22 & 24, see fig.1), the at least one air guide element (16) divides the interior into first and second subspaces (see fig.1, “air channel formed by 16 and space outside the air channel formed by 16”), and the at least one electronic device (A-F) is located in the first subspace (see fig.1) within the interior
Horng in view of Rockenfeller discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the inner side of the primary heat sink is arranged in the second subspace within the interior.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the inner side of the primary heat sink arranged in the second subspace within the interior, because it ensures effective thermal dissipation of heat within the interior to the outside of the housing, thus ensuring that the interior of the housing is effectively cooled, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Per claim 15 Horng et al. in view of Rockenfeller teaches the system component as claimed in claim 13, wherein the interior is divided into first and second subspaces (see fig.1, “air channel formed by 16 is the first subspace and space outside the air channel formed by 16 is the second subspace”) which are connected to each other via the air circulation (see fig.1) such that a second flow velocity of the internal air circulation is present in the second subspace (see fig.1, “Examiner asserts that due to the openings between the air guides 16, air would flow into the second subspaces”),
Horng et al. in view of Rockenfeller discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the inner side of the primary heat sink is arranged in the second subspaces, and the second flow velocity of the internal air circulation is higher than a first flow velocity of the internal air circulation in the first subspace, in which a plurality of the heat sources to be cooled are located.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the inner side of the primary heat sink be arrange in the second subspaces and have the internal air circulation be adjusted to be higher than a first flow velocity of the internal air circulation, because it ensures effective thermal dissipation of heat from the heat source to the outside of the housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art and provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) .
Email Communication
6. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. US2020/0077543 discloses a server comprising: an outer housing defining a first air vent and a second air vent; an inner housing configured as waterproof enclosure and disposed within the outer housing such that an air channel is defined between the inner housing and the outer housing.
Zhou et al. US2009/0154102 discloses a heat dissipation device for removing heat from a heat-generating electronic component mounted on a printed circuit board enclosed in a computer housing, comprising: a spreader adapted for contacting with a heat-generating electronic component; a heat sink comprising a base plate and a plurality of outer fins extending upwardly from a top surface of the base plate; a heat pipe thermally connecting the heat sink and the spreader together.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835