DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120234834, Akhund.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses a closure for pipelines carrying a fluid under pressure, the closure comprising a door (12), a barrel collar having a horizontal sealing face (near 40) and a vertical sealing face (50) relative to the door; and at least one clamp ring (14) adapted to capture a circumferential portion of the door and the barrel collar when in a clamped state; the closure further comprising: one or more seals located on the vertical sealing face, the one or more seals (46) being circumferential and arranged to alter a path of a leak pathway between the horizontal sealing face of the barrel collar and an ambient environment outside of the door connected to the barrel collar and to cause a pressure drop across the one or more seals.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses the horizontal sealing face of the barrel collar including (in contact with) a primary seal (40) adapted to seal the door against the barrel collar.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses the primary seal and the one or more seals are arranged coaxial with the barrel collar.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses the one or more seals has a higher durometer than that of the primary seal ([0019]).
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses the one or more seals has a smaller cross-sectional diameter than the primary seal.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses the primary seal lies in a different plane than the one or more seals.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses a groove in either the barrel collar or the door adapted to receive a corresponding seal of the one or more seals.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses the groove is of a compressive design.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Akhund discloses one of the one or more seals is composed of a hydrogen reliable material.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs [0018]-[0020], Akhund discloses a method for reducing an escape of fluid through a pipeline closure, the method comprising: arranging one or more seals on a vertical sealing face of a barrel collar along a leak pathway located between a horizonal sealing face of the barrel collar and an ambient environment outside of a closure door connected to the barrel collar so that a path of an escaping fluid along the leak pathway is non-linear and a pressure drop (inherent) occurs over the one or more seals.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 4-5 and paragraphs [0018]-[0020], Akhund discloses the closure includes a primary seal on a horizontal sealing face of the barrel collar.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11, 13, 14 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679