DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 7.6.26. Claims 1,3-4, 21-25,30 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made amendments to the independent claim 1 and dependents 3,30 which will be examined below.
Claim objection related to claim 30 is withdrawn in light of amendment “of”.
35 USC 112(b) and 35 USC 112(d) rejection of claims 2-3 are withdrawn in light of cancelation of claim 2.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the
Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: Aldissi does not show, teach, or suggest the addition of ferromagnetic particles into a ferromagnetic polymer material. As amended, Applicant's claim 1 incorporates the subject matter of claim 2. Aldissi does not teach the incorporation of ferromagnetic particles as discussed above. Claim 2 was only objected to because of the term "alone." No prior art rejection is presented for claim 2.
Examiner Response 1: Examiner had used Aldissi to read on the limitation “ferromagnetic polymers alone”. However now Applicant has reverted back to previous claim recitation without limitation “alone” in which case previous reference Tew will read on amended claim limitation. With respect to argument “Claim 2 was only objected…”, Examiner, in previous Office action dated 3.13.26, had rejected previous claim 2 recitation under 35 USC 112(b) due to conflict between previous claim 1 and claim 2 recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3, 21-23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tew et al (US20110064944A1), hereinafter Tew.
Regarding Claim 1, Tew discloses a shaped structure (Fig 11 discloses block copolymer which is a shape) comprising a ferromagnetic polymer material [0006 discloses “ polymeric material providing a distinct ferromagnetic phase, whether ordered or disordered”] comprised of ferromagnetic polymers and
ferromagnetic particles (Fig 11)[0050,0051] (Co is ferromagnetic) suspended in the ferromagnetic polymer material ,
wherein the ferromagnetic polymer material and ferromagnetic particles are aligned in a unified alignment direction (Fig 11 shows ordered ferromagnetic polymer material with Co and Para 0020 discloses Fig 11 with “highly-ordered cylindrical ferromagnetic phase”).
Regarding Claim 3, Tew discloses the shaped structure as claimed in claim 1. Tew further discloses wherein the ferromagnetic particles comprise at least one of iron, iron silicide, and iron silicon aluminum Claim 3 discloses “The copolymer of claim 2 wherein said metal is selected from Fe, Co and Ni”.
Regarding Claim 21, Tew discloses the shaped structure as claimed in claim 1. Tew further discloses in which the shaped structure is formed by polymerizing ferromagnetic polymer precursors in the desired shape [0014 discloses “ providing a first monomeric component comprising a phase-separating hydrophobic or hydrophilic group pendent thereto, and a second monomeric component comprising a ferromagnetic metal complex pendent thereto, such a complex as can comprise one or more labile ligands; block copolymerizing the monomeric components to provide such a copolymer phase comprising such a ferromagnetic metal complex;”].
Regarding Claim 22, Tew discloses the shaped structure as claimed in claim 21. Tew further discloses wherein polymerizing the ferromagnetic polymer precursors comprises polymerizing a precursor having ferromagnetic functional monomer groups [0014 discloses “ providing a first monomeric component comprising a phase-separating hydrophobic or hydrophilic group pendent thereto, and a second monomeric component comprising a ferromagnetic metal complex pendent thereto, such a complex as can comprise one or more labile ligands; block copolymerizing the monomeric components to provide such a copolymer phase comprising such a ferromagnetic metal complex;”].(See 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding Claim 23, Tew discloses the shaped structure as claimed in claim 22. Tew further discloses wherein polymerizing the ferromagnetic functional monomer groups [0014] comprises one of radical polymerization, radical polymerization with epoxide cross-linking, and anionic polymerization [0028 and 0029 discloses polymerization as “living” which as per literature search such as Wikipedia is associated with anionic polymerization. Further Specification does not provide much detail on “anionic polymerization”] .
Regarding Claim 25, Tew discloses the shaped structure as claimed in claim 21. Tew further discloses in which polymerizing ferromagnetic polymer precursors in the desired shape comprises one of printing, extruding, and die casting [Para0021 discloses “film deposition, casting”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tew in view of Sridhar (US20200395162A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Tew discloses the shaped structure as claimed in claim 1. Tew does not explicitly disclose wherein the shaped structure comprises at least part of a core of one of a stator, a rotor, motor, or transformer.
Sridhar further discloses the shaped structure comprises at least part of a core of one of a stator, a rotor, motor, or transformer [Para 0033 discloses use cases including motors].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed ferromagnetic polymer of Tew with use in electric devices such as motors as taught by Sridhar in order to have magnetic parts with desired magnetism as is required by electric devices using motors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24,30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 24 recites “The shaped structure of claim 22, wherein polymerizing ferromagnetic functional monomer groups comprises polymerizing TEMPO-methacrylate with one of divinylbenzene or an acrylic monomer with a pendant epoxy group”. Tew does not explicitly disclose TEMPO-methacrylate as being the ferromagnetic functional precursor. In Tew there are references to monomers 1a, 2a, 2b for e.g., in Para 0026 but there is no explicit disclosure of above limitation. Therefore claim 24 is allowable. Claim 30 is a combination of allowable claim 24 with claim 1 and intervening claims 21,22 and is therefore allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834