Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention III including claims 16 – 25 in the reply filed on 2026/05/04 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim ( Pub. No. WO 2020256203 A1 ) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Independent Claim 16 ( Original ), Kim teaches a manufacturing method of a display device, comprising:
self-assembling ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 1050, 161, 161c, 161d, 161e, 162, 163; page 12, [75], semiconductor light emitting devices 1050; page 12, [74], an assembly substrate 161; page 13, [85], a plurality of electrodes 161c; page 13, [88], a plurality of cells 161d; page 13, [81], a fluid chamber 162, a magnet 163; page 12, [80], FIGS. 8A to 8D are conceptual views illustrating a process of self-assembling semiconductor light emitting devices using the self-assembly device of FIG. 6 ) a plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 1050 ) on an assembling substrate ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 161, 200 );
transferring ( Kim, FIG. 10A – FIG. 10B; page 18, [124], The semiconductor light emitting devices seated on the assembly substrate 161 are transferred to at least one other substrate ) the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 10A, 350 between 161e ) which are self-assembled ( Kim, FIG. 8E, 1050 between 161e ) on the assembling substrate ( Kim, FIG. 10A, 161, 200 ) onto ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 350 on 410 ) a donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400; page 19, [127], The transfer substrate 400 is a substrate for separating the semiconductor light emitting devices seated on the assembly substrate 161 and transferring the semiconductor light emitting devices to the wiring substrate ); and
transferring ( Kim, FIG. 10B – FIG. 10C; page 20, [132], Finally, referring to FIG. 10C, the transfer substrate 400 is pressed against the wiring board 500 to transfer the semiconductor light emitting diodes 350 from the transfer substrate 400 to the wiring board 500 ) the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 350 on 410 ) on the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400 ) onto ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 350 on 510 ) an adhesive layer ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 510; page 20, [135], Meanwhile, although not shown, an anisotropic conductive film may be disposed on the wiring board 500 ) of a display panel ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 500; page 20, [132], wiring board 500 ).
Regarding Claim 17 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 16, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein the self- assembling ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E ) of the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 1050, 150 ) comprises applying a voltage ( Kim, FIG. 15, E1; page 23, [159], Meanwhile, as shown in FIG. 15, as a voltage is applied to the pair electrode 161c from the outside, an electric field E1 May be formed inside the cell 161d, and the semiconductor light emitting device 150 May be seated on the cell 161d by the electric field E1 ) to a plurality of assembly electrodes ( Kim, FIG. 15, 161c ; page 23, [156], pair electrodes 161c; FIG. 17A, 230, 230a, 230b; page 24, [167], a plurality of pair electrodes 230; page 25, [172], electrodes 230a and 230b of the pair electrode 230 ) on the assembling substrate ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 161, 200 ) such that an electric field ( FIG. 15, electric field E1 ) is formed and self- assembling the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 1050, 150 ) on the plurality of assembly electrodes ( Kim, FIG. 15, 161c; FIG. 17A, 230, 230a, 230b ) with the electric field ( FIG. 15, electric field E1 ).
Regarding Claim 18 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 17, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein the assembling substrate ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 161, 200 ) further includes:
an assembly substrate ( Kim, FIG. 16, 161a; FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 210 );
a plurality of first assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 18 – FIG. 20, 230a ) on the assembly substrate( Kim, FIG. 16, 161a; FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 210 );
a plurality of second assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 18 – FIG. 20, 230b ) on the assembly substrate ( Kim, FIG. 16, 161a; FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 210 ) and are alternately disposed with the plurality of first assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 18 – FIG. 20, 230a );
an organic layer ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 250; [167], partition wall 250; [169], For example, the partition wall 250 May be formed of an organic material such as a polymer ) on the plurality of first assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 17, 230a ) and the plurality of second assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 17, 230b ) and includes a plurality of openings ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 240; [192], cell 240 ); and
an assembly insulating layer ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 220; [167], dielectric layer 220 ) on the organic layer ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 250 ), and
the plurality of assembly electrodes ( Kim, FIG. 19B, 230a, 230b ) includes:
a plurality of first assembly electrodes ( Kim, FIG. 19B, 230a ) that are electrically connected to the plurality of first assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 18 – FIG. 20, 230a ); and
a plurality of second assembly electrodes ( Kim, FIG. 19B, 230b ) that are electrically connected to the plurality of second assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 18 – FIG. 20, 230b ) and face the plurality of first assembly electrodes ( Kim, FIG. 19B, 230a ) with a predetermined interval.
Regarding Claim 19 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 18, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of first assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 20, 230a ) includes:
a first line part extending in a first direction ( Kim, FIG. 20, parallel to 230a ) on the assembly substrate; and
a first protrusion part ( Kim, FIG. 20, 231a; [173], protrusions 231a … of the electrodes 230a … ) which includes a first part extending from one side surface of the first line part along a second direction ( Kim, FIG. 20, perpendicular to 230a ) and a second part which is connected to an end portion of the first part and extends in the first direction ( Kim, FIG. 20, parallel to 230a ),
each of the plurality of second assembly lines ( Kim, FIG. 20, 230b ) includes:
a second line part extending in the first direction ( Kim, FIG. 20, parallel to 230a ) on the assembly substrate;
and
a second protrusion part ( Kim, FIG. 20, 231b; [173], protrusions … 231b of the electrodes … 230b) which includes a third part extending from another side surface of the second line part to the second direction ( Kim, FIG. 20, perpendicular to 230a ) and a fourth part which is connected to an end portion of the third part and extends in the first direction ( Kim, FIG. 20, parallel to 230a ), and
the first protrusion part ( Kim, FIG. 20, 231a; [173], protrusions 231a … of the electrodes 230a … ) and the second protrusion part ( Kim, FIG. 20, 231b; [173], protrusions … 231b of the electrodes … 230b) are alternately disposed.
Regarding Claim 20 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 19, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein the plurality of first assembly electrodes ( Kim, FIG. 20A, 230a ) are disposed to protrude along the second direction ( Kim, FIG. 20, perpendicular to 230a ) from one side surface of the first line part and both side surfaces of the second part, and the plurality of second assembly electrodes ( Kim, FIG. 20A, 230b ) are disposed to protrude along the second direction ( Kim, FIG. 20, perpendicular to 230a ) from another side surface of the second line part and both side surfaces of the fourth part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 – 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Kim.
Regarding Claim 21 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 18, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 1050, 150 ) includes:
a plurality of first light emitting diodes having a circular planar shape ( Kim, [89], In addition, although not shown, when the semiconductor light emitting device is circular, the grooves formed in the cells may be formed in a circular shape );
a plurality of second light emitting diodes; and
a plurality of third light emitting diodes, ( Kim, [138], Different types of semiconductor light emitting devices are assembled on each assembly substrate according to the method described with reference to FIGS. 8A to 8E. For example, each of the semiconductor light emitting devices emitting red (R), green (G), and blue (B) may be assembled to each of the first to third assembly substrates ).
the plurality of openings of the organic layer ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 250 ) includes:
a plurality of first openings ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 240; [192], cell 240 ) having a planar shape ( Kim, FIG. 8, FIG. 16, [89], The shape of the groove may be the same as or similar to the shape of the semiconductor light emitting device ) corresponding to the plurality of first light emitting diodes;
a plurality of second openings ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 240; [192], cell 240 ) having a planar shape ( Kim, FIG. 8, FIG. 16, [89], The shape of the groove may be the same as or similar to the shape of the semiconductor light emitting device ) corresponding to the plurality of second light emitting diodes; and
a plurality of third openings ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 240; [192], cell 240 ) having a planar shape ( Kim, FIG. 8, FIG. 16, [89], The shape of the groove may be the same as or similar to the shape of the semiconductor light emitting device ) corresponding to the plurality of third light emitting diodes, and
the self-assembling ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E ) of the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 1050, 150 ) on the assembling substrate includes:
self-assembling ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E ) the plurality of first light emitting diodes ( Kim, [138], light emitting devices emitting red (R) ) in the plurality of first openings, self-assembling ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E ) the plurality of second light emitting diodes ( Kim, [138], light emitting devices emitting … green (G) ) in the plurality of second openings, and self-assembling ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E ) the plurality of third light emitting diodes ( Kim, [138], light emitting devices emitting … blue (B) ) in the plurality of third openings ( Kim, [89], emitting device 150, and the groove may be a space defined by the partition wall 161e. The shape of the groove may be the same as or similar to the shape of the semiconductor light emitting device ); and
self-assembling ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E ) a plurality of alignment keys ( Kim, FIG. 10A; [126], Specifically, as shown in FIG. 10A, the assembly surface of the assembly substrate 161 is in a state of facing the upper side (or the opposite direction of gravity). In this state, the transfer substrate 400 is aligned above the assembly substrate 161 ) in any one of the plurality of first openings ( Kim, FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 240; [192], cell 240 ).
Kim does not explicitly disclose “ a plurality of second light emitting diodes having an elliptical planar shape; and a plurality of third light emitting diodes having an elliptical planar shape having a major axis longer than that of the elliptical planar shape of the plurality of second light emitting diodes ”;
However, Kim teaches in [89], “ As shown in the drawing, the inside of the cells 161d may include a groove for accommodating the semiconductor light emitting device 150, and the groove may be a space defined by the partition wall 161e. The shape of the groove may be the same as or similar to the shape of the semiconductor light emitting device. For example, when the semiconductor light emitting device has a quadrangular shape, the groove may have a rectangular shape. In addition, although not shown, when the semiconductor light emitting device is circular, the grooves formed in the cells may be formed in a circular shape ” and in [138], “ each of the semiconductor light emitting devices emitting red (R), green (G), and blue (B) may be assembled to each of the first to third assembly substrates ”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ second light emitting diodes and third light emitting diodes having different shapes ( i.e. elliptical planar shape and elliptical planar shape with longer major axis ) from the circular planar shape of first light emitting diodes ”, by using the teaching from Kim ( [89], “shape of the groove may be the same as or similar to the shape of the semiconductor light emitting device … when the semiconductor light emitting device is circular, the grooves formed in the cells may be formed in a circular shape ”; [138], “ each of the semiconductor light emitting devices emitting red (R), green (G), and blue (B) may be assembled to each of the first to third assembly substrates ” ), since this is within the skill level of one in the art.
Regarding Claim 22 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 21, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein the assembling substrate ( Kim, FIG. 8A – FIG. 8E, 161, 200 ) further includes:
a first alignment pattern between the assembly substrate and the assembly insulating layer ( Kim, FIG. 10, 161b; [129], dielectric layer 161b; FIG. 17, FIG. 19B, 220; [167], dielectric layer 220 ), and
the transferring of the plurality of light emitting diodes which are self-assembled ( Kim, FIG. 10A, 350; [128], semiconductor light emitting devices 350 ) on the assembling substrate onto a donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400 ) includes:
aligning the assembling substrate and the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400 ) by aligning the first alignment pattern of the assembling substrate and a second alignment pattern of the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10A, [126], Specifically, as shown in FIG. 10A, the assembly surface of the assembly substrate 161 is in a state of facing the upper side (or the opposite direction of gravity). In this state, the transfer substrate 400 is aligned above the assembly substrate 161 ); and
transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes ( FIG. 10A, 350 ) and the plurality of alignment keys on the assembling substrate ( Kim, FIG. 10A, assembly substrate 161 ) onto the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400 ) ( Kim, [127], The transfer substrate 400 is a substrate for separating the semiconductor light emitting devices seated on the assembly substrate 161 and transferring the semiconductor light emitting devices to the wiring substrate. The transfer substrate 400 May be formed of a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) material. Accordingly, the transfer substrate 400 May be referred to as a PDMS substrate. [128], The transfer substrate 400 is aligned with the assembly substrate 161 and then pressed onto the assembly substrate 161. Thereafter, when the transfer substrate 400 is transferred to the upper side of the assembly substrate 161, the semiconductor light emitting devices 350 disposed on the assembly substrate 161 move to the transfer substrate 400 by the adhesive force of the transfer substrate 400 ).
Regarding Claim 23 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 22, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 400 ) further includes:
a base substrate ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 400 );
a resin layer ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 400; [127], The transfer substrate 400 May be formed of a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) material ) ) on the base substrate;
a plurality of chip protrusions ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 410; [130], transfer substrate 400 May include a plurality of protrusions 410 so that the pressure applied by the transfer substrate 400 is concentrated on the semiconductor light emitting device 350 ) on the resin layer ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 400 );
a plurality of dummy protrusions ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 410 ) on the resin layer ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 400 ); and
a plurality of alignment protrusions ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 410 in edge region ) on the resin layer ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 400 ),
the second alignment pattern ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, [126], the transfer substrate 400 is aligned above the assembly substrate 161 ) is disposed on the resin layer ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 400 ), and
the transferring of the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 350 ) and the plurality of alignment keys ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 350 in edge region )on the assembling substrate onto the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 400 ) includes:
transferring ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B; [127], The transfer substrate 400 is a substrate for separating the semiconductor light emitting devices seated on the assembly substrate 161 ) the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 350 )onto the plurality of chip protrusions ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 410 ) and transferring the plurality of alignment keys onto the plurality of alignment protrusions ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, [126], the transfer substrate 400 is aligned above the assembly substrate 161 ).
Regarding Claim 24 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 23, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 350 ) are disposed on one chip protrusion ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 410 ) among the plurality of chip protrusions ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10B, 410 ) ( Kim, [130], The protrusion 410 May be formed at the same interval as the semiconductor light emitting devices seated on the assembly substrate 161 ).
Regarding Claim 25 ( Original ), Kim teaches the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 23, on which this claim is dependent, Kim further teaches:
wherein the display panel ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 500 ) further includes:
a substrate ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 500 ) which supports the adhesive layer ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 510 ); and
a plurality of third alignment patterns ( Kim, [132], The transfer substrate 400 and the wiring substrate 500 are aligned so that the semiconductor light emitting devices 350 disposed on the transfer substrate 400 and the protrusion 510 overlap each other ) disposed on the substrate ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 500 ), and
the transferring ( Kim, [132], Finally, referring to FIG. 10C, the transfer substrate 400 is pressed against the wiring board 500 to transfer the semiconductor light emitting diodes 350 from the transfer substrate 400 to the wiring board 500 ) of the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 10B – 10C, 350 ) on the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400 ) onto the adhesive layer ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 510 ) of the display panel ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 500 ) includes:
aligning the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400 ) and the display panel ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 500 ) by aligning the plurality of alignment keys ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10C, 350 in edge region ) on the plurality of alignment protrusions ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10C, 410 in edge region ) of the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400 ) and the plurality of third alignment patterns ( Kim, [132], The transfer substrate 400 and the wiring substrate 500 are aligned so that the semiconductor light emitting devices 350 disposed on the transfer substrate 400 and the protrusion 510 overlap each other ); and
transferring ( Kim, [132], Finally, referring to FIG. 10C, the transfer substrate 400 is pressed against the wiring board 500 to transfer the semiconductor light emitting diodes 350 from the transfer substrate 400 to the wiring board 500 ) the plurality of light emitting diodes ( Kim, FIG. 10B – 10C, 350 ) and the plurality of alignment keys ( Kim, FIG. 10A – 10C, 350 in edge region ) on the donor ( Kim, FIG. 10B, 400 ) onto the adhesive layer ( Kim, FIG. 10C, 510 ).
Conclusion
/DA-WEI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817